Standardized Tests
About.com GMAT Prep
About.com divides its GMAT prep resources into subtopics of analytical writing, verbal, and quantitative. There are also answers to frequently asked questions, and articles titled "How to Prepare for the GMAT" and "Overview of the GMAT."

Business Week GMAT Preparation
The online version of Business Week Magazine has practice resources and strategies for the GMAT. Some exclusive Kaplan prep questions are available free here.

CAS Learning Strategies Online
Take learning-style self tests to learn the most effective test-taking strategies and study skills for their personal learning styles. Online workshops such as Test Preparation, Time Management, and Overcoming Test Anxiety will help students as they prepare for testing. Students: Choose "LSU Student Entry" and enter PAWS ID and password to log in, and your learning style information will be saved so you can refer to it later.

Center for Academic Success
The LSU Center for Academic Success provides resources for students to maximize their academic success. Resources include tutoring, computer training, assessments of individual learning styles, and online workshops to improve studying and test-taking skills.

Center for Academic Success: Standardized Test Preparation
Links to resources for GMAT, GRE, LSAT and MCAT preparation. These links offer many free practice tests and some study and preparation tips.

Countdown to the LSAT, Internet Edition
This site is the Internet Edition of the preparation book, "Countdown to the LSAT." Here, students will find an LSAