On a mobile device?

View the LSU Libraries Mobile Website at
http://www.lib.lsu.edu/m/

College Resources
About.com GMAT Prep
About.com divides its GMAT prep resources into subtopics of analytical writing, verbal, and quantitative. There are also answers to frequently asked questions, and articles titled "How to Prepare for the GMAT" and "Overview of the GMAT."

Academic Ranking of World Universities (ARWU)
The Academic Ranking of World Universities (ARWU) is published by the ShanghaiRanking Consultancy, a fully independent organization. ARWU uses six objective indicators to rank world universities, including the number of alumni and staff winning Nobel Prizes and Fields Medals, number of highly cited researchers selected by Thomson Scientific, number of articles published in journals of Nature and Science, number of articles indexed in Science Citation Index - Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index, and per capita performance with respect to the size of an institution. More than 1000 universities are actually ranked by ARWU every year and the best 500 are published on the web.

ACS Directory of Graduate Research

DGRweb 2009, the searchable online version of the ACS Directory of Graduate Research (DGR), is the most comprehensive source of information on chemical research and researchers at universities in the U.S., Canada, and Mexico.

Back to College: Online and On-Campus Degree Programs for Adults

Back to College is an all-in-one resource for the adult returning to college. It contains information on financial aid, choosing a college, and advice on adjusting to life back in school. It also includes a lot of information on online and distance college programs.

Best Places to Intern - BusinessWeek
This BusinessWeek report highlights the best places for business student internships.

Big Future College Search
Big Future is an advanced search tool sponsored by the CollegeBoard. This site allows you to find colleges that match your criteria, such as size, location, religious affiliation, single-sex vs. co-ed, and majors, among others.

Business School Comparison - BusinessWeek

Compare the USA's leading business schools at BusinessWeek Online. Simply enter the schools you want to compare, and they will show you relevant criteria you need to make an educated decision. This site includes full- and part-time MBA, EMBA, and distance options. It also lists international programs.

Business School Rankings and Profiles - BusinessWeek
Published by BusinessWeek, this resource has international rankings of business schools, including MBA and EMBA programs. It also has information on distance education options.

College Admission Recruitment Guide — Application Tips, Advice & More
This site provides a step-by-step approach to finding the right college, from initial planning to making the final decision. It also has tips for recommendation letters, college admission essays, and admission interviews. Other content includes essays on finding the right school, the application process, adult education, entrance exams, and the transfer process.

College Navigator - National Center for Education Statistics
"College Opportunities On-Line is brought to you by the National Center for Education Statistics in the U.S. Department of Education. NCES was authorized by Congress in 1998 to help college students, future students, and their parents understand the differences between colleges and how much it costs to attend college."

College Scholarships, Financial Aid & Grants – Search, Tips, Resources & More
This financial aid resource is a part of Hobson's CollegeView service. It includes articles on financial aid myths, FAFSA Facts, and other topics, as well as a college cost calculator and useful tips for college financing.

College Search - Find a College
The College Board's tool for choosing a college by degree, field of study, location, etc.

CollegeSource Online
This site features over 11,400 College Catalogs in complete cover-to-cover original page format--including 2-year, 4-year, graduate, and professional schools. NOTE: you must be in Middleton Library to access this resource.

CollegeView - College Finder & Recruiting Service
Extensive database of colleges containing virtual tours, financial aid, scholarship information. Includes sections for Christian colleges, Community colleges, and Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HCBUs). Contains counseling and other discussions on college life.

ETS: Educational Testing Services
ETS conducts assessment and policy research and develops assessments and related services to advance quality and equity in learning worldwide.

General Education Online - International University Listings
This large directory has over 10,000 entries for universities around the world. In addition to traditional institutions, GEO also has lists of international language and flight schools.

Graduate Schools & Graduate Degrees Guide
Search by school or program, Graduate School Handbook, financial aid information and more. Includes resources for MBA degree programs.

IIEPassport.org - International Study Abroad Programs
Brought to you by the Institute of International Education (IIE), this site allows users to conduct fast and complex searches, using up to 34 different options to search over 5,000 program listings. Also includes a searchable index of over 1,000 organizations that sponsor education abroad programs for US students and adult learners, a glossary, a link to US passport information, and a "How To" Guide.

Information on UNCF Benefits for Students (United Negro College Fund)
Since 1985, the UNCF Program Services Department has awarded in scholarship assistance over 105 million dollars to over 28,000 students enrolled in colleges and universities across the nation. The programs that UNCF administers offer different opportunities for students such as internships, mentorships and leadership development. This site has a listing of scholarships and fellowships provided by the United Negro College Fund.

