Special Collections
LSU Libraries
spacer
Home / Online Catalog Site A-Z Help    
   

 

Manuscript Resources on
American Involvement in
Twentieth Century Wars/Conflicts
in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections,
Special Collections, LSU Libraries


Contents:
Introduction
World War I
World War II
Korean War
Vietnam War

Find in Page

INTRODUCTION

This guide describes collections, or parts of collections, which document the roles of Louisiana natives and residents and Louisiana State University regarding American involvement in 20th century wars/conflicts.  It also includes materials related to wars/conflicts of people without a Louisiana connection.  Wars and conflicts covered are World War I, World War II, the Korean War, and the Vietnam War.  The guide includes not only materials from the war years, but also later materials that serve as sources for 20th century war history.  Thus such sources as post-war reminiscences, oral history interviews, and records of veterans' groups—materials dealing with the war as memory and experience--will be found alongside soldiers' and civilians' letters, diaries, newspaper clippings, pamphlets, and scrapbooks from the wars themselves.  Also present are materials relating to the aftermath of war and political situations and conditions in the U.S. and abroad. 

 

LSU's manuscript holdings on 20th century wars and military conflicts are an excellent primary source for researchers.  Many natives, residents and LSU students were involved in the wars/conflicts as soldiers, sailors, pilots, Marines, nurses, politicians, and journalists.  During World War II, Louisiana's Camp Livingston served as a prisoner of war camp and Camp Beauregard was a military training facility.  The mood on the LSU campus during wartime, the role of the media in the Vietnam War, and African American and women's involvements in the wars are also covered.

 

Collections in this guide are grouped by war or conflict and alphabetically listed within each.  A chronological index follows. Brief descriptions include references to sources for additional information--either the LSU Libraries' catalog, which is accessible through the Internet, or the manuscript card catalog in the Special Collections reading room of Hill Memorial Library. Still additional information on some of these collections can be found in detailed finding aids in the reading room. Increasingly, electronic copies of these finding aids can be found on the World Wide Web site for Special Collections, where you can also find information about using the collection, searching the online catalog remotely, and asking us questions.  Additional oral histories related to this topic may be found by searching the holdings of the T. Harry Williams Center for Oral History.

 


World War I

 

ALPHABETICAL LIST

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

 

Aswell, James B. (James Benjamin), 1869-1931.  Family Papers, 1892-1959 (bulk 1909-1931). 3.0 linear ft. (1,319 items, 18 m.s. volumes, 38 printed volumes. Location: U:172-174, G:1, 98:A. Educator and Congressman of Louisiana. Diaries of Aswell's official missions to Europe in 1918 and 1923, memorandum books, and scrapbooks. Correspondence and photographs pertaining to Aswell's visit to the war front. Newspaper clippings about Aswell's position in Congress on the veterans' bonus and concerning the building and dedication of Veterans hospital.  For further information see online catalog.   Mss. 1408, 1420, 1426, 1468, 1483.

 

Badon, Robert, 1896-1998.  Oral history interview, 1995.  1 sound cassette (1.25 hours), transcript ( 41 p.)  Location: L:4700.0555.  Louisiana native.  New Orleans public service employee, a county agent, and a schoolteacher. WWI veteran and graduate of LSU with a degree in agriculture.  Badon relates his four months of military duty during WWI.  Time period covered includes 1900-1995. For further information see online catalog.  Mss. 4700.00555.

 

Bacon, Albert C.  Reminiscences, 1916-1919. 1 item, 36 type written pages. Location: Misc.  U.S. Marine during WWI.  Bacon writes of his participation in the fighting in the Belleau Woods and Chateau Thierry area.  For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1625.

 

Boyd, Thomas D. Jr., 1882-1964.  Application, 1917. 11 items.  Location: Misc.  Son of the LSU President and an alumnus of LSU. Application and letters of recommendation for a commission in the Quartermaster's Dept., U.S. Army, during WWI. For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 1946.

 

Breazeale, Nita Sims. Family Papers, 1811-1981 (bulk 1905-1943). 9.5 linear ft., 3 v. Location: 47:8-12, OS:B, N:9, 65:3, vault. Baton Rouge, La. resident. Papers relate to the Breazeale and Sims families of Baton Rouge, Donaldsonville, and Natchitoches, La. They consists of correspondence, legal documents, printed material, photographs, and artifacts related to World War I and World War II, Bundles for Britain, Inc., genealogy, and state and local history. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2442. Complete finding aid (PDF).

 

Bright, Jane C.  Scrapbook, 1917-1956 (bulk 1918-1919). 31 items and 1 m.s. volume. Location: 38-73. A Red Cross nurse during WWI and a native of Yazoo, Mississippi.  Bright was attached to the New Orleans Chapter Base Hospital, Unit No.24, and stationed at Limoges, France.  Scrapbook contains mementos of her service as a Red Cross Nurse with the American Expeditionary Force (A.E.F.) in France.  For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 1810.

 

Brooks, Overton, 1897-1961. Papers, 1905-1970. 5,642 items, 35 ms. vols., 60 printed vols. Location: 35:67-76, 31:81, 50:81 P:15, OS:B, Vault:3. Baton Rouge and Shreveport, Louisiana, WWI veteran, attorney and U.S. congressman from Louisiana. Correspondence pertains largely to Brooks' congressional career, particularly his membership in the House Armed Services committee and the House Science and Aeronautics committee. Collection also contains photographs and diaries. Included in the correspondence are political and personal letters from Presidents Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, and Johnson and items related to Brooks's own war service. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2492, 2520.

 

Brunswig, Lucien Napoleon, 1854-1943.  Journal, 1919-1962. 1 m.s. volume and 1 printed volume. Location: W:46.  Native of California who toured France during WWI. Essays include detailed descriptions of war damages and reconstruction efforts, discussion of major issues and personalities of the war and post-war era, the role of the American Red Cross in France, and the German “Boches.”  For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 3600.

 

Buck-Ellis Family Papers, 1812, 1826-2000. 14 linear ft and 27 volumes. Location: 16:1-14, OS:B, J:27, Vault 1. Ellis family of Tangipahoa Parish, La.; a family of educators, lawyers, and public officials. Ellis family papers (1812, 1826-1987) are comprised almost entirely of personal correspondence relating to daily activities, politics, health, religion, employment, military service, education and travel of five generations. Other material includes financial papers, legal documents, speeches and lectures related to the study of law, printed items, account books, diaries, inventories, family scrapbook and minute books of United Daughters of the Confederacy, Blue Cross Chapter. The Carroll and Martina Ellis Buck papers (1922-2000) consist primarily of personal correspondence from family and friends, but include some professional correspondence, primarily from his legal and public career. Mss. 4820. For additional information see online catalog. Complete finding aid.

Buhler Family.  Papers, 1805-1952 (bulk 1824-1931). 437 items, 1 m.s. volume. Location: C:49, Range 100. Principally in East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana, Adams County, Mississippi, and New York. Liberty Loan posters.  For further information see online catalog.  Map case 1333.


Bynum Family Papers, 1814-1969 (bulk: 1913-1969).1 linear foot, 26 v. Location: E:103-105, OS:B. Residents of Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Papers contain correspondence, writings, diaries, financial records, and printed material, relating to family matters, social activities, World Wars I and II, Louisiana State University student life, and local and state government. There is also a scrapbook of the Female Orphan Association of Baton Rouge (1848-1861). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3104, 3174. Complete finding aid. HTML | PDF

 

Chicago Herald and Examiner. Newspaper collection, 1918. 1 item. Location: 99. WWI “Victory edition” of the Chicago Herald and Examiner, Nov. 12.  For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 3772.

 

Cockfield E.J and Family, 1854-1930. Papers, 1854-1930 (bulk 1875-1890). 915 items and 11 printed volumes, 15 m.s. volumes.  Location: A:65-66, P:19. Family of Natchitoches Parish. After 1912, the papers are chiefly those of Estelle Cockfield, great-niece of E.J. Cockfield. Includes correspondence between Estelle and her brother, Bonito, written from New Orleans, Charleston, South Carolina, and Pensacola, Florida, during his service in the U.S. Navy during WWI.  Also includes letters from A.B. Cockfield from France describing the customs of the people on England and France, 1918.  For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 989.

 

Daniels, Josephus, 1862-1948.  Papers, 1917-1936. 4 items.  Location: Misc:D.  A U.S. Secretary of the Navy, Ambassador to Mexico, and editor of the Raleigh, North Carolina newspaper, News and Observer. Letters describe construction at the Boston Navy Yard, the American economy during WWI, Woodrow Wilson's role at the Versailles Peace Conference, Roosevelt's Agricultural Adjustment Act and its effects on farm prices and the rural economy.  An excerpt of a speech by Daniels discusses the service of women during WWI.  Letter relating advantages of Federal Reserve Board and the U.S. Shipping Board to the conduct of the War.  For further information see online catalog.  Mss. 2389.

 

Douglas, Judith Hyams, 1875-1955.  Papers, 1897-1955. 700 items, 2 m.s. volumes, and 1 printed volume.  Location: E:56-57, MF:D.  Scrapbook entries on microfilm discuss Belgian relief activities and war service. For further information see manuscript card catalog.   Mss. 1392.

 

Ellis, John Hamilton, 1894-1971.  John Hamilton and Harriet Boyd Ellis Papers, 1895, 1899, 1919-1971, n.d.  35 items, 2 printed volumes.  Location: 79:117, OS:E. Letters of a soldier written from France, including one describing the underground city of Verdun. Mrs. William Booth's correspondence of the Salvation Army to the A.E.F forces.  An honorable discharge from WWI.  A printed roster of the 114th Engineers, 1st Corps, A.E.F. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4092.

