If you’ve been inspired by an anthropology course to learn more about the subject, there are a wide range of free materials out there that can can help you to do so. There are 100 anthropology lectures that will help you learn more about human culture, history and our nearest relatives in the animal kingdom.American Anthropological Association Bulletin Board
Types of opportunities included on the Bulletin Board: Awards and prizes, AAA Annual Meeting, Grants and fellowships (student funding), Field schools, Calls for papers (meetings and publications), Collaboration opportunities, Meeting announcements, General announcements,
ARD - Anthropology Review Database
The Anthropology Review Database is intended to improve the level of access of anthropologists to anthropological literature by making them more aware of what is being published and helping them to evaluate its relevance to their own interests. Unlike the more traditional print journals, ARD is not constrained by production deadlines and has few running costs. We can keep abreast of the production of new materials, and do so in a much more timely fashion than the traditional media. Envision an almost continous flow of information from publisher to reader, by way of this database.
Documentary Educational Resources
Documentary Educational Resources is a non-profit organization founded in 1968 and incorporated in 1971 for the purpose of producing and distributing cross-cultural documentary film for educational use.
Encyclopedia Mythica: mythology, folklore, and religion.
Please enter the award-winning internet encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and religion. Here you will find everything from A-gskw to Zveda Vechanyaya, with plenty in between
Social Science Open Access Repository
As an open-access full-text server, SSOAR's goal is to implement the "green road" to open access by providing users with free electronic access to journal article preprints and postprints -- our main focus -- and also to other document types. SSOAR is especially committed to the archiving and dissemination of quality-controlled texts.
The Wenner-Gren Foundation has two major goals – to support significant and innovative anthropological research into humanity's biological and cultural origins, development and variation and to foster the creation of an international community of research scholars in anthropology.
American Anthropological Association
Founded in 1902, the American Anthropological Association (AAA) is the world's largest organization of individuals interested in anthropology.
American Archaeology: The Archaeological Conservancy
The Archaeological Conservancy, established in 1980, is the only national non-profit organization dedicated to acquiring and preserving the best of our nation's remaining archaeological sites. Based in Albuquerque, New Mexico, the Conservancy also operates regional offices in Mississippi, Maryland, Ohio, and California.
American Ethnological Society
The oldest professional anthropological organization in the United States. Founded in 1842 to encourage research in the emerging field of ethology, its states goal was to foster “inquires generally connected with the human race.”
American Indian Ritual Object Repatriation Foundation - An Intercultural Partnership
The American Indian Ritual Object Repatriation Foundation is a non-federally funded, not-for-profit organization founded in 1992 by Elizabeth Sackler. The Foundation assisted in the repatriation of ceremonial materials to American Indian people for more than fifteen years, and continue to be committed to educating students and the public about the importance of repatriation.
Archaeological Institute of America
The Archaeological Institute of America (AIA) is North America's oldest and largest organization devoted to the world of archaeology with nearly 250,000 members and subscribers belonging to more than 100 local AIA societies in the United States, Canada, and overseas, united by a shared passion for archaeology and its role in furthering human knowledge.
Association for Environmental Archaeology
The AEA promotes the advancement of the study of human interaction with the environment in the past through archaeology and related disciplines. They hold annual conferences and other meetings, produce a quarterly newsletter for members, and publish our conference monographs, as well as our journal - Environmental Archaeology: The journal of human palaeoecology.
BARFAA was formed in 1994 in an effort to support communication between physical anthropologists and interested students on both formal and informal levels. Our organization consists of over 300 members who have a common interest in bioarchaeology, paleopathology, and forensic anthropology. Membership to our organization is free and is open to all interested parties.
Founded in 1983, NAPA strives to promote the practice of anthropology, both within the discipline and among private and public organizations. NAPA continues to grow as anthropologists engaged in practice have developed broader professional opportunities both inside and outside the academic realm.
Founded in 1974 and with a current membership of nearly 300, the Louisiana Archaeological Society (LAS) brings together professional and avocational archaeologists interested in investigating, interpreting, and preserving information on the prehistoric Indians and the early history of Louisiana.
Mississippi Archaeological Association
The Mississippi Archaeological Association is an organization of professional archaeologists and lay people actively involved with archaeology and archaeological preservation, uniting in a common effort to understand the prehistory and history of Mississippi and the surrounding region. The Association has as one of its important objectives the mission of encouraging scientific archaeological investigations and supports the dissemination to the public of information from these investigations in its publications, which are received by its members as a benefit of membership.
Oral History Association
The Oral History Association, established in 1966, seeks to bring together all persons interested in oral history as a way of collecting and interpreting human memories to foster knowledge and human dignity. With an international membership, the OHA serves a broad and diverse audience. Local historians, librarians and archivists, students, journalists, teachers, and academic scholars from many fields have found that the OHA provides both professional guidance and a collegial environment for sharing research.
