Special Collections
LSU Libraries
spacer
Home / Online Catalog Site A-Z Help    
   

 

Manuscript Resources on
the Long Family in the
Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections,
Special Collections, LSU Libraries


Contents:
Introduction
Alphabetical List
Chronological Index

INTRODUCTION
One of Louisiana's strongest traditions is its love of politics. Always colorful, sometimes controversial, the state's political heritage is a rich one. The Long family has been synonymous with Louisiana politics since 1918, with Huey P. Long's election that year to the state's Railroad Commission (now known as the Louisiana Public Service Commission). Since that time, Long and his family have left a significant mark on state and national politics.

This guide includes manuscript resources by or about various members of the Long family. Major collections include papers of Huey Long (governor 1928-1931, U.S. senator 1932-1935); his brother, Earl K. Long (acting governor 1939-1940, governor 1948-1952, 1956-1960); Huey Long's son, Russell B. Long (U.S. senator 1948-1986); and Russell Long's third cousin, Gillis W. Long (U.S. congressman 1963-1965, 1973-1985). Other significant collections contain papers of Carolyn Bason Long (wife of Russell B. Long) and Cathy Long (U.S. congresswoman 1985-1987, wife of Gillis Long). Some papers of Rose McConnell Long (U.S. senator 1936-1937, wife of Huey Long) can be found in the Russell B. Long collection. The various collections include correspondence, speeches, interviews, scrapbooks, photographs, memorabilia, films, videotapes, and other materials.

Collections in this guide are listed alphabetically. Some headings are entered under creator and others under title, necessitating looking for personal names in two places (for example, Long, Huey Pierce and Huey P. Long). The biographical information is shown only in the first instance of a heading. Brief descriptions include references to sources for additional information--either the LSU Libraries online catalog or the manuscript card catalog in the Special Collections reading room of Hill Memorial Library.

Additional information on some of these collections can be found in detailed finding aids in the reading room. Increasingly, these finding aids can be found on the Special Collections Web site (where researchers can also find information about using the collections), on the LSU Libraries' catalog, and by asking us questions. An electronic version of this guide also appears in the Special Collections Web site, in the section on Publications.

Find in Page


ALPHABETICAL LIST

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |

Aswell, James B. (James Benjamin), 1869-1931. Family Papers, 1892-1959 (bulk 1909-1931). 3 linear ft. (1,319 items; 18 ms. vols.; 38 printed vols.). Location: U:172-174, G:1, 98:A. Educator, Louisiana State Superintendent of Schools, Louisiana gubernatorial candidate, U.S. congressman. Materials pertain principally to Aswell's political career and Louisiana politics; World War I; and post-war European conditions. Included are diaries documenting Aswell's official missions to Europe and scrapbooks on his career as an educator. Notable individuals mentioned include Huey Long, John M. Parker, Gaston Porterie, Herbert Hoover, and Al Smith. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1408, 1426, 1468, 1483. Complete Finding Aid.

Badley Family papers, 1834-1940, undated (bulk: 1845-1865). 0.3 linear feet. Location: W:2, OS:B, F:2. Badley family, plantation owners in Port Hudson and East Baton Rouge Parish. Personal papers and printed items document their plantations, landholding, and political and professional activities. Works Progress Administration manuscripts collection notes and botanical specimen books are also present. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3062. Complete Finding Aid. PDF

Baynard, L. B. Jr. Papers, 1896, 1906, 1923-1930. 687 items. Location: U:8-9. Correspondence in support of Baynard's candidacy for Treasurer of the State of Louisiana, and from persons seeking political favors. Semi-official letters reflect political pressure and refer to the trial of Governor Huey Long. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 230, 577.

Bell, David J. Reminiscence, 1970. 1 item [photocopy]. Location: Misc. Administrative assistant to Louisiana Governor Earl K. Long. Reminiscence discusses Long's personality and campaign style. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2517.

Boone, William C. Letters, 1916-1929. 10 items. Location: Misc:B. Homer, Louisiana, attorney and educator. Letters to Boone's wife pertain to family matters, discussions of his legal studies at LSU, and his work as special counsel in legal cases generated by the administration of Governor Huey Long. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2871.

Bowers, Laura Boddie Jones, Papers, 1906-1918, 1931-1955, 1980, 1990, undated (bulk: 1931-1955). 3.25 linear ft. Location: E:119-121. Librarian in Louisiana. Primarily correspondence documenting the family life, student life, and early career of Bowers in New Orleans, Baton Rouge, and Natchitoches, La. Newspaper clippings, notes, post card collection, printed items, and a scrapbook are also present. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3546. Complete Finding Aid.

Boyd, Leroy Stafford, 1873-. Papers, 1806-1936 (bulk 1876-1936). 16 linear ft., 46 v. Location: D:55-62; 79:71-74; OS:B; R:12-15; Z:23-25; Vault. Librarian for U. S. Interstate Commerce Commission and son of David French Boyd. Correspondence, genealogical materials, photographs, printed items and scrapbooks. They reflect the political environment, Boyd’s political activities, his interest in LSU, General William T. Sherman, and his father LSU President David F. Boyd, and his involvement with Kappa Alpha Fraternity. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 99. Complete finding aid (PDF).

Bozeman, H. B. Papers, 1957-1962. 2 items [photocopies]. Location: 32:72. Columnist for the Winn Parish Enterprise. Correspondence from George S. Long (1957) reminiscing about Huey Long and from Julius T. Long (1962) who mentions Earl and Huey Long. Mss. 2431-80.