Evans, J. Bruce, Papers, 1614-2005 (bulk 1930-1990). 31.5 linear ft., 26 v. Location: 92:82-109; OS:E; J:34-35; Vault:1. Baptist minister, religious counselor and civil rights activist. Correspondence, church records, sermons, workshop materials, printed items, photographs and audio tapes reflect Evans's ministerial career in Baton Rouge, La., at First Baptist Church and Fellowship Church. Personal papers [some items in French], business records and genealogical material document the ancestry of Evans and his wife, Anita Louise, and provide insight into the personal lives of family members. Papers also furnish histories of Bienville and Natchitoches parishes and Saline, La., and relate to Caroline Dormon Nature Preserve and to Dormon's activities as a naturalist. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4664. Complete finding aid (PDF)

 

Fontenot, Ozeme, 1846-1928.  Family Papers, 1834-1949, n.d.  1,148 items, 49 m.s. volumes, 5 printed volumes.  Location: UU:190-194, O:21, OS:F, 98.  Correspondence concerning military discharge from France of George Parker.  See also reference under: Parker, George Jr.; Pershing, John J.  For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3248. Complete Finding Aid (PDF)

 

Gianelloni, V.J.(Vivian J.)1892-1957.  Papers, 1916-1918. 175 items, and 1 m.s. volume, 35 printed volumes. Location: 79:55-56, OMC-3, 98.  LSU alumnus and sugar technologist.  Course material relating to Lieutenant Gianelloni's training and related items. For further information see online catalog.  Mss. 1939.

 

Gibson, George T.  Letters, 1917. 45 items.  Location: B:13.  Family letters from an American lieutenant in Liverpool, England.  For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss.  2451.

 

Head, William Hughes, 1821-1886. Family Papers, 1838-1947 (bulk 1845-1930). 7 linear ft. Location: 34:123-130, OS:H. Baptist minister, druggist. Family papers include correspondence, sermons, and writings, and other family letters and legal documents related to the drugstore business. Correspondence reflects student life before and after WWI. Correspondence, photographs and printed items reflect the military service of William Hughes Head, Jr. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3238. Complete finding aid. HTML | PDF

 

Heberle, Rudolf, 1896-. Papers, 1869, 1929-1991. 9 linear feet. Location: 78:93-101, OS:H. Native of Germany and Boyd Professor of Sociology at LSU. Personal papers primarily are correspondence (some in German) relating to his need to leave Germany and obtain a position in the U.S. Professional papers include correspondence with sociologists and colleagues world-wide, research on displaced persons in Mississippi and Louisiana, social problems in Germany, German immigration, and World War II, as well as his comments on Naziism. Also included are notes, lectures, published and unpublished writings. For further information, see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1921, 2254, 2345. Complete finding aid (PDF).

 

Historical Society of East and West Baton Rouge Parish.  Papers, 1828-1919 (bulk 1917-1919).  45 items. Location: OS:H.  American Red Cross News.  History of the 805th Pioneer Infantry, A.E.F. by Paul S. Bliss. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 131.

 

Hoguet, Major Alexandre.  Oral history interview, 1908-1957.    1 sound cassette, (1 hour), transcript (47 pages). Location: L:4700.0040.  Louisiana native, resident of Baton Rouge, and LSU Professor of French.  Discussion of campus life during WWI.  For further information see online catalog.  Mss. 4700.0040.

 

Hudson, Frederick Gray.  Collection, 1890-1957. 154 items, 1 volume.  Location: W:36, J: 24.  Attorney of Monroe, Louisiana.  Scrapbook of newspaper clippings and related magazine articles concerning the League of Nations and the aftermath of WWI.  For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1796, 2953.

 

Janvier, Charles.  Notebook, 1917-1918. 1 m.s. volume.  Location: M:20.  Prominent citizen of New Orleans.  Speeches about the Red Cross and the thrift stamp during WWI.  For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 1253.

 

Johnson (Alfred Grima) Family Papers, 1805-2001 (bulk: 1850-1950). 0.6 linear feet. Locations: 111:7, OS:J. Retired Central Intelligence Agency officer and historic preservationist. Collection consists of correspondence, financial and legal documents, research notes, photographs, and other records pertaining to the Grima, Montegut, Pitot, Foley, and Pugh families of South Louisiana. The records were accumulated for the purpose of studying genealogy and family history. Contains records in both English and French. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 5005. Complete Finding Aid. PDF

 

Kidd, W. P. (William P.), 1894-1947.  Papers, 1872-1942 (bulk 1916-1923).  0.3 linear ft., 53 items, 1 m.s. volume, 8 printed  volumes.  Location: UU:126, OS:K, 99:K.  Native of Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Served in the 42nd Division, A.E.F., stationed in Mayschoss, Germany, during WWI.  Participated in at least two battles on the Western Front and later served on the Mexican border. Letters mention Kidd's participation in the battles at St. Mihiel and Argonne Forest on the Western Front, comment on his furlough to France, and discuss his return home.  Photographs of Kidd, the Old State Capitol in Baton Rouge, an order by Army General John J. Pershing thanking soldiers for their service, and the departure of a troop train.  Maps of the British, French, Italian and American battlefronts.  A Broadsheet from Baton Rouge.  Program from the St. James Protestant Episcopal Church in Baton Rouge for the benediction of the National Ensign and Service Flag.  Newspaper clippings describe draft lists for Baton Rouge, victory parades for returning soldiers in various cities, Pershing's farewell to the "Rainbow Unit;" and a WWII benefit program given for the Army Emergency Relief Fund. Pamphlets and volumes are composed of William P. Kidd, Sr.'s bank book, deposits with Montana and Huguet in Baton Rouge, a "United States official bulletin," several issues of "National guardsman," the 1st Louisiana Infantry's Mexican border service, a brief history of Camp Nicholls and the 1st Louisiana Infantry, and an "Autobiography of the 39th Infantry Division, U. S. A., Alexandria Cantonment, Camp Beauregard, Louisiana.” Autobiography of Division by J. Franklin Peck.  WWII benefit program given for the Army Emergency Relief Fund.  For further information see online catalog.  Mss. 1844.

 

King, Grace, 1852-1932.  Selected Papers, 1864, 1833-1933. 942 items (part in French). Location: UU:23.  New Orleans writer and historian.  Letters in French from Baron Edouard de Pontabla discuss WWI and Woodrow Wilson.  Charles Wagner letters, in French, describe the Battle of the Marne and the invasion of Belgium in WWI. A letter from Henry Vignaud lists casualties of WWI.  Flora O'Gorencees provides an account of WWI and the destruction of the Russian Empire.  Will Macmillan writes of his military service in WWI.  Available on microfilm: ??  For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1282.

 

Knox, J.P. (and family).  Papers, 1854-1921.   928 items, 2 m.s. volumes, and 7 printed volumes.  Location: E-26-27, Mf 5735.  Family of Clinton in East Feliciana Parish.  Soldier's letters to Miss Elsie Walker.  Available on microfilm:  University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reels 11 and 12.  For further information see online catalog.  Mss. 715. Complete Finding Aid (PDF)

 

Lambert, John Walter.  Papers, 1918. Location: U:196-197, G:15, OS:L. Certificate of membership in the Volunteer Medical Service Corps.  For further information see online catalog.  Mss. 1556.

 

Laycock, John Taylor, 1890-1973.  Family Papers, 1840-1953. 78 items, 3 m.s. volumes. Location: UU:149, O:3, Mf 5750. Baton Rouge lawyer, banker, author, teacher, and LSU alumnus.  Broadside of U.D.C. Chapter announcing Grand Fete for Red Cross Society. Available on microfilm: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century:  Papers and Diaries Series E, Reels 15 and 16.  For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3194. Complete Finding Aid (PDF)

 

Lazaro, Ladislas.  Papers, 1894-1928. 6,046 items, 29 m.s. volumes and 189 printed volumes.  Location: C:37-43, P:4, Z:16.  Physician, Louisiana state Senator, U.S. Representative, and planter of Grand Prairie in St. Landry Parish.  Correspondence and other material pertaining to WWI.  For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1113.

 

LeJeune, John A.  Papers, 1815, 1878-1955. 15 items, 1 m.s. volume. Location: U:116.  Major General of the U.S. Marine Corps and resident of Point Coupee Parish. LSU Cadet Citations and related items received by General LeJeune. Photographs of General LeJeune and Second Division staff at Marbache, General John J. Pershing, and General Wendell Neville. For further information see manuscript card catalog. For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 1690.

 

Lewis, Mrs. Anna E. Papers, 1896-1926. 27 items.  Location: UU:109.  Resident of Baton Rouge, Louisiana.  Letter by Lt. George A. Lewis, Medical Corp, commenting on his work at the Evacuation hospital and letters about the flu epidemic at Camp Meade, Maryland, during WWI.  For further information see online catalog.  Mss. 1080.

 

Longcope, Janet Percy Dana.  Papers, 1911-1917.  31 items. Location: W:52 Cousin to William Alexander Percy. Red Cross Nurse during WWI.  For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3511.

 

Louisiana State Nurses' Association.  Records, 1904-1970. 16 linear ft.  Location: Range 95. Scrapbook #22 (1904-1925) records participation and activities of nurses in WWI.  For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 1545. 

 

Louisiana State University.  Collection, 1914-1918. Location: D:89.  British, Canadian, French and Welsh posters.  For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 893.

 

Louisiana State University.  Collection, 1918-1919.  Location: D:82. Includes copy of “Memorial Edition” of The Reveille containing a list of LSU alumni and students in the service and histories of those who died in World War I, as well as information compiled for the issue such as lists by parish of students who served, photographs, and letters from parents. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 893.  

 

Louque, Charles.  Papers, 1838-1909, 1917-1920, n.d.  518 items, 3 m.s. volumes. Location: UU:112.  Native of St. John the Baptist Parish, New Orleans attorney, and Louisiana state Senator. Letters from R.G. Pleasant, governor of Louisiana, discusses appointment and financing of State Food Preparedness Committee.  For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 1473.

 

Mercy Hospital School of Nursing. Library books, 1883-1919 (bulk 1894-1896). 16 printed volumes.  Location: 38-84.  Copy of War Surgery of the Face by John B. Roberts.  For further information see manuscript card catalog. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1841.

 

Middleton, Troy H.  Annotated volume, 1922. 1 printed volume.  Location: M:18. President of LSU and general in the U.S. Army.  Annotated copy of Tactical Principles and Decisions.  For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 965.

 

Milliken Mercantile Company.  Invoice book, 1916-1918. Location: F:4.  East Carroll Parish .  For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1341.

