On a mobile device?

View the LSU Libraries Mobile Website at
http://www.lib.lsu.edu/m/

Resources

Databases

more information Restricted Resource Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Science Citation Index Expanded - This database covers the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,800 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines from 1900 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: agriculture, neuroscience, astronomy, oncology, biochemistry, pediatrics, biology, pharmacology, biotechnology, physics, chemistry, plant sciences, computer science, psychiatry, materials science, surgery, mathematics, veterinary science, medicine, and zoology.

Social Sciences Citation Index - This database covers the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines from 1956 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: anthropology, political science, history, public health, industrial relations, social issues, information science & library science, social work, law, sociology, linguistics, substance abuse, philosophy, urban studies, psychology, women's studies, and psychiatry.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index - This database indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals from 1975 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: archaeology, linguistics, architecture, literary reviews, art, literature, Asian studies, music, classics, philosophy, dance, poetry, folklore, radio, television, film, history, religion, language, and theater.

Use PAWS ID and password for Endnotes Help
more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Comprised of the award-winning Dictionary of Literary Biography series, which over its thirty-year history has been dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series.
more information Restricted Resource Essay and General Literature Index Retrospective
Covering 1900 - 1984, this database indexes more than 249,000 essays included in this collection, it indexes single and multi-author collections, plus selected annuals and serials. It includes publications from the United States, Canada and Great Britain, covering eight decades of 20th Century literature.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text available HarpWeek (Harper's Weekly)
Contains the full-text of Harper's Weekly during the Civil War era (1857-1865) and access to HarpWeek Reconstruction I (1866 - 1871). The HarpWeek Database consists of the pages of Harper's Weekly, scanned as images, together with a series of controlled-vocabulary indexes, which are interactively linked.

more information Restricted Resource Index to American Periodicals 1700 - 1850
Two "Indexes to Early American Periodicals," covering the time periods from 1741 to 1850 and thought to include all known periodical publications that had their inception and ending during this time periods.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text available JSTOR
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. JSTOR consists of a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. Louisiana State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
  • Arts & Sciences I Collection
  • Arts & Sciences II Collection
  • Arts & Sciences III Collection
  • Arts & Sciences IV Collection
  • Arts & Sciences V Collection
  • Arts & Sciences VII Collection
  • Ecology & Botany Collection
  • Health & General Sciences Collection
  • Public Health Reports
  • Journal of Military History
  • Journal of Field Archaeology

more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Literature Criticism Online Archive
Literature Criticism Online Archive  offers critical essays on a wide variety of works.  The database contains 100% of the introductory, contextual and principal works/further reading content and, on average, almost 95% of the reprinted criticism over the life of the series. LSU coverage for each series begins with volume one and ends as of June 30, 2011.
  • Children's Literary Criticism
  • Contemporary Literary Criticism
  • Drama Criticism
  • Literature Criticism from 1400-1800
  • Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism
  • Poetry Criticism
  • Shakespearean Literature Criticism
  • Short Story Criticism
  • Twentieth Century Literary Criticism

more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center provides access to a collection of rich critical, biographical and contextual content that supports interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy and the development of critical-thinking skills.  The database includes full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines, critical essays, and more on authors, their works, and literary movements.
more information Restricted Resource MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association)
MLA International Bibliography is an index of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1926. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. In addition, the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the Bibliography are also included. Examples of titles offered in MLA International Bibliography include: Journal of International Folklore, Journal of English and German Philology, Journal of Linguistics, Journal of Popular Film and Television, Language and Communication, Language Teaching Research, Modern Language Journal, etc.

Click here to access the Directory of Periodicals (MLA).

more information MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association)
Print Location: Z7006 .M64 Middleton Reference
more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Palmer's Full Text Online 1785 - 1870
Palmer's Full Text Online, 1785 - 1870 gives students, researchers, and the public online access to approximately one million articles from The Times covering almost a century of British and world history.

Palmer's Full Text Online contains the Index to The Times from October 1790 to December 1905. The Full Text component spans the years from 1800 to 1870.

