|Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Science Citation Index Expanded - This database covers the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,800 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines from 1900 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: agriculture, neuroscience, astronomy, oncology, biochemistry, pediatrics, biology, pharmacology, biotechnology, physics, chemistry, plant sciences, computer science, psychiatry, materials science, surgery, mathematics, veterinary science, medicine, and zoology.
Social Sciences Citation Index - This database covers the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines from 1956 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: anthropology, political science, history, public health, industrial relations, social issues, information science & library science, social work, law, sociology, linguistics, substance abuse, philosophy, urban studies, psychology, women's studies, and psychiatry.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index - This database indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals from 1975 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: archaeology, linguistics, architecture, literary reviews, art, literature, Asian studies, music, classics, philosophy, dance, poetry, folklore, radio, television, film, history, religion, language, and theater.
Use PAWS ID and password for Endnotes Help
|Biography in Context
The Biography in Context (formerly Biography Resource Center) is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more than 185,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It contains approximately 250,000 biographies and full-text articles from nearly 250 periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search path.
|HarpWeek (Harper's Weekly)
Contains the full-text of Harper's Weekly during the Civil War era (1857-1865) and access to HarpWeek Reconstruction I (1866 - 1871). The HarpWeek Database consists of the pages of Harper's Weekly, scanned as images, together with a series of controlled-vocabulary indexes, which are interactively linked.
|Palmer's Full Text Online 1785 - 1870
Palmer's Full Text Online, 1785 - 1870 gives students, researchers, and the public online access to approximately one million articles from The Times covering almost a century of British and world history.
Palmer's Full Text Online contains the Index to The Times from October 1790 to December 1905. The Full Text component spans the years from 1800 to 1870.
Project Muse provides online, world wide, institutional subscription access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
|Index to American Periodicals 1700 - 1850
Two "Indexes to Early American Periodicals," covering the time periods from 1741 to 1850 and thought to include all known periodical publications that had their inception and ending during this time periods.
|Columbia History of American Poetry, The
This work contains essays focusing on a variety of American poets. It tends to focus on the relationship between American poetry and American culture.
|Columbia History of American Poetry, The
Print Location: PS 303 C64 1993 Middleton Main Stacks
|Abstracts of English Studies (1958-1991)
Print Location: PE 25 A16 Library has: vols. 1-34 (1958-1991)
This is a quarterly journal divided into four major categories: General, Britain, United States, and World Literature in English and Related languages. Each category is further divided into sections, and then into individual poets and authors. All abstract entries are brief and numbered. Each quarterly issue contains an index.
|After Confession : Poetry as Autobiography
Print Location: PS323 .5 .A36 2001, Middleton Main Stacks
This collection of essays focuses primarily on modern American poetry. A number of poets and poems are discussed in the essays. The work is interesting but it does not include an index.
|American and British Poetry: A Guide to the Criticism 1925-1978
Print Location: Z1231 .P7 A44 1984 Middleton Reference
Scope: Indexes poems of 1,000 lines or less. Indexing: Alphabetical by name of poet.
|American Poets from Puritans to the Present
Print Location: PS303 .W3 1984 Middleton Main Stacks
Covers over 50 major poets. The twenty-two chapters in the work are divided into seven major parts and are basically in chronological order. Waggoner focuses primarily on major poets who are representative of the time in which they are writing. Primarily a work of criticism, the biographical information on poets is limited. The work contains a section of notes, a bibliography, an index, and an appendix that deals primarily with the topic of “Mysticism”.
|An Index to Criticisms of British and American poetry
Print Location: Z 7156 A1 C63 Middleton Main Stacks
The work is divided into two parts. Part one consists of entries listed alphabetically by poet and contains poems and critical citations. Part two consists of entries listed alphabetically by critic and contains sources of criticism. The work has a bibliography and an index to poem titles.
|Black Poets of the United States: from Paul Laurence Dunbar to Langston Hughes
Print Location: PS153.N5 W313 Middleton Main Stacks
This work focuses on Afro-American poetry published from about 1890 to 1940. The work consists of twelve chapters that include an introduction and a conclusion. Coverage is basically chronological. The main authors covered include: Paul Laurence Dunbar, Claude McKay, Jean Toomer, Countee Cullen, James Weldon Johnson, Langston Hughes, and Sterling Brown. Biographies are provided for each poet studied. The work includes a bibliographical appendix, a bibliographical supplement, and an index.