 

Moyse-Gottlieb-Sommer Family Papers, 1886-1986 (bulk 1910-1960).  3 linear ft., 2 v. Location: U:317, OS:M, M:19.   Members of the Moyse, Gottlieb, and Sommer families were predominantly merchants, businessmen, and bankers in Louisiana, primarily Baton Rouge. Correspondence, financial documents, photographs, printed items, scrapbooks, and writings reflect the personal and professional lives of a Jewish family from the 1880s to the 1980s. Central topics include Hermann Moyse Sr.’s involvement in the First World War and his employment at City National Bank, the educational activities of Ray and Lydie Sommer, and the family’s association with Temple B’nai Israel.  For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4671. Complete finding aid. PDF


 New Orleans District Nurses' Association. Records, 1914-1962, n.d. Location: Range 25 A, 93:, 113:, 124:. Scrapbook #11 (1918-1919) contains an article on Edith Cavell, photographs, clippings, and advertisements concerning Red Cross nurses.  Clippings and photographs of Tulane University Hospital Unit.  For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 1547.                 

 

Oge, John M.  Papers, 1836-1937. 5 linear ft.  Location: W:53-54, OS:O.  Prominent resident, politician, and planter of Grand Coteau, Louisiana.  Personal correspondence to Oge from his sons, Archie and Gordon requesting that he use his influence on their behalf for employment and military transfers and expressing their sentiments about serving in the army during WWI.  Some items in French.  For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4207.                     

 

Percy, Leroy and family.  Papers, 1894-1930. 5,509 items, 3 m.s. volumes. Location: MF:P. Mississippi lawyer, plantation owner, and Senator. Correspondence between Leroy and Will Percy regarding the latter's service on the Commission for Relief in Belgium.  A letter to Senator John Sharpe Williams discusses the prevailing esprit de corps at West Point with suggestions of emulating French rather than the Prussian example and unpoliticising West Point.  U.S. Liberty Loan campaign to use Percy's slogan, “ No man has done his full duty while any duty remains to be done.”  Letter by Oscar A. Price.  For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3275.

 

Percy, William Alexander, 1885-1942.  Papers, 1911-1917. 2830 items, 12 m.s. volumes, 1 printed volume.  Location: W: 52.  Author and poet of Greenville, Mississippi. Letters written by Percy to his cousin, Janet Percy Dana Longcope, who lived in New York City with her husband, Dr. Warfield Theobald Longcope.  The letters concern Percy's travels, his writings (particularly his poetry), Janet's nursing service in France during WWI, Percy's interest in military service, and American involvement in the war. Letters by Percy while with the Commission for Relief in Belgium are mostly addressed to poet-friend Caroline Stern and concern the publication of Percy's poetry.  Percy's certificate of membership in Commission for Relief in Belgium with photograph, issued in Brussels. Letter from the front by Percy to his father, giving description of the Argonne Battle.  Additional letters commenting on war and armistice.  For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3275.

 

Pershing, John J., 1860-1948.  Scrapbook, 1931. 1 m.s. volume. Location: M:21. General in the United States Army during WWI. Newspaper clippings of serialized versions of Pershing's memoirs “My experiences in the World War.” Photographs of Pershing and other notables.  Maps and related military and civilian scenes. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2839.

Plauche, Joseph. Papers, 1901-1946. 576 items, 78 vols. Location: O:58. Black planter of Natchez, Natchitoches Parish, Louisiana. Plantation account books, business papers, and personal correspondence reflect the extent of the Plauche's farming operations. Available on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 2, Reels 7-11. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 944. Complete Finding Aid

Post, Lauren Chester, 1899-1976.  Papers, 1899-1977, n.d. 10 linear ft. Location: 7:11-19, W:10. Native of Rayne, Acadia Parish. Correspondence describes training in Rhode Island, social life, sea duty, work as a radio operator, service in Brest, France, armistice celebrations in France, and post war adjustment.  For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2854.

 

Purvis, George C. and Family. Family Papers, 1831-1956. 1,706 items and 115 volumes. Location: UU:151-153, 159-161, H:15, 99:P.  Planter of Richland Parish. Letter from Private Sidney P. Johnson, company 247, Marine Barracks, in training at Knights of Columbus War Activities Camp. Letter from Louisiana soldier somewhere in France commenting on country, people, and the war.  Chain letter signed by A.T. Evans asking for contributions of 25 cents toward purchase of chloroform in hospitals of Allies. For further information see online catalog.  Mss. 2971.

 

Quinn Family.  Papers, 1884-1947 (bulk 1902-1918). 44 items.  Location: W:8.  Family of Pointe Coupee and East Baton Rouge Parishes.  Correspondence to and from members of the Quinn family.  Several WWI letters from Ernest Plummer, who served in the Panama Canal and in France.  Itemized bills and receipts for food and merchandise purchased, for the most part, from O. St. Dizier & Co of New Roads, Louisiana.  Letters of soldiers in France to a friend in New Roads discussing the war, the French people, the armistice, and coming home. For further information see online catalog.  Mss. 2575.

 

Rhind-Gardner Family Papers, 1715-1926 (bulk 1811-1855).  0.3 linear ft., 2 m.s. vols.  Location: E:18, G:20.  Merchants of Augusta, Georgia.  A number of letters by Eugene D. Hill described his daily life in France during WWI. For further information see online catalog.  Mss. 3576. 

 

Scott, Walter H., 1893-.  Papers, 1914-1921, 1994. 1 linear ft.  Location: W: 56.  WWI hospital ward clerk from Michigan, stationed in Vittel, France. Photographs, diaries, scrapbook, postcards, and printed items documenting Scott's experiences during WWI and other significant events and figures of the period. For further information see online catalog.   Mss. 4465.

 

Smyth, Jeanne Sully.  Scrapbook, 1911,1916-1919,1928. 1 m.s. volume. Location: F:21. New Orleans resident.  Letters confirming commission telegrams. Photographs and letters relating to the military service of Dr. Smyth in the Medical Officer's Reserve Corps and Mrs. Smyth's participation in Red Cross activities.  For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 2346.

 

Snee, J. E. (Joseph Emmett), 1895-1966. Photograph collection, 1914-1944 (bulk 1917-1918) 41 items (35 are photographic copies, 6 are photocopies). Location:  UU:255.   Resident of Baton Rouge.  Lieutenant in the U.S. Army, 156th and 55th infantries, during WWI. Photographic copies of 35 photographs made or collected by Snee, and photocopies of two band programs.  Of note are photographs depicting various Baton Rouge buildings and street scenes.  Undated political circular.  Several newspaper clippings.  For further information see online catalog.  Mss. 4069.  Complete finding aid 

 

Stephens, Edwin L., 1872-1938.  Papers, 1883-1939 (bulk 1902-1939). 6,056 items and 1 m.s. volume. Location: A:38-53, H:17.  Louisiana native.  President of Southwestern Louisiana Institute of Lafayette. Memorabilia on WWI and talks for liberty loan. For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 403, 893.

 

Stille and Yarbrough, Ltd.  Account Books, 1900-1937. 707 items, 75 m.s. volumes, 1 printed volume.  Location: A:67, P:6-10. Company in Natchitoches Parish. Subjects discussed include reasons for opposition to brother's enlistment, use of steel nets to protect ships against submarines, reaction of cotton market to war news, personal and business hardships from the draft, civilian patriotism and participation in wartime activities, African American contributions to Red Cross, cotton legislation, regulation of sale of flour; curtailment in manufacture of stoves and ranges, and financial statement of Robeline, LA Auxiliary.  For further information see manuscript card catalog.   Mss. 1009.           

 

Tanner, J. Thomas (James Thomas), 1885-1980.  Papers, 1869-1980. 9 linear ft. (1,275 items and 56 m.s. volumes).  Location: R:19-22, 77:86-87, OS:T. Attorney, banker, and public servant. Native of Garfield in Caddo Parish. Photographs of Red Cross ambulances during WWI.  For further information see online catalog. Mss.  3527.  Complete finding aid.

 

Tew, Susan D.  Papers, 1885-1926. 422 items. 1 volume. Location:  A:51-52. Native of Jamestown, New York. Professor of Classical languages at Newcomb College in New Orleans, Louisiana.  The Tew family was related to the Goodrich family, founders of the Goodrich Tire Company.  Letters and clippings commenting on the outbreak of war and war news, embargo on rubber shipments from England, sinking of the Lusitania, changing attitude towards Germany, women's contributions during WWI, cooperation of Goodrich company in war effort, military draft travel difficulties, returning soldiers, Victory Loan Drive, and post-war labor problems.  For further information see online catalog. Mss. 1945.

 

United States. Army,  1918. Camp Beauregard, La. Poster. 1 item.  Location:  OS:C.  Poster depicting roster of service in WWI for Company I, 83rd  Infantry, 33rd  Brigade, 17th  Division at Camp Beauregard, Louisiana.  For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3753.

 

U.S Army.  Collection, n.d. Location: E:74.  Orders by General Pershing.   For further information see manuscript card catalog .  Mss. 893.          

 

U.S Army.  Souvenir Booklet, 1918. Location: E-74. Souvenir booklet giving history of operations.  Map.  List of officers in the U.S. Army 30th Division. For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 2890.

 

Vallas (Antal and Family) Papers, 1831-1995 (bulk:1841-1968). 2.25 linear feet. Location: 109:33-34; J: 26-27; OS:V; Vault:1. A native Hungarian who served as a professor at the Louisiana State Seminary of Learning and Military Academy and an Episcopalian minister in New Orleans. Contains correspondence, printed items, personal papers and photographs related to the professional and family life of Vllas and his descendents. Consists of materials in English, Hungarian, German, French, Spanish and Latin. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4439. Complete Finding Aid.

Varnardo, Florence Bankston. Papers, 1918-1919, 1927-1936,1967.  16 items. Location: Misc.  Correspondence with the U.S. Veterans Administration pertaining to a claim against the government for certain veterans' benefits by Varnardo. For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 2272.

 

Varnardo, Samuel Ross, 1888-1931.  Papers, 1917-1937, 1967, 1969, 1976-1979.  38 Items, 5 printed volumes. Location: A:54.  “Story of the 325th” by Colonel W.M. Whitman.  Letters to his family immediately after the Meuse-Argonne offensive and later in the U.S. Veterans Hospitals.  “Reunion News Annual.”  For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 2272.

 

War Camp Community Service. Leaflet, 1918. 1 item. Location: Impr.  Leaflet outlining the work of the War Camp Community Service in organizing social and recreational facilities for service men. For further information see manuscript card catalog.   Mss. 2600-73.

 

World War I Picture Tabloids.  Photographs, 1934.  10 printed items. Location: OS:W. Tabloids titled “Uncensored Raw War in Pictures,” published by the Chicago Daily News with photographs of WWI scenes in Europe.  For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 3164.