Today, the Paleopathology Association is composed of researchers, scientists, and students from many fields, including physical anthropology, medicine, archaeology, and Egyptology from around the world. Membership is open to all who are interested. Members are dedicated to sharing information, ideas and resources. Our annual meeting in North America, and biennial meeting in Europe focus on the dissemination of information, discussions on issues germane to the field, skill building, and collegiality. The Paleopathology Newsletter, a quarterly publication, helps keep members up to date and in close touch with one another.
Royal Anthropological Institute
The Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland (RAI) is the world's longest-established scholarly association dedicated to the furtherance of anthropology (the study of humankind) in its broadest and most inclusive sense. The Institute is a non-profit-making registered charity and is entirely independent, with a Director and a small staff accountable to the Council, which in turn is elected annually from the Fellowship. It has a Royal Patron in the person of HRH The Duke of Gloucester KG, GCVO.
The mission of the Society for American Archaeology is to expand understanding and appreciation of humanity's past as achieved through systematic investigation of the archaeological record. The society leads the archaeological community by promoting research, stewardship of archaeological resources, public and professional education, and the dissemination of knowledge. To serve the public interest, SAA seeks the widest possible engagement with all segments of society, including governments, educators, and indigenous peoples, in advancing knowledge and enhancing awareness of the past.SAFN | Society for the Anthropology of Food and NutritionThe Society for the Anthropology of Food and Nutrition (SAFN), formerly known as the Council on Nutritional Anthropology (CNA), was organized in 1974 in response to the increased interest in the interface between social sciences and human nutrition. SAFN has the following objectives: To encourage research and exchange of ideas, theories, methods and scientific information relevant to understanding the socio-cultural, behavioral and political-economic factors related to food and nutrition; To provide a forum for communication and interaction among scientists sharing these interests and with other appropriate organizations; To promote practical collaboration among social and nutritional scientists at the fields and program levels.
The American Folklore Society
The American Folklore Society is an association of people who study and communicate knowledge about folklore throughout the world. Our more than 2,200 members and subscribers are scholars, teachers, and librarians at colleges and universities; professionals in arts and cultural organizations; and community members involved in folklore work. Many of our members live and work in the US, but their interests in folklore stretch around the world. A collective of humanities scholars, museum anthropologists, and private citizens--including author Mark Twain and US President Rutherford B. Hayes--founded the Society in Cambridge, Massachusetts, in 1888.
The monuments of the Acropolis have withstood the ravages of past centuries, both of ancient times and those of the Middle Ages. Until the 17th century, foreign travellers visiting the monuments depicted the classical buildings as being intact. This remained the case until the middle of the same century, when the Propylaia was blown up while being used as a gunpowder store. Thirty years later, the Ottoman occupiers dismantled the neighbouring Temple of Athena Nike to use its materials to strengthen the fortification of the Acropolis. Today, the new Acropolis Museum has a total area of 25,000 square meters, with exhibition space of over 14,000 square meters, ten times more than that of the old museum on the Hill of the Acropolis. The new Museum offers all the amenities expected in an international museum of the 21st century.
American Museum of Natural History: Anthropology Division
The Division of Anthropology is dedicated to the study of human culture and biology. It was established in 1873, only four years after the founding of the museum. One of the Anthropology Division's most important missions is the preservation of, and access to, the archaeological, ethnological, and physical anthropology collections, assembled from around the world by Museum personnel from the time the Museum's founding to the present day. The collections include more than 500,000 objects from cultures in the Americas, Africa, Asia, and the Greater North Pacific region. They are irreplaceable cultural documents that provide a window into the lives of the people who produced them.
Research on human evolution and cultural diversity, from our earliest ancestors to the present. Active research projects include the study of hominin fossil remains in Africa, while our permanent collection of ethnographic materials exemplifies cultural variation and adaptation from around the world. Collection strengths include western North America, Oceania and the Pacific rim.
Canadian Museum of Civilization
The Canadian Museum of Civilization is recognized as one of the premier cultural facilities of the twentieth century.. It houses more than 3.75 million artifacts spanning the disciplines of history, archaeology, folk culture, ethnology, postal communications and various other areas of heritage study.
Carnegie Museum of Natural History
Carnegie Museum of Natural History has long held extraordinary anthropological collections. With 1.6 million objects, it is the fifth largest anthropology collection in the United States, and offers opportunities to explore and explain both human evolution and culture. These objects are a reflection of how traditions, beliefs, social interactions, and human biology have evolved through time. The Center explores what it means to be human and how our decisions affect the natural world.
Cleveland Museum of Natural History
Research/Collection areas including Archaeology and Physical Anthropology.