Brooks, Overton, 1897-1961. Papers, 1905-1970. 5,642 items, 35 ms. vols., 60 printed vols. Location: 35:67-76, 31:81, 50:81 P:15, OS:B, Vault:3. Baton Rouge and Shreveport, Louisiana, WWI veteran, attorney and U.S. congressman from Louisiana. Correspondence pertains largely to Brooks' congressional career, particularly his membership in the House Armed Services committee and the House Science and Aeronautics committee. Collection also contains photographs and diaries. Included in the correspondence are political and personal letters from Presidents Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, and Johnson and items related to Brooks's own war service. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2492, 2520. Complete finding aid.

Buford, Nick, 1941-. Papers, 1939, 1967-1970. 143 items. Location: T:76, 90:. Correspondence concerning Buford's research on a biography of Luis N. Morones, founder of the Mexican Labor Party. Other items include research papers; miscellaneous items on Latin American politics, tourism, and economics; and anti-Castro propaganda. U.S. Senator Russell Long of Louisiana is among the correspondence. Partly in Spanish. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2457.

Burch, Wilson E. Papers, 1944-1960. 6 items. Location: OS:B. Police Juror, Ward Nine, Washington Parish, Louisiana. Five certificates issued by the Executive Department, State of Louisiana, to Wilson E. Burch, and one newspaper clipping on Burch, Senator R. Long, and Representative James H. Morrison. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 4154.

Carl Austin Weiss, Jr. Photograph, [1926-1927]. 7 items. Location: 32:82. Alleged Huey Long assassin. 1 photographic print and 6 negatives of the same basic image. Photograph of Weiss taken as senior at Tulane University College of Medicine and reproduced from the JAMBALAYA. Listed in unprocessed collections list under: Weiss, Carl Austin, Jr. Photo. Mss. 4015.

Chennault, Claire Lee, 1893-1958. Family Papers, 1943-1956. 102 items. Location: W:30, Vault. Lieutenant general and commander of the volunteer group the Flying Tigers. Chennault established the Civil Air Transport, Inc. Letters of Chennault written chiefly to his son, David, with references to Civil Air Transport, Inc., and world and Louisiana politics. Papers includes observations about life aboard a ship during World War II and conditions in Nationalist China. Letters to Louisiana Governor James A. Noe and to Judge Robert F. Kennon concern alleged kickbacks to the Earl Long-Spaht campaign by the Louisiana State Police (1952). For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3042.

Darling, Jay N. (Jay Norwood), 1876-1962. Huey P. Long cartoon, 1935 September 6. 1 item. Location: Impr. Syndicated cartoonist whose pen name was J. N. Ding. Listed in manuscript card catalog under: Long, Huey P. Cartoon. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2102.

Dawson, Mrs. Frank D. Collection, 1925, 1928, n.d. 4 items. Location: Misc. Papers consist of a program for the laying of the corner stone of the First Methodist Church of Baton Rouge (1925) and Christmas cards from Governors Long and Allen and their families. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1324.

Detro, Randall A. (Randall Augustus), 1931-. Collection, 1932-1988. .1 cubic ft. (20 items) [photocopies]. Location: W:54. Mostly circulars of Huey Long and the Long political organization concerning the programs of Long during Governor O. K. Allen's administration. Collection includes a handbill and publicity photograph from a 1988 production of the play 'The Kingfish.' For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4138.

Devol, Don, d. 1983, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1982. 2 sound cassettes (1.5 hours); transcript (36 p.). Location: L:4700.9. Huey Long's personal secretary. Interview includes Devol's personal and professional relationship with Long, and his views on Long's personality, political career, and assassination. Devol also discusses Long's radio addresses and relationship with the news media. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.9.

Dugas, Claiborne J., 1898-. Papers, 1979, 1981, n.d. 15 items. Location: 32:74. Louisiana politician, educator, journalist, and publisher of Donaldsonville Chief. Papers include originals and photocopies of his memoirs concerning Huey Long, Earl Long, LSU, Carlos Spaht, local politics, and national politics in the 1960s; and correspondence from Dugas regarding his memoirs. Mss. 3571-83.

Earl K. Long program, 1963. 1 item.  Location: Impr. Louisiana lieutenant governor, Louisiana governor. Program for the unveiling of a bronze statue at Winnfield, Louisiana. Listed in manuscript card catalog under: Long, Earl K. Program. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2525.

Farley, James A., 1888-. Letter, 1971 February 23. 1 item [photostat]. Location: Misc:F. Democratic party leader and U.S. postmaster. Letter containing comments on Huey Long's attitude toward President Roosevelt and possibility of Long's heading a third party movement in 1936. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2801.

Fournet, John B., 1895-1984. Papers, 1844, 1927-1970, n.d. 70 linear ft., 8 ms. vols., and 16 films. Location: 8:15-80, OS:F, 98:F, 124;, Vault:14. Louisiana attorney, politician, and Chief Justice of the Louisiana Supreme Court, 1949-1970. Personal and professional papers reflect Fournet's career as schoolteacher and principal, lawyer, politician, and judge. The papers include materials which reflect Fournet's association with Huey P. Long. Also included are political campaign materials and films; photographs; scrapbooks; judicial opinions and decisions; and newspapers. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2558.

Frey, Fred C. (Frederick Charles), 1891-1980. Oral history interview, 1977. 2 sound cassettes (2 hours); transcript (66 pages). Location: L:4700.19. Former Dean of Men and Professor Emeritus of Sociology at LSU. Interview concerns Frey's early life, his experiences as a student, teacher, and administrator at LSU; LSU President Thomas D. Boyd; early faculty members; and the development of the university from 1916 (when he came as a student) to the 1930s. Notable individuals mentioned include John M. Parker and Huey Long. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.19.