 

Wynne, Michael D. Collection, 1827-1976, n.d.  5 linear ft. Location: W:34-35, P:19, Vault 5.  Resident of Lafayette, Louisiana.   Printed sheet music of popular songs supporting the war effort. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3053.

 

 

CHRONOLOGICAL INDEX

 

1715-1926 (bulk 1811-1855).   Rhind-Gardner Family Papers

1805-1952 (bulk 1824-1931).   Buhler Family.  Papers

1805-2001 (bulk 1850-1950).   Johnson (Alfred Grima)  Family Papers

1811-1981 (bulk 1905-1943). Breazeale, Nita Sims. Family Papers

1815-1955.   LeJeune, John A.  Papers

1827-1976, n.d.  Wynne, Michael D. Collection

1828-1919 (bulk 1917-1919).   Historical Society of East and West Baton Rouge Parish. Papers

1831-1995 (bulk 1841-1968). Vallas (Antal and Family) Papers

1831-1956.   Purvis, George C. and Family. Family papers

1833-1933.   King, Grace, 1852-1932.  Selected Papers

1834-1949, n.d.   Fontenot, Ozeme, 1846-1928.  Family Papers

1836-1937.   Oge, John M.  Papers

1838-1947 (bulk 1845-1930).  Head, William Hughes, 1821-1886.  Family papers

1838-1909, 1917-1920, n.d.  Louque, Charles.  Papers

1840-1953.   Laycock, John Taylor, 1890-1973.  Family Papers

1854-1930 (bulk 1875-1890).  Cockfield E.J and Family, 1854-1930. Papers

1854-1921.   Knox, J.P. (and family).  Papers

1869-1980.   Tanner, J. Thomas (James Thomas), 1885-1980.  Papers

1872-1942 (bulk 1916-1923).   Kidd, W. P. (William P.), 1894-1947.  Papers

1883-1919 (bulk 1894-1896).  Mercy Hospital School of Nursing.  Library books

1883-1939 (bulk 1902-1939).  Stephens, Edwin L., 1872-1938.  Papers

1884-1947 (bulk 1902-1918).  Quinn family.  Papers

1885-1926.   Tew, Susan D.  Papers

1890-1957.   Hudson, Frederick Gray.  Collection

1892-1959 (bulk 1909-1931).   Aswell, James B. (James Benjamin), 1869-1931.  Family papers

1894-1928.   Lazaro, Ladislas.  Papers

1894-1930.   Percy, Leroy and family.  Papers

1895-1971, n.d (bulk 1919-1971). Ellis, John Hamilton, 1894-1971. John Hamilton and Harriet Boyd Ellis Papers

1895-1956.   Louisiana State University, Office of the Registrar.  Records

1896-1926.   Lewis, Mrs. Anna E.  Papers

1897-1955.   Douglas, Judith Hyams, 1875-1955.  Papers

1899-1977, n.d.  Post Lauren Chester, 1899-1976.  Papers

1900-1937.   Stille and Yarbrough, Ltd.  Account books

1904-1970.   Louisiana State Nurses' Association. Records

1908-1957.   Hoguet, Major Alexandre.  Oral history interview

1911-1917.   Longcope, Janet Percy Dana.  Papers

1911-1917.   Percy, William Alexander, 1885-1942.  Papers

1911-1928 (bulk 1916-1919).    Smyth, Jeanne Sully.  Scrapbook

1914-1918.   Louisiana State University. Collection

1914-1994.   Scott, Walter H., 1893-.  Papers

1914-1944 (bulk 1917-1918).  Snee, J. E. (Joseph Emmett), 1895-1966.  Photograph collection

1914-1962, n.d.    New Orleans District Nurses' Association.  Records

1916-1919.   Bacon, Albert C.  Reminiscences

1916-1918.   Gianelloni, V.J.(Vivian J.)1892-1957.  Papers

1916-1918.   Milliken Mercantile Company.  Invoice book

1917.             Boyd, Thomas D. Jr., 1882-1964.  Application

1917-1956 (bulk 1918-1919).   Bright, Jane C.  Scrapbook

1917-1936.   Daniels, Josephus, 1862-1948.  Papers

1917.             Gibson, George T.  Letters

1917-1918.   Janvier, Charles.  Notebook

1917-1979 (bulk 1917-1937).   Varnardo, Samuel Ross, 1888-1931.  Papers

1918.   Chicago Herald and Examiner.  Newspaper collection

1918.   Lambert, John Walter.  Papers

1918-1919.  Louisiana State University.  Collection

1918.   United States. Army.  Camp Beauregard, La. Poster

1918.   U.S Army. Souvenir Booklet

1918-1967.   Varnardo, Florence Bankston.  Papers

1918.   War Camp Community Service.  Leaflet

1919-1962.   Brunswig, Lucien Napoleon, 1854-1943.  Journal

1922.   Middleton, Troy H.  Annotated volume

1931.   Pershing, John J., 1860-1948.  Scrapbook

1934.   World War I Picture Tabloids.  Photographs

1937-1946.    Louisiana State University, Dean of Student Affairs.  Records, (Administrative Files)

 1978.   Major, Hoguet Alexandre.  Oral history interview

 1995. Badon, Robert, 1896-1998 Oral history interview

  n.d.      U.S Army.  Collection

 

 

World War II

 

ALPHABETICAL LIST

 

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

 

 

Arndt, Hilda C. M.  Oral history interview, 1993. 1 sound cassette (45 minutes)

Transcript (18 p.).  Location: L:4700.0320.   Faculty member of LSU's School of Social Work.  Discusses the impact of WWII on the development of day care for children. For further information see online catalog.  Mss. 4700.0320.

Ayers, George A. Letters, 1941-1944. 180 items. Location E:37. Private of 711th (then 791st) Engineer Railway Operating Battalion (U. S. Army) during World War II. Letters generally describe routine activities and training within military camps, the construction and operation of the Claiborne and Polk Military Railway in Louisiana, and military rail operations in Iran. For further information see online card catalog. Mss. 4861.

 

Barth, William 1898-1982.  Papers, 1917-1959 (1917-1941).  2.5 linear ft.  Location: E:109-111. Civil engineer with the Interstate Commerce Commission (ICC) and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers.  Also a member of the River Rats, a fraternal organization of engineers. Collection includes a commendation from the War Department for his work during WWII.  For further information see online catalog.  Mss. 4421. Complete finding aid html

 

Baughman Family.  Collection, 1834-1957, n.d. (bulk 1834-1928). 57 items, 2 m.s. volumes and 18 printed volumes. Location: UU:114, MF:B, 98:  Family of Lincoln and Union Parishes.  Baton Rouge newspapers discussing the surrender of the Japanese.  For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 1852, 1981.    

 

Benson Family.  Papers, 1775-1967, n.d. 447 items, 4 m.s volumes, 4 printed volumes.  Location: Mf., E: 105. Cotton planters of DeSoto Parish. Graduation program of Army Air Forces Navigation School, Class Forty-Four, San Marcos, Texas. Letters from Elbert Harris concerning D-day invasion, experience of being shot down over France, temporary duty in Texas, general war news.   Letter from war department confirming telegram that Elbert Harris was reported missing in action over France and letter reporting Harris alive.  For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 2424.

 

Blomquist, Anne Toland.  Papers, 1943-1951. 24 items.  Location: Misc.  Resident of Jeanerette, Louisiana.  Letters to members of the Blomquist family and to Bessie Toland from U.S. servicemen. For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 2696.

 

Blomquist, Carl.  Scrapbook, 1942-1945. 205 items, 1 m.s. volume. Location: H:16. Resident of Jeanerette, Louisiana, and son to Anne Blomquist. Letters by Alex Melancon to Carl and Anne Blomquist from camps in the United States and overseas pertaining principally to the writing and publication of Carl, a biography of Blomquist. For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 1609.  

Bowers, Laura Boddie Jones, Papers, 1906-1918, 1931-1955, 1980, 1990, undated (bulk: 1931-1955). 3.25 linear ft. Location: E:119-121. Librarian in Louisiana. Primarily correspondence documenting the family life, student life, and early career of Bowers in New Orleans, Baton Rouge, and Natchitoches, La. Newspaper clippings, notes, post card collection, printed items, and a scrapbook are also present. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3546. Complete Finding Aid.

Boyd, Thomas D. III.  Papers, 1940, 1943. 3 items.  Location:  OS:48. German publications pertaining to the Nazi Party. For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 1975.

 

Breazeale, Nita Sims. Family Papers, 1811-1981 (bulk 1905-1943). 9.5 linear ft., 3 v. Location: 47:8-12, OS:B, N:9, 65:3, vault. Baton Rouge, La. resident. Papers relate to the Breazeale and Sims families of Baton Rouge, Donaldsonville, and Natchitoches, La. They consists of correspondence, legal documents, printed material, photographs, and artifacts related to World War I and World War II, Bundles for Britain, Inc., genealogy, and state and local history. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 2442. Complete finding aid (PDF).

 

Brooks, Overton, 1897-1961. Papers, 1905-1970. 5,642 items, 35 ms. vols., 60 printed vols. Location: 35:67-76, 31:81, 50:81 P:15, OS:B, Vault:3. Baton Rouge and Shreveport, Louisiana, WWI veteran, attorney and U.S. congressman from Louisiana. Correspondence pertains largely to Brooks' congressional career, particularly his membership in the House Armed Services committee and the House Science and Aeronautics committee. Collection also contains photographs and diaries. Included in the correspondence are political and personal letters from Presidents Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, and Johnson and items related to Brooks's own war service. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2492, 2520. Complete finding aid.

 

Brown, James (James Wilson).  Oral history interview, 1979.  1 sound cassette, transcript (28 p.).  Location: L:4700.0003.  Dean of Graduate Service in Research at San Jose State University, California. An interview with Brown and Richard Lewis, Director of the Development of the Media Service and Support Program and Instructional Television also at San Jose State.  The interview concerns the production and use of audio-visuals and films by the U.S. Navy in WWII, the production of entertainment  and training films in support of the British and American war effort, and their later careers in the film industry.  Also included is a discussion of British and Canadian filmmaking during the war.  For further information see online catalog.   Mss. 4700.0003.

 

Buck-Ellis Family Papers, 1812, 1826-2000. 14 linear ft and 27 volumes. Location: 16:1-14, OS:B, J:27, Vault 1. Ellis family of Tangipahoa Parish, La.; a family of educators, lawyers, and public officials. Ellis family papers (1812, 1826-1987) are comprised almost entirely of personal correspondence relating to daily activities, politics, health, religion, employment, military service, education and travel of five generations. Other material includes financial papers, legal documents, speeches and lectures related to the study of law, printed items, account books, diaries, inventories, family scrapbook and minute books of United Daughters of the Confederacy, Blue Cross Chapter. The Carroll and Martina Ellis Buck papers (1922-2000) consist primarily of personal correspondence from family and friends, but include some professional correspondence, primarily from his legal and public career. Mss. 4820. For additional information see online catalog. Complete finding aid.

Butler, Edward. Family papers, 1809-1950 (bulk 1904-1945). 10 linear ft. Location: U:282-290, M:19, OS:B. Cotton planter of West Feliciana Parish, La. Correspondence, personal papers, business records, printed material, and photographs reflect the personal activities and plantation operations of the Butler and related Mathews families, with a focus on Edward Butler and his immediate family. Noteworthy are two letters discussing a sick slave (Dec. 29, 1817) and runaway slaves (Aug. 15, 1835). Letters also discuss student life, World War II experiences, and malaria and yellow fever. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4315. Complete finding. PDF

 

Burrell, Robert W., 1905-1966.  Papers, 1931-1966. 55 Folders.  Location: U:16.

LSU professor and entomologist with the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Bureau of Entomology and Plant Quarantine. Narrative account by Burrell of his internment at a Catholic school in Japan.  For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss.  2135.

Bynum Family Papers, 1814-1969 (bulk: 1913-1969). 1 linear foot, 26 manuscript volumes. Location: E:103-105, OS:B. Prominent family of Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Papers contain correspondence, writings, records, manuscript volumes, printed items and graphic materials. Early correspondence to Samuel Clark concerns family matters, land claims, requests for land surveys, and sale of cotton. The majority of 20th century correspondence written to Walter Bynum, Jr., reflects everyday life in Baton Rouge and Southwestern United States in the early 1900s. Correspondence of the 1940's reflects military life during WWII. Letters also discuss the return to civilian life with shortages of food, automobiles, goods, and housing. Manuscript volumes include Maggie Chamberlain's autograph book (1876), memoranda books (1898, 1901), school notebooks (1889-1920, n.d.), Phi Gamma Sigma Fraternity notebook. The majority of diaries appear to be those of Clara Adams Bynum (1906-1921) and reflect life in Baton Rouge and Louisiana during the early 20th century. Entries pertain to current events, weather, social affairs, family matters, Louisiana State University football, student life (1914), local and state government, flooding and work on the levees (1911-1912), and war news and anti-German sentiments (1915-1916). A scrapbook contains by-laws, rules and regulations for the Female Orphan Association of Baton Rouge, with a list of children received into the orphanage (1848-1861). For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3104, 3174. Complete finding aid.

 

 

Caffery, Donelson and Family.  Papers, 1580, 1725, 1790, 1813-1958 (Bulk 1861-1909).   537 items, 24 m.s. volumes, 15 printed volumes Location: C:74-75,O:23,OS:C. Planter in St. Mary's Parish and  Senator from Louisiana.  Letters from K. Whituck provide a description of living conditions in London and the “blitz” in Bath, England. Wartime activities of daughters related by Martha Caffery, New Orleans.  King's report of naval combat operations.  Pamphlet. For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 1865.

 

Careers in Nursing Committee. Records, 1928-1958.  400 items, 5 m.s. volumes and 16 printed volumes.  Location: 113.  Committee was organized jointly by the Louisiana State Nurses' Association and the Louisiana League of Nursing Education in cooperation with a national committee of the American Nurses' Association for the recruitment of nurses and the promotion of nursing as a career.  Files of materials concerning the War Manpower Commission and the U.S. Cadet Nursing Corps.  Letter file book of the activities of the Louisiana Committee on the Recruitment of Student Nurses As Part of Defense Program.  For further information see online catalog.  Mss. 1840, 1893, 2288.

 

Casey, Powell A.  Collection, 1782-1972.  238 items.  Location: 77:99, 100, 98:.  Retired officer of Washington Artillery, Louisiana National Guard, and military historian.  Diary describes Allied campaign in Italy and France.  Military rosters of Washington Artillery, Louisiana National Guard. Combat maps trace campaigns in Italy and France.  For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 1732, 2540, 2712.

 

Chennault, Lt. General Claire Lee, 1893-1958, and Family Papers, 1943-1956.  102 items.  Location: W:30, Vault.  Lt. General in the U.S. Armed Forces and leader of the Flying Tigers.  Personal observations of ship life during last two years of war by an enlisted man, possibly Chennault's son David in the Navy, sent to his wife in Louisiana.  Also includes letters from the general to his son, David.  For further information online catalog.  Mss. 3042.

 

Conservation of Cultural Resources.  Louisiana Committee Minutes, 1942.  1 item. Location: Misc.  Minutes of the Louisiana Committee on Conservation of Cultural Resources presenting the importance of creating the Louisiana Committee to act with the national organization during WWII emergency.  For further information see manuscript card catalog.   Mss. 1830.

 

Crosby, Dixie Hammond. Family Papers, 1890-1992 (bulk: 1937-1965). 159 items, 3 v.  Location: 34:, OS:C.  Family papers of Mack Gerald Crosby, Dixie Lillie Myrtle Hammond Crosby, and their daughter Dixie Lee "Dee" Crosby Brown.  Mack Crosby and Dixie Hammond were both from Baton Rouge, La. and attended Louisiana State University in the 1930s.  Mack Crosby served in the United States Air Force for over thirty years. This collection includes correspondence, manuscripts, photographs, and, newspaper clippings relating to family affairs, work, and military service.  For further information see online catalog.  Mss. 4805. Complete Finding Aid. HTML | PDF

Crump, Anna. Record Book, 1931-1955. 1 item. Location: H:25. Resident of Claiborne Parish. Ledger kept by Crump of her income, expenses, and journal notes after her husband's death in 1931. In addition to records of rent and lease checks, sales of produce and dairy products, agriculture and oil revenues, utility and grocery bills, and tax payments, entries document social visits and gardening activities. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4970.

 

Dornier, Jules A. and Family Papers, 1917-1965. 0.3 linear ft. Location: 50:15. Farm and sugar planting family near Convent, Saint James Parish, Louisiana. Correspondence and ephemeral related to the family's farm business including World War II prisoner of war labor contracts. The collection also contains letters from former POW laborers and records showing Lillian Dornier's involvement in the Cooperative for American Remittance to Europe (CARE, Inc.) program.. Mss. 3468. Complete Finding Aid

Douglas, Judith Hyams, 1875-1955. Papers, 1897-1955, n.d. (bulk 1911-1955).  578 items, 1 m.s. volume and 1 printed volume. Location: E:56-57, MF:D. New Orleans lawyer and granddaughter of Louisiana Lt. Governor Henry M. Hyams.  Letters, speech, and scrapbook (microfilm) commenting on American Red Cross, service as nurse's aid, conservation for defense, and knowledge of Gulf Waters by Baron Von Speegel.  For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 1392.

 

Ellis, John Hamilton, 1894-1971.  John Hamilton and Harriet Boyd Ellis papers, 1895-1971.  35 items and 2 printed volumes.  Location: 79:117, OS:E.  Residents of Shreveport, Louisiana. Mr. Ellis, an engineer, served as Superintendent of Roads for the Caddo Parish Highway Department.  Letters describing civilian life in the Florida Parishes during WWII.  For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4092.

 

Fraude, Wolfgang .  Elegy, 1943. 1 item. Location: Misc.  A literary composition, in German and English translation, by a German soldier killed at Salerno, Italy.  For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3634.

 

French, Arden Odell.  Oral history interview, 1977.  4 sound cassettes (5 hours) Transcript (137 p.).  Location: L:4700.0018.  Dean of Men at Louisiana State University.  Topics discussed include the effect WWII had on LSU campus.  For further information see online catalog.  Mss. 4700.0018.

 

Gay, Edward J., III,1878-1952. Congressional File, 1888-1921. 18 linear ft. 3 items.  Location: Y:63-80, OS:G. Comprised of official congressional files that document the political career of U.S. Senator Edward James Gay III. Files consist of correspondence, legal documents, and printed material pertaining to political campaigns, state and national elections, political patronage, legislative bills, Dept. of Agriculture, construction of levees by the Mississippi River Commission, and the participation in elections and political support of African-Americans. Legislative correspondence discusses pending bills concerning pensions, tariffs, health of rural populations, the creation of the Department of Education, and the transportation, storage and marketing of livestock. Files also contain selected subject materials relative to the American Legion bonus (1920), cotton, sugar, League of Nations (1919-1920), the United States Post Office, railroads, women's suffrage, and U. S. military academies. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1295. Complete finding aid.


Gayle, L. H.  Stenographic notebook and printed items, 1930, 1945, 1979. 3 items.  Location: 91:64.  Stenographer working in General MacArthur's headquarters in the Philippines at the end of WWII.  Stenographic notes contain documentation on a planned invasion of Japan and the Japanese Army's surrender to the United States. Gregg Shorthand Phrase Book. Newspaper clipping (1979) about the U.S. military presence in Japan.  For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4680.

 

Gautier, James D. Jr.  Correspondence, 1937, 1941-1945. 68 items. Location: T:19. Attended LSU.  Corporal of the U.S. Air Corps and prisoner of war in the Philippine Islands. Correspondence from his parents and the War Department relating to his internment as a POW by the Japanese government in a military prison in the Philippine Islands. Prisoners of War Bulletin of the Red Cross.  For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1855.

 

Gautier, May Agnes.  Letters, 1937-1945. 182 items and 8 printed volumes. Location: T:19, 20.  LSU alumna and nurse during the war, stationed in the Pacific.  Correspondence relates to her service in the Philippines, New Guinea, and Australia.  For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1855.

 

Gautier, May Agnes.  Scrapbook, 1942-1956. 1 m.s. volume. Location: T—20.  LSU alumna and nurse during the war, stationed in the Pacific.  Scrapbook from her time in the Philippines, New Guinea, and Australia, contains handwritten entries of events and mementos from the time of her embarkation on the U.S.S Westpoint, at San Francisco until her return to Seattle on VJ-Day. Also a couple of entries for events after the war.  For further information see manuscript card catalog.   Mss. 1855.