Cognition and Culture
The International Cognition & Culture Institute is an initiative of the Department of Anthropology of the London School of Economics and Political Science.
Crow Canyon Archaeological Center
The Crow Canyon Archaeological Center, located in southwestern Colorado, is dedicated to understanding, teaching, and preserving the rich history of the ancestral Pueblo Indians (also called the Anasazi) who inhabited the canyons and mesas of the Mesa Verde region more than 700 years ago. The area has one of the densest concentrations of well-preserved archaeological sites in the world, attracting the interest of archaeologists, and capturing the imagination of the public, for well over 100 years.
Historic New Orleans Collection
Florida Museum of Natural History
The Florida Museum of Natural History is Florida's state museum of natural history, dedicated to understanding, preserving and interpreting biological diversity and cultural heritage.
Louisiana Museum of Natural History
In 1999, the sixteen natural history collections at Louisiana State University in Baton Rouge were designated by the state legislature as the "Louisiana Museum of Natural History." Together, these collections hold a total of more than 2.8 million specimens, objects, and artifacts that document the rich natural history of our state. These collections are dispersed among six independently administered units on campus, and include the Anthropological and Ethnological Collections.
The National Museum of the American Indian is the sixteenth museum of the Smithsonian Institution. It is the first national museum dedicated to the preservation, study, and exhibition of the life, languages, literature, history, and arts of Native Americans. Established by an act of Congress in 1989, the museum works in collaboration with the Native peoples of the Western Hemisphere to protect and foster their cultures by reaffirming traditions and beliefs, encouraging contemporary artistic expression, and empowering the Indian voice.
National Museums Scotland
National Museum of Scotland: Explore Scotland’s story. Then discover the world! Chambers Street, Edinburgh. National War Museum: Follow the story of Scotland’s military past at Edinburgh Castle. National Museum of Costume: Explore a century of elegance and style at Shambellie House, near Dumfries. National Museum of Rural Life: What was it like to live and work on a farm in the 1950s? Come and find out at Kittochside, East Kilbride! National Museum of Flight: Follow the story of flight from bi-planes to Concorde and enjoy the atmosphere at East Fortune Airfield, East Lothian. National Museums Collection Centre: Where else would you find a collection of 1.2 million insects, all under one roof?
The museum is operated by the Neanderthal Museum Foundation. It cultivates the cultural heritage "Neanderthal" for the general public as well as for specialist research.
Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa
Since its opening in 1998, Te Papa has built a worldwide reputation for its fresh and bold approach to presenting a nation’s treasures and stories Te Papa is a waharoa, a gateway, to an encounter with the essence of New Zealand’s land and people. Wonderful taonga (Māori cultural treasures), art, and objects are presented through fascinating stories, thought-provoking interpretations, and engaging interactives.
Museum of Ontario Archaeology
The Museum of Ontario Archaeology is a unique Canadian museum devoted to the study, display, and interpretation of the human occupation of Southwestern Ontario over the past 11,000 years. The Museum is located beside the Lawson Prehistoric Iroquoian Village, a site occupied by the Neutral Iroquoians in the 16th century A.D.
Oriental Institute | The Dead Sea Scrolls and Other Hebrew MSS Project
The Dead Sea Scrolls Project was established by the Oriental Institute during the months that followed the freeing of the scrolls (autumn 1991). The project was originally staffed by Dr. Norman Golb, Professor of Jewish History and Civilization, Dr. Michael Wise, Assistant Professor of Aramaic, as well as by our graduate research assistant, Anthony Tomasino. From the beginning the project developed in several directions. First and foremost, there was the challenging task of deciphering and translating, from photographs, the manuscripts from Qumran Cave Four that had previously remained unpublished. Another aspect has been to explore the overall problem of identification of the authors of the scrolls and, increasingly, to examine the specifics of the Khirbet Qumran site and the theory that the manuscripts found in the nearby caves were composed by a sect ostensibly living there.
Pitt Rivers Museum
Cares for the University of Oxford’s collection of anthropology and world archaeology
Royal British Columbia Museum
The Royal BC Museum Corporation is one of the foremost cultural institutions in the world. The museum was founded in 1886; the archives in 1894. In 2003 these two organizations integrated to become British Columbia's combined provincial museum and archives, collecting artifacts, documents and specimens of BC's natural and human history, safeguarding them for the future, and sharing them with the world.
T. Harry Williams Center for Oral History
The primary mission of Center is to document the history of LSU. Because the history of the state and university are closely intertwined, many broader Louisiana subjects are documented as well. Interviewees include war veterans, former governors, congressmen, state and local officials, and other political figures. Documenting the Civil Rights Movement in Louisiana and the diverse cultures that comprise our state are also high priorities. In addition to these large projects, individuals or groups of individuals who possess unique knowledge about the state's culture or history are also of interest.