more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Project Muse
Project Muse provides online, world wide, institutional subscription access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

more information Restricted Resource Some full text available TLS Historical Archive 1902-2008 (Times Literary Supplement)
Full text of the reviews appearing in Times Literary Supplement 1902 - 2008, searchable in a variety of ways.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

more information Contemporary Authors
Print Location: PN453 .C63
This series includes information on over 100,000 twentieth century authors. Authors in every genre and writing in every form are included. Indexing: There is a cumulative author-title-subject index at the end of each volume.
more information Dictionary of literary biography documentary series : an illustrated chronicle
Print Location: PS129 .D48 1982
Objective: To make significant documents available and to supplement the Dictionary of Literary Biography. Coverage: All periods of literary development, all authors of note, and all genres and formats of literature are covered. Indexing: Indexing is cumulative, from volume to volume. The last volume contains the latest cumulative index. Indexing is mostly by author, but there is some subject indexing.
more information Masterplots Annual
Print Location: n: REFERENCE-- Z1219 .M33
In 1963, a Cyclopedia of Literary Characters in two volumes was added to the series. This Cyclopedia provides thumbnail character sketches to supplement the plot summaries of some of the works covered in the previous series volumes. And then, starting in 1986, came Masterplots II, which attempted to update and expand the earlier Masterplots editions. Masterplots II comes in five smaller series: American Fiction, World Fiction, Poetry, Short Story, and European Fiction. Each of these series is indexed by title and author at the end of the last volume in the series. Scope: Masterplots, over the life of the series, summarizes works in every genre of literature, except the essay. Choices of literature are not limited to those written in English. Indexing: There is a cumulative index volume covering all the editions from 1949 to 1980. Indexing herein is by title and author.

Print Material

more information Abstracts of English Studies (1958-1991)
Print Location: PE 25 A16 Library has: vols. 1-34 (1958-1991)

This is a quarterly journal divided into four major categories: General, Britain, United States, and World Literature in English and Related languages. Each category is further divided into sections, and then into individual poets and authors. All abstract entries are brief and numbered. Each quarterly issue contains an index.