 

Guyot, Sister Henrietta .  Papers, 1927-1965. 23 items, 8 m.s volumes, 48 printed volumes.  Location: 77:59.  Director of the Department of Nursing, LSU School of Medicine.  Christmas notes and articles from Ruth Ingram telling of her work as supervisor of nursing education in the U.S. Trust Territory, Pacific Islands.  For further information see manuscript card catalog.   Mss. 2050.

 

Haag, William George, 1910-.  Oral history interview, 1994. 2 sound cassettes (3 hours) Transcript (104 p.).  Location: L:4700.0453.  LSU Boyd Professor Emeritus of Geography and Anthropology.   Haag discusses his service during WWII.  For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0453.

 

Hale, William George, 1810-1883.  Papers, 1797-1967, n.d. 287 items, 1 m.s. volume. Location: MF:H.  Planter of DeSoto Parish.  Papers consist of items relating to the Benson and Harris families. Letter from Elbert Harris to Mrs. W.P. Harris, his mother, describing reaction to beginning of WWII on LSU campus. For further information see online catalog.   Mss. 2426.

 

Hamilton-Barrow Family Papers, 1781-1965. .3 linear ft. Location UU:253. Financial papers, legal documents, and correspondence of Bennett I. (James) Barrow, a plantation owner in West Feliciana Parish, and his descendents. Documents concern land claims and disputes in West Feliciana Parish, while personal correspondence pertains to family history, and includes letters during both the Civil War and World War II. Also included are original land claims signed by Governors Miró and Carondelet. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4458. Complete finding aid.

Hammer, Carl Jr.  Papers, 1947-1959, 1962-1964, n.d. 230 items, 2 printed volumes. Location: UU:132, OS:H, 98:.  LSU Professor of German.  Letters on military and civilian thought relative to U.S. policy endorsing observances of cultural events.  For further information see online catalog.   Mss. 2011.

 

Harding Field Heroes File, 1941-1945. Location: 78:48-51, OS:H. Harding Field, East Baton Rouge Parish. Correspondence of Commanding Officer Colonel W.G. Schauffler Jr. with the next of kin of men who trained at Harding field.  Also includes newspaper articles and pictures pertaining to their service. For further information see online catalog.   Mss. 893.

 

Harwell, James Maury.  Letters, 1941-1942. 3 items.  Location: Misc.  Member of the Mississippi House of Representatives. Harwell's letters arguing against passage of “Lease-Lend Bill” (probably referring to the Lend Lease Act).  For further information see manuscript card catalog.   Mss. 3439.

 

Hatcher, William B., Papers.1.5 linear ft.  Location: 11:13-14, OS:H.   LSU President (1944-1947), History Department faculty member, and long-time Superintendent of East Baton Rouge Parish Schools. Consists of correspondence, photographs, and other personal and administrative records from Hatcher’s career as an educator, administrator, and community fixture. Notable correspondents include Jimmie H. Davis and G.B. Erskine.  For additional information, see online catalog, Mss. 4242. Complete Finding Aid. PDF 

Hebert Bros. Meat Market Records, 1943-1946. 0.3 linear ft. Location: C:88, OS:H. Hebert Bros. Meat Market operated in Morganza, La. Business records consisting of financial papers, correspondence, reports, and federal regulations relate to the production, sale and distribution of meat under the Food Rationing Program of the Office of Price Administration, U.S. Dept. of Agriculture during World War II. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3833. Complete finding aid.

Heberle, Franziska, 1900-.  Letters, 1872-1986.  102 items. Photostatic copies.  Location: Y:82.  German immigrant and the daughter of Ferdinand Tonnes, studied social welfare and worked for Louisiana State Public Welfare Administration.  Married to LSU professor of sociology, Rudolf Heberle. Letters describe events in Germany before and after WWII, fate of relatives and friends, life in Baton Rouge during WWII, reaction to devastation in Europe after 1945, and attempts to send aid.  For further information see online catalog.   Mss. 3624.

 

Jennings-Heywood Oil Syndicate records,1900-1970.  16 linear feet.  Location: 2:29-36, 98:J, OS:J.  Organized in 1901 by Walter Scott Heywood and five other Jennings, La. Businessmen. Correspondence relating to the involvement of the Heywood brothers and their associates in the oil industry in Louisiana and Walter Scott Heywood's political activities and service on the Jefferson Davis Parish Rationing Board, the Louisiana State Mineral Board, and the Mermentau Basin Association.  His speeches and autobiography are also included. Bills and receipts for equipment and supplies used by the Jennings-Heywood Oil Syndicate and its related companies are present. For further information see online catalog.  Mss. 3262. Complete finding aid

 

Kidd, William P.  Papers, 1872-1942 (bulk 1916-1923). 53 items, 1 m.s volume, 8 printed items.  Location: UU:126, OS:K, 99:K. Native of Baton Rouge.  Program titled “Follies of the forty-ninth,” given for the Army Emergency Relief Fund. For further information see online catalog.   Mss. 1844.

 

Leary, Richard K. Correspondence, 1942-1944 (bulk 1943). 1.3 linear ft. Location: UU:245-246. World War II U.S. Army soldier serving in the 327th Military Police Escort Guard at Camp Livingston, a prisoner of war camp in Louisiana. Letters to Richard Leary is from his wife, friends and relatives discuss news from home, local events, and the effect of the war upon the town of Laconia, Louisiana. Leary's letters discuss his military duties, recreational activities, and prisoners interned at Camp Livingston. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4687. Complete finding aid. HTML | PDF

 

Lobdell, Warren Russell, 1920-1944. Papers, 1940-1944.0.3 linear ft. Location: E:44. Native of Baton Rouge and a United States Air Force pilot stationed in England (1944). Correspondence, printed items, and photographs document the life, Air Force training, and combat experience of Lobdell. Letters by Russell and his parents concern his training and combat experience and his death during a mission in northern France. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4532. Complete finding aid. HTML | PDF

 

Louisiana State Nurses' Association.  Records, 1904-1970. 16 linear ft.  Location: Range 95. Recruitment, procurement and assignment of nurses during WWII.  Minutes of the Louisiana Council for War Service.  For further information see manuscript card catalog.   Mss. 1545.

 

Louisiana State University.  Collection. Posters- 1942-1946. 92 items. Location: D:89. U.S. posters and “Newsmaps”. For further information see manuscript card catalog.    Mss. 893.

Magruder, Benjamin Scott Collection, Hilda Moss Papers, 1921-1972 (1926-1940). 2.5 linear ft. Location: 109:24, OS:M. Baton Rouge, La., social worker. Papers relate to the administration of public relief aid in Louisiana under the direction of the Federal Emergency Relief Administration during the 1930s. Printed material and scrapbooks also report on WPA work programs, World War II, and the LSU Board; and they reflect the Louisiana political environment, particularly during the Huey P. Long era. Mss. 4425.For further information, see online catalog or complete finding aid.

 

Marino, Samuel Joseph, 1916. Papers, 1935-1994 (bulk 1935-1946).  .5 linear ft.  Location: B:14.  LSU student.  Member of the "Louisiana Kings” and "Owen Reed and the Playhouse Orchestra" swing bands during the late 1930s.   Correspondence and other items describing his and others military service during WWII. Photographs.  For further information see online catalog.   Mss. 2217.

 

McMullan, T.N.  Photograph collection, 1945, n.d. 251 items. Location: W:37. Former director LSU Library.  Photographs taken by McMullan when stationed in the Philippine Islands recording the surrender of Japanese forces, war damage, and scenes in Manila and elsewhere in the islands.  For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2750.

 

Middleton, Troy H., 1889-1976.  Letter, 1944.  1 item.  Location: Misc.:M. President of LSU and general in the U.S. Army.  Letter describes Middleton's encounter with a former LSU R.O.T.C. cadet in Belgium shortly before the Battle of the Bulge. Mss. 4809.  For further information see online catalog.

 

Middleton, Troy H. .  Memoranda, 1953-1954. 3 items. Location: MF:H. President of LSU and general in the U.S. Army. Memoranda sent by Middleton to Professor Adolph E. Sandberg and from Sandberg to Middleton referring to WWII action in Italy.  For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 3481.

 

Miller, Charles W. Letters, 1941-1942. 1 linear foot. Location: 7:64. Letters, postcards, and miscellaneous printed items sent from Charles W. Miller, a private in the U.S. Army stationed at Camp Claiborne in Rapides Parish, Louisiana, during World War II, to his fiancée and later wife Dorothy Northrup in Rochester, N.Y. Most of the materials pertain to the betrothal, marriage, and long distance relationship sustained by Miller and Northrup during this time. Many letters describe life on a U.S. Army post and in upstate New York during the early years of World War II. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4632. Complete finding aid. HTML | PDF

 

Mitch, William, 1881-1974. Scrapbooks, 1924-1946. 6 m.s. volumes (on one microfilm reel). Location: MF:M.  Native of Nelsonville, Ohio and a former coal miner. Labor leader of the Congress of Industrial Organizations (CIO) and president of the United Mine Worker of America, District No. 20 in Birmingham, Alabama.  Scrapbooks  of Alabama newspaper clippings describing the Alabama coal industry and the United Mine Workers of America District No. 20. Topics include coalmine strikes and disasters, labor relations with management, New Deal labor legislation and politics and the National Recovery Act, workers attitudes towards WWII.  For further information see online catalog.  Mss. 1634.

 

Moyse-Gottlieb-Sommer Family Papers, 1886-1986 (bulk 1910-1960).  3 linear ft., 2 v. Location: U:317, OS:M, M:19.   Members of the Moyse, Gottlieb, and Sommer families were predominantly merchants, businessmen, and bankers in Louisiana, primarily Baton Rouge. Correspondence, financial documents, photographs, printed items, scrapbooks, and writings reflect the personal and professional lives of a Jewish family from the 1880s to the 1980s. Central topics include Hermann Moyse Sr.’s involvement in the First World War and his employment at City National Bank, the educational activities of Ray and Lydie Sommer, and the family’s association with Temple B’nai Israel.  For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4671. Complete finding aid. PDF


New Orleans District Nurses' Association. Records, 1914-1962, n.d. Location: 93:,113:,124:,Range 25A. Scrapbook of newspaper clippings and printed materials concerning war time activities of nurses and the army nurse corps.  For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 1547.

