Research Guides: News Resources

Frequently Used News Resources
The Advocate (Baton Rouge)
The Advocate is a daily newspaper in Louisiana serving Baton Rouge, Lafayette and New Orleans. The full text version of The Advocate is available through Access World News, LexisNexis, MAS Ultra, Biography in Context and Academic Search Complete. The Advocate is also available in microform beginning with the year 1992.

BBC World News
British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) is a United Kingdom based newspaper company that reports the world’s latest breaking news, sports, entertainment, business, science, technology and more. Articles from BBC World News can be viewed on the LexisNexis Academic database.

Times-Picayune
The Times-Picayune is a New Orleans, Louisiana based newspaper that reports on Louisiana agriculture, music, industries, marine and more. Issues provided by Access World News date back to 1985 with new issues being uploaded frequently.

Wall Street Journal
The Wall Street Journal is a daily new paper published in New York, New York that addresses business and economic news. LSU Libraries provides access to the Wall Street Journal through Factiva.

New York Times
The New York Times is a daily newspaper published in New York, New York that addresses breaking news, multimedia, reviews and opinions on politics and other issues. LSU Libraries provides access to the New York Times through several databases including, LexisNexis, Factiva, Biography In Contest, ProQuest Historical Newspapers and ProQuest Digital Microfilm.
Online Tutorials for News Resources
Access World News
Access World News is a database of full-text local, national and internationals newspapers. It holds titles such as The Advocate (Baton Rouge, LA) and The Times-Picayune (New Orleans, LA). Use this online tutorial to learn how to search the database.
 
LexisNexis Video Tutorials
LexisNexis is a provider of workflow solutions for professionals in the legal, risk management, corporate, government, law enforcement, accounting and academic markets. On the LSU Libraries Library Instruction: Online Tutorials webpage there are hyperlinks to a series of LexisNexis video tutorials. Topics include finding news by state, landmark US Cases, obituaries, editorial or opinions pieces, and critical reviews.
 
Wall Street Journal through Factiva
Factiva is a current international news database produced by Dow Jones. It provides access to information from newspapers, websites, company publications and more. The Factiva online tutorial teaches you how to research a topic using the database.
News Resources
Actualidad
This site allows the user to search newspaper from all continents, and allows for advanced searching to narrow the search to country and a more specific region or city.

The Advocate (Baton Rouge)
The Advocate's website "maintain[s] an Online Daily Archive of all site content from the past 7 days" as well as an archive.

BBC World News
BBC World News features news from around the world on its homepage and also allows the user to search for news in specific regions. Users can search specifically for business, entertainment, health, science & environment, and technology news.

Bloomberg.com
"BLOOMBERG NEWS is a real-time news service that provides definitive coverage of companies, markets, industries, economies and governments. Our mission is to make events transparent to readers in more than 160 countries, 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. "

Chicago Tribune
Official website for the Chicago Tribune.

HuffPost Blackvoices
Provides current black political, financial, style, and entertainment news.

The Huffington Post
"The Huffington Post is a blog that includes news stories and commentary by various contributors on a wide variety of topics, focusing on American politics and government, business, life-style, and entertainment."

Indian Country Today
Indian Country Today is an award-winning multimedia publisher of news, information, and imagery relevant to the Indigenous people of the Americas. Our mission is to better the lives of Indigenous peoples by delivering accurate, relevant, and culturally sensitive content.

Los Angeles Times
Official website for the Los Angeles Times.

Louisiana Newspaper Project Parish Index
"This Louisiana Newspaper Project Parish/Chronological Indexes and Louisiana Family Trees includes more than 1750 Louisiana newspapers that are inventoried and cataloged by the Louisiana Newspaper Project (LNP) for Louisiana repositories since 1986."

LSU Daily Reveille
The Daily Reveille is Louisiana State University's student newspaper. The site includes the day's stories as well as LSU housing and dining guides, and links to the paper on Facebook and Twitter.

New York Times
Official website for the New York Times.

Newseum
The Newseum's (a Washington D.C. museum) website offers a page with 763 front pages from 73 countries a user can browse to get an idea of what is currently making front page news.

Newslink
Newslink is a directory of U.S. and world newspapers as well as radio and TV stations and magazines.

Times-Picayune
Official website for the Times-Picayune.

