On a mobile device?

View the LSU Libraries Mobile Website at
http://www.lib.lsu.edu/m/

Resources for Kinesiology
Library Liaison for Kinesiology: Mitch Fontenot

SEARCHING THE ONLINE CATALOG

 
Information in this section is representative quick help. More detailed information can be found on the catalog HELP screens accessed from the catalog toolbar and under Research Tools - Tutorials at http://www.lib.lsu.edu/instruction/tutorials.html
 
Try both keyword and subject searches. If your search results in too many citations, use more specific terms. If you have too few citations, use broader terms. Look at subject headings in records resulting from a key word search and search again using the most appropriate subject heading. Also, consult Library of Congress Subject Headings at the Middleton Library Research and Instruction Desk. A few representative subject headings are KINESIOLOGY, HUMAN MOVEMENT, MOVEMENT, PHYSIOLOGY, SPORTS PSYCHOLOGY, SPORTS, EXERCISE, and SPORTS INJURIES.
 
Try combining data wells (boxes) with operator words for advanced searches. Operator words are AND, OR, XOR, (either, but not both), and NOT. Within the data well box use positional operators such as NEAR, AND (adjacent), etc. Put the operators in capital letters. Example: Sports AND Medicine.
 
Try truncating search terms or substituting letters. A search term can be shortened by using $ At the end of the word. Example: sport$ will retrieve sport, sports, sportsmanship, etc. Use "?" to replace a letter within a word. Example: wom?n will retrieve woman or women. Also, useful when unsure of the spelling.
 
When searching by words or phrase do not use stop words (A, AN, AS, AT, BE, BUT, BY, DO, FOR, IF, IN, IT, OF, ON, THE, TO) or if part of a title, enclose each stop word in double quotation marks. Example: "And" Now Miguel. A set of terms can be marked as a single phrase by enclosing in single quotation marks.
 
BOOK AND JOURNAL LOCATIONS IN LSU LIBRARIES
 
LSU Libraries uses the Library of Congress and SUDOC's (Superintendent of Documents) classification systems. For Library of Congress classification, kinesiology materials are usually found in BF, GV, QP, RC, RD, and RM depending on content and approach. Education materials are found in L and some bibliographical material will be found in Z. Related resources may be in other call number ranges. Generally, education materials in the SUDOC system are in ED. (Documents call numbers are distinguished by a colon in the call number.) Generally, L and GV are located on the third floor, RC and RD on the fourth floor, and ED and Microfiche in Government Documents, Room 53, in the basement, but some are located in special collections such as Education Resources. Check the catalog for exact locations.
 
Education Resources, 227 Middleton Library, includes materials produced for use with children from preschool through grade 12. It includes children's literature (arranged by the Dewey decimal classification system), teacher support materials, representative textbooks, and Research and Instruction books pertaining to materials in Education Resources. For example, books for children on sports and information on how to coach various sports are in this collection. Check the catalog for exact locations within Education Resources.
 
Research and Instruction books (encyclopedias, handbooks, statistical sources, etc.) are located in Research and Instruction Services, 141 Middleton Library under the same call numbers noted above. They are housed at the Research and Instruction desk, on index tables, or in Research and Instruction stacks. The ED's are located in the Documents section of the Research and Instruction stacks. Locations within Research and Instruction Services are given in the online catalog records.
 
Current journal issues are located in 126 Middleton; older issues are in the stacks. Some are available in electronic format. Check the catalog or Journalfind for call numbers, exact locations, or online access.
 
Reserve materials are housed at Circulation/Reserve, Middleton lobby. Reserve information can be accessed under Reserve Desk on the online catalog toolbar.
 
The LSU LIBRARIES WEB PAGE at http://www.lib.lsu.edu covers resources, hours, policies, services, etc.
 
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION/HELPFUL HINTS
 
Searching Using Boolean Logic: Most database searching is based on Boolean logic; the computer creates sets of information based on the way you tell it to combine terms. The two most commonly used connectors or operator words are "or" and "and." To devise an effective search statement, select key words or major concepts, then create a search statement by connecting them with Boolean terms. Connecting terms with "or" (between synonyms or like concepts) will broaden the search and increase the number of records retrieved. Connecting terms with "and" (between differing concepts) will narrow the search and decrease the number of records retrieved. Information on operator words and search strategies is included on help screens for the databases.
 
Searching Cambridge Scientific Abstracts: Many of the databases appropriate for research in kinesiology are available as part of Cambridge Scientific Abstracts. These include Biological Sciences, Biology Digest, MEDLINE, Neurosciences Abstracts, and Physical Education
Index. They can be accessed by choosing either Cambridge Scientific Abstracts or a specific database in the alphabetical listing on the toolbar under Databases. Excellent help screens or tutorials are accessible from the first search screen.
 
Searching EBSCO Databases: EBSCO virtual tours can be accessed at http://support.epnet.com/custsupport/Tutorials/Tutorials.asp
 
Additional information is available on the search screen for each database via a help button on the top toolbar as well as search tips and database description.
 