 

Ott, C. Ellis.  Papers, 1933-1944, 1951-1954. 218 items, 1 printed volume. Location: 77:1-5. Judge and resident of Washington Parish. Correspondence and related items of chairman of the committee for church and fraternal organizations soliciting funds for Red Cross Roll Calls. For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 1665.

 

Pelayo, Mrs. Sidney M.  Newspaper collection, 1903-1965, n.d. Location: Nsp., 99:.    Newspaper with photographs of Camps Livingston and Beauregard, a military training camp near Alexandria, Louisiana.  Newspaper article with photographs of the German prisoner of war camp located at Port Allen, West Baton Rouge Parish.  For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2600-73.

 

Post, Lauren Chester, 1899-1976.  Papers, 1899-1977, n.d. 10 linear ft. Location: 7:11-19, W:10. Native of Rayne, Acadia Parish. Letters from a marine stationed in the Pacific theater.  For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 2854.

 

Ransbottom, William C.  Collection, 1943,1945-46. 33 items, 2 printed volumes. Location: U:96. Photographs, mimeographed items, and printed volumes relating to the Nuremberg Trials.  For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 1988.

 

Reilly, Robert M.  Papers, 1955-1996.  9.3 linear feet.  Location: UU:235-244.  Baton Rouge resident and Navy officer. Photographs, film negatives, drawings, clippings, research notes, correspondence, papers, speeches, newsletters, maps and brochures document Reilly's research on U.S. firearms, the Civil War, and WWII naval history.   For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4662.  Complete finding aid

 

Rivet, Bill Lindon.  Oral history interview, 1992.  1 sound cassette (45 minutes) Index (1 p.).  Location: L:4700.0054.  River lock worker and resident of Plaquemine, Louisiana.  Topics discussed include precautions taken to protect the locks during WWII.  For further information see online catalog.  Mss. 4700.0054.

 

Robinson, Michael D., Collection, 1907-1944. 13 items. Location: Misc:R One letter and twelve picture postcards comprise this collection. Letter from Willaim Weeks Hall praises the job the military is doing during the war (presumably World War II) and the country's gratitude toward the soldiers. Postcards are of Baton Rouge, LSU, and New Orleans buildings and include, among others, images of the State Capitol and grounds, Huey Long pool at LSU, North Boulevard, the French House, general campus scenes (old and new campus), Charity Hospital, and the interior of the Roosevelt Hotel. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4845.

Rosenbaum (Max). Family Letters and Photographs, 1898-1945, n.d. 92 items. Location: S:136. World War I veteran and shopkeeper-resident of Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Collection includes a series of letters written from Max Rosenbaum to his son, Bert Rosenbaum, who was in Europe serving in the United States Army during World War II. The collection is also comprised of photographs of Ruth (Elgutter) Rosenbaum's German-Jewish immigrant family. Mss. 4878. Complete Finding Aid

Samuelson, Hyman, 1919-. Papers, 1936-1940. 9 v. (or 0.5 linear ft.). Location O:22. Jewish native of New Orleans, ROTC cadet and civil engineering student at Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge. Diaries relate primarily to academic, recreational and social activities, but also contain entries concerning World War II, African Americans, astronomy, religion, and travel. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4934.

 

Scott, Eva and Family, 1877-1961. Papers, 1832-1959, n.d. 939 items, 10 m.s. volumes. Location: Y:84-85, H:10, Mf 5750.  Natives of East Feliciana Parish and owner of “The Shades” plantation. Correspondence discussing the impact of war on college student and war in Philippines.  Available on microfilm:  University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century:  Papers and Diaries Series E, Reels 28-31.  For further information see online catalog.  Mss. 2994.

 

Tennessee Federation of Labor.  Records, 1918-1956.  99 items, 68 items, 1 ms. v., 30 pr. v. on 2 microfilm reels.  Location: MF:T.  The Tennessee Federation of Labor was a labor union closely associated with the Tennessee State Industrial Union Council.  It advocated the rights of coal miners and other types of industrial workers.  Records include meeting minutes where topics such as support of the war effort during WWII and post war conditions were discussed- 1942-1945.  For further information see online catalog.  Mss. 1633.

 

Thornhill, Myrtle.  Letters, 1944-1945, n.d. 63 items, 3 photographs. Location: W:48.     Remarks by seamen stationed in Pacific on censorship of mail.  Several letters by Cpl. Hatfield to Thornhill in Mississippi, commenting on severe discomforts of war. Military Letter by seaman Pittman to his sister, Thornhill, contradicting “Aunt Annie's” contention that “ all boys like war.”  For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 3424.

 

Toland, Bessie.  World War II Scrapbooks, 1941-1949.  4 m.s. volumes, 2 printed volumes.  Location: A:36.  Schoolteacher of Jeanerette, Iberia Parish.  Scrapbooks of soldiers' letters.  For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 1609, 2124.

 

Vallas (Antal and Family) Papers, 1831-1995 (bulk:1841-1968). 2.25 linear feet. Location: 109:33-34; J: 26-27; OS:V; Vault:1. A native Hungarian who served as a professor at the Louisiana State Seminary of Learning and Military Academy and an Episcopalian minister in New Orleans. Contains correspondence, printed items, personal papers and photographs related to the professional and family life of Vllas and his descendents. Consists of materials in English, Hungarian, German, French, Spanish and Latin. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4439. Complete Finding Aid.

War Assets Administration .  Circular, 1947. 1 item.   Location: Impr.E.  New Orleans advertising leaflet giving notice of sales for lots of war supplies. For further information see manuscript card catalog.    Mss. 3677.

 

Weigel, Henry S. Family.  Letters, 1942-1944 n.d.  2 linear feet.  Location: 5:26. Officer in the U.S. Army during WWII, stationed in England, and resident of Amite, Tangipahoa Parish.  Letters discussing relations with the British personnel and civilians, travel, progress of the war in Europe and Africa.  Letters of his wife in Amite, concerning wartime conditions, civilian service activities, and social life.  For further information see manuscript card catalog.   Mss. 3012.

 

Wiltenmuth, John.  Papers, 1943-1944. 6 items.  Location: Misc.  American soldier.  WWII souvenir items, food stamp sheets issued to soldiers on leave, propaganda leaflet with call to surrender dropped by Allies over German troops, and issues of Stars and Stripes, Mediterranean.  For further information see manuscript card catalog.   Mss. 3636.

 

Woolfley, Francis Augustus, 1893-1993.  Papers, 1913-1993. 13 linear ft.  Location: 151, 82, 99, 104.  Brigadier General in the U. S. Army. Military papers covering Woolfley's army career from 1913 to 1953, maps and photographs, including tour of duty with 76th  Infantry Division in WWII.  For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3487.  Complete finding aid

 

CRONOLOGICAL INDEX

 

1580-1958 (bulk 1861-1909).    Caffery, Donelson and Family.  Papers

1775-1967, n.d.  Benson Family.  Papers

1781-1965. Hamilton-Barrow Family Papers

1782-1972.  Casey, Powell A.  Collection

1797-1967, n.d.  Hale, William George, 1810-1883.  Papers

1811-1981 (bulk 1905-1943). Breazeale, Nita Sims. Family Papers

1814-1969 (bulk: 1913-1969). Bynum Family Papers

1831-1995 (bulk 1841-1968). Vallas (Antal and Family) Papers

1832-1959, n.d.   Scott, Eva and Family, 1877-1961.  Papers

1834-1957, n.d. (bulk 1834-1928).   Baughman Family.  Collection

1872-1986.  Heberle, Franziska, 1900-.  Letters

1872-1942 (bulk 1916-1923).   Kidd, William P.  Papers

1913-1993.   Woolfley, Francis Augustus, 1893-1993.  Papers

1895-1971.   Ellis, John Hamilton, 1894-1971.  John Hamilton and Harriet Boyd Ellis papers

1895-1956.    Louisiana State University, Office of the Registrar.  Records

1897-1955, n.d. (bulk 1911-1955).  Douglas, Judith Hyams, 1875-1955.  Papers

1899-1977, n.d. Post, Lauren Chester, 1899-1976. Papers

1903-1965, n.d.   Pelayo, Mrs. Sidney M.  Newspaper collection

1904-1970.   Louisiana State Nurses' Association.  Records

1906-1918, 1931-1955, 1980, 1990, undated (bulk: 1931-1955). Bowers, Laura Boddie Jones, Papers

1914-1962, n.d.    New Orleans District Nurses' Association. Records

1917-1959 (1917-1941).  Barth, William 1898-1982.  Papers

1917-1965. Dornier, Jules A. and Family Papers

1918-1956.   Tennessee Federation of Labor.  Records

1920-1944.   Lobdell, Warren Russuell  Papers, 1940-1944.

1924-1946.   Mitch, William, 1881-1974.  Scrapbooks

1927-1965.   Guyot, Sister Henrietta.  Papers

1928-1958.   Careers in Nursing Committee.  Records

1930, 1945, 1979.  Gayle, L. H.  Stenographic notebook and printed items,

1931-1966.   Burrell, Robert W., 1905-1966.  Papers

1933-1944, 1951-1954.   Ott, C. Ellis.  Papers

1935-1994 (bulk 1935-1946).   Marino, Samuel Joseph, 1916.  Papers

1936-1940. Samuelson, Hyman, 1919-. Papers

1937, 1941-1945.   Gautier, James D. Jr.  Correspondence

1937-1945.   Gautier, May Agnes.  Letters

1940, 1943.   Boyd, Thomas D. III.  Papers

1940-1945.   Louisiana State University, Army Specialized Training Program.  Records

1941-1977.   French, Arden Odell.  Oral history interview

1941-1945.   Harding Field Heroes File

1941-1942.   Harwell, James Maury.  Letters

1941.    Louisiana State University Collection. Louisiana State University Flying School

1941-1943.   Louisiana State University Collection.   Cooperative Extension Service Papers

1941-1942.   Miller, Charles W., Private.  Letters

1941-1949.   Toland, Bessie.  World War II Scrapbooks

1942-1944, n.d.  Weigel, Henry S.  Family. Letters

1942-1945.   Blomquist, Carl.  Scrapbook

1942.    Conservation of Cultural Resources.  Louisiana Committee Minutes

1942-1956.   Gautier, May Agnes.  Scrapbook

1942-1944 (bulk 1943).   Leary, Richard. K.  Correspondence

1942-1946.   Louisiana State University.  Collection. Posters

1943-1951.   Blomquist, Anne Toland.  Papers

1943-1956.   Chennault, Lt. General Claire Lee and Family, 1893-1958.  Papers

1943.    Fraude, Wolfgang .  Elegy

1943-1944.   Wiltenmuth, John.  Papers,

1943,1945-46.  Ransbottom, William C.  Collection

1944-1947   Hatcher (Williams B.)  Papers

1944, 1947, 1948.   Louisiana State University.  Agricultural Extension Service Collection. Scrapbooks

