Research Guides: Biological Sciences

Major literature databases
Web of Science Restricted Resource   Large bibliographic and citation database with records of tens of millions of published papers in science, social sciences, and humanities, and their citations.

PubMed Unrestricted Resource Some full text available PubMed Unrestricted Resource  Large bibliographic database of biological and medical literature, with links to large molecular biological databases, including data on genes, proteins, and pathways.
Additional literature databases
AGRICOLA Restricted Resource National Agriculture Library bibliographic catalog.

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) Restricted Resource Includes several Aquatic Science and Fisheries Abstracts databases.  

CabDirect Restricted Resource Applied life sciences database with over 9 million records.

Molecular data
National Center for Biotechnology Information National Library of Medicine's interlinked array of databases comprising data on nucleotides, proteins, pathways, taxonomy, and diseases, and also analytical tools.

European Bioinformatics Institute  Array of databases comprising data on nucleotides, proteins, pathways, taxonomy, and also analytical tools.

Protein Data Bank The Research Collaboratory for Structural Bioinformatics's database of protein structures.

ExPASy European array of protein and genetics databases.

BRENDA Enzyme database.

Flybase Fruitflies

Wormbase Nematodes

ZFIN Zebrafish

Databib list of biological databases
Taxonomy and ontologies
Integrated Taxonomic Information System Authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.

Encyclopedia of Life Community assembled and curated taxonomically-based encyclopedia of life.

Gene Ontology Controlled vocabulary for genetics.

Biological Ontology Databases At European Bioinformatics Institute.

Open Biomedical Ontologies Foundry Additional ontologies.

Ecological Classication System By NatureServe organization.




Chat with Aaron
Subject Specialist
Picture: Aaron Lercher

Aaron Lercher
Collection Development and Analysis Librarian
Tel: 578-4778

Ask Us!
FAQ Frequently Asked Questions
Chat Chat
eMail Reference Email
Phone Reference Call: (225) 578-8875
Text Reference
Text: (225) 245-3667