Resources

Databases

more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Credo Reference
Credo Reference is a general reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering 551 hundred highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers; Credo General Reference covers every major subject.

Credo Reference is an online reference service made up of full-text books from the world's best publishers. Whether you're working on a research paper, trying to win trivia or just curious, Credo Reference has something for you.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (Kirk-Othmer)
Written by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.

more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Encyclopedia of Data Warehousing and Mining
The Encyclopedia of Data Warehousing and Mining provides a comprehensive, critical and descriptive examination of concepts, issues, trends, and challenges in this rapidly expanding field of data warehousing and mining (DWM). This encyclopedia consists of more than 350 contributors from 32 countries, 1,800 terms and definitions, and more than 4,400 references. This authoritative publication offers in-depth coverage of evolutions, theories, methodologies, functionalities, and applications of DWM in such interdisciplinary industries as healthcare informatics, artificial intelligence, financial modeling, and applied statistics, making it a single source of knowledge and latest discoveries in the field of DWM.
more information Some full text available Encyclopedia of Database Technologies and Applications
The Encyclopedia of Database Technologies and Applications is a wide-ranging collection of diverse coverage of topics related to database concepts, technologies, and applications. This encyclopedia provides an overview of the state-of-the-art of classical subjects and has contributions from over 175 international researchers from 33 countries, more than 970 terms and definitions and over 2,400 references. It also delivers clear and concise explanations of emerging issues and technologies such as multimedia database systems, data warehousing and mining, geospatial and temporal databases, and data reverse engineering. The Encyclopedia of Database Technologies and Applications is a priceless single reference source for any library on the topic of database technologies and applications.

This important new publication offers researchers, scholars, students and professionals access to the latest knowledge related to database science and technology.
more information Restricted Resource Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences
This third edition of the Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences is not limited to librarianship or information science. It is designed to cover a spectrum of related information disciplines, including:
  • Archival Science
  • Bibliography
  • Document and Genre Theory
  • Informatics
  • Information Systems
  • Knowledge Management
  • Library and Information Science
  • Museum Studies
  • Records Management
  • Social Studies of Information

more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of reference eBooks from Gale and their publishing partners. There are thousands of full-text eBooks available for full-text searching.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.
 
Each volume contains an overview of the region, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes; and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instrument, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Other images include drawings, maps, and musical examples for further study. Since its first publication in 1997, The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music has been the pre-eminent reference work for research in ethnomusicology. It has won numerous awards, including the Dartmouth Medal, the New York Public Library Outstanding Reference Book award, and Library Journal's award as one of the 50 Reference Sources for the Millennium. Now for the first time, the entire set of 10 print volumes is available as a single, integrated online database, with additional features from Alexander Street Press.
 
The second release includes the entire set of 10 print volumes (over 9,200 pages) as well as complete indexing for genre, subject, instrument, place, person, ensemble, and cultural group, as well as links to the associated audio examples for each volume.

more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Grove Dictionary of Art
The most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. The Grove Dictionary of Art contains 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day. Compiled over a period of 15 years, it represents the work of more than 6,800 scholars from around the world, each writing on his or her own specialist field of study.
more information Restricted Resource Merck Index Online
The Merck Index is a one-volume encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs and biologicals that contains more than 10,000 monographs, 32 supplemental tables and 450 Organic Name Reactions. Nearly 4,000 of the entries cover drugs and pharmaceuticals, 2,000 describe common organic chemicals and laboratory reagents, another 2,000 cover naturally occurring substances and plants, 1,000 focus on the elements and on inorganic chemicals, and approximately 1,000 pertain to compounds of agricultural significance. Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds. In addition, there are more than 700 new and completely revised monographs, thousands of new references, trademarks and uses added to previous edition's monographs. Several hundred discuss endogenous substances and biological agents. There is an expanded focus on "Green Chemistry" and compounds of environmental significance. In addition to revisions and updating, enhancements include embedding the Chemical Abstracts Registry Numbers for title and derivative compounds within the monographs.

