SEARCHING THE ONLINE CATALOG
(Information in this section is representative quick help. More detailed information can be found on the online catalog HELP screens accessed from the catalog toolbar and under Research Tools - Tutorials
Try both keyword and subject searches. If your search results in too many citations, use more specific terms. If you have too few citations, use broader terms. Look at subject headings in records resulting from a key word search and search again using the most appropriate subject heading. Also, consult Library of Congress Subject Headings at the Research & Instruction Services Desk. A few representative subject headings are EDUCATION-UNITED STATES, EDUCATIONAL COUNSELING, STUDENTS AND VIOLENCE.
Try combining data wells (boxes) with operator words for advanced searches. Operator words are AND, OR, XOR, (either, but not both), and NOT. Within the word or phrase data well use positional operators such as NEAR, ADJ (adjacent), etc. Put the operators in capital letters. Example: charter NEAR schools.
Try truncating search terms or substituting letters. A search term can be shortened by using "$" at the end of the word. Example: educat$ will retrieve educate, educating, education, etc. Use "?" to replace a letter within a word. Example: wom?n will retrieve woman or women. Also, useful when unsure of the spelling.
When searching by words or phrase do not use stop words (A, AN, AS, AT, BE, BUT, BY, DO, FOR, IF, IN, IT, OF, ON, THE, TO), or if part of a title, omit or enclose each stop word in double quotation marks. Example: "And" Now Miguel. A set of terms can be marked as a single phrase by enclosing in single quotation marks. This will be matched in the catalog exactly as typed. Example: 'school buildings'
BOOK AND JOURNAL LOCATIONS IN LSU LIBRARIES
LSU Libraries uses the Library of Congress and SUDOC's (Superintendent of Documents) classification systems. For Library of Congress classification, education materials will be found in the L's and some bibliographical material will be found in the Z's. Related resources may be in other call number ranges; for example, a book on school counseling could be in the B's, or a journal on mathematics education in the Q's. Generally, education materials in the SUDOC system are in the ED's. (Documents call numbers are distinguished by a colon in the call number.) Generally, the L's are located on the third floor and the ED's in Government Documents in the basement, but some are located in special collections. Check the catalog for exact locations.
Education Resources, 227 Middleton Library, includes materials produced for use with children from preshcool through grade 12. It includes children's literature (arranged by the Dewey Decimal Classification system), teacher support materials, representative textbooks, and reference books pertaining to materials in Education Resources. Check the catalog for exact locations within Education Resources.
Reference books (encyclopedias, handbooks, statistical sources, etc.) are located in Research & Instruction Services, 141 Middleton Library under the same call numbers noted above. They are housed at the reference desk, on index tables, or in reference stacks. The ED's are located in the Documents section of the reference stacks. Locations within Reference Services are given in the online catalog records.
Current journal issues are located in 126 Middleton; older issues are bound and shelved in the stacks. Some are available in electronic format. Check the online catalog and/or use Journalfind to determine call numbers, exact locations, or online access.
Reserve materials are housed at Circulation/Reserve, Middleton lobby. Reserve informationcan be accessed under Reserve Desk on the online catalog toolbar.
The LSU LIBRARIES WEB PAGE at http://www.lib.lsu.edu covers resources, hours, policies, services, etc.
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION/HELPFUL HINTS
Searching Using Boolean Logic: Most database searching is based on Boolean logic; the computer creates sets of information based on the way you tell it to combine terms. The two most commonly used connectors or operator words are "or" and "and." To devise an effective search statement, select key words or major concepts, then create a search statement by connecting them with Boolean terms. Connecting terms with "or" (between synonyms or like concepts) will broaden the search and increase the number of records retrieved. Connecting terms with "and" (between differing concepts) will narrow the search and decrease the number of records retrieved. Information on operator words and search strategies is included on help screens for the databases.
Searching EBSCO Databases: EBSCO tutorials can be accessed at http://support.epnet.com/custsupport/Tutorials/Tutorials.asp. Advanced Search with Guided Style, How to Create Search and Journal Alerts, andMy EBSCOhost are especially helpful. They include information on search strategies, search history and alerts, and personal accounts.
Capturing Information in EBSCO Databases: You can mark records toprint, save, or e-mail during individual sessions or you can set up a My EBSCOhost account (see information under Sign In at the top of the screen) to save searches for a specific period, and create alerts for designated searches.
Searching Multiple Databases: EBSCO allows you to simultaneously search more than one EBSCO database. From the LSU Libraries home page, click on Indexes and Databases, click on "E" under Search Databases by Title, then choose EBSCOHost Databases. Select appropriate databases, then click Continue. You can also add databases by clicking on Choose Databases from an EBSCO search screen.
A Journalfind search allows patrons to determine if a specific journal is available in electronic format. Information includes the name of the database(s) and the years covered in each. The Journalfind search form can be accessed from either Electronic Journals or Indexes and Databases under Research Tools on the Libraries' web page.
Availability: To locate journal articles cited in indexes, databases, bibliographies:
Search the online catalog by journal title either directly from the home page or from the link provided in the online citation to determine holdings, call number, online address AND/OR search Journalfind to determine full text availability. If not found, Search Ingenta for document delivery OR submit request to Interlibrary Borrowing via the ILL link on the LSU Libraries page.
To locate books cited. . .
Search the online catalog for location, call number, status, and/or online address. If not found, Submit request to Interlibrary Borrowing at www.lib.lsu.edu/ILL
Tutorials/Instruction: LSU Libraries offers a variety of tutorials and instruction opportunities described under Research Tools - Tutorials at www.lib.lsu.edu/instruction/tutorials.html Contact the Library Associate to arrange tours and class presentations.
