Truncation Symbol: Allows you to find various endings of one word at once. For example: nanotech* finds nanotech, nanotechnology, and nanotechnologies. The symbol varies by database, so check under the Help menu.
Boolean Searching: A technique which allows search terms to be connected by using AND, OR, NOT in most library catalogues and databases.
AND – the results of your search will include both terms
adaptive antennas AND wireless
OR – the results of your search will contain at least one of the terms
solar cell OR photovoltaic cell
Tip: Using 'OR' will increase the number of possible results but they may not all be relevant.
NOT – the results of your search will exclude a term after NOT
JAVA NOT (coffee OR Indonesia)
|ASTM Standards Source
A complete database of all 11,000+ ASTM Standards. Accessed through a search menu to display PDF files of the Standards with the ability to enlarge any illustrations, pictures, or tables.
Access is limited to on campus only. One must use an official LSU Active Directory account managed by InformationTechnology Services (ITS) to access this resource. If you are unableto access this resource, please contact your local IT contact for assistance.
NOTE: For any buttons that request to "Insert Data Disc" to view any documents, just press the button and the document will be displayed.
note: YOU MUST USE INTERNET EXPLORER TO ACCESS. NOT SUPPORTED BY FIREFOX.
|Cambridge University Press
Welcome to Cambridge Journals Online (CJO), providing full text for over one hundred journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for more than 300 publications, covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software and provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.
Computer Source offers full text journals such as AI Communications, Applied Artificial Intelligence, Computer Science Education, Cybernetics & Systems, Electromagnetics, Expert Systems, Information Systems Research, International Journal of Computational Engineering Science, International Journal of Electronics, International Journal of Foundations of Computer Science, International Journal of Systems Science, Journal of Information Systems, Journal of Management Information Systems, MIS Quarterly, Monte Carlo Methods & Applications, Neural Computation, Theory of Computing Systems, Transactions of the Institute of Measurement & Control and many more.
Leading general magazines are also provided including: eWeek, Fast Company, MacWorld, PC Magazine, PC World, Red Herring, Software Magazine, and more. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1985.
IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)
Abstract records and full text articles published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from:
Access to the AbstractPlus records and select full text published since 2005 from:
IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library PurchaseThe online version of several IEEE journals, magazines, and proceedings.
Full text access to all IEEE-Wiley eBooks titles copyrighted in the year(s) 1974-2014.
|Knovel Interactive Library
Knovel brings essential Sci-tech reference data to life in a virtual technical library that solves problems for engineers, applied scientists and librarians worldwide. On one interface the Knovel Library combines authoritative reference content from major Sci-tech publishers including John Wiley & Sons, McGraw-Hill and Elsevier. This data is enhanced with time-saving analytical tools to help analyze and manipulate the data.
Users can analyze and reorganize the data in over 800 full-text engineering and scientific reference works, handbooks, and databases Knovel. They can sort, filter and export data from 'live tables', resolve equations and plot graphs, capture values from existing graphs and perform 'what if' experiments on the data. Knovel's uniquely powerful research platform integrates a intuitive yet powerful search engine with a user friendly browse capability to allow the user to discover data in ways which are close to real information seeking behavior.
|Science and Technology Collection
Science & Technology Collection contains over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications. This collection contains many scholarly journals including Advances in Physics, American Scientist, Annual Review of Astronomy & Astrophysics, Annual Review of Biochemistry, Archaeoastronomy, Astronomy & Geophysics, Civil Engineering, Engineering Management Journal, International Journal of Computational Engineering Science, Journal of Aerospace Engineering, Journal of Architectural Engineering, Journal of Applied Microbiology, Journal of Mathematical Logic, Journal of Theoretical & Computational Chemistry, Molecular Physics, Plant Biotechnology Journal, Quarterly Review of Biology, Space Communications, Spatial Vision, and many more.
|Science Citation Index
Science Citation Index Expanded - This database covers the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,800 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines from 1900 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: agriculture, neuroscience, astronomy, oncology, biochemistry, pediatrics, biology, pharmacology, biotechnology, physics, chemistry, plant sciences, computer science, psychiatry, materials science, surgery, mathematics, veterinary science, medicine, and zoology.
Social Sciences Citation Index - This database covers the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines from 1956 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: anthropology, political science, history, public health, industrial relations, social issues, information science & library science, social work, law, sociology, linguistics, substance abuse, philosophy, urban studies, psychology, women's studies, and psychiatry.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index - This database indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals from 1975 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: archaeology, linguistics, architecture, literary reviews, art, literature, Asian studies, music, classics, philosophy, dance, poetry, folklore, radio, television, film, history, religion, language, and theater.
Science Direct, published by Elsevier Science, serves as a web information source for scientific, technical, and medical (STM) research. It offers access to more than 1,100 journals in 16 fields of science, including the social sciences.
The Springer database offers full-text searching through Springer’s entire electronic output, including Journals, Books, Book Series, eReference books, and Protocols. Subject areas include engineering, science, humanities, business etc. Most full-text content is accessible to LSU patrons, with a few exceptions, most notable being the Protocols.