more information African American Writers
Print Location: PS 153 N5 A344 2001
Articles provide an introduction to the work of specific authors. Each article includes a short biography, a survey of principle writings, and an assessment of the author's work as a whole. Indexing: Indexed alphabetically by author.
more information American Writers
Print Location: PS 129 A55
Essays on the lives, careers, and work of American writers of every period. Some articles in the main volumes are updated in the first Retrospective Supplement. Additional writers are treated in the ten subsequent supplements. Indexing: Indexing is alphabetical by author. Features: Each article includes a bibliography for further research.
more information Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
Print Location: Z2011 .M69
The series covers a variety of subjects relative to the English language, including literature. Indexing: Each volume is indexed separately and includes both an author/subject index and a scholars index.
more information British Writers
Print Location: PR 85 B688
This set complements the American Writers series and mirrors it in scope and content. Indexing: The main volumes are organized chronologically, with the eighth volume serving as an author-title index. The supplemental volumes are arranged mostly alphabetically by author.
more information Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism
Print Location: PN 610 C53
This series excerpts criticism of works from classical antiquity through the 14th century. Excerpts are fully cited in a bibliography at the end of each entry. Indexing: The author index in each volume is cumulative. The title index is specific to each volume. There is also an index of critics cited.
more information Contemporary authors autobiography series
Print Location: PN 771 C59 Holdings: v.1(1973)-v.130(2000)
This series includes information on over 100,000 twentieth century authors. Authors in every genre and writing in every form are included. Indexing: There is a cumulative author-title-subject index at the end of each volume.
more information Contemporary Poets
Print Location: PR603 .C6 2001 Middleton Reference Stacks
This work contains a large number of contemporary poets, and is arranged alphabetically by poet. Each entry contains a biography, a complete list of separately published books, and a signed essay. The work contains a title index. It also provides information on lesser known contemporary poets.
more information Contemporary Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror Poetry : A Resource Guide and Biographical Directory
Print Location: Z1231 .P7 G74 1989 Middleton Main Stacks
This work is divided into three main sections: Magazines, Anthologies, and Poets. The work focuses primarily on American writers, though many foreign writers (mostly British) are also included. The Biographical Directory of Poets focuses on poets who currently write SF, Fantasy, and Horror Poetry. The work includes an index.
more information Continuity of American Poetry
Print Location: PS303 .P4 Middleton Main Stacks
This work originated from Pearce's 1954 lectures on the history of American poetry at the Sulzburg Seminar in American Studies. Its ten chapters cover American poetry roughly from the seventeenth century to the 1950's. The work has an index, which is the best way to find criticism on individual authors.
more information Critical Survey of Poetry : English language series
Print Location: PR502 .C85 Middleton Reference Stacks
Primary entries are author entries. Each entry provides a biography, achievements, a list of works in other formats, criticism, and a bibliography. The first volume contains a list of contributors. Each volume contains a list of authors that it contains. There are twenty-two essays that provide an overview of the development and sub-genres of poetry. The essays and a cumulative index are contained in volume eight. Updates an earlier 8-volume edition (PN 1111 C7 Middleton Reference).
more information Critical Survey of Poetry : Foreign Language Series
Print Location: PN1111 .C7 1984 Middleton Reference Stacks
Primary entries are author entries. Each entry provides a biography, achievements, a list of works in other formats, criticism, and a bibliography. The first volume contains a list of contributors. Each of the first four volumes contains a list of authors. The fifth volume contains twenty-seven essays, each focusing on the literature of various countries. Volume five also contains a cumulative index.
more information English Romantic Poets : A Review of Research and Criticism, The
Print Location: PR590 .E5 1985 Middleton Main Stacks
This collection focuses on Byron, Coleridge, Keats, Shelley, and Wordsworth. The book is divided into chapters, and does include an examination of the Romantic Movement. The work includes an index.
more information Epic and Romance Criticism: a Checklist of Interpretations, 1940-1972
Print Location: Z7156 .E6 C64 Middleton Main Stacks
Volume one focuses on English and American Epics and Metrical Romances and Volume two focuses on Classical and Continental Epics and Metrical Romances. Entries are arranged alphabetical by title of poem. Volume one includes an index that contains nine additional titles.
more information Essay and General Literature Index
Print Location: AI3 .E752 Middleton Reference Stacks
Covers man subjects in the humanities, including literature, from 1900 to 2000.  This series indexes books of essays, not periodicals.Indexing:  Each year is indexed separately.  Each volume consists of one alphabetical author-subject-title index.
more information Guide to British Drama Explication
Print Location: Z 2014 D7 D68 1996 Reference Stacks
Covers all of British drama from the beginnings to 1640. Indexing: Alphabetical by playwright.
more information Humanities Index
Print Location: AI 3 H85 Library has: v.1 (1974/1975)-v.19 (1992/1993)
This is a cumulative index to English language periodicals. Its scope includes language and literature. It is arranged alphabetically with author and subject entries. A separate listing of citations to book reviews is included. This index partly continues Social Sciences and Humanities Index (1965-1974), International Index (1955-1965), and International Index to Periodicals (1907-1955). All are fairly similar in arrangement and scope.
more information Invisible Poets: Afro-Americans of the Nineteenth Century
Print Location: PS153 .N5 S48 Middleton Main Stacks
This work focuses on twenty-six lesser-known African American Poets who published poetry in America during the nineteenth century. As a result, Paul Lawrence Dunbar is not included. Biographical information is included for all authors. The work is divided into one chapter per poet. It also includes sections on: bibliographies of the poets' works, an index and seven appendices. The appendices provide some bibliographic information for the following topics: Poets for Further Research, Occasional Poets, Anonymous Poets and Ada, Turn-of-the-Century Poets, Poets Erroneously Identified as Afro-Americans, the Creole Poets of Les Cenelles, and Phyllis Wheatley and Jupiter Hammon: Bibliographies
more information Library of Literary Criticism of English and American Authors Through the Beginning of the Twentieth Century
Print Location: PR83 .M73 1966 Middleton Main Stacks
This work covers many major British and American authors. This edition of the work is divided into four volumes: v.1. The beginnings to the seventeenth century.--v.2. Neo-classicism to the romantic period.--v.3. The romantic period to the Victorian Age.--v.4. The mid-nineteenth century to Edwardianism. Authors are covered in chronological order based on the dates of their deaths. Entries contain biographical information and criticism.
more information Literary Criticism Index
Print Location: Z6511 .W44 1984 Middleton Main Stacks
The work is arranged alphabetically by author and title. Most entries are author entries. It focuses on American and English Literature.
more information Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800
Print Location: PN86 .L57 (1984-2005)
The series is a critical discussion of the works of 15th, 16th, 17th, and 18th century novelists, poets, playwrights, philosophers, and other creative writers. The series does not include Shakespeare. Individual authors are covered in volumes 1-12. Themes are covered in volumes 13-47. Volumes 48 et sequitur. return to the standard author entry. Organization: Each entry begins with author information, such as his or her name and pseudonyms, dates, major works, a brief biography, and, when available, a picture. This section is followed by excerpts from criticism, arranged chronologically, and fully cited. This is followed by further readings in other Gale publications. Indexing: At the end of each volume, there are cumulative author, topic, title, and nationality indexes. (There is no title index in the topics volumes.)
more information New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature, The
Print Location: Z2011 .N45 Middleton Reference Stacks
Each volume in this work is divided into chapters and sections with some sections focusing on poetry and poets. Entries are alphabetical by author for each section. Each page has two numbered columns. Volumes 1-4 each have an index, with entries referring to column numbers. Volume 5 is a cumulative index for the work. Volumes are basically chronological in scope: volume one – 600-1600; volume two – 1660-1800; volume three – 1800-1900; volume four – 1900-1950.
more information New Moulton's Library of Literary Criticism, The
Print Location: PR85 .N39 1985 Middleton Reference Stacks
This work is similar in arrangement and scope to Moulton's Library of Literary Criticism of English and American Authors through the Beginning of the 20th Century. It is comprised of ten volumes instead of four, so each volume deals with smaller periods of time. Authors are arranged basically by date of death. The eleventh volume is a cumulative index that contains an index to bibliographies, series contents, an index to authors, and an index to critics.
more information Nineteenth-century literature criticism
Print Location: PN761 .N5
Scope: Includes excerpts from criticism of the work of 300 novelists, philosophers, and other creative writers who died between 1800 and 1899. Organization: Each volume is arranged by author, beginning with author information, such as his or her name and pseudonyms, dates, major works, a brief biography, and, when available, a picture. This section is followed by excerpts from criticism, arranged chronologically, and fully cited. This is followed by suggested further readings in other Gale publications. Indexing: At the end of each volume, there are cumulative author, topic, and nationality indexes. There is a title index specific to each volume.
more information Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections
Print Location: Z5781 .O8 1988
Covers 1900 to 1985