more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Grove Dictionary of Music is now part of Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, individual works, instruments and notation, forms and genres; The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Second Edition, Revised (2006) will similarly supplement Grove's more extensive coverage with content geared toward undergraduates and general users. Both of these sources are included in a subscription to Grove Music Online. Oxford Music Online is also pleased to feature Colin Larkin's landmark Encyclopedia of Popular Music — online for the first time by popular demand. The most comprehensive reference work devoted exclusively to popular music, EPM is the authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists, covering popular music from 1900 to the present. It is exhaustive, meticulous, authoritative — and incredibly fun to read.

more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Oxford Music Online
With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006)

Encyclopedias

more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Encyclopedia of Geography

This encyclopedia:

  • Gives a concise historical sketch of geography’s long, rich, and fascinating history, including human geography, physical geography, and GIS
  • Provides succinct summaries of trends such as globalization, environmental destruction, new geospatial technologies, and cyberspace
  • Decomposes geography into the six broad subject areas: physical geography; human geography; nature and society; methods, models, and GIS; history of geography; and geographer biographies, geographic organizations, and important social movements
  • Provides hundreds of color illustrations and images that lend depth and realism to the text
  • Includes a special map section


more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics 2nd Edition
The Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics covers the full range of topics in contemporary linguistics, with coverage across all aspects of language, whether spoken, written or signed. Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics gives full attention to formal and functional approaches to the fundamental linguistic disciplines of phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics, pragmatics and discourse as they relate to the description, analysis and use of individual languages and to typological, historical, comparative and variationist approaches to language and to languages.

more information Restricted Resource Encyclopedia of Social Work
Co-published by the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press, the 20th edition of the Encyclopedia of Social Work is widely considered the cornerstone of reference in its field. This new edition includes coverage of areas that have come to the fore since the 1995 publication of the 19th edition, including demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, and trauma and disaster.

The Encyclopedia contains four hundred subject entries and two hundred brief biographies of key figures in the history of social work. Clearly arranged in A-Z format, each article is fully cross-referenced and includes a select bibliography to guide interested readers to primary sources and the most important scholarly works on a given subject. The work also includes a comprehensive index and topical outline. Comprehensive in coverage and international in scope, the Encyclopedia is a valuable resource to social work practitioners, scholars, and students alike.

more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry
The Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry provides authoritative and comprehensive coverage of the whole topic of spectroscopy, from theory to applications. Short articles, each covering one aspect of spectroscopy, provide the professional spectroscopist working in academia or industry with the essential facts and background on areas of spectroscopy peripheral to their own. A list of further reading at the end of each article directs the reader to the level of detail required for professional purposes. Articles are arranged alphabetically, each having been named to facilitate logical access by the reader. Each article is flagged as to which area of spectroscopy it covers ("Mass Spectroscopy," "Magnetic Resonance," etc.) and whether it covers theory, methods and instrumentation, or applications. Users can refer to an alphabetical article listing, or to a listing arranged according to subject area to locate articles. Further reading lists at the end of each article allow easy access to the primary literature. Extensive cross-referencing, a complete subject index, numerous figures, and color plates are included in each volume.
more information Restricted Resource Encyclopedia or World Dress and Fashion
Informed by prestigious academic and library advisors, and anchored by the ten-volume Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion (July 2010), the Berg Fashion Library is the first online resource to provide access to interdisciplinary and integrated text, image, and journal content on world dress and fashion. The Berg Fashion Library offers users cross-searchable access to an expanding range of essential resources in this discipline of growing importance and relevance including a specially-created taxonomy, an e-book collection, and extensive color image bank. It will be of use to anyone working in, researching, or studying fashion, anthropology, art history, history, museum studies, and cultural studies.

more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
For students and adults alike, the Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. This database is updated annually.

more information McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama

"The World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre (WECT) is essentially an 'encyclopedia of nations and their theatres' (p. 3) that documents the artistic output and cultural resources of nearly every nation in the world."



more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
Written by an international roster of more than 300 authors, the Encyclopedia comprehensively documents and interprets the books read by children throughout the world. With a global perspective that pays attention to significant international trends and the multicultural expansion of the field, it includes brief biographies of every major author and illustrator. Also included are feature essays on all genres of children's literature, individual works, and prominent trends and themes, as well as general essays on the traditions of children's literature in many countries throughout the world.

more information Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

"From its inception, the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public."


more information Restricted Resource Some full text available Ullmanns Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry is a state-of-the-art reference work detailing the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, etc.
more information World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre

"The World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre (WECT) is essentially an 'encyclopedia of nations and their theatres' (p. 3) that documents the artistic output and cultural resources of nearly every nation in the world."