If you cannot meet during any of these times, or have a question, please email me with suggested meeting times at email@example.com.
Directions to David Dunaway's Office (Middleton 141A)
My office is on the first floor of the library. Come into the library lobby and turn left to the Information Commons. The Research Desk will be on the right when you enter. Let someone at the desk know that you are here to see me. He or she will call me so I can come out to greet you.
American Anthropological Association Listservs
The listservs of the sections of the AAA
Anthropology.net’s mission is to create a cohesive online community of individuals interested in anthropology. This website intends to promote and facilitate discussion, review research, extend stewardship of resources, and disseminate knowledge. To serve the public interest, we seek the widest possible engagement with all segments of society, including professionals, students, and anyone who is interested in advancing knowledge and enhancing awareness of anthropology.
Anthro-l Home Page
Anthro-L is a forum for the announcement and discussion of anthropological news, research, theories, publications, meetings, exhibits,and events, and for dialogue on matters relating to the discipline itself.
The mailing list for the Society for Anthropological Sciences.
Serving up old news since A.D. 2004
Archaeologica began as no more than a topic on a bulletin board in 1998 "Archaeological News". The news topic quickly developed a widespread readership outside of the community. On April 23, 2000 Archaeologica was independently openned on the WWW. Michelle Hilling, a long-time "hunter gatherer of news stories" officially teamed up with Claire Warren as her partner at Archaeologica.
Cultural Heritage in Danger
This is the online community of the non-profit organization SAFE/Saving Antiquities for Everyone, where dialogs begin, ideas exchange, and concrete solutions emerge concerning looting and the illicit antiquities trade. Contributors to SAFECORNER are members of the SAFE community and other experts and opinion leaders in the field of cultural heritage protection.
Current and former students and staff of the Department of Anthropology at Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia, write about the emergent trends in anthropology. In particular they are interested in discussing the ways in which the methods and insights of anthropology are being 'applied' in various settings, both within and beyond the academy.
Written by an Associate Professor of Anthropology at the University of North Florida.
The mailing list for the Society for East Asian Anthropology
Dienekes' Anthropology blog is dedicated to human population genetics, physical anthropology, archaeology, and history.
General Anthropology Division ListServ
This is the listserv for the General Anthropology Division of AAA.
H-MedAnthro Discussion Network
This list addresses the needs and concerns of medical anthropology graduate students, practicing anthropologists, scholars, and scholar activists who address issues of local, national and international health importance.
Islam, Muslims, and an Anthropologist
Blog starts from professional, as well as personal interest, in understanding Muslim societies and, in more general terms, the challenges which we, as human beings, face in this new millennium.
Discussion of the archaeological ethics surrounding the collecting of antiquities.
Material World is an interactive, online hub for contemporary debates, discussion, thinking and research centered on material and visual culture. It is the brainchild of scholars working in the anthropology departments of University College London and New York University, but aims to create a new international community of academics, students, curators, artists and anyone else with particular interests in material and visual culture.
Written by a Senior Lecturer in Media at Sheffield Hallam University and a Fellow of the Digital Anthropology Program, University College London (UCL). The aim of this blog is to put out in the public domain research materials under the broad theme of media anthropology.
Savage Minds is a collective web log devoted to both bringing anthropology to a wider audience as well providing an online forum for discussing the latest developments in the field. Written by a group of Ph.D. students and professors teaching and studying anthropology
Society for Cultural Anthropology Listserv
The Society for Cultural Anthropology (SCA), a section of the American Anthropological Association, was founded in 1983. The SCA promotes scholarship and scholarly communication about cultural studies and culture theory broadly conceived. SCA also aims to connect cultural anthropology with scholars in such other disciplines as history, literature, philosophy, and science studies.
A collaborative weblog covering the intersections of medical anthropology, science and technology studies, cultural psychiatry and bioethics.
Scholars concerned about stereotypes, misinformation and propaganda spread in the media and academic forums on Islam and the Middle East. Committed to fair, open-ended scholarly assessment of the current political issues of terrorism, gender inequality and intolerance. Encourages informed debate rather than partisan posturing on all issues.
This Blog Sits at the Intersection of Anthropology and Economics
Written by Grant McCracken, who holds a Ph.D. in anthropology from the University of Chicago and has taught at the Harvard Business School, this blog covers the places that culture and commerce, anthropology and economics meet most often: marketing in general, branding in particular, popular culture, Hollywood, advertising, television, magazines, and, increasingly, blogging.
rogueclassicism: 1. n. an abnormal state or condition resulting from the forced migration from a lengthy Classical education into a profoundly unClassical world; 2. n. a blog about Ancient Greece and Rome compiled by one so afflicted (v. "rogueclassicist"); 3. n. a Classics blog.