|Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts
Covers agricultural products, new applications across the food industry, and environmental developments. Plant genome studies are examined in detail. Other topics include patents, new product approval, fermenation, soil microorganisms, bioremediation, transgenic plants and animals, breeding techniques, biopesticides, food production and safety tests, treatment and disposal of wastes, biochemical applications in water treatment, and industrial hygiene. Bimonthly. 122 serials are currently monitored for inclusion in this database. 3,000 abstracts anually.
Journals indexed by this site.
|ASM Handbooks Online
ASM Handbooks Online features the complete content of twenty ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions.
|ASTM Standards Source
A complete database of all 11,000+ ASTM Standards. Accessed through a search menu to display PDF files of the Standards with the ability to enlarge any illustrations, pictures, or tables.
Access is limited to on campus only. One must use an official LSU Active Directory account managed by InformationTechnology Services (ITS) to access this resource. If you are unableto access this resource, please contact your local IT contact for assistance.
NOTE: For any buttons that request to "Insert Data Disc" to view any documents, just press the button and the document will be displayed.
note: YOU MUST USE INTERNET EXPLORER TO ACCESS. NOT SUPPORTED BY FIREFOX.
Compendex is a bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing references to over 5000 engineering journals and conferences. Ei covers literature that makes a definite contribution to knowledge in the subject areas of engineering and applied science. About half the citations (from 2600 journals and conferences) include abstracts and indexing in the records. CompendexWeb is the internet version of Engineering Index, the world's premier source of engineering abstracts. The database adds about 220,000 abstracts yearly. Abstracts come from 2600 engineering journals, conferences, and reports. All areas of engineering are covered. Approximately 22% of the database is conference literature, and 90% of the source documents are in English.
|Energy Citations Databases
This database contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC).
IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)
Abstract records and full text articles published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from:
Access to the AbstractPlus records and select full text published since 2005 from:
IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library PurchaseThe online version of several IEEE journals, magazines, and proceedings.
Full text access to all IEEE-Wiley eBooks titles copyrighted in the year(s) 1974-2014.
Knovel brings essential Sci-tech reference data to life in a virtual technical library that solves problems for engineers, applied scientists and librarians worldwide. On one interface the Knovel Library combines authoritative reference content from major Sci-tech publishers including John Wiley & Sons, McGraw-Hill and Elsevier. This data is enhanced with time-saving analytical tools to help analyze and manipulate the data.
Users can analyze and reorganize the data in over 800 full-text engineering and scientific reference works, handbooks, and databases Knovel. They can sort, filter and export data from 'live tables', resolve equations and plot graphs, capture values from existing graphs and perform 'what if' experiments on the data. Knovel's uniquely powerful research platform integrates a intuitive yet powerful search engine with a user friendly browse capability to allow the user to discover data in ways which are close to real information seeking behavior.
|MADCAD Building Codes eLibrary
MAD CAD is a state-of-the-art subscription based reference database online, containing building codes, knowledge-based design solutions and, guidelines to meet the codes. MAD CAD will provide you access to cross-referenced collections of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes from BOCA, SBCCI, ICBO, ICC, and NFPA. MAD CAD goes beyond compiling national standards, and gives you immediate access to comprehensive state and local codes to meet your unique architectural, engineering and educational solutions. Its ease of use lies in the implementation of a search engine and organizational tools.
Referex Engineering can be accessed on the Engineering Village 2 Platform by choosing the "eBooks Search" tab.
Referex Engineering comprises three carefully crafted collections combining key sources of reference material. Content ranges from broad based engineering titles to highly specialized professional reference texts.
Referex Engineering Collections:
Chemical, Petrochemical and Process - Leading titles in energy, chemical engineering, chemical hazards, process engineering, oil and gas engineering and environmental engineering.
Mechanical and Materials - Selection draws on publishing programs of Butterworth-Heinemann, Elsevier and Academic Press. Handbooks and practical guides cover automotive, metallurgy, maintenance and more.
Electronics and Electrical - Comprehensive range of books for electrical power engineers, electronics engineer and circuit designers embedded systems and computer engineers and communication engineers.
|Science and Technology Collection
Science & Technology Collection contains over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications. This collection contains many scholarly journals including Advances in Physics, American Scientist, Annual Review of Astronomy & Astrophysics, Annual Review of Biochemistry, Archaeoastronomy, Astronomy & Geophysics, Civil Engineering, Engineering Management Journal, International Journal of Computational Engineering Science, Journal of Aerospace Engineering, Journal of Architectural Engineering, Journal of Applied Microbiology, Journal of Mathematical Logic, Journal of Theoretical & Computational Chemistry, Molecular Physics, Plant Biotechnology Journal, Quarterly Review of Biology, Space Communications, Spatial Vision, and many more.
|Science Citation Index
Science Citation Index Expanded - This database covers the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,800 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines from 1900 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: agriculture, neuroscience, astronomy, oncology, biochemistry, pediatrics, biology, pharmacology, biotechnology, physics, chemistry, plant sciences, computer science, psychiatry, materials science, surgery, mathematics, veterinary science, medicine, and zoology.