Print Location: PR603 .C6 2001 Middleton Reference Stacks
This work contains a large number of contemporary poets, and is arranged alphabetically by poet. Each entry contains a biography, a complete list of separately published books, and a signed essay. The work contains a title index. It also provides information on lesser known contemporary poets.
|Contemporary Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror Poetry : A Resource Guide and Biographical Directory
Print Location: Z1231 .P7 G74 1989 Middleton Main Stacks
This work is divided into three main sections: Magazines, Anthologies, and Poets. The work focuses primarily on American writers, though many foreign writers (mostly British) are also included. The Biographical Directory of Poets focuses on poets who currently write SF, Fantasy, and Horror Poetry. The work includes an index.
|Continuity of American Poetry
Print Location: PS303 .P4 Middleton Main Stacks
This work originated from Pearce's 1954 lectures on the history of American poetry at the Sulzburg Seminar in American Studies. Its ten chapters cover American poetry roughly from the seventeenth century to the 1950's. The work has an index, which is the best way to find criticism on individual authors.
|Critical Survey of Poetry : English language series
Print Location: PR502 .C85 Middleton Reference Stacks
Primary entries are author entries. Each entry provides a biography, achievements, a list of works in other formats, criticism, and a bibliography. The first volume contains a list of contributors. Each volume contains a list of authors that it contains. There are twenty-two essays that provide an overview of the development and sub-genres of poetry. The essays and a cumulative index are contained in volume eight. Updates an earlier 8-volume edition (PN 1111 C7 Middleton Reference).
|Critical Survey of Poetry : Foreign Language Series
Print Location: PN1111 .C7 1984 Middleton Reference Stacks
Primary entries are author entries. Each entry provides a biography, achievements, a list of works in other formats, criticism, and a bibliography. The first volume contains a list of contributors. Each of the first four volumes contains a list of authors. The fifth volume contains twenty-seven essays, each focusing on the literature of various countries. Volume five also contains a cumulative index.
|English Romantic Poets : A Review of Research and Criticism, The
Print Location: PR590 .E5 1985 Middleton Main Stacks
This collection focuses on Byron, Coleridge, Keats, Shelley, and Wordsworth. The book is divided into chapters, and does include an examination of the Romantic Movement. The work includes an index.
|Epic and Romance Criticism: a Checklist of Interpretations, 1940-1972
Print Location: Z7156 .E6 C64 Middleton Main Stacks
Volume one focuses on English and American Epics and Metrical Romances and Volume two focuses on Classical and Continental Epics and Metrical Romances. Entries are arranged alphabetical by title of poem. Volume one includes an index that contains nine additional titles.
|Essay and General Literature Index
Print Location: AI3 .E752 Middleton Reference Stacks
Covers man subjects in the humanities, including literature, from 1900 to 2000. This series indexes books of essays, not periodicals.Indexing: Each year is indexed separately. Each volume consists of one alphabetical author-subject-title index.
|Guide to American Poetry Explication
Print Location: Z1231 .P7 G85 1989 Middleton Reference Stacks
Volume 1—Colonial and Nineteenth Century Volume 2—Modern and Contemporary
|Guide to British Poetry Explication
Print Location: Z2014 .P7 M34 1991 Middleton Reference Stacks
Volume 1—Old English-Medieval Volume 2—Renaissance Volume 3—Restoration-Romantic Volume 4—Victorian-Contemporary
|Invisible Poets: Afro-Americans of the Nineteenth Century
Print Location: PS153 .N5 S48 Middleton Main Stacks
This work focuses on twenty-six lesser-known African American Poets who published poetry in America during the nineteenth century. As a result, Paul Lawrence Dunbar is not included. Biographical information is included for all authors. The work is divided into one chapter per poet. It also includes sections on: bibliographies of the poets' works, an index and seven appendices. The appendices provide some bibliographic information for the following topics: Poets for Further Research, Occasional Poets, Anonymous Poets and Ada, Turn-of-the-Century Poets, Poets Erroneously Identified as Afro-Americans, the Creole Poets of Les Cenelles, and Phyllis Wheatley and Jupiter Hammon: Bibliographies
|Library of Literary Criticism of English and American Authors Through the Beginning of the Twentieth Century
Print Location: PR83 .M73 1966 Middleton Main Stacks
This work covers many major British and American authors. This edition of the work is divided into four volumes: v.1. The beginnings to the seventeenth century.--v.2. Neo-classicism to the romantic period.--v.3. The romantic period to the Victorian Age.--v.4. The mid-nineteenth century to Edwardianism. Authors are covered in chronological order based on the dates of their deaths. Entries contain biographical information and criticism.
