Book Review Resources
Academic Search Complete
An electronic full-text database, accessible from off campus, which emphasizes management, marketing, and business. Searching is by keywords. Include the words "book review" in your search, along with the title or author of the book you are researching. For example: book review and the pretender or book review and ellen joan pollock.

Africana Book Reviews, 1885-1945: An Index to Books Reviewed in Selected English-language Publications
Located in Middleton Main Stacks: Z3501 .E35.

American Literary and Drama Reviews: An Index to Late 19th Century Periodicals
This resource contains reviews of plays produced between 1880 and 1900, mostly in America. Located in Middleton Reference Stacks: PN2256 .M37 1984.

Book Review Digest
An annual print index of summaries of book reviews. Primary indexing is by author and title in one alphabetically continuous index; there is also a separate subject index. Searching is mainly by title or author. Each annual volume must be searched separately, so you will also need to know the year your book was published. Library has: 1905-2000. Located in Middleton Reference Stacks: Z1219 .C96.

Book Review Index
An annual print index of book reviews. Indexing is by author and title in separate author and title indexes. The series periodically cumulates the indexing of several years into one volume, but you still have to know about when your book was published. LSU Libraries' holdings of this series start with 1965. This index is also available electronically through Dialog and covers 1969 to the present. However, access is limited to librarians only. Consult your subject liaison about conducting a search. Located in Middleton Reference Stacks:   Z 1035 .A1 B6.

Book Review Index to Social Science Periodicals
Located in Middleton Reference Stacks, volumes 1-4: Z1035 .A1 B63.

Books Reviews
BooksOnline.co.uk provides easy access to 1000's of bestselling books online and other popular book titles, including audio books and ebooks. Browse by category to see other current bestsellers by subject and author links.

Book TV on C-SPAN2
Offering interviews and discussions with authors of Non-fiction books. Includes upcoming TV airings, information about the program and the author. During searches for past programs it gives the options of providing a video that is viewable from the website.

BookHive
A searchable collection for brief reviews of hundreds of children's books, also searchable by category. Books may be searched by author, title, illustrator, reading level, reading interest, or page length. The librarians at the Public Library of Charlotte & Mecklenburg County, North Carolina write the reviews and operate the website.

Booklist
Published by the American Library Association, Booklist provides a guide to current print and nonprint materials worthy of consideration for purchase by small and medium-sized public libraries and school library media centers.

Booknews- New Books in Science, Technology and Medicine
Provides short review of books, no longer than a paragraph, on 20 difference scientific and medical areas of study.

Booknotes
"Booknotes.org is the permanent online archive for C-SPAN's award-winning author interview program, Booknotes.C-SPAN CEO Brian Lamb interviewed contemporary non-fiction authors for one hour, discussing their books, their research, and their lives." (from website) The site contains 800 interviews, taken from 1989 to 2004.

Bookreporter.com
"Where readers and writers click." Provides interviews with contemporary authors and reviews of popular titles. Bookreporter.com also provides various spotlights- Award Winners, Books into Movies, Don't Miss, Features, Historical Fiction, New and Notable in Paperback, On the Edge of Your Seat: Suspence/Thriller Author Spotlight, One to Watch, Reviews, and much more. An excellent source to find books to read for pleasure.

Books - The New York Times
This section of the online presence of the New York Times contains reviews of recently published books and news items related to book publishing.

Bookwire
Bookwire reviews books on topics not strongly covered in other review sources, such as alternative medicine and self-help.

Caribbean Review of Books: CRB
This journal includes reviews of new and recent books about the Caribbean and/or written by Caribbean authors.

Children's Book Review Index
This resource contains citations of reviews of books, periodicals, books on tape, and electronic media intended and/or recommended for children through age 10. Library has: volume 1 (1975) - volume 38 (2012) Located in Education Resource Center, 227 Middleton: Z 1037 .A1 C475.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD), offers more than 110,000 reviews of children's (and young adult) books-all full text.

Choice Reviews in Women's Studies, 1990-96
Located in Middleton Main Stacks: HQ1180 .C56 1996.

Civil War Book Review
Every issue of Civil War Book Review presents reviews by noted historians, critics, and authors, matching some of America's leading writers with books that enhance the public's knowledge or appreciation of the Civil War era. In addition, our pages often include reviews assigned to specialists outside of traditional Civil War fields or to independent scholars. The Web site contains reviews of previous issues and reviews from current volumes.

Civil War Book Review (Print)
This journal is produced by Special Collections in the LSU Libraries. Each issue features reviews of books that cover some aspect of the Civil War. Library has: 1999-2003. Located in Middleton Main Stacks: E641 .C46.

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals, 1802-1974
Located in Middleton Reference Stacks, volumes 1-10: AI3 .C652.

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1802-1974
Located in Middleton Reference Stacks, volumes 1-15: Z1035 .A1 C6.