Capturing Information in EBSCO Databases: You can mark records to print, save, or e-mail or you can set up a My EBSCOhost account (see information under Sign In at the top of the screen) to save searches for a specific period, and create alerts for designated searches.
 
Searching Multiple EBSCO Databases: EBSCO allows you to simultaneously search more than one database. From the LSU Libraries home page, click on Databases, click on "E" under Search Databases by Title, and then choose EBSCO Host Databases. Select appropriate databases, then click Continue. You can also add databases by clicking on Choose Databases from an EBSCO search screen.
 
Availability:
 
To locate journal articles cited in databases, bibliographies:
 
1.   Search the online catalog by journal title for holdings, call number, and online address AND/OR search Journalfind from the Databases screen for full text availability. If not found,
2.   Search Ingenta for document delivery OR submit request to Interlibrary Borrowing via the ILL link on the LSU Libraries home page at http://www.lib.lsu.edu
 
To locate books cited . . .
 
1.   Search the online catalog for location, call number, status, and/or online address. If not found,
2.   Submit request to Interlibrary Borrowing at http://www.lib.lsu.edu/ILL
 
Tutorials/Instruction: LSU Libraries offers a variety of tutorials and instruction opportunities described under Tutorials at http://www.lib.lsu.edu/instruction/tutorials.html
 
Contact the education liaison to arrange tours and class presentations.
 
Research and Instruction Services, 141 Middleton, provides assistance at the desk or by telephone, e-mail, and live assistance. See http://www.lib.lsu.edu/virtual/
 
INTERNET SOURCES
 
LSU Libraries Ready Research and Instruction
 
Contains information on the different ways to contact an LSU Research and Instruction Services librarian, links to other Research and Instruction services including other library catalogs, and a variety of Research and Instruction categories such as style manuals.
 
Stark Center for Physical Culture and Sports
 
Brings together websites of interest to the serious sports researcher, kinesiology librarian, sport information specialist, college/university student and faculty.
 
Free Internet Search Engines
 
These search engines can be used to supplement the scholarly databases listed under Indexes and Databases.
 
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature from broad areas of research.
 
PubMed is the free version of MEDLINEPubMed Central is an archive of life sciences journal literature developed and managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
 
INDEXES AND DATABASES
 
ACCESS: Electronic databases can be accessed from the LSU Libraries web page by clicking on the Databases link located on the gold tool bar. Databases can then be selected by title by clicking on the first letter of the database title. Most are available both on and off campus. (See the section on Passwords for more specific information about off campus access.) Print counterparts are available for some electronic databases. Check the catalog for call numbers and years covered.
 
Academic Search Complete
 

Contains the full text of more than 4,000 scholarly publications, and indexing and abstracts for all 7,962 journals in the collection. The database covers the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, and more.
 
Biological Abstracts

Provides Research and Instructions and abstracts since 1990 from life sciences research journals worldwide. Print available, 1980-1999, in Research and Instruction Services (REF Qh201 B37)
 
Biological Control Abstracts via CabDirect
 
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences. Strong international coverage.
 
Biological Sciences & Living Resources (ASFA 1)
 
This database, which monitors 4026 journals, covers basic and applied research on aquatic organisms, including all aspects of marine, fresh water, and brackish water organisms and environments. Covers research on exploitation of living resources, and related legal and socioeconomic issues. Sponsored by four U.N. specialized agencies. Monthly. 22,000 abstracts annually. Journals indexed by this database
 
Biology Digest (CSA)
 
Biology Digest is a compilation of abstracts and indexes of domestic and international literature in the area of life sciences. It is primarily intended for audience at the high school or undergraduate college level. Its purpose is to aid in keeping students and instructors current on the latest developments in biological research. Each of over 20,000 records contains an original abstract averaging about 325 words. Key information such as methods involved and conclusions drawn from the respective research is retained.
 
Business Source Complete
 
Provides full text from 11,200 sources, including more than 1,100 scholarly business journals. This database offers information in virtually every area of business including accounting & tax, banking, finance & insurance, construction, computer science, economics and many more. The database contains full text from international top ranking journals including, /Harvard Business Review, Brookings Papers on Economic Activity, Academy of Management Review, Journal of Accounting, Auditing & Finance, Journal of Marketing Management,/ etc.
 
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
 
Large collection of indexes, each of which focuses on a specific scientific field.
 
Cambridge University Press / Cambridge Journals Online (CJO)

Full text for over one hundred journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. On campus access only. Not available off campus.
 
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (unrestricted access)
 
The Catalog is a search and retrieval service that provides bibliographic records of U.S. Government information products. Use it to link to Federal agency online resources or identify materials distributed to Federal Depository Libraries. Coverage begins with January 1994 and new records are added daily. New Electronic Titles contains online titles that are the latest entries in the Catalog or are in the queue to be added to it.
 
CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with coverage dating as far back as 1937.
 
Compendex
 
A bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing Research and Instructions to over 5000 engineering journals and conferences.
 