|Literary Criticism Index
Print Location: Z6511 .W44 1984 Middleton Main Stacks
The work is arranged alphabetically by author and title. Most entries are author entries. It focuses on American and English Literature.
|Longman Dictionary and Handbook of Poetry
Print Location: PN1021 .M94 1985 Middleton Reference Stacks
This dictionary provides a critical vocabulary of poetic terms for the poet and the student of poetry. It contains definitions of traditional terms, contemporary workshop terms, terms borrowed from other arts and disciplines, and archaic or specialized jargon. The work has three appendices covering selected topics; rhetorical, poetical, and logical devices; and a selected topical bibliography.
|New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature, The
Print Location: Z2011 .N45 Middleton Reference Stacks
Each volume in this work is divided into chapters and sections with some sections focusing on poetry and poets. Entries are alphabetical by author for each section. Each page has two numbered columns. Volumes 1-4 each have an index, with entries referring to column numbers. Volume 5 is a cumulative index for the work. Volumes are basically chronological in scope: volume one – 600-1600; volume two – 1660-1800; volume three – 1800-1900; volume four – 1900-1950.
|New Moulton's Library of Literary Criticism, The
Print Location: PR85 .N39 1985 Middleton Reference Stacks
This work is similar in arrangement and scope to Moulton's Library of Literary Criticism of English and American Authors through the Beginning of the 20th Century. It is comprised of ten volumes instead of four, so each volume deals with smaller periods of time. Authors are arranged basically by date of death. The eleventh volume is a cumulative index that contains an index to bibliographies, series contents, an index to authors, and an index to critics.
|New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, The
Print Location: PN1021 .N39 1994 Middleton Reference Stacks
This book is a comprehensive reference source for scholars, students, poets, and general readers. It deals with knowledge, facts, theories, questions, and informed judgment, concerning poetry. It contains descriptions of poetic forms and genres, surveys of 106 national poetries, overviews all major schools of poetry, accounts of major movements, issues in criticism and literary theory, and the relationship of poetry to other disciplines. This is the 3rd edition of the work and has added increased coverage of emergent and non-Western poetries; coverage of all movements in recent criticism and literary theory that bear on poetry; more extensive bibliographies; extensive cross-referencing. Entries are arranged alphabetically.
|Poetry Criticism: Excerpts from Criticism of the Works of the Most Significant and Widely Studied Poets of World Literature
Print Location: PN1010 .P54 Middleton Reference Stacks
This is a three-volume work. Each volume focuses on 10-13 major poets. The poets are from all times and nationalities. Poets are arranged alphabetically in each individual volume. Each author entry contains poetry criticism, and is supplemented by biographical and bibliographical material.
|Poetry Explication : A Checklist of Interpretation Since 1925 of British and American Poems Past and Present
Print Location: Z2014 .P7 K8 1980 Middleton Reference Stacks
Covers the years 1925 to 1977, but is limited to poems of less than 500 lines. Indexing: Indexed alphabetically by poet.
|Shorter New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature, The
Print Location: Z2011 .S417 1981 Middleton Main Stacks
Update of The New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature
|Sonnet in England and America : A Bibliography of Criticism, The
Print Location: Z2014 .S6 D66 Middleton Main Stacks
This work is divided into four chapters. Chapter one contains general works. Chapter two focuses on the renaissance. Chapter three is devoted entirely to Shakespeare. Chapter four covers eighteenth and nineteenth century literature. Poets are listed alphabetically in each chapter. All entries are numbered. The work contains a poet index, a contributor index, and a subject index.