Complete Review
Provides reviews of many kinds of books, with a focus on literary fiction. In addition to the site's review, the book pages contain links to reviews from other sources.

Design Book Review
Reviews architectural design related books. Library has: 1983-2001. Located in Middleton Main Stacks: NA2599.9 .D47.

Domes: Digest of Middle East Studies
Devoted to the review of materials concerning Middle Eastern Topics. Encompasses Islam, the Arab countries, Israel, & those countries traditionally referred to as the Near East, including Iran, Afghanistan, Pakistan, and Turkey.

Education Review - A Journal of Book Reviews
Education Review publishes reviews of recent books in education, covering the entire range of education scholarship and practice. It is made available to the public without cost as a service of the Mary Lou Fulton College of Education at Arizona State University and the Michigan State University Libraries.

The History of Sub-Saharan African: a Selected Bibliography of Books and Reviews, 1945-1975
Located in Middleton Main Stacks: Z3508.H5 M37.

Index to Book Reviews in England, 1749-1774
Located in Middleton Main Stacks: Z1035 .A1 F67 1989.

Index to Book Reviews in England, 1775-1800
Located in Middleton Main Stacks: Z1035 .A1 F675 1997.

Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities
Library has:  volume 1 (1960) - volume 31 (1990). Located in Middleton Reference Stacks: Z1035 .A1 I63.

Index to Southeast Asian journals, 1960-1974 : A guide to articles, book reviews, and composite works
Located in Middleton Main Stacks: Z3221 .J64.

Index to Southeast Asian journals, 1975-1979 : a guide to articles, book reviews, and composite works
Located in Middleton Main Stacks: Z3221 .J643 1982.

Internationale Bibliographie der Rezensionen (International Bibliography of Book Reviews)
International bibliography of book reviews of scholarly literature. LSU Libraries has 1971 and 1983 volumes. Located in Middleton Compact Shelving (ask at Circulation): Z5051 .I64

Kirkus Reviews
Kirkus publishes reviews for fiction, mysteries, sci-fi, translations, nonfiction, and children's books.

Lexis-Nexis Academic
An electronic full-text database, accessible from off campus. It is a general interest database, covering many different subject areas. Indexes numerous newspapers, including The New York Times, which carry book reviews. Searching is by keywords. Include the phrase "book review" in your search, as in book review and the green mile. The basic search allows you to search for articles from the previous two years. The advanced search or "Guided News Search" allows you to search all available dates in the database.

Library and Information Science Annual
This title contains reviews of literature in the library and information science field. Library has: v.3 (1987), v.4 (1988), v.6 (1998), v.7 (1999).  Located in Middleton Main Stacks: Z671 .L7166.

Magill Book Reviews
Magill Book Reviews provides summaries of classic literature as well as current best sellers with 500 new reviews added each year.

Magill's Literary Annual
This title "evaluates 200 major examples of serious literature published during the previous calendar year. Covers works of interest to general readers." (from publisher's site). Library has: 1977-2005. Located in Middleton Reference Stacks: Z1219 .M33.

Metapschology Online Reviews
Metapsychology features in-depth reviews of a wide range of books written by reviewers from many backgrounds and perspectives. The home page is frequently updated with more than forty new reviews each month on a variety of subjects: Addiction and Alcoholism; Anxiety and Panic; Art and Photography; Audio Books; Childhood Disorders; Children and Teens; Client Reviews; Depression; Ethics; Fiction; General Topics; Genetics and Evolution; Grief, Loss, Death and Dying; Medications and Psychiatry; Memoirs and Biographies; Mental Health; Movies and DVDs; Personality Disorders; Philosophy; Psychoanalysis; Psychology; Psychotherapy; Relationships; Religion; Self-Help; Sexuality; Wellness and Complementary Medicine.

National Library Service Cumulative Book Review Index, 1905-1974
This is a cumulative index to more than 560,000 citations to book reviews in publications such as Saturday Review and Library Journal. Library has volumes 1-6. Located in Middleton Reference Stacks: Z1035 .A1N3.

New York Review of Books
The New York Review of Books is a magazine with articles on literature, culture, and current affairs. It contains long articles on books written by literary critics and intellectuals. New issues are kept in the Current Periodicals/Newspapers Room until replaced by microform. The years 1963-1989 are in the Main Stacks. Located in Middleton Main Stacks: AP 2 .N655.  Years 1981 through 2010 are on Microform in Government Documents (Room 53, basement). The microform call number is MICROFICHE 6151.

The New York Review of Books Online
The online counterpart of this literary magazine has free access to the book reviews published in each volume back to 1963, and selective access to other material in the magazine.

The New York Times Book Review
From The New York Times newspaper, a collection of book reviews previously printed or found in current editions. Presents reviews of both fiction and non-fiction, as well as essays relating to literary culture.