Fuqua, Henry L. (Luce), interviewee. Oral history interview, 1979. 1 sound cassette (1 hour); transcript (54 pages). Location: L:4700.21. Son of Henry L. Fuqua, Louisiana governor. Interview discusses his family, living in Baton Rouge, the Flood of 1912, and his father's work as head of the penitentiary in Baton Rouge (1916) and Angola, his involvement with LSU and Southern University, and his gubernatorial campaign (1924). Notable individuals mentioned include Felton Clark, William H. Dalrymple, Thomas D. Boyd, Annie Boyd, and Huey Long. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.21.

Fuqua, Henry L. (Luce), interviewee. Oral history interview, 1979. 1 sound cassette (20 minutes); index (1 page). Location: L:4700.12. Interview identifies photos of buildings from Hope Farm, New Iberia, and the Atchafalaya swamp levees; and discusses the old Governor's Mansion and his father's defeat of Huey Long. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.12.

George S. Long letter, 1954 July 28. 1 item. Location: 32:82. Attorney, U.S. congressman from Louisiana. Letter to Long from George McCullough congratulating him on his election to the U.S. Congress. Mss. 4158.

Gerald L. K. Smith broadside, ca. 1935. 1 printed item. Location: Impr. Protestant minister and organizer of Huey Long's Share Our Wealth Society. Broadside entitled 'The Spirit and Purpose of Huey Long Shall Never Die' promises that the Society will carry on Long's program. Listed in manuscript card catalog under: Smith, Gerald L. K. Broadside. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3016.

Gerald L. K. Smith circular, ca. 1936. 1 item. Location: OS:S. Printed copy of speeches by Senator Huey Long's secretary, Earle J. Christenberry, and Louisiana attorney Maurice Gatlin attacking Smith for claiming to be Huey Long's successor and head of the Share Our Wealth movement. Listed in manuscript card catalog under: Smith, Gerald L. K. Circular. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1350.

Gibbs, Mrs. Henry W. Papers, 1912-1921. 3 items [typed copies]. Location: Misc. Resident of Shreveport, Louisiana. Letters to Mrs. Gibbs concerning genealogy of the Gibbs, Fitz-Gerald and Long families. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 487.

Gilkison, Helen, 1909-1948. Papers, 1925-1962 (bulk 1925-1948). 218 items, 29 vols. (3 ms. vols., 26 printed vols.). Location: U:167-168, 98:G. Louisiana journalist. Papers include correspondence (1929-1953) from national and local journalistic figures, manuscript writings (1927-1947), newspaper clippings, printed materials, photographs, and scrapbooks relating to Gilkison's activities at LSU and as a journalist. Clippings relate to LSU, local politics, and the death of Huey Long. Collection includes a broadside concerning a bill for a poll tax law signed by O. K. Allen and Huey Long. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1901, 2175.

Huey P. Long assassination painting, 1976. 1 item [photographic copy]. Location: E:. Winnfield, Louisiana, attorney, Louisiana Public Service Commission member, Louisiana governor, and U.S. senator. Artist's conception of the shooting of Long in the Louisiana state capitol building, originally published as an illustration in Playboy. Listed in manuscript card catalog under: Long, Huey Pierce. Assassination painting. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3232.

Huey P. Long broadside, 1934. 1 printed item. Location: Impr. 'The Ring Thugs at Work,' printed statement concerning campaign issues. Listed in manuscript card catalog under: Long, Huey P. Broadside. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3365.

Huey P. Long broadsides, 1935, n.d. 3 items. Location: OS:L. Broadside (1935) outlines the educational program of the Share Our Wealth Society, broadside (n.d.) details the principles and platform of the Society, and form letter (n.d.) designed to accompany information distributed on formation of local societies. Listed in manuscript card catalog under: Long, Huey P. Broadsides. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2748.

Huey P. Long collection, 1934?-1935. 3 items. Location: Misc:H. Collection includes a photograph of Long and friends, a pamphlet concerning Long and the Senate, and published sheet music. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4264.

Huey P. Long newspaper clipping scrapbook, 1929 January 28-March 29. 1 vol. Location: F:3. Scrapbook contains newspaper clippings relating to Huey Long and the attempt to impeach him. Listed in manuscript card catalog under: Long, Huey P. Newspaper clipping scrapbook. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2600-73.

Huey P. Long newspaper clippings, 1935 September-October. 3,204 items. Location: Z:26. Clippings include news stories and editorials from national newspapers covering the assassination of Huey Long. Listed in manuscript card catalog under: Long, Huey P. Newspaper clippings. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2031.

Huey P. Long oil portrait. 1 item. Location: Hill Lobby. Winnfield, Louisnana, attorney, Louisiana Public Service Commission member, Louisiana governor, and U.S. senator. Listed in unprocessed collections list under: Long, Huey P. Oil portrait. Mss. 3598.

Huey P. Long painting, [1935]. 1 item. Location: OS:L. Glossy print of Long's assassination. Listed in manuscript card catalog under: Long, Huey P. Painting. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2525.

Huey P. Long photograph album, 1928-1935. 1 album (30 photographs). Location: V:67. Photographs depict Long as governor and senator, Long's associates, family, LSU and Tulane events, the Overton trial, and Hattie Caraway's Arkansas campaign. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4495.

Huey P. Long photograph, n.d. 1 item. Location: E:72. Photograph shows Long leading the LSU band. Listed in manuscript card catalog under: Long, Huey Pierce. Photograph. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2906.