Print Material

more information New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, The
Print Location: PN1021 .N39 1994 Middleton Reference Stacks
This book is a comprehensive reference source for scholars, students, poets, and general readers. It deals with knowledge, facts, theories, questions, and informed judgment, concerning poetry. It contains descriptions of poetic forms and genres, surveys of 106 national poetries, overviews all major schools of poetry, accounts of major movements, issues in criticism and literary theory, and the relationship of poetry to other disciplines. This is the 3rd edition of the work and has added increased coverage of emergent and non-Western poetries; coverage of all movements in recent criticism and literary theory that bear on poetry; more extensive bibliographies; extensive cross-referencing. Entries are arranged alphabetically.
Encyclopedia Resources
50states.com
For each state, essential information about the state (capital city, area, population, etc.), economic information, political information, license plates, weather, etc.

Artcyclopedia
List of online exhibits of thousands of artists.

The Cambridge History of English and American Literature: An Encyclopedia in Eighteen Volumes
The Cambridge History of English and American Literature is considered the most important work of literary history and criticism ever published on writings in the English language. Compiled over fourteen years, from 1907 to 1921, the Cambridge History contains over 303 chapters and 11,000 pages, with essay topics ranging from poetry, fiction, drama, and essays to history, theology, and political writing. The set encompasses a wide selection of writing on orators, humorists, poets, newspaper columnists, religious leaders, economists, Native Americans, song writers, and even non-English writing, such as Yiddish and Creole.

Catholic Encyclopedia
A wealth of information from the 1913 edition of the Catholic Encyclopedia is available at this site.

Chambers's Book of Days
Hosted by the University of Wisconsin Library, the Book of days is an HTML version of the paper edition. Searchable by a calendar and includes "on this day in history" type of information.

eNature: America's Wildlife Resource
Includes field guides to flora and fauna, habitat guides, ask-an-expert, and a monthly article.

Encyclopedia Mythica: Mythology, Folklore, and Religion
Extensive listings of myths, folklore, and legends.

Encyclopedia of Law and Economics
From the people at FindLaw.com. "The Encyclopedia of Law & Economics attempts to provide a survey of the whole law & economics literature, with a total number of pages of approximately 3,000. Each entry contains two elements: a review of the literature written by an authority in the field followed a quasi-complete bibliography (not just a selection)."

Encyclopedia Smithsonian: The Smithsonian from A to Z

Features answers to frequently asked questions about the Smithsonian and links to Smithsonian resources from A to Z.

Encyclopedia.com
More than 200,000 reference entries from more than 100 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and thesauri. Sources include the Columbia Encyclopedia, 6th ed., medical encyclopedias, Webster's New World Dictionary, and many more.

Fugitive Fact File
Locate hard-to-find and elusive information on thousands of topics using this database. Since it's maintained and regularly updated by Hennepin County Library staff, many of the files are Minnesota specific.

Infoplease.com
Search engine that searches dictionaries, almanacs and encyclopedias. Produced by the Family Education Network.

The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy [IEP]
Search or browse through this encyclopedia. Articles tend to be long and written in one of three manners: Adapted from public domain sources, written by the editor, or written by professors of philosophy.

Investopedia
Searchable database of finance and investment terms. Categories for terms include mutual funds, options and futures, retirement plans as well as acronyms, buzz words, and new economy terms. Also features a sizeable collection of tutorials and articles from the editors of Investopedia and outside sources.

IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology - the Gold Book
This is a searchable online version of the "Gold Book" with over 7,000 terms.

KnowLA
This comprehensive, dynamic online resource on the history and culture of Louisiana consists of more than 300 articles written by scholars on topics from architecture and history to literature and music. The goal is to build a permanent digital archive by adding up to 300 entries each year. At this site that houses more than 1,000 images plus audio and video files, users can watch a simulation of Hurricane Katrina, listen to former governor Jimmie Davis singing “You Are My Sunshine,” or hear former governor and Sen. Huey Long’s 1934 “Every Man a King” address, which was broadcast over NBC radio. The encyclopedia is presented by the Louisiana Endowment for the ­Humanities.