Dissertation Abstracts
 
Contains citations to 1.2 million dissertations and masters theses. Coverage begins in 1861, with abstracts available since 1980, and thesis abstracts since 1988.
 
eBook Collection (direct link) 
 
Collection of almost 40,000 Research and Instruction, scholarly, and professional electronic books covering a variety of disciplines. Log on with a My EBSCOhost at http://www.lib.lsu.edu/instruction/distance/setupacc.html#myebsco
 
EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS)

Provides a user-friendly method of searching LSU Libraries' Online Catalog with the full text of much of the Libraries' electronic holdings.
 
eBook Collection (EBSCO) ((direct link)
 
A collection of over 50,000 Research and Instruction, scholarly, and professional electronic books covering a variety of disciplines. These books may be checked out for four hours at a time. The full text of the e-books may be searched and printed a page or two at a time. My Favorites, Bookmarks, and Notes are featured aids.
 
ERIC (1966-)

The most widely used index to journals in the field of education.Published as part of the U.S. Office of Education's Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) program, it provides detailed indexing for articles in more than 1000 education/education-related journals in addition to education related documents, most of which are full text online. (ERIC documents are no longer published as microfiche; the final microfiche document, ED 483046, was published Fall 2005. A complete set of ERIC microfiche is available in Room 53 in the basement of Middleton Library. Most documents published after that number are available as full text in the online database or can be purchased via the free web version of ERIC
 
Health and Safety Science Abstracts
 
Surveys recent work relating to public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. Major areas of coverage include: occupational safety and health, transportation environmental and ecology, food and drugs, pesticides, natural disasters, civil defense, and emergency management, fire safety, radiation safety, electrical safety, consumer and recreation safety, ergonomics and human factors, diseases, injuries, trauma, epidemology and public health, medical safety, toxicology, civil and structural engineering. Monthly. 5,600 abstracts annually.
 
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
 
Provides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines and abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. While coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, the database also covers Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements,
over-the-counter products and new and investigational drugs.
 
Human Health and Hygiene Abstracts via CabDirect

Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
 
Ingenta
 
Provides access to articles from periodicals not owned by LSU by faculty, research staff, and graduate students via a fax document delivery service. Costs of orders are subsidized by LSU Libraries.You must use your 17-digit university ID to establish an LSU Patrons Account.
 
JSTOR

A not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. JSTOR consists of a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature.
 
Leisure Recreation and Tourism Abstracts via CabDirect
 
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
 
LexisNexis Academic
 
Offers full text online news, business, legal, legislative, medical, and regulatory information, updated daily.
 
MEDLINE
 
Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, contains citations and abstracts to international biomedical literature from over 3700 journals on topics including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. Contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.
 
Mental Measurements Yearbook
 
The Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) series, produced since 1938 by the Buros Institute, provides users with critical evaluations for over 2,000 commercial tests within a wide variety of areas that include education, psychology, business, aptitude, achievement, and intelligence. Written by leading experts in the field, this series supports the informed selection and use of commercial testing products.
 
Neurosciences Abstracts (CSA)
 
Covers major advances and their implications in all aspects of vertebrate and invertebrate neuroscience, emphasizing basic research studies but also including special coverage of neural diseases, neuroimaging, dementias, pain, drug addiction, and memory. Monthly. 13,200 abstracts annually.
 
Nutrition Abstracts (Human) via CabDirect
 
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
 
Professional Development Collection
 
Designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals including more than 350 peer reviewed titles. This database contains more than 200 educational reports. It is the most comprehensive collection of full-text education journals in the world.
 
Psychology & Behavioral Science Collection
 
Provides nearly 575 full text publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
 
PsycINFO (1967-)
 
The most comprehensive index to the literature of psychology; indexes more than 1,300 journals, dissertations , and technical reports in 30 languages from 50 countries, as well as English-language chapters and books. Also available in print from 1928 forward in Research and Instruction Services.
 
Science Citation Index
 
Covers the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,800 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines from 1984 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: agriculture, neuroscience, astronomy, oncology, biochemistry, pediatrics, biology, pharmacology, biotechnology, physics, chemistry, plant sciences, computer science, psychiatry, materials science, surgery, mathematics, veterinary science, medicine, and zoology. SCI is one of three citation indexes in the Web of Knowledge.
 
Science Direct Web Editions
 
Serves as a web information source for scientific, technical, and medical (STM) research. It offers access to more than 1,100 journals in 16 fields of science, including the social sciences.
 
Serials Directory
 
Provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials.This database contains over 182,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers, historical data for an additional 20,000 titles and data from over 85,000 publishers worldwide.
 
Social Sciences Citation Index
 

Covers the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines from 1984 to the present. SSCI is one of three citation indexes in the Web of Knowledge.

SpringerLink
 
Includes over 500 journals and 7 book series online in engineering, science, humanities, business, etc.
 
Ulrichsweb.com

the authoritative source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types of academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the world.
 
Web of Knowledge Databases
 
Provides access to the three citation databases (Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index) which are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. Includes information on where journals are cited.
 
WorldCat
 
Offers records of all types of materials cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century. Source of information about materials not owned by LSU Libraries.



This Subject Guide is Maintained by Robert Bigelow
Untitled Document