Social Sciences Citation Index - This database covers the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines from 1956 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: anthropology, political science, history, public health, industrial relations, social issues, information science & library science, social work, law, sociology, linguistics, substance abuse, philosophy, urban studies, psychology, women's studies, and psychiatry.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index - This database indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals from 1975 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: archaeology, linguistics, architecture, literary reviews, art, literature, Asian studies, music, classics, philosophy, dance, poetry, folklore, radio, television, film, history, religion, language, and theater.
Use PAWS ID and password for Endnotes Help
Science Direct, published by Elsevier Science, serves as a web information source for scientific, technical, and medical (STM) research. It offers access to more than 1,100 journals in 16 fields of science, including the social sciences.
note: Chose "General Access" option for Engineering Village access and the "System/Library" option for Science Direct access
The Springer database offers full-text searching through Springer’s entire electronic output, including Journals, Books, Book Series, eReference books, and Protocols. Subject areas include engineering, science, humanities, business etc. Most full-text content is accessible to LSU patrons, with a few exceptions, most notable being the Protocols.
A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas including HSDB (Hazardous Substances Data Bank), IRIS (Integrated Risk Information system), CCRIS (Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System), GENE-TOX, TOXLINE, EMIC (Environmental Mutagen Information Center), DART/ETIC (Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology and Environmental Teratology Information Center), TRI (Toxics Release Inventory), ChemIDplus, HSDB Structures, and NCI-3D.
- Earthquake Engineering Slide Information System
- Environmental Law Information Resources
- Hazardous Waste Clean-up Information
- Innovative Transportation Technologies
- Turner-Fairbank Highway Research Center
- Bridge Engineering
- Pollution Online
- Recycler's World
- Urban Environmental Management
- The Encyclopedia of Earth
- Yahoo! Directory - Civil Engineering
- The Civil Engineer
- Federal Aviation Administration - Engineering and Design Resources for Airport Projects
- National Center for Appropriate Technology
- Yahoo! Directory - Environmental Engineering
- Intute - Science, Engineering, and Technology
- InfoMine - Physical Sciences, Engineering, Computing, and Math
- National Information Service for Earthquake Engineering - Earthquake Engineering Research Center
- ACI Materials Journal - LC Call Number TA680.A62
- ACI Structural Journal - LC Call Number TA680.A63
- Canadian Journal of Civil Engineering - Available through Academic Search Premier database
- Journal of Computing in Civil Engineering - LC Call Number TA1.J625 and also available through Academic Search Premier database and publisher's website
- Journal of Engineering Mechanics - LC Call Number TA1.A5233 and also available through Academic Search Premier database and publisher's website
- Journal of Geotechnical and Geoenvironmental Engineering - Available through Academic Search Premier database
- Journal of Hydraulic Engineering - LC Call Number TC1.A39 and also available through Academic Search Premier database and publisher's website
- Journal of Infrastructure Systems - LC Call Number TA1.J628 and also available through publisher's website
- Journal of Materials in Civil Engineering - LC Call Number TA401.J6755 and also available through Academic Search Premier database and publisher's website
- Journal of Structural Engineering - LC Call Number TA1.A5235 and also available through Academic Search Premier database and publisher's website
- Journal of Transportation Engineering - LC Call Number TA1001.T723 and also available through Academic Search Premier database and publisher's website
- Journal of Urban Planning and Development - LC Call Number NA9000.A5785 and also available through Academic Search Premier database and publisher's website
- Journal of Waterway, Port, Coastal, and Ocean Engineering - LC Call Number TC1.A4 and also available through Academic Search Premier and publisher's website
- Journal of Environmental Engineering - LC Call Number TD1.A32 and also available through Academic Search Premier database and publisher's website
- Water Environment Research - LC Call Number TD365.R48
- Journal of the Air and Waste Management Association - LC Call Number TD881.A48 and also available through Academic Search Premier database
- Environmental Science and Technology - LC Call Number TD1.E57 and also available through ACS Publications
- Standard Handbook for Civil Engineers - LC Call Number TA151.S8 2004
- Field Engineer's Manual - LC Call Number TA151.P35 1995
- The Civil Engineering Handbook - LC Call Number TA151 C57 1995 - Located in Middleton Reference
- Handbook of Civil Engineering Calculations - LC Call Number TA332.H36 2000
- The Site Calculations Pocket Reference - LC Call Number TH375.H365 1999
- The Facts on File Dictionary of Environmental Science - LC Call Number TD9.W95 2001
- Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineering - LC Call Number TD9.E5 2006 V.1-V.2 - Located in Middleton Reference
- Environmental Technologies Handbook - LC Call Number TD897.5.E584 2005
- Handbook of Environmental Engineering Calculations - LC Call Number TD145.H27 2000
Instructional Technologies / Engineering Librarian
Most of these books and journals are on the fourth floor of Middleton Library.