Research Guides: Library Science

Resources for Library & Information Science
INTERNET SOURCES
 
LSU Libraries Ready Research and Information
 
Contains links to other research and information sources including other library catalogs, current research and information issues, and a variety of research and information categories such as style manuals. A research and information source for library and information science professionals, faculty, students, and lay persons. Also has links to several other LIS online dictionaries.
 
ONLINE DATABASES
 
Academic Search Complete

Contains the full text of more than 4,000 scholarly publications, and indexing and abstracts for all journals in the collection. The database covers the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, and more.
 
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (1994- )
 
Search and retrieval service that provides bibliographic records of U.S. Government information products. Use to link to Federal agency online resources, to identify materials distributed to Federal Depository Libraries.
 
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)

Offers more than 110,000 full text reviews of children's books. Link to the Children's Literature home page at the bottom of the database screen which has information on authors, illustrators, awards, related sites, etc.
 
EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS)
 
Provides a user-friendly method of searching LSU Libraries' Online Catalog along with the full-text of much of the Libraries' electronic holdings.
 
ERIC (1966-)
 
The most widely used index to journals in the field of education. Published as part of the U.S. Office of Education's Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) program, it provides detailed indexing for articles in more than 1000 education/education-related journals in addition to education related documents, most of which are full text online. (ERIC documents are no longer published as microfiche; the final microfiche document, ED 483046, was published Fall 2005. A complete set of ERIC microfiche is available in Room 53 in the basement of Middleton Library. Most documents published after that number are available as full text in the online database or can be purchased via the free web version of ERIC

JSTOR
 
A not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. JSTOR consists of a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature.
 
LexisNexis Academic
 
Offers full-text online news, business, legal, legislative, medical, regulatory information. Updated daily
 
Library, Information Science, and Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
 
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
 
Library Literature and Information Abstracts

Library Literature & Information Sciences, produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, indexes articles and book reviews from key library and information science periodicals. This database contains over 242,000 English and non-English records dating back to 1980. (See Z 666 C211 for index in book form covering 1921 to present.)
 
MLA International Bibliograpny
 
Offers detailed information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.
 
eBook Collection (formerly netLibrary)
 
Collection of almost 40,000 research and information, scholarly, and professional electronic books covering a variety of disciplines. Log on with a My EBSCOhost http://www.lib.lsu.edu/instruction/distance/setupacc.html#myebsco name and password.
 
Project Muse
 
Provides online, world wide, institutional subscription access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
 
PAIS Archive

The PAIS Archive database comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. Currently available on the CSA Illumina platform is Part I of this conversion project, containing over 850,000 records covering the years 1937-1976. Part II of the Archive will be available by Fall 2005 and will include records covering the years 1915-1936. When complete, the PAIS Archive will contain over 1 million records.
 
PAIS International
 
The PAIS International database from CSA contains research and informations to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. Also available in print from 1915 forward in research and information.
 
Serials Directory

Provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. This database contains over 182,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers, historical data for an additional 20,000 titles and data from over 85,000 publishers worldwide.
 
Social Sciences Citation Index (1984-)
 
Covers the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines from 1984 to the present. SSCI is one of three citation indexes in the Web of Knowledge.
 
UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory
 
Ulrichsweb.com http://www.Ulrichsweb.com/ is the authoritative source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types of academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the world.
 
Web of Knowledge Databases
 
Provides access to the three citation databases (Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index) which are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. Includes information on where journals are cited.
 
WorldCat
 
Offers records of all types of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century. Source of information about materials not owned by LSU Libraries.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Andrea Hebert

Andrea Hebert
Human Sciences, Education and Distance Learning Librarian
Tel: 578-7195

Ask Us!
FAQ Frequently Asked Questions
Chat Chat
eMail Reference Email
Phone Reference Call: (225) 578-8875
Text Reference
Text: (225) 245-3667
Selected Print Resources
American research and information Books Annual (ARBA) Ref (Desk) Z 1035.1 A55
 
Annual Review of Information Science and Technology Ref Z 699 A1A65
 
Basic Research Methods for Librarians Z 699.7 P68 2004
 
Bowker Annual (Includes Statistics.) Ref Z731 A47
 
Bowker's Best research and information Books Ref Z 1035.1 B69 2005
 
Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology Ref Z 1006  E566 2005
 
Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences (2nd rev. & enl.) Ref Z 1006 E57 2003
 
Targets new and dynamic movements in the distribution, acquisition, and development of print and online media addressing recruitment, program planning in the digital era, information management, advances in digital technology and encoding, intellectual property issues, and hardware,  \software, and database selection and design. Companion to the first edition.
 
Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences Ref Z 1006 E57 
 
Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences, 2nd Ed. / Edited by Miriam A. Drake Ref Z 1006 E57 2003
 
Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences (3rd) Ref Z 1006 E57 2010
 
This edition reflects the growing convergence among the serveral disciplines that concern themselves with information and the cultural record. Covered are archives, museum studies, informatics, information systems, knowledge management, records management, document and genre theory, bibliography, and social studies of information, in addition to library and information science. It addresses these related disciplines in a way that demonstrates the unities across the fields while also recognizing their uniquely distinguishing characteristics.
 
Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences, Second Edition, First Update Supplement Ref Z 1006 E57 2003
 
Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences (3rd) Ref Z 1006 E57 2010
 
This edition reflects the growing convergence among the serveral disciplines that concern themselves with information and the cultural record. Covered are archives, museum studies, informatics, information systems, knowledge management, records management, document and genre theory, bibliography, and social studies of information, in addition to library and information science. It addresses these related disciplines in a way that demonstrates the unities across the fields while also recognizing their uniquely distinguishing characteristics.
 
The Humanities: a Selective Guide to Information Sources (5th) Ref AZ 221 B53 2000
 
Information Sources in Science and Technology (3rd) Ref Q 158.5 H87 1998 & ebook Collection
 
Information Sources in the Social Sciences Ref H 61 I56 2002
 
Library and Information Science Annual Z 671 L7166 & ebook Collection8
 
Library and Information Science Education Statistical Report Ref Z 668 A84
 
Reader's Adviser - The Best in research and information Works, British Literature, and American Literature (14th) Ref Z 1035 B7
 
Social Science research and information Sources (3rd) Ref H 61 L5 2000 & ebook Collection\
 
The Social Sciences: A Cross-Disciplinary Guide to Selected Sources Z 7161 S648 2002 & ebook Collection
 
Walford's Guide to research and information Material Z 1035 W252
 
Where To Find What (4th) Ref Z 1035.1 H54 2000
Search Tips
SEARCHING THE ONLINE CATALOG

Try both keyword and subject searches. If your search results in too many citations, use more specific terms. If you have too few citations, use broader terms. Look at subject headings in records resulting from a key word search and search again using the most appropriate subject heading. Also, consult Library of Congress Subject Headings at the Middleton Library research and information Desk. A few representative subject headings are LIBRARY SCIENCE, INFORMATION SCIENCE, LIBRARIES, LIBRARIES-AUTOMATION, and LIBRARY ADMINISTRATION.
 
BOOK AND JOURNAL LOCATIONS IN LSU LIBRARIES
 
LSU Libraries uses the Library of Congress classification system. Library and Information Science books will be found in the Z's, primarily Z662-Z996. Related resources may fall into other call number ranges. For example, Z1035-37 covers resources about books for the young; QA includes library automation. However, the young people's collection which contains representative examples of the literature for preschool through grade 12 is arranged according to the Dewey Decimal Classification system. The Z's are located in 241 Middleton (stacks), and the young people's collection is in 227 Middleton (Education Resources).