1944-1945, n.d.   Thornhill, Myrtle.  Letters

1945, n.d.   McMullan, T.N.  Photograph collection

1947-1964, n.d.   Hammer, Carl Jr.  Papers

1947.    War assets Administration .  Circular

1953-1954.   Middleton, Troy H. .  Memoranda

1955-1996.             Reilly, Robert M.  Papers

1977.    French, Arden Odell.  Oral history interview

1979.    Brown, James (James Wilson).  Oral history interview

1992.    Rivet, Bill Lindon.  Oral history interview

1993.    Arndt, Hilda C. M.  Oral history interview

1994.    Haag, William George, 1910-.  Oral history interview

 

Korean War

 

ALPHABETICAL LIST

 

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

 

 

Brooks, Overton, 1897-1961. Papers, 1905-1970. 5,642 items, 35 ms. vols., 60 printed vols. Location: 35:67-76, 31:81, 50:81 P:15, OS:B, Vault:3. Baton Rouge and Shreveport, Louisiana, WWI veteran, attorney and U.S. congressman from Louisiana. Correspondence pertains largely to Brooks' congressional career, particularly his membership in the House Armed Services committee and the House Science and Aeronautics committee. Collection also contains photographs and diaries. Included in the correspondence are political and personal letters from Presidents Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, and Johnson and items related to Brooks's own war service. For further information see manuscript card catalog. Mss. 2492, 2520.

Cazayoux Family Papers, 1929-1999 (bulk 1939-1979). 1.3 linear ft., 7 v. Location: UU:289-291, J:24, OS:C. Catholic family of Baton Rouge, La, including siblings Reverend Clair Cazayoux, a Jesuit priest, teacher at Jesuit High School in New Orleans, and missionary to India and Ceylon; Gene Cazayoux, a brother of the Sacred Heart and teacher at various Catholic schools; librarian Vivian Cazayoux; and Drs. Francis and Robert Cazayoux. Papers consist of correspondence, sermons prepared by Reverend Clair Cazayoux, church publications, travel pamphlets and brochures, speeches given by Vivian Cazayoux on her travels, and scrapbooks reflecting practices of the Catholic Church, the family members' careers, education, and religious beliefs, as well as the close familial bonds of the Cazayoux family. Collection also offers insight into the political events and social conditions in Ceylon and India, where Clair Cazayoux was a missionary, and the military situation in Korea during the 1950s and early 1960s, in which Francis and Robert Cazayoux participated. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4827. Complete finding aid

Chennault, Claire Lee, 1893-1958.  Family Papers, 1943-1956. 102 items.  Location: W:30, Vault. Military pilot.  Established the Civil Air Transport, Inc., which flew transport missions for nationalist China under Chiang Kai-shek.  Chennault's son, David W., worked for Civil Air Transport in Taipei, Taiwan, beginning in 1952.  Correspondence of David, his wife, Mary, relatives, and friends contains observations about life aboard a Pacific Fleet ship during WWII, and describes conditions in nationalist China during the Korean War, and the Civil Air Transport Aviation Company and its operations in China, Hong Kong, and other Far East locations.  For further information see online catalog.   Mss. 3042.

 

Crosby, Dixie Hammond. Family Papers, 1890-1992 (bulk: 1937-1965). 159 items, 3 v.  Location: 34:, OS:C.  Family papers of Mack Gerald Crosby, Dixie Lillie Myrtle Hammond Crosby, and their daughter Dixie Lee "Dee" Crosby Brown.  Mack Crosby and Dixie Hammond were both from Baton Rouge, La. and attended Louisiana State University in the 1930?s.  Mack Crosby served in the United States Air Force for over thirty years.  This collection includes correspondence, manuscripts, photographs, and, newspaper clippings relating to family affairs, work, and military service.  For further information see online catalog.  Mss. 4805. Complete finding aid.

 

 

Lockett, Noland, 1938-.  Oral history interview, 1993. 1 sound cassette (1.5 hours), Index (7 p.). Location: L:4700.0284.  Resident of Four Corners, a community south of Franklin, St. Mary Parish. Great-grandson of a migrant sugarcane worker from the Caribbean, building contractor, and former associate dean of a junior college. Discusses service by African-Americans in the Korean War.  For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0284,

 

Soderbergh, Peter A.  Oral history interview, 1992. 5 sound cassettes (4.75 hours) Transcript (192 p.) Location: L:4700.0184.  Professor of Education and Dean of College of Education at Louisiana State University who earned a Purple Heart during the Korean War. Discusses his career in the Marine Corps with the Instructor Training Section.  For further information see online catalog.   Mss. 4700.0184.

 

CRONOLOGICAL INDEX

 

1943-1956.  Chennault, Claire Lee, 1893-1958.  Family papers

1992.  Soderbergh, Peter A.  Oral history interview

1993.   Lockett, Noland, 1938-.  Oral history interview

 

 

Vietnam War

 

ALPHABETICAL LIST

 

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

 

 

Americans in Vietnam Oral History Project interviews, 1974-1977.  60 interviews.  Location: L: 4700.0935-L: 4700.0995.  Interviews conducted by LSU History Department Professor Beatrice Spade and students with U.S. military and Vietnamese civilians concerning their experiences in Vietnam, attitudes toward American involvement in southeast Asia, and contacts with Vietnamese people and culture.  Vietnamese interviewees also discuss their experience of immigrating to the United States.  For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 2843.

 

Blakeney, Thomas.  Oral history interview, 1992. 3 sound cassettes (2 hours) Transcript (70 p.)  Location:  L:4700.0181.   Colonel in the United States Army and commandant of LSU ROTC cadet corps.  Recounts his military assignments during WWII and Vietnam, his views on ROTC at LSU, the effects of Vietnam War protests on the program, and recollections of Dean Arden French and Dean James Reddoch of LSU.  For further information see online catalog.   Mss. 4700.0181.

 

Christian, George. Oral history interview, 1979.  Transcript.  Location: Misc.  Taped telephone interview of the press secretary for President Lyndon Baines Johnson, by LSU History Professor David Culbert. Discusses LBJ's attitude towards television and television's impact on public opinion, especially regarding the TET Offensive.

 

Crosby, Dixie Hammond. Family Papers, 1890-1992 (bulk: 1937-1965). 159 items, 3 v.  Location: 34:, OS:C.  Family papers of Mack Gerald Crosby, Dixie Lillie Myrtle Hammond Crosby, and their daughter Dixie Lee "Dee" Crosby Brown.  Mack Crosby and Dixie Hammond were both from Baton Rouge, La. and attended Louisiana State University in the 1930?s.  Mack Crosby served in the United States Air Force for over thirty years.  This collection includes correspondence, manuscripts, photographs, and, newspaper clippings relating to family affairs, work, and military service.  For further information see online catalog.  Mss. 4805. Complete finding aid.


Common Cause Louisiana Records, 1972-1991 (bulk: 1980-1990). 24.0 linear ft.  Location: 110:21-111:6.  Consists of administrative and subject files for local and regional branches of a national citizen advocacy organization.  Includes correspondence, newsletters, reports, printed materials, ephemera, and other records documenting group structure and activities. Records address political issues such as campaign finance reform, civil rights, nuclear disarmament, fair elections, wasteful government spending, and official corruption.   For additional information, see online catalog.    Mss. 4469. Finding aid available. PDF

 

Fleming, Robert, 1912-.  Oral history interview, 1979.  Transcript (28 p.) 1 sound cassette (1 hour).  Location: L:4700.0017.  Deputy Press Secretary under Bill Moyers during President Lyndon B. Johnson's  administration.  Discusses the role of the media in Johnson's administration, Johnson's attitude toward news personnel, and television coverage of the Vietnam Conflict.  For further information see online catalog.   Mss. 4700.0017.

 

Louisiana State University Collection. Vietnam Protest Papers, 1968-1970.  11 items. Location: Papers relating to protest against the war in South Vietnam by LSU students.  For further information see manuscript card catalog.  Mss. 2600.

 

Lowrer, Elmer, 1913-.  Oral history interview, 1980.  1 sound cassette (1 hour), Transcript (21 p.) Location: L:4700.0037.  President of the ABC News Department and ABC Corporate Vice President. Discusses David Douglas Duncan's coverage of the Vietnam War for LIFE magazine and ABC and the issue of showing blood in news coverage of Vietnam.  For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0037.

 

Prolifers for Survival Collection, 1979-1987 (bulk: 1983-1986). 2.2 linear feet. Location: 6:35-37. Records documenting the administration and activities of a pro-life and anti-nuclear proliferation activist organization. Includes correspondence, publications, and audio visual materials. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 4166. Complete finding aid. PDF

 

Soderbergh, Peter A.  Oral history interview, 1992. 5 sound cassettes (4.75 hours), transcript (192 p.)  Location: L:4700.0184.  Professor of Education and Dean of College of Education at LSU.  Discusses the Vietnam Conflict. For further information see online catalog.    Mss. 4700.0184.

 

CRONOLOGICAL INDEX

 

1972-1991.  Common Cause Louisiana Records Inventory

1974-1977.  Americans in Vietnam Oral History Project interviews.

1979.   Christian, George. Oral history interview

1979.   Fleming, Robert, 1912-.  Oral history interview

1979-1987 (bulk: 1983-1986).   Prolifers for Survival Collection.

1968-1970.  Louisiana State University Collection. Vietnam Protest Papers.

1980.   Lowrer, Elmer, 1913-.  Oral history interview

1992.   Blakeney, Thomas.  Oral history interview

1992.   Soderbergh, Peter A.  Oral history interview

 

 Footer
Comments / LSU Home / LSU Libraries
Hill Memorial Library / Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Public Services Desk: (225) 578-6544
Reference Desk: (225) 578-6568
Fax (225) 578-9425
Copyright © 1996 - 2009 LSU Libraries
Last updated: Monday, 19-Oct-2009 16:22:09 CDT

LSU Main Page