Research Guides: Style Guide Resources

Style Guide Resources
The ACS Style Guide: effective communication of scientific information
The ACS Style Guide's Third Edition continues its long tradition of providing invaluable insight on ethics in scientific communication, the editorial process, copyright, conventions in chemistry, grammar, punctuation, spelling, and writing style for any STM author, reviewer, or editor. This book is located in Middleton Library on the 4th floor. QD8.5 .A25 2006

APA Formatting and Style Guide: Electronic Sources
Incorporates changes made in the 2007 APA Style Guide to Electronic References. An important change is the use of Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) to refer to online scholarly journal articles instead of URLs.

Chicago Manual of Style, 15th ed.
The latest print edition of the Chicago style manual, for use in Middleton Library. Located at Reference Desk: Z 253 .C57 2003 (ID Required).

Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide
This page from the Ohio State University Libraries has examples of both forms of documentation and PDF versions for printing.

Citing Medicine
Citing Medicine provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations. 

Dr. Able Scribe's Guide PhD
Doc's Guides are concise (free!) guides to formatting and documenting research papers in AMA, APA, ASA, Chicago, and MLA styles. The main focus is on preparing papers for classes, seminars, and conferences.

The Elements of Style
"A summation of the case for cleanliness, accuracy, and brevity in the use of English." (Education 1980) This classic book is a guide to English usage and the most commonly violated rules of composition.

Introduction to Basic Legal Citation
An overview of legal citation, drawing from the most recent Bluebook and ALWD Citation Manual. Martin explains the difference between the two manuals and provides sample citations for resources pertinent to law.

Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 7th ed.
The latest print edition of the Turabian style manual, for use in Middleton Library. Located at Reference Desk: LB 2369 .T8 2007 (ID Required).

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed.
The latest print edition of the MLA Handbook, for use in Middleton Library. Located at Reference Desk: LB 2369 .G53 2009 (ID Required).

The OWL at Purdue
A comprehensive guide to the writing process, from prewriting and research to citation. Includes essays on grammar, conducting research, Internet literacy, and many other topics, in addition to complete style/formatting guides for APA, Chicago, and MLA.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th ed.
The latest print edition of the APA style manual, for use in Middleton Library.  Located at the Reference Desk: BF 76.7 .P83 2010 (ID Required).

Research and Documentation Online
Covers research methods and source documentation for the Humanities, Social Sciences, History, and Sciences. Annotated examples of research papers are also provided.

Turabian Citation Guide
This quick guide to the Turabian style manual is presented by University of Chicago Press. It contains examples of bibliography style and reference style.