Contains activities to help increase English fluency. Each chapter is built around learning ten target words and their definitions and usage. The words are grouped into topics such as nature, science, society, culture, etc. NetLibrary eBook.
About.com English as Second Language
Contains reading comprehension and practice dialogues with follow-up quizzes. Also information on how to write a cover letter. Has a newsletter ESL students can receive. Free access. No registration required.
Activities for ESL/EFL Students (English Study)
Grammar and vocabulary quizzes, crossword puzzles, podcasts, and bilingual quizzes. Free access. No registration required.
American English Pronunciation Guide | Rachel's English
This website was created to help people improve their American English pronunciation. At the core is a series of videos explaining in detail how each sound is created, as well as a blog. The site also contains practice exercises for learning speech patterns.
American Heritage Dictionary of Idioms
"This book is a comprehensive survey of the idioms currently used in American English.... [e]ach expression is defined and illustrated by at least one sample sentence showing how it is used in context." (Preface) Located in Middleton Reference Stacks: PE2839 .A47 1997.
American Idioms and Some Phrases Just for Fun: An ESL Meaning and Usage Workbook
Helps the ESL student learn idioms from American English. Emphasizes learning by constructing sentences using the idiom or idiomatic expression and by saying the sentences out loud. Contains tests of idioms and an answer key. NetLibrary eBook.
BBC Learning English
This site is a service of BBC, a major British broadcasting company. This ESL site emphasizes British pronunciation and spelling. Features include quizzes, pronunciation tips, slang, and words in current news.
Business English Pod
Business English Pod provides free weekly MP3 podcast ESL lessons and audio / e-Book courses for intermediate and advanced business English learners. Each business English podcast lesson is focused on a particular workplace English skill (meetings, presentations, telephoning, negotiating, socializing, travel, conversation etc.) and language function (clarifying, disagreeing, questioning, expressing opinions, persuasion etc.). Like ESLPod, the podcasts are available free of charge, but full transcripts and exercises are available for an annual fee.
EnglishMeeting - ESL Videos and Podcasts
This free website includes video presentations on pronunciation and idioms, with a little humor to make it more interesting. Also, EnglishMeeting contains downloadable podcasts that discuss current events and topics with ESL speakers.
Materials for ESL students and teachers on grammar, listening, reading, speaking, writing, vocabulary pronunciation, and idioms. Free access. No registration required except for chat.
ESLPod (ESL Podcasts)
ESLPod.com has over 500 podcasts of conversations on all kinds of topics, ranging from business to daily life and dining. The podcasts provide American English at a slower speed and use everyday phrases and expressions. They explain what these expressions mean and how to use them. Without registering, you have access to the podcasts (for download and streaming) with a list of phrases to listen for. For a monthly fee, you gain access to full transcripts of the sound files.
Fun Easy English
Provides help with pronunciation, alphabet writing, communication, conversation, grammar, American culture and holidays, contractions, slang, and idioms. Free access. No registration required.
Hello - and Now What?: Strategies for Successful Socializing
Helps the ESL student learn how to deal with various social situations such as introductions, job descriptions, welcoming visitors, asking for information, expressing opinions and ideas, etc. NetLibrary eBook.
How to Prepare for the TOEFL Test: Test of English as a Foreign Language
Provides a detailed review of English language skills for each section of the TOEFL. Contains practice tests. Also contains a TOEFL test timeline. NetLibrary eBook.
The Ins and Outs of Prepositions
This Helps the ESL student to understand the use of prepositions in English. Discusses the prepositions themselves, their function, and how to use them. Also contains a list of common adjectives, nouns, and verbs along with the prepositions that normally are associated with them. NetLibrary eBook.
Longman Complete Course for the TOEFL Test: Preparation for the Computer and Paper Tests.
The Longman Complete Course offers a comprehensive language course for students preparing to take the TOEFL Test in either format: paper-and-pencil, or computer-based. Focusing on skill-building strategies for more advanced students, this multimedia course is appropriate for use as a primary test preparation text or as a supplement to general courses. Located in Middleton Carter Music Resources Center: Compact Disc 2799 and Compact Disc 2800.
Manythings.org - Interesting Things for ESL/EFL Students
Word games and puzzles, quizzes, etc. for ESL students to aid in learning English vocabulary, grammar, slang and idioms, sentence structure, pronunciation, etc. Free access. No registration required.
The NTC's Preparation for the TOEFL
This program offers language instruction as well as strategies for taking the TOEFL tests for the intermediate to advanced reading level student.
Odds and Ends of English Usage
Deals with similes, animal sounds, onomatopoeic words, homophones, homonyms, plurals, time expressions, weather expressions, and other irregularities of the English language. NetLibrary eBook.
Online English Club
Lessons for English grammar, pronunciation, and vocabulary. Vocabulary divided up into useful sections based on use. Free access. Registration required.
Oxford Collocations Dictionary: For Students of English
Demonstrates how words can be combined in English for more effective speech and writing. Located in Middleton Reference Stacks: PE 1464 .O84 2002.
Practice Makes Perfect: English Grammar for ESL Learners
Contains tools to help the ESL student learn English grammar in context and to learn how to construct sentences in English. Has chapters devoted to different aspects of English grammar, such as nouns, verbs, pronouns, prepositions, and punctuation. NetLibrary eBook.
Study in the USA
Source for international students interested in studying in the U.S. Contains information on ESL learning programs, summer programs, graduate schools, and undergraduate schools.
TOEFL tips and preparation. Covers TWE. Contains practice tests. Located in Middleton Main Stacks: PE 1128 .R6345 1997.
The Ultimate Phrasal Verb Book
Helps the ESL student learn phrasal verbs in English, which are verbs made up of two or more words: the combination of verbs with particles (in, on, off, etc.). NetLibrary eBook.
Writing American Style: An ESL/EFL Handbook
Guides ESL students in the writing of academic papers. Explains how to write paragraphs, essays, research papers, outlines, etc.
|Frequently Asked Questions|
|Call: (225) 578-8875|
|Text: (225) 308-1733|