Research & Instruction Services, 141 Middleton, provides assistance at the desk
or by telephone, e-mail, and live assistance. See www.lib.lsu.edu/virtual/
Subject Guides to Education Resources and Related Fields
Accessible through the Web, these local pages are sites concerning many aspects of education. They include bibliographies, statistics, discussion groups, listservs, and general information.
General Education http://www.lib.lsu.edu/edu/general.html
K-12/Teacher Resources http://www.lib.lsu.edu/edu/k-12.html
Global Social Studies http://www.geauxto.com/socialstudies
Louisiana Social Studies http://www.geauxto.com/louisiana
Higher Education http://www.lib.lsu.edu/edu/high.html
Education Resources http://www.lib.lsu.edu/edu/er
Distance Education http://www.lib.lsu.edu/instruction/distance
Service Learning http://www.lib.lsu.edu/edu/service
ACCESS: Electronic databases can be accessed from the LSU Libraries web page, www.lib.lsu.edu by clicking on the Databases link located on the gold tool bar. Databases can then be selected by title by clicking on the first letter of the database title. Most are available both on and off campus. (See the section on Passwords for more specific information about off campus access.) Print counterparts are available for some electronic databases. Check the catalog for call numbers and years covered.
Academic Search Complete
Contains the full text of more than 4,000 scholarly publications, and indexing and abstracts for all journals in the collection. The database covers the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences,engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, and more.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (1994-)
Search and retrieval service that provides bibliographic records of U.S. Government information products. Use to link to Federal agency online resources, to identify materials distributed to Federal Depository Libraries.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Offers more than 110,000 full text reviews of children's books. Link to the Children's Literature home page at the bottom of the database screen which has information on authors, illustrators, awards, related sites, etc.
Contains citations to 1.2 million dissertations and masters theses.Coverage begins in 1861, with abstracts available since 1980, and thesis abstracts since 1988.
eBook Collection (EBSCO) (Formerly netLibrary) (direct link)
A collection of over 50,000 reference, scholarly, and professional electronic books covering a variety of disciplines. These books may be checked out for four hours at a time. The full text of the e-books may be searched and printed a page or two at a time. My Favorites, Bookmarks, and Notes are featured aids.
EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS)
Provides a user-friendly method of searching LSU Libraries' Online Catalog with the full text of much of the Libraries' electronic holdings.
ERIC Abstracts (1966-)
The most widely used index to journals in the field of education. Published as part of the U.S. Office of Education's Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) program, it provides detailed indexing for articles in more than 1000 education/education-related journals in addition to education related documents, most of which are full text online. (ERIC documents are no longer published as microfiche; the final microfiche document, ED 483046, was published Fall 2005. A complete set of ERIC microfiche is available in Room 53 in the basement of Middleton Library. Most documents published after that number are available as full text in the online database or can be purchased via the free web version of ERIC at www.eric.ed.gov/ http://www.eric.ed.gov/
A document delivery service which provides unmediated access by faculty, research staff, and graduate students to articles from periodicals not owned by LSU. Fees are subsidized by LSU Libraries. Articles delivered electronically by fax or e-mail. See www.lib.lsu.edu/databases/descriptions/ingenta.html for additional information. (Use 17-digit university ID to establish an LSU Patrons Account.)
A not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. JSTOR consists of a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature.
Offers full-text online news, business, legal, legislative, medical, regulatory information. Updated daily.
MAS Ultra - School Edition
Designed specifically for high school libraries. (LSU Libraries receives this database as part of a larger package.) The database provides full text from nearly 550 popular, general interest, and current events publications. It also includes over 250 reference books, such as the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts.
Offers detailed information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.
Mental Measurements Yearbook (1989-)
Contains full-text information about and reviews of English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. The print version of Mental Measurements Yearbook, Z5814 P8 R93, and its index, Tests in Print, Z5814 E9 T47, are available at the Research& Instruction Services Desk.
PAIS Archive | PAIS International
An interdisciplinary subject index to periodical articles, books, government publications, pamphlets, and reports relating to public issues and policy.
Provides full text for more than 60 popular magazines for elementary school research. (LSU Libraries receives this database as part of a larger package.) All full text articles are assigned a reading level.
Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals including more than 350 peer reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. It is the most comprehensive collection of full-text education journals in the world.
Provides online, world wide, institutional subscription access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Psychology & Behavioral Science Collection
Provides nearly 575 full text publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
The most comprehensive index to the literature of psychology; indexes more than 1,300 journals, dissertations, and technical reports in 30 languages from 50 countries, as well as English-language chapters and books. Also available in print from 1928 forward in Research & Instruction Services.
Provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. This database contains over 182,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers, historical data for an additional 20,000 titles and data from over 85,000 publishers worldwide.
Social Sciences Citation Index (1984-)
Covers the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines from 1984 to the present. SSCI is one of three citation indexes in the Web of Knowledge.
Something About the Author Online (direct link)
Provides first-time comprehensive online access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. Something About the Author Online includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series.
UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory
Ulrichsweb.com is the authoritative source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types of academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the world.
Web of Knowledge Databases
Provides access to the three citation databases (Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index) which are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. Includes information on where journals are cited.
Offers records of all types of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.Source of information about materials not owned by LSU Libraries.
This Subject Guide is Maintained by Robert Bigelow