Palmer's Full Text Online
A combination electronic index and full-text database, in PDF form, of The Times of London. Coverage spans the years 1790 to 1905. Searching is by keyword. To find book reviews, include the word "reviews" in your search string along with either the book's title or author. For example: reviews and on the origin of species or reviews and charles darwin. (The search engine is not very discriminating and will produce a large amount of irrelevant results. Therefore, you should limit your date range as much as possible and leave the sorting option set to "relevance".)

Philosophical Books
Features scholarly reviews to assist both librarians and individuals in the choice of professional works of philosophy. Note: Due to publisher restrictions, LSU's subscription has a 12-month delay on the full text of reviews.

Project Muse
An electronic full-text database of scholarly journals. Searching is by keywords. Search for reviews by typing the title of the book in the text box and then changing the search fields from "All Fields (w/text)" to "Title Reviewed."

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
The Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature is a print index of mostly popular periodical literature. This series, in print, extends back to 1890. Indexing is primarily by author and subject in one continuous alphabet. Beginning with the 1976-77 cumulation, book reviews are gathered in a separate section at the end of each annual volume; this section is then indexed by author or by title, when the author is unknown. Library has: v.1 (1901/1904) - v.67 (2007/2008). Located in Middleton Reference Stacks: AI3 .R48.

Review of Biblical Literature
The Review of Biblical Literature (RBL), founded by the Society of Biblical Literature, presents reviews of books in biblical studies and related fields.

Reviews in American History
Each issue of Reviews in American History presents in-depth reviews of over thirty of the newest books in American history. Retrospective essays examining landmark works by major historians are also regularly featured. The journal covers all areas of American history including economics, military history, women in history, law, political history and philosophy, religion, social history, intellectual history, and cultural history.

Reviews in Anthropology
Devoted to lengthy, in-depth review commentary on recently published books covering the subject of anthropology. Note: Due to publisher restrictions, LSU's subscription has an 18-month delay on the full text of reviews.

Reviews in Religion & Theology
Peer reviewed coverage of reviews of contemporary developments and publishing in religion and theology, including reviews of the latest research in a wide variety of fields, from biblical study to study of the world's religions. Note: Due to publisher restrictions, LSU's subscription has a 12-month delay on the full text of reviews.

Reviews of creationist books
Reviewing thirty-one titles, this book provides scientific evaluations of textbooks. This was published by the National Center for Science Education, a "not-for-profit, membership organization providing information and resources for schools, parents and concerned citizens working to keep evolution in public school science education." (from ncse.com) Located in Middleton Main Stacks: BS651 .R48 1992.

Science Fiction & Fantasy Book Review Annual
Library has 1988-1989. Located in Middleton Main Stacks: PN3433.5 .S32.

Science Fiction and Fantasy Book Review Index: SFFBRI
Library has: v.15 (1984)-v.20 (1989). Located in Middleton Reference Stacks: Z5917 .S36 S19.

Science Fiction Book Review Index, 1923-1973
Copies located in Middleton Main Stacks: Z 5917 S36 H35 and Hill Memorial's Laughlin Collection: PN3433.8 .H35 1975.

SciTech Book News
Reviews of new high-level books in all fields of science, technology, engineering, agriculture, and medicine. Encompasses graduate level texts, serious scholarly treatises, and professional references.

TLS Centenary Archive (Times Literary Supplement)
An electronic, full-text database in PDF format, covering the years 1902 to 1990. To find book reviews, in the article search screen, type the name of the book in the "Book or Article Title" blank; in the "Item description" blank, select "Book review" from the drop-down menu and click "Search." You can view a facsimile of the Times Literary Supplement page where your review was printed.

Web of Knowledge Databases
An electronic, bibliographic database of scholarly periodicals. It contains the following major citation indexes: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and the Social Science Citation Index. Coverage extends back to 1970 for everything except the Arts and Humanities Citation Index which goes back to 1975. It is accessible off campus. Searching is primarily by keywords. To find book reviews, click on "Full Search", choose the citation indexes you wish to search in, and then click on "General Search". From there use the phrase "book review" along with either the title or author of the book in the "Topic" search box. For example: book review and writing on the plaza: mediated literacy practices among scribes and clients in mexico city or book review and judy kalman.

Women's Review of Books
Since 1983 the Women's Review of Books has provided a forum for serious, informed discussion of new writing by and about women. Women’s Review of Books provides a unique perspective on today’s literary landscape and features essays and in-depth reviews of new books by and about women. Library has scattered collections from 1983-1998. Located in Middleton Oversized Shelving: PS147 .W65.

Women's Review of Books (Electronic Resouce)
Book reviews for and about women presented in a wide range of feminist perspectives. Full text from 1983 to present in diffent databases.

World Literature Today
Articles, essays and criticism on recent belles lettres in all the major and many of the minor languages of the world, short articles on contemporary writers and literary movements.

Ask Us!
FAQ Frequently Asked Questions
Chat Chat
eMail Reference Email
Phone Reference Call: (225) 578-8875
Text Reference
Text: (225) 245-3667