LearningExpress Library
This database provides study materials and practice tests for standardized tests at all levels, from elementary to postgraduate studies. Also available are general skills improvement materials in areas such as reading, writing and language.

LSAC - Getting Started: Thinking About Law School
The Law School Admissions Council, which organizes the LSAT, provides useful advice and information on its web site. Students at different stages in their LSAT preparation, from those considering law school as a possibility, to those ready to sign up for the LSAT, to those who have signed up and are studying for the exam, will all find valuable resources at this site.

LSU Career Services > Students: Admission Tests
LSU's Career Serices page on how to register and prepare for graduate school admissions tests.

LSU Career Services for current students
LSU Career Services has many resources for students. They provide study guides for graduate school admissions tests, advice for making career decisions, and tips for finding a job, among other things.

LSU Office of Disability Services
The Office of Disability Services (ODS), in collaboration with other university departments, is committed to providing appropriate auxiliary aids and services for students with disabilities in an effort to ensure their full participation in all activities, programs, and services to the university. ODS is dedicated to promoting the self-advocacy of students with disabilities, and is committed to working with the LSU administration on the development and revisions of policies and procedures relevant to students with disabilities. ODS also serves as a source of disability-related information for the university.

MBA.com - GMAT Resources
At the official GMAT site, students can learn the basics about the test, check seat availability, sign up for the test, and browse preparation materials.

MCAT Official Practice Tests
The official MCAT site offers one free full-length practice test. Additional practice tests are available for purchase. This page also offers links to Frequently Asked Questions about MCAT preparation and publications for students.

MCAT Official Site
Learn about the MCAT, prepare to register for the exam, determine where and how to send score reports. This site has information for testers with disabilities, information about the fee assistance program, data on examinees, and preparation resources.

MCAT: About.com - MCAT
About.com provides a general overview of the MCAT and detailed resources for the biological sciences, physical sciences, verbal reasoning, and writing sample portions of the test. This page also answers frequently asked questions about the MCAT.

MCAT: Kaplan MCAT Prep
Kaplan is a paid test preparation service, but its web site provides some resources to test-takers at no charge. Resources include a free online practice test, sample test questions and strategy sessions with test-taking tips.

MOLIS - Minority Online Information Service
MOLIS is a one-stop source of in-depth information about the research and educational capabilities of participating Hispanic-Serving Institutions (HSIs), Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs), Tribal Colleges and Universities (TCUs), and Minority Postsecondary Institutions (MPIs).

PACER Center Postsecondary Education Knowledge Center
The PACER (Parent Advocacy Coalition for Educational Rights) Center's mission is "to expand opportunities and enhance the quality of life of children and young adults with disabilities and their families). The Postsecondary Education Knowledge Center is a collection of resources for students with disabilities and their parents. Topics covered include financial aid, preparing for college, policy issues for students with disabilities, and civil rights and academic accommodations.

ScholarSite.com
From the TIYM Publishing Company, ScholarSite is a free financial aid search engine enabling prospective students to "investigate financial aid opportunities offered by universities, colleges, research institutions, corporations, and other organizations." Presently there are several hundred thousand "educational opportunities [from] the pre-college to the post-doctoral/professional level" in the database. There are several searches available, as well as links to related resources on the home page.

Search for Colleges and Universities, Graduate Schools, Online Degree, Private Schools - Peterson's
Online version of Peterson College Guides. Scholarship, financial aid, field of study and other information.

Student Doctor Network
The Student Doctor Network is a nonprofit organization devoted to providing unbiased information to students. The web site features blogs, articles, interviews, a medical schools database, and an active discussion forum where test-takers can share their thoughts, tips, and strategies as they prepare for the MCAT. Registration is required to post on the forum, but it is free.

Study in the USA
Source for international students interested in studying in the U.S. Contains information on ESL learning programs, summer programs, graduate schools, and undergraduate schools.

StudyAbroad.com
StudyAbroad.com is a directory of study abroad programs, organized by subject or country or city. It includes information on summer study abroad, internships, volunteering abroad, intensive language programs, and more.

The Black Collegian Online
Career Site for Students and Professionals of Color. The electronic version of the 29 year-old, national career opportunities magazine. In addition to the abundance of career planning/job search information, there is commentary by leading African-American writers, lifestyle/entertainment features, general information on college life, and news of what's happening on college campuses today.

The GMAT
Divided into sections titled "Teach Yourself," "Coach Yourself," "Test Yourself" and "Prepare Yourself," this site has a variety of preparation resources for the GMAT. Also provides links to other resources, including those for improving writing skills.

University and College Search - BrainTrack
Over 10,000 Links to Higher Educational Institutions in 194 Countries. Visitors can also find schools by a search phrase. Also includes profiles of thousands of schools.

Untitled Document