Huey P. Long photograph, n.d. 1 item. Location: E:. Photograph showing Huey Long delivering a speech at Shreveport, Louisiana. Listed in manuscript card catalog under: Long, Huey P. Photograph. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3346.

Huey P. Long published materials, 1932-1936, n.d. 23 items, 5 printed vols. Location: B:12, OS:L. Broadsides, articles, and published volumes chiefly in defamation of Long's political career. Collection includes 3 letters to Edward L. Tinker and his wife referring to Long and Dr. Weiss. Listed in manuscript card catalog under: Long, Huey P. Published materials. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2363.

Huey P. Long scrapbooks, 1921-1939. 57 ms. vols. [principally photostatic copies]. Location: 132:. Scrapbooks contain newspaper clippings and other printed items such as handbills, speeches, circulars, cartoons, posters, and letters, relating to the political career of Huey Long. Information about national, state, and local politics is also included. Listed in manuscript card catalog under: Long, Huey Pierce Scrapbooks. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1666.

Hummel, Richard J., Sr. Papers, 1861, 1875, 1894-1896, 1929. 250 items. Location: UU:63, OS:H. Baton Rouge postmaster. Papers include an acknowledgment from Governor Huey Long of a letter from Hummel concerning a proposed plan for additional financial aid from the state for public schools (1929); 246 hand stamped mail covers; and a Louisiana militia commission (1861). For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2044.

No "I" Records.

Jastremski, Leon, 1843-1907. Family Papers, 1836-1947. 336 items, 3 ms. vols. Location: W:23, M:21, OS:J, 98:J. Polish-born Louisiana politician, journalist, and newspaper publisher who served as mayor of Baton Rouge (1876-1882) and United States consul in Callao, Peru (1893-1897). Correspondence pertains to Jastremski's military service in the Civil War, his political career in Baton Rouge, and his term as U.S. Consul in Peru. Included are letters from several politicians including Huey P. Long. The collection also contains copies of speeches made by Jastremski, photographs, and prints. Included are three scrapbooks containing clippings and articles about Jastremski's political career. For further information online catalog. Mss. 2951.

John Holmes Overton scrapbook, 1932-1959, n.d. 1 vol., 5 items. Location: F:23, Misc. U.S. senator from Louisiana. Scrapbook of newspaper clippings pertain to Overton's political career. Items include a copy of Overton's memorial address on Huey Long (1936), a news release concerning a bill to reorganize the federal judiciary (1937), and commemorative programs. Listed in manuscript card catalog under: Overton, John Holmes Scrapbook. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3130.

John Overton-Edwin Broussard Senate Primary Hearings Scrapbook, 1933. 1 item. Location: S:124. Scrapbook of newspaper clippings from THE TIMES-PICAYUNE (New Orleans), Feb. 7, 1933 to May 2, 1933, reporting U.S. Senate hearings held in New Orleans regarding the disputed 1932 Senate primary between John Overton, an associate of Huey Long, and incumbent Edwin S. Broussasrd. For further information see the online catalog. Mss. 2600.

Johnston, J. Bennett, 1932-. Papers, 196?-1996. Ca. 1000 linear ft., 19 cassette tapes. Location: L:30, B6. Shreveport, Louisiana, attorney, U.S. senator. Papers include materials relating chiefly to Johnston's senatorial career. Collection contains cassette tapes (1990) of campaign speeches and interviews of Louisiana politicians including David Duke, Ben Bagert, and J. Bennett Johnson. Materials relating to Senator Russell Long are included. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4473. Complete Finding Aid.

Kemp, Bolivar E. (Bolivar Edwards), 1871-1933. Papers, 1913-1965. .5 linear feet. Location: 46. Amite, Louisiana, attorney, LSU Board of Supervisors member, U.S. congressman, and son-in-law of Harry D. Wilson, Louisiana Commissioner of Agriculture and Immigration. Papers include correspondence, printed items, photographs, and news clippings documenting the professional careers and social activities of Kemp, Wilson, and other family members. Broadsides relate to Huey Long's and Richard Leche's campaigns. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3567.

Kernion, George C. H. Family Papers, 1544-1942 (bulk 1832-1942), n.d. 174 items, 3 pamphlets. Location: U:99, OS:K. New Orleans public accountant and tax specialist. Papers include documents related to Kernion's career as an accountant and copies of genealogies and documents containing vital statistics for the Kernion, Campbell, Huchet, and Quimper families. Included in the collection are Civil War Confederate letters and political speeches and broadsides of Huey P. Long. Mss. 1629.

Leche, Richard Webster, 1898-1965. Papers, 1935-1956, n.d. ca. 100 linear ft. Location: 80. Louisiana governor. Papers document Leche's gubernatorial administration, flood control, parish administration, labor and federal agency relations, and LSU. Scrapbooks illustrative of Leche's career, Louisiana politics, O.K. Allen's administration, and Huey Long's senatorial career. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2060.

Linnie B. Persac scrapbook, 1935 September 10-21, 1936. 10 loose items, 1 ms. vol. Location: F:4. Scrapbook contains news stories and articles covering the assassination of Huey Long; loose items (1936) pertain to the political activities of Mrs. Huey Long. Listed in manuscript card catalog under: Persac (Linnie B.) Scrapbook. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2129.

Long, Carolyn Bason. Papers, 1969-1985, n.d. 8 linear ft. Location: 29. Volunteer activist, wife of Senator Russell B. Long. Papers include personal correspondence, photographs, and materials documenting charitable activities, social engagements, and duties as a senator's wife. Mss. 4020.

