Middleton Library's collection of books about European History is shelved on the third floor in the call number range D through DR. All of the books are searchable in the library's online catalog. For help using the catalog, click here or visit the reference desk.
Special Collections in Hill Memorial Library also has many books about European History. These, too, can be searched in the online catalog. To limit your search to Special Collections, use the advanced search feature and select Hill Memorial Library under the library tab. This can be a good way of finding primary sources, since many of the books in Special Collections are first-hand accounts of historical events.
Separate guides to published materials in Special Collections are available for some European History topics, including Medieval & Renaissance Manuscript Facsimiles, the French Revolution & Napoleonic Wars, the Franco-Prussian War, and Religion.
If you are looking for a quick introduction to a subject, a reference book can be a great place to start. Although some encyclopedias only contain very short articles, subject-specific encyclopedias provide more in-depth information. Also try reference works like the Cambridge Histories Online or the Oxford Companions, which contain scholarly essays written for general readers. Many of these resources are available online in the History Reference Center (LSU logon required). You can limit your search to encyclopedias or reference books under "Publication Type."
You can also search individually through the following full-text article databases and indexes that Discovery searches. Click each link to learn more.
History Reference Center -- primarily reference books
America: History and Life -- more than 200 journals on U.S. and Canadian history
C19: Nineteenth Century Index -- full-text access to many 19th-century publications
JSTOR -- includes more than 300 academic history journals
Project Muse -- 6,000 full-text History books and journals
Web of Knowledge -- includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Ingenta -- 169 History publications, mostly journals
PAIS International -- for articles on world history; many not in English
WorldCat (use Advanced Search and limit type to Archival Materials)
Be aware that although they overlap to some extent, each database has material not in the others. Also keep in mind that records are brief and do not list every single item or person referred to in the collection. You may have to contact the archive and see if they have a more detailed finding aid or inventory.
Also be aware that many institutions have not fully cataloged their holdings, and some repositories, especially small historical societies and private or business archives, have not reported their holdings to these databases. Sometimes the best thing to do is a simple web search.
Repositories of Primary Sources is a directory of over 5,000 archives websites worldwide.
The largest free, open-access digital libraries are Google Books, the Hathi Trust Digital Library, and Europeana.
Hundreds of smaller digital libraries exist. For lists of these, see:
European Primary History Resources - Digital Repositories
Digital Libraries of Europe
Many historical European newspapers have been digitized. See:
List of Online Newspaper Archives
Historical Worldwide Newspapers on the Internet
Historical Newspapers Online
Russian and East European Historical Newspapers
European Newspaper Archives
LSU ID REQUIRED:
Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online (MEMSO)
Digital images of medieval and early modern British and Irish sources, ca. 1000 to 1800.
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance
Access to various books, journals, and other electronic resources.
Early English Books Online
Digital images of books printed in English between 1473 and 1700.
British Periodicals I and II
Full-text access to 500 periodicals from the 1680s to the 1930s.
Palmer's Full Text Online 1785-1870
Full-text access to articles in the London Times.
The Middle Ages Online
Interdisciplinary webliography of internet and other electronic resources, hosted by LSU. Includes section on reference works.
For one-on-one research assistance, please feel free to contact the History Subject Librarian, Michael Taylor. You can also call the Middleton Library Reference Desk at (225) 578-8875 or the Hill Memorial Library (Special Collections) Reference Desk at (225) 578-6568.
Assistant Curator of Books
|Frequently Asked Questions|
|Call: (225) 578-8875|
|Text: (225) 308-1733|