Special Collections
LSU Libraries
spacer
Home / Online Catalog Site A-Z Help    
   

 

Manuscript Resources on
Cajun History in the
Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections,
Special Collections, LSU Libraries


Contents:
Introduction
Alphabetical List
Chronological Index

INTRODUCTION

In 1755, a group of French-speaking people were exiled from their homeland by British military tactics in a part of Nova Scotia then known as "French Acadia". Those Acadian immigrants who relocated to Southern Louisiana adapted to the unique challenges the region provided, to become known as the "Cajuns," an ethnic and cultural group much celebrated, and sometimes misunderstood.

The collection of manuscripts pertaining to the Cajuns that may be found in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) of the LSU Libraries is varied in nature, ranging from the large group of records compiled by the Acadian Handicraft Project to a single French Acadian Music Festival program. Oral history interviews, personal papers, cartoons, photographs, scripts, and other artifacts are present in the manuscripts groups. A range of dates from the late nineteenth to the late twentieth centuries are present (see chronological listing).

Collections in this guide are listed alphabetically. Brief descriptions include references to sources for additional information--either the LSU Libraries' catalog, which is accessible through the Internet, or the manuscript card catalog in the Special Collections reading room of Hill Memorial Library. Still additional information on some of these collections can be found in detailed finding aids in the reading room. Increasingly, electronic copies of these finding aids can be found on the World Wide Web site for Special Collections, where you can also find information about using the collections, searching the online catalog remotely, and asking us questions.

Find in Page

ALPHABETICAL LIST

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |

Acadian Handicraft Project. Records. 1939-1962. 19.0 linear ft. (8,658 items, 152 vols.). Location: 7:58-63, 7: 67-68. Project launched in 1942 to preserve the language and culture of the French-speaking people of Louisiana; project was suspended around 1962. Records include correspondence, promotional materials, financial records, registers, and scrapbooks, and include papers of Louise V. Oliver documenting the day-to-day operation of the project. Manuscript music and French songs are contained in a scrapbook. Songs and some correspondence in French. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1800.

Arceneaux, William, Papers, 1964-2007 (bulk 1972-2007). 15 linear feet and 20 volumes. Louisiana higher education official. Papers consist of correspondence, business papers, photographs, printed items, and scrapbooks related to the professional, civic, and personal activities of William Arceneaux. A small amount of correspondence is in French and Spanish. For additional information, see online catalog Mss. 4107. Complete finding aid.

Bertrand, Alvin Lee, 1918-, Interviewee. Oral history interview. 1995. 5 sound cassettes (7.5 hours), Transcript (276 p.). Location: L:4700.0524. LSU alumnus and Boyd professor of Sociology/Rural Sociology. Bertrand discusses growing up in rural La., and the French language and Cajun culture. He also discusses rural sociology and La. agriculture. He describes the LSU campus in 1936 and details his long association with LSU and the Sociology Department. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0524. Complete Finding Aid

Bertrand, Alvin Lee. Papers, 1942-1988. 1 linear ft. Location: 43:65. Author and professor of rural sociology at Louisiana State University. Includes copies, drafts, and typescripts of articles for publication; reports on rural industrialization, development, settlement, and social impact studies in Louisiana and the American South; and addresses and speeches given at sociology conferences in the United States and around the world. Mss. 4787. Complete Finding Aid. HTML | PDF

Breaux, John B. Papers, 1933, 1938, 1963, 1970-2004 (bulk: 1987-2004). Approx. 781 linear feet. Location: Room B6, Map Cage, Vault:54. Correspondence, briefing books, bills, reports, testimony transcripts, research files, news releases, printed materials, audio-visual and electronic files, photographs and memorabilia documenting the political and U.S. Congressional career of Louisiana Representative (1972-1986) and Senator (1987-2004) John B. Breaux, and the work of his office. In addition to Senate and House files, contains materials related to his campaigns, the Democratic Party, and the Washington Mardi Gras. Topics include, among others, flood control, abortion, transportation, energy, the environment, taxes, Social Security, Medicare, Medicaid, and healthcare, consumer protection, wetlands conservation, base closures in Louisiana, commerce, trade, and agriculture policy, especially for sugar and rice. For additional information, see the online catalog. Mss. 4922. Complete Finding Aid (PDF).

Clark, Gladys, b. 1918. Papers, circa 1890-2004 (bulk 1940-1997). 0.75 linear ft. Location: 128:. An accomplished spinner and weaver in the Acadian tradition, Clark received numerous awards during her career. The collection includes correspondence, photographs, and printed materials that document her artistic works and awards received, including a National Heritage Fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts in 1997. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4953. Complete Finding Aid. PDF

Comeaux, Louis, 1911-, Interviewee. Oral history interview. 1993. 1 sound cassette (45 minutes), Index (3 pages). Location: 4700.0744. Retired sugarcane sharecropper and life-long resident of Four Corners, an unincorporated community south of Franklin, Louisiana. Recollections of Comeaux's childhood as the son of a cane farmer. He recalls his work in an Avery Island salt mine; farming as a sharecropper; the routine of sugarcane planting and harvest; cane syrup production; farm labor; and early transportation. Comeaux also recalls traditional Cajun foods including couche-couche and cracklins; the boucherie; and social conditions in Four Corners. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0744.