Long, Cathy. Papers, 1985-1986. 15 linear ft. Location : 4. U. S. congresswoman from Louisiana. Congressional office files of Long representing the Eighth Congressional District. Mss. 4051. Complete Finding Aid.

Long, Earl Kemp, 1895-1960. Letter, 1956 September 24. 2 items. Location: Misc. Louisiana lieutenant governor, Louisiana governor. Letter responds to request for an autographed photograph and expresses hope for Democratic victory in coming presidential election. Includes an autographed photograph of Long. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2816.

Long, Earl Kemp, 1895-1960. Papers, 1937-1977. 511 items, 12 ms. vols., 2 reels of film, 2 videocassettes. Location: 1:43-44, 20:10-, OS:L, 99:, L:30. Papers include scrapbooks of mainly newspaper clippings spanning Long's political and social career, photographs, miscellaneous manuscript and printed items, and 2 films covering early Louisiana history and Long's inauguration (May 1956). Films have been converted to video and are available on videocassette only. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3126, 3126-79.

Long, Earl Kemp, 1895-1960. Recording, n.d. 1 tape. Location: Vault. 'The Last of the Red Hot Papas' as recorded by Earl Long. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2624.

Long, Gillis William, 1923-1985. Papers, 1962-1985. 250 linear ft. Location: 2-4. Unprocessed collections list. Alexandria, Louisiana, attorney, U.S. congressman. Congressional office, personal, and business files of Long representing the Eighth Congressional District (1963-1965, 1973-1985). Mss. 4050.

Long, Huey Pierce, 1893-1935. Autograph, 1931 September 14. 1 item. Location: Misc. Winnfield, Louisiana, attorney, Louisiana Public Service Commission member, Louisiana governor, U.S. senator. Letter to an autograph collector signed by Huey Long. Listed in manuscript card catalog under: Long, Huey P. Autograph. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2732.

Long, Huey Pierce, 1893-1935. Collection, 1938, n.d. 3 items. Location: Bust: Long Curator's Office; 32:82. Winnfield, Louisiana, attorney, Louisiana Public Service Commission member, Louisiana governor, and U.S. senator. Collection includes bronze plaster bust and photograph of Huey Long and a Louisiana Capitol Building Bond (1938). Listed in unprocessed collections list under: Long, Huey P. Collection (bust). Mss. 4076.

Long, Huey Pierce, 1893-1935. Letter, 1928 October 12. 1 item. Location: Misc. Letter from Long to Dan Moody, Texas governor, inviting him or someone appointed by him to attend the Conference of the Board of Governors of the United States, to be held in New Orleans. Listed in manuscript card catalog under: Long, Huey P. Letter. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3309.

Long, Huey Pierce, 1893-1935. Papers, 1915-1936, n.d. 49 linear ft. Location: 30:1-50. Collection includes general, family, congressional, and legal correspondence, impeachment documents, radio speeches, book and senatorial campaign accounts, Public Service Commission records, printed items, and photographs. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2005.

Long, Huey Pierce, 1893-1935. Papers, 1927-1935. 9 items. Location: Misc. Papers include letters (some photocopies) and bills pertaining to Louisiana legislature, a broadside, a cartoon, and sheet music of 'Every Man a King.' For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 557, 1240, 1350, 1956.

Long, Huey Pierce, 1893-1935. Phonodisc. 2 items. Location: 1S-1B. Winnfield, Louisiana, attorney, Louisiana Public Service Commission member, Louisiana governor, and U.S. senator. Transcription (33 1/3 RPM phonograph record and cassette tape copy) of a speech, 'Our Plundering Government,' delivered by Long over the Columbia Broadcasting Company radio network, February 20, 1935 (length 26 minutes).

Long, Huey Pierce, 1893-1935. Tape recording, n.d. 1 magnetic recording. Location: W:15. Radio broadcast from the files of station WWL, New Orleans. Listed in manuscript card catalog under: Long, Huey P. Tape recording. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3037.

Long, Huey Pierce, 1893-1935. Tape recording, n.d. 1 magnetic recording. Location: W:15. Radio statement on the Share the Wealth program from the files of radio station KWKH in Shreveport, Louisiana. Listed in manuscript card catalog under: Long, Huey P. Tape recording. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3038.

Long, Huey Pierce, 1893-1935. U. S. Selective Service registration card, ca. 1916. 2 items [duplicate photocopies]. Location: Misc. Listed in manuscript card catalog under: Long, Huey P. U.S. Selective Service Registration Card. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3409.

Long, Russell B. Papers, 1912-1990. 771 linear ft. Location: 21-29, 84. Shreveport, Louisiana, attorney, U.S. senator. Papers include correspondence; legislative, committee, federal agency, special project, and political campaign files; press releases; speeches; audio tapes; motion picture film; videotapes; and photographs, relating chiefly to Long's senatorial career. Topics include tax reform, petroleum issues, and employee stock options. Materials on the personal and political activities of other Long family members, among them Huey Long, are included. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3700. Complete Finding Aid.

Louisiana Health Care Campaign Records, circa 1989-2004 (bulk: 1995-2001). Location: X 16 linear feet. Grassroots coalition that advocated for accessible, affordable health care for all Louisianans. Correspondence, reports, newsletters, press releases, and board minutes, and other records of the Louisiana Health Care Campaign, as well as background material on health care reform issues and groups and budgets and reports from allied groups and relevant state agencies, including the Department of Health and Hospitals and the Department of Insurance. Also includes records of the Louisiana Health Care Commission, of which the campaign was a member. For additional information, see online catalog. Mss. 4957. Complete finding aid.