LookLex / Encyclopaedia
LookLex is a Norway based media house presenting North Africa and the Middle East to a mainly western audience. This we do through 3 main channels; reference material organized into an encyclopaedia, traveler's guides to the North African countries and a basic language course in Arabic.

Medical Dictionary
Published by MedicineNet.com, this site includes over 9,000 terms, abbreviations, syndromes, eponyms, and more related to the bio-medical sciences.

The Merck Manual of Medical Information--Home Edition
The full-text, searchable consumer edition of the famous Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy ("the textbook of medicine most widely used by health care professionals in the U.S. and worldwide"), written in everyday language for non-health care professionals.

The New Encyclopaedia Brittanica, 15th ed.
The Britannica Encyclopedia Set combines today's current topics with 240 years of expertise and delivers more depth, breadth, and information than other encyclopedias. Readers can access quick facts or immerse themselves in detailed articles on almost any subject imaginable while enjoying the vivid and beautiful images of art, geography, science, sports, and much more. Located at Middleton Reference Desk: AE5 .E363 2005.

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed.
"Since its initial publication in 1980, the Dictionary has been widely acclaimed as an indispensable resource and a classic reference. The word "updated" doesn't begin to describe the thousands of new articles, topics, cross-references, and areas of scholarship incorporated into The New Grove II . Every one of the first edition's 22,500 articles has been reviewed and revised, with thousands of articles expanded. Previously neglected or under-represented areas have been examined, explored, and explained. Movements and topics once deemed too controversial or too far from the mainstream have been added. And throughout, 6,500 new articles cover more than 5,000 years of music history, instruments, composers, institutions, performers, genres, and more." (Publisher) Located in Music Resource Center: ML 100 .N48 2001. Also available online as part of Oxford Music Online.

Nutri-Facts
A free source for nutrition information on almost six thousand different foods, Nutri-Facts has taken the USDA Nutrient Database for Standard Reference, Release 13 and put it into a form anyone can use.

Oxford Art Online
Encompassing several reference works on art, Oxford Art Online offers entries on individual painters and their work, art movements, theory, and criticism. This resource also has 40,000 image links, 5,000 of them contained in Grove Art Online. In addition to Grove Art, Oxford Art includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.

Oxford Dictionary of Art, 3rd ed.
"Covering Western art from the ancient world to the present day, the Dictionary provides a careful balance of fact and critical appraisal ranging across painting, sculpture, drawing, and the applied arts. Over 3000 entries provide the reader with information on a wide range of people and subjects, including artists, critics, collectors, dealers, patrons, museums, art schools, materials, and techniques. This third edition has been thoroughly revised and expanded, with over 200 new entries on contemporary artists, such as Damien Hirst, Julian Schnabel, Antony Gormley; new forms, such as video art; museums, patrons, and collectors. The Dictionary also includes an updated contextual chronology of major works, as well as a practical directory of museums and galleries around the world." (Publisher) Located in Middleton Reference Stacks: N 33 .O93 2004.

Oxford Dictionary of Dance
"With over 2,500 entries covering all aspects of dance, this unique dictionary is the only one of its kind available. ... It provides all the information necessary for dance fans to navigate the current diverse dance scene. During the last twenty years the boundaries of dance have been radically redrawn. There has been an explosion of new activity within traditional forms like ballet, a stream of new dance languages invented by fresh generations of choreographers, and there is a growing appreciation of cultural dance forms from around the world. ... With an emphasis on performance - the dance we see in our theatres today - readers will find both fact and analysis on a wide range of subjects, from styles of dance and the history of dance companies and their productions, to dancers, choreographers, and technical terms." (Publisher) Located in Middleton Reference Stacks: GV 1585 .C78 2002.

Oxford Music Online
Comprised of Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music, Oxford Music Online has authoritative articles on composers, performers, and other music personalities, in addition to writings on instruments, musical forms, and genres, among other subjects.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files
Trial database = Trial Database

Ask Us!
FAQ Frequently Asked Questions
Chat Chat
eMail Reference Email
Phone Reference Call: (225) 578-8875
Text Reference
Text: (225) 245-3667
Untitled Document