Day, Anita G., Digital Prints. 2000. Forty (40) 5 inches X 7 inches digital prints, matted to 11 inches X 14 inches. Location: 91:3. The collection consists of 40 digital prints of images created at the 1999 Festivals Acadiens, an annual cultural event that began in 1972. The Lafayette Jaycees, along with the help of Rubber Boots, Inc., organize the principal components of Festivals Acadiens, including four separate festivals: Festival de Musique Acadienne; La Vie Cadienne Wetlands Folklife Festival; Heritage Pavilion, and; Bayou Food Festival. These festivals are held in Girard Park in Lafayette, Louisiana. The 1999 festival, during which these images were created, was held from Friday, September 17, through Sunday, September 19. These prints were part of the exhibition, "Preservation as Public Spectacle: Festivals Acadiens," displayed in Hill Memorial Library in 2000. Mss. 4993. Complete finding aid.

de Caro, Francis A. and Rosan A. Jordan, 1926-2006, n.d. (bulk 1966-2003) 12.5 linear ft. Location: 11:19, 15:15-20. De Caro and Jordan were folklorists, authors, and Louisiana State University (Baton Rouge, La.) professors. The collection includes personal and professional correspondence, writings, exhibitions, photographs, printed items consisting of brochures, handbills, newspapers, and posters; and topical files that document de Caro's folklore class at LSU, his work with the Louisiana Folklife Commission, and Jordan's work with the women's movement. Writings as well as exhibitions comprise material primarily related to folklore within Louisiana and British colonial life in India. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3197, 4089, 4164. Complete finding aid.

No "E" Records.

French Acadian Music Festival program. 1 item. Location: 32:79. Mss. 3690.

No "G" Records.

No "H" Records.

No "I" Records.

No "J" Records.

No "K" Records.

La Houssaye, Sidonie de. Papers [between 1880 and 1894], n.d. 21 vols., 6 mf reels. Location: F:17, Mf., Mss.Mf:L. Louisiana French author (1821-1894) of Franklin, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana. Manuscript drafts of short stories written by la Houssaye and published under the pen name of 'Louise Raymond.' In French. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 105. Complete finding aid

Louisiana Folklife. Program files. 1976-1998 (1979-1996). 22 linear ft. 21 video cassettes ; 3/4 in. 3112 sound cassettes; 1/4 in. Location: 63:2-11, OS:F, L:45-54, 115:24-28, L:2a-4a. The Louisiana Folklife Program is one of the programs of the Division of the Arts. The mandate of the Folklife Program is to identify, document, preserve, and present Louisiana's traditional cultures. Collection includes correspondence, financial documents and papers, grant drafts. Also included are Folklife Program publications data, printed materials, newspaper clippings, posters, photographs, oral history recordings, videos, and contracts with musicians and craftspeople and completed applications, different commissions' minutes and materials, and correspondence and documentation on different folklife projects and folklife festivals. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4730. Complete Finding Aid. HTML | PDF

Miro, Estevan Rodriguez, 1744-1795. Letters, 1782-1791. 20 items [typed copies]. Location: Misc., BTC, Safe:15. Governor of Spanish colonial Louisiana. Letters from Miro to Alexandre de Clouet, Commandant of Attakapas and Opelousas, and to St. Marc Darby and Juan de la Villebeuvre, government officials at Opelousas pertaining to administrative matters including successions, road repairs, and a decree restricting the movement of Acadians. In French and Spanish with English translations. Filed in the manuscript card catalog under Miro, Estevan, 1744-1795. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 298.

Mouton, J. Andre, b. 1892. Papers, 1928-1975. 263 items, 7 vols. (6 ms. vols., 1 printed vol.). Location: N:8, 79:117, OS:M. Native of St. Martin Parish, Louisiana. Mouton worked for the Southern Pacific and Illinois Central railroads, the Moore-McCormack Steamship line, and the New Orleans Dock Board. The bulk of the collection consists of invitations, public relations materials, and photographs pertaining to Mouton's speaking engagements and his involvement in clubs and organizations. Scrapbooks (1929-1965) contain clippings. Diaries (1959-1972), some written in Saline County, Arkansas, discuss gardening, participation in church and recreational functions, speaking engagements, family news, and the weather. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3828. Complete finding aid. HTML | PDF

No "N" Records.

No "O" Records.

Post, Lauren Chester, 1899-1976. Papers. 1899-1977, n.d. 10 linear ft. Location: 7:11-19, W:10. Professor of geography at San Diego State University, author of CAJUN SKETCHES (1974) and LOUISIANA AS IT IS (1969), and native of Rayne, Louisiana. Correspondence, an autobiography, research materials, published and unpublished works, newspaper clippings, recordings of folk music, interviews, photos, and other material related to Post's books and research on Cajun folklife and other topics. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2854.

No "Q" Records.

No "R" Records.

No "S" Records.

No "T" Records.

No "U" Records.

No "V" Records.

No "W" Records.

No "X" Records.

No "Y" Records.

No "Z" Records.

CHRONOLOGICAL INDEX

1880-1894. La Houssaye, Sidonie de. Papers
1890-2004 (bulk 1940-1997). Clark, Gladys Papers
1899-1977, n.d. Post, Lauren Chester, 1899-1976. Papers.
1926-2006. de Caro, Francis A. and Rosan A. Jordan Collection
1928-1975. Mouton, J. Andre, b. 1892. Papers.
1933, 1938, 1963, 1970-2004 (bulk: 1987-2004). Breaux, John B. Papers 1939-1962. Acadian Handicraft Project. Records.
1972 April 15. French Acadian Music Festival program. 1 item.
1976-1998 (1979-1996). Louisiana Folklife. Program files.
1993. Comeaux, Louis, 1911-, Interviewee. Oral history interview.
1995. Bertrand, Alvin Lee, 1918-, Interviewee. Oral history interview.
 Footer
Comments / LSU Home / LSU Libraries
Hill Memorial Library / Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Public Services Desk: (225) 578-6544
Reference Desk: (225) 578-6568
Fax (225) 578-9425
Copyright © 1996 - 2009 LSU Libraries
Last updated: Monday, 26-Oct-2009 13:43:43 CDT

LSU Main Page