more information Poetry Criticism: Excerpts from Criticism of the Works of the Most Significant and Widely Studied Poets of World Literature
Print Location: PN1010 .P54 Middleton Reference Stacks
This is a three-volume work. Each volume focuses on 10-13 major poets. The poets are from all times and nationalities. Poets are arranged alphabetically in each individual volume. Each author entry contains poetry criticism, and is supplemented by biographical and bibliographical material.
more information Science Fiction Studies
Print Location: PN 3448 S45 S34 (Stacks) V. 1 (1973)- V.28 (2001)


note: Current Issues in Current Periodicals/Newspapers Room. Available online in JSTOR and Literary Resource Center.
more information Shakespearean criticism
Print Location: PR2976 .C55 1960
Scope: In Vols. 1-10, each of Shakespeare's works is discussed. Vols. 11-26 discuss the performance history (stage and screen) of each play. Vols. 27-present provide post-1960 criticism. Organization: A thematic introductory section is followed by excerpts of criticism of particular plays arranged thematically, then chronologically. Indexing: At the end of each volume there are three indexes—a cumulative character index, a cumulative topic index, and a cumulative topic index by play. Features: Full bibliographic citations are included with each critical excerpt. Also, there are some illustrations.
more information Shorter New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature, The
Print Location: Z2011 .S417 1981 Middleton Main Stacks
Update of The New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature
more information The American Humanities Index
Print Location: Middleton Reference: AI3 .A278
This index to creative, critical, and scholarly writing indexes over 500 English language literary journals and magazines spanning the years 1975 to 1999. Indexing: Each year is indexed separately. Each volume consists of one alphabetical author-subject index.
more information The drama scholars' index to plays and filmscripts
Print Location: PN 1655 S33
Indexes collections and periodicals as an aid to finding plays and film scripts. Coverage extends from 1700 to 1983. Indexing: Authors and titles are indexed together in one continuous alphabet.
more information The World Shakespeare bibliography (CD-ROM)
Print Location:


more information Twentieth Century Literary Criticism
Print Location: PN771 .T85 Holdings: v.1(1978)-v.49(1993),v.51(1994)-v.96(2000)
Presents criticism of the works of more than 500 novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers and other creative writers who lived between 1900 and 1999. Every fourth volume in the series is devoted to topics rather than individual authors. Organization: Each entry begins with author information, such as his or her name and pseudonyms, dates, major works, a brief biography, and, when available, a picture. This section is followed by excerpts from criticism, arranged chronologically, and fully cited. This is followed by cross-references to other Gale publications. Indexing: At the end of each volume, there are cumulative author, topic, and nationality indexes. There is a title index specific to each volume. There is also a separate cumulative title index for the entire series. Cross-indexing to other Gale publications is built into these indexes.
more information Twentieth-century short story explication; interpretations, 1900-1966, of short fiction since 1800
Print Location: Z5917 S5 W33
Scope: Includes interpretations of short stories published from 1900 to 1994. Indexing: Each volume is indexed separately, alphabetically by author, then by short story beneath each author.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Michael Russo

Michael Russo
Instruction Coordinator
Tel: 578-6823

Literary Criticism
The critical analysis of literature has necessitated creation of a vast number of indexes, finding aids, and other resources. Herein is a partial list of resources owned or licensed by LSU Libraries for the study of literature in all its forms. For assistance locating or using any of these resources, or if you need further help with literary research, e-mail Mike Russo.
Untitled Document