Magruder, Benjamin Scott Collection, Hilda Moss Papers, 1921-1972 (1926-1940). 2.5 linear ft. Location: 109:24, OS:M. Baton Rouge, La., social worker. Papers relate to the administration of public relief aid in Louisiana under the direction of the Federal Emergency Relief Administration during the 1930s. Printed material and scrapbooks also report on WPA work programs, World War II, and the LSU Board; and they reflect the Louisiana political environment, particularly during the Huey P. Long era. Mss. 4425.For further information, see online catalog or complete finding aid.

Makar, John. Papers, 1938-1968, n.d. 32 items. Location: UU:85. Attorney of Natchitoches, Louisiana. Correspondence with Hubert H. Humphrey, Russell B. Long, and others concerns Makar's friendship with Humphrey, and contemporary national and state politics. Newspaper clippings refer to Humphrey's experience as a student at LSU and his political career. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2505.

Morgan, Ottis Pat. Papers, 1940-1962 (bulk 1947-1948). 108 items, 1 ms. vol., 1 printed vol., 8 tapes. Location: 79:62-63, OS:M. Research materials for M.A. thesis in Speech, 'A rhetorical study of the radio speaking of Sam Houston Jones in the 1948 Gubernatorial campaign.' Includes a scrapbook compiled by Dr. Waldo W. Braden, Louisiana State University Department of Speech, about the 1948 Gubernatorial campaign and candidates Sam H. Jones, Earl K. Long, Robert Kennon, and Jimmy Morrison. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2136.

Morris, James K. Papers, 1936-1981. .2 linear ft. Location: D:90. Compiled research materials on the Llano Colony, a cooperative society organized in California (1914). Part of the colony migrated to Newllano, Louisiana (1918). Letters, printed items, research materials and photographs relate to the Newllano Colony. Printed items include 'Huey P. Long Speaks to You from His Grave through His Disciples,' an open letter by the Board of Directors of Llano Colony (1966). For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3640.

National Student League, New Orleans Chapter. Letter, 1935 March. 1 item. Location: Misc. Letter condemns Huey Long's political machine and urges the organization of a National Student League chapter on the LSU campus. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2140.

Oge, John M. Papers, 1836-1937. .5 linear ft. Location: W:53-54, OS:O. Prominent resident, politician, and planter of Grand Coteau, Louisiana. His political offices included mayor of Grand Coteau, deputy sheriff of St. Landry Parish, and representative in the Louisiana State Legislature. Financial papers relate to the production of agricultural products. Early business correspondence discusses cotton and a property dispute. Personal correspondence from Oge's sons discusses employment, the military, and WWI. Political correspondence reflects the political atmosphere in Louisiana during the early 20th century with letters from the Louisiana governor's office, Huey P. Long, and political allies. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4207.

Pierson, Robert Hunter. Letter, 1961 April 21. 1 item [photocopy]. Location: Misc. Letter written by Julius T. Long, brother of Huey Long, to Pierson, relating details on the Pipes house and farm in Winn Parish, Louisiana. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2278.

No "Q" Records.

Richardson, Roger. Oral history interview, 1983. Transcript (22, 25 pages), 2 sound cassettes (1 hour). Location: L:4700.52. Roger and his wife, Carrie Johnston, were LSU students. Carrie's father, Hamilton Johnston, and Roger Richardson were professors in the College of Engineering. Interview deals with Roger and Carrie Richardson's experiences as students at the old and new campuses of LSU in the 1920s. It mentions attending football games with Huey Long, Hamilton Johnston's involvement with the construction of John M. Parker Auditorium, and Roger Richardson's LSU career. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.52.

Robinson, Joseph Taylor, 1872-1937. Letter, 1935. 1 item. Location: Misc. U.S. senator from Arkansas. Letter of acknowledgement to Ashley Cole for expressing approval of Robinson's speech in answer to Senator Huey Long's attacks on the Roosevelt administration. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2193.

Rose McConnell Long silhouette, 1936. 1 item. Location: 32:82. U.S. senator from Louisiana, wife of Huey Long. Listed in unprocessed collections list under: Long, Rose McConnell silhouette. Unprocessed collections list. Mss. 4158.

Russell B. Long letter, 1974 April 1. 1 item. Location: 32:80. Shreveport, Louisiana, attorney and U.S. senator. Letter from Long to a high school principal commenting on Lyndon Johnson. Listed in unprocessed collections list under: Long, Russell B. Letter. Unprocessed collections list. Mss. 3878.

Russell B. Long photograph, n.d. 1 item. Location: E:. Listed in manuscript card catalog under: Long, Russell B. Photograph. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3029.

Russell B. Long printed broadcast, [1948]. 1 item. Location: 32:79. Shreveport, Louisiana, attorney, U.S. senator. Broadcast entitled 'Why I Am for Earl Long.' Listed in unprocessed collections list under: Long, Russell B. Printed broadcast. Mss. 3667.

Schwartz, Kurt S. Papers, 1932-1935, 1967, n.d. 16 items, 1 printed vol. Location: 32-76. New Orleans resident. Collection contains printed items and correspondence concerning LSU and the LSU band. Letter from Huey Long concerning Schwartz's securing an LSU scholarship (1933) and correspondence reminiscing about Huey Long and the LSU band (1967) are included. Mss. 3740-84.

Scott, Emily T. (Emily Turpin). Papers, 1850-1935 (bulk 1882-1935). 326 items; 1 vol. Location: A:25. Emily Turpin Scott, resident of Sicily Island, Louisiana. Correspondence from her children and other family members pertains chiefly to family matters; some correspondence is concerned with land holdings of Scott's son-in-law, R. H. Harris. Also includes an 1865 amnesty oath signed by Israel Scott. Other letters discuss the cattle, lumber, and oil industries, and the death of Huey Long. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 386.

Smith, James Monroe, 1888-1949. Papers, 1924-1939. .5 linear ft. Location: R:15. Educator, university administrator, and President of LSU (1930-1939). Two accounts of Monroe's family history and career at LSU. One account describes meetings with Huey Long regarding LSU and the other discusses the controversy over the misappropriation of LSU grant money and the ensuing investigation by Richard Leche. Included are photographs, correspondence, invitations and announcements, scrapbook materials, newspaper clippings, and diplomas. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4490.

Stumberg, Jo, 1902-, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1978. Transcript (109 pages); 2 sound cassettes (1 hour, 50 minutes). Location: L:4700.61. Baton Rouge educator. Interview discusses campus life, Strumberg's first Master's thesis on women's occupations in Baton Rouge, and her career as elementary school teacher and LSU teacher. She mentions being fired by Huey Long, the expansion of LSU, and the status of women in 1920-1930s. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.61.

Sylvest, Murphy John, 1893-1980. Papers, 1929-1972, n.d. 22 items, 1 printed vol. Location: T:88. Educator, political foe of Huey Long. Collection includes biographical and genealogical information on the Sylvest family, recollections of events, individuals, family reunions, and references to Sylvest's career as an educator and his relationship with Huey Long. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3727.

Tanner, J. Thomas (James Thomas), 1885-1980. Papers, 1869-1980. 1,275 items; 56 vols. Location: R:19-22, 77:86-87, OS:T. Attorney, banker, state legislator representing Caddo Parish (1920-1924), Huey P. Long supporter, and Shreveport public servant (1930-1966). Collection consists primarily of diaries kept by Tanner (1929-1980), which include news clippings, political cartoons, and some photographs. Diary entries pertain to Tanner's career, social life, and politics. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3527.

U. S.  Department of Justice. Division of Investigation (FBI) Files: Huey P. Long Files Records, 1932-1969, n.d. 1 linear ft. [photocopies]. Location: 80:42. Records mainly consist of telegrams and memoranda from office files of the FBI special agents in the Bureau's New Orleans office concerning activities of Senator Huey Long. Mss. 3865.

Uhler, John Earle, 1891-1962. Papers, 1876-1962 (bulk 1923-1957). 32.5 linear ft., 25 microfilm reels, 1 filmstrip. Location: 79:22-44, 31:49-51, OS:U. English professor at LSU and researcher on English Renaissance literature. Uhler's publication of 'Cane Juice' (1931) dealt with LSU campus life and resulted in his being fired by Huey Long. He was reinstated six months later. Papers include personal and professional correspondence; and manuscripts of published and unpublished works by Uhler, including research on Thomas Morley and research and a manuscript of an unpublished biography of opera baritone Pasquale Amato. Also included are materials documenting LSU academic affairs and Uhler's political activities. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1902.

No "V" Records.

Weiss, Seymour. Collection. Location: W:57-58, OS:W. Manager and owner of the Roosevelt Hotel in New Orleans. Weiss was a confidant of Louisiana Governor and U.S. Senator Huey P. Long, who made the hotel his headquarters.  He was also treasurer of Long's secret political fund from the late 1920s-1935. The bulk of the collection consists of circulars announcing speeches and positions of Huey P. Long and other Louisiana politicians. Also present are political cartoons by 'Trist' [Trist Wood] and various campaign items. The collection includes letters of Huey P. Long related to issues of concern to Louisiana citizens and sheet music for 'Every Man a King,' 'Follow Long,' and several other songs, with words by Long. Mss. 4165. Complete finding aid.

Williams, Thomas Harry, 1909-1979. Papers, 1861-1971. 38 linear feet. Location: 34:, OS:W, Vault, Mf:W. Boyd Professor of History at LSU. Professional papers include correspondence relative to publications, teaching, research, and lectures; and manuscripts of textbooks and scholarly publications, including his Pulitzer Prize-winning biography, Huey Long. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2489, 2510. Complete finding aid PDF | HTML.

Wilson, Riley J. (Riley Joseph), 1871-1946. Papers, 1924-1947. 95 items; 1 microfilm reel. Location: Mss.Mf:W, Misc:W. Judge in Ruston, Louisiana, and U.S. representative from Louisiana (1914-1936), active in flood control and the anti-Long movements. Papers consist of news clippings dealing with Wilson's political career, particularly his gubernatorial campaign (1927); campaign literature; and photographs of Wilson. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3463.

Witten, Morris Lewis, 1904-1973. Reminiscences: oral history, 1966. 1 item (5 leaves). Location: W:22. Shreveport, Louisiana, supporter of Huey Long early in Long's political career. Reminicense comments on the political style and influence of Huey Long. Topics include Franklin Roosevelt and the Share the Wealth policy, the Win or Lose Oil Company, U.S. Senate filibusters, and Senator Hattie Caraway's career. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4058.

No "X" Records.

No "Y" Records.

No "Z" Records.