United States Newspaper Program
The United States Newspaper Program is a cooperative national effort among the states and the federal government to locate, catalog, and preserve on microfilm newspapers published in the United States from the eighteenth century to the present. Funding is provided by the National Endowment for the Humanities. Technical assistance is furnished by the Library of Congress.

Wall Street Journal
Official website for the Wall Street Journal.

Washington Times
Official website for the Washington Times.
Ask Us!
FAQ Frequently Asked Questions
Chat Chat
eMail Reference Email
Phone Reference Call: (225) 578-8875
Text Reference
Text: (225) 245-3667
Resources

Databases

more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Access World News
"The most comprehensive collection of full-text newspapers globally, Access World News provides extensive coverage at any level—local, state, regional, national and international. This fully searchable Web-based resource features the vast majority of the top U.S. newspapers by circulation, along with hundreds of hard-to-find local and regional titles, most of which are unavailable elsewhere. Additionally, Access World News offers hundreds of international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages." (Newsbank)
more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Advocate, The
The Advocate is the local Baton Rouge newspaper. Recent articles (a few days old) can be accessed through The Advocate Online.  Newsbank profides access to articles from 1986 to the present. 



more information Restricted Resource Some full text available America's Historical Newspapers
As the first draft of history, newspapers document the life and times of a community,a region and a nation. For searching and browsing American newspapers published in the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries, America’s Historical Newspapers is the single most comprehensive online resource, providing more than 1,300 titles from all 50 states.
more information Some full text available Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective
A collection of African-American newspapers containing information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, including first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, such as the Mexican War, Presidential and congressional addresses, congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel, and religion. The database also contain large numbers of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.

The database contains articles from the following journals: Freedom's Journal (New York, NY), The Colored American (Weekly Advocate) (New York, NY), The North Star (Rochester, NY), The National Era (Washington, D.C.), Provincial Freeman (Chatham, Canada West), Frederick Douglass Paper (Rochester, NY), The Christian Recorder (Philadelphia, PA). Offers full-text online news, business, legal, legislative, and regulatory information, updated daily.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Factiva
Factiva is a joint venture between Dow Jones and Reuters - two of the world's leading business and news providers. Factiva.com combines nearly 9,000 sources to give access to premium content from 118 countries, in 22 languages. Users have access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and over 3,200 journals and magazines. Factiva is a source for financial data including stock quotes, company comparisons, financial snapshots, SEC Filings, interactive charting, and historical market information. The database contains company background data on 42,500 listed companies, and 180,000 equity prices from 85 exchanges worldwide (Market Indexes, funds, corporate bonds, stocks, US Treasury Bills, US Treasury Notes, and US Treasury Bonds).
more information Restricted Resource Some full text available LexisNexis Academic
Offers full-text online news, business, legal, legislative, and regulatory information, updated daily.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text available London Times, 1785 - 1870
Palmer's Full Text Online, 1785 - 1870 gives students, researchers, and the public online access to approximately one million articles from The Times covering almost a century of British and world history.

Palmer's Full Text Online contains the Index to The Times from October 1790 to December 1905. The Full Text component spans the years from 1800 to 1870.

more information Restricted Resource Some full text available NewsBank
This site provides access to all of LSU Libraries' NewsBank subscriptions, including the following:
  • Access World News (local, regional, national and international newspapers and news sources)
  • Archive of Americana
    • America's Historical Imprints
    • America's Historical Newspapers
      • African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
    • American State Papers, 1789-1838
    • U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994
      • Serial Set Maps
  • Foreign Broadcast INformation Service (FBIS) Daily Reports

more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Newspaper Source
The Newspaper Source database provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, The New York Daily News, The San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Picayune
Access World News: Research Collection features thousands of U.S. and global news sources, most available online exclusively through NewsBank. Designed in collaboration with academic librarians, this primary resource solution supports a wide range of academic disciplines, including political science, journalism, English, history, environmental studies, sociology, economics, education, business, social sciences and more.

more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Regional Business News
Regional Business News incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.

more information Restricted Resource Some full text available African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
The African American Newspapers will feature, when complete, 270 newspapers published in 36 states, including rare and historically significant 19th-century titles. This fully searchable online collection will offer fascinating insights into African American history, culture and daily life.

This resource is limited to three concurrent users