CHRONOLOGICAL INDEX

1544-1942 (bulk 1832-1942), n.d. Kernion, George C. H. Family papers
1836-1937. Oge, John M. Papers
1836-1947. Jastremski, Leon, 1843-1907. Family papers
1844, 1927-1970, n.d. Fournet, John B., 1895-1984. Papers
1845-1940 (Bulk: 1845-1865). Badley Family Papers
1850-1935 (bulk 1882-1935). Scott, Emily T. (Emily Turpin). Papers
1861, 1875, 1894-1896, 1929. Hummel, Richard J., Sr. Papers
1861-1971. Williams, Thomas Harry, 1909-1979. Papers
1869-1980. Tanner, J. Thomas (James Thomas), 1885-1980. Papers
1876-1962 (bulk 1923-1957). Uhler, John Earle, 1891-1962. Papers
1892-1959 (bulk 1909-1931). Aswell, James B. (James Benjamin), 1869-1931. Family papers
1896, 1906, 1923-1930. Baynard, L. B. Jr. Papers
1906-1918, 1931-1955, 1980, 1990, undated (bulk: 1931-1955). Bowers, Laura Boddie Jones, Papers
1912-1921. Gibbs, Mrs. Henry W. Papers
1912-1990. Long, Russell B. Papers
1913-1965. Kemp, Bolivar E. (Bolivar Edwards), 1871-1933. Papers
1915-1936, n.d. Long, Huey Pierce, 1893-1935. Papers
ca. 1916. Long, Huey Pierce, 1893-1935. U. S. Selective Service registration card
1916-1929. Boone, William C. Letters
1921-1939. Huey P. Long scrapbooks
1924-1939. Smith, James Monroe, 1888-1949. Papers
1924-1947. Wilson, Riley J. (Riley Joseph), 1871-1946. Papers
1925, 1928, n.d. Dawson, Mrs. Frank D. Collection
1925-1962 (bulk 1925-1948). Gilkison, Helen, 1909-1948. Papers
[1926-1927]. Carl Austin Weiss, Jr. Photograph
1927-1935. Long, Huey Pierce, 1893-1935. Papers
1928 October 12. Long, Huey Pierce, 1893-1935. Letter
1928-1935. Huey P. Long photograph album
1929 January 28-March 29. Huey P. Long newspaper clipping scrapbook
1929 February 7-May 2. Huey P. Long impeachment scrapbook
1929-1972, n.d. Sylvest, Murphy John, 1893-1980. Papers
1931 September 14. Long, Huey Pierce, 1893-1935. Autograph
1932-1935, 1967, n.d. Schwartz, Kurt S. Papers
1932-1936, n.d. Huey P. Long published materials
1932-1959, n.d. John Holmes Overton scrapbook
1932-1969, n.d.U. S.  Department of Justice. Division of Investigation (FBI) Files: Huey P. Long Files. Records
1932-1988. Detro, Randall A. (Randall Augustus), 1931-. Collection
1934. Huey P. Long broadside
1934?-1935. Huey P. Long collection
ca. 1935. Gerald L. K. Smith broadside
[1935]. Huey P. Long painting
1935. Robinson, Joseph Taylor, 1872-1937. Letter
1935 March. National Student League, New Orleans Chapter. Letter
1935 September 6. Darling, Jay N. (Jay Norwood), 1876-1962. Huey P. Long cartoon
1935 September-October. Huey P. Long newspaper clippings
1935, n.d. Huey P. Long broadsides
1935 September 10-21, 1936. Linnie B. Persac scrapbook
1935-1956, n.d. Leche, Richard Webster, 1898-1965. Papers
ca. 1936. Gerald L. K. Smith circular
1936. Rose McConnell Long silhouette
1936-1981. Morris, James K. Papers
1937-1977. Long, Earl Kemp, 1895-1960. Papers
1938, n.d. Long, Huey Pierce, 1893-1935. Collection
1939, 1967-1970. Buford, Nick, 1941-. Papers
1940-1962 (bulk 1947-1948). Morgan, Ottis Pat. Papers
1943-1956. Chennault, Claire Lee, 1893-1958. Family papers
1944-1960. Burch, Wilson E. Papers
[1948]. Russell B. Long printed broadcast
1954 July 28. George S. Long letter
1956 September 24. Long, Earl Kemp, 1895-1960. Letter
1957-1962. Bozeman, H. B. Papers
196?-1996. Johnston, J. Bennett, 1932-. Papers
1961 April 21. Pierson, Robert Hunter. Letter
1962-1985. Long, Gillis William, 1923-1985. Papers
1963. Earl K. Long program
1966. Witten, Morris Lewis, 1904-1973. Reminiscences: oral history
1969-1985, n.d. Long, Carolyn Bason. Papers
1970. Bell, David J. Reminiscence
1971 February 23. Farley, James A., 1888-. Letter
1974 April 1. Russell B. Long letter
1976. Huey P. Long assassination painting
1977. Frey, Fred C. (Frederick Charles), 1891-1980. Oral history interview
1978. Stumberg, Jo, 1902-, interviewee. Oral history interview
1979. Fuqua, Henry L. (Luce), interviewee. Oral history interview
1979. Fuqua, Henry L. (Luce), interviewee. Oral history interview
1979, 1981, n.d. Dugas, Claiborne J., 1898-. Papers
1982. Devol, Don, d. 1983, interviewee. Oral history interview
1983. Richardson, Roger. Oral history interview
1985-1986. Long, Cathy. Papers
n.d. Huey P. Long photograph
n.d. Huey P. Long photograph
n.d. Long, Earl Kemp, 1895-1960. Recording
n.d. Long, Huey Pierce, 1893-1935. Tape recording
n.d. Long, Huey Pierce, 1893-1935. Tape recording
n.d. Makar, John. Papers, 1938-1968
n.d. Russell B. Long photograph  Footer
Comments / LSU Home / LSU Libraries
Hill Memorial Library / Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Public Services Desk: (225) 578-6544
Reference Desk: (225) 578-6568
Fax (225) 578-9425
Copyright © 1996 - 2009 LSU Libraries
Last updated: Thursday, 12-Mar-2009 15:27:38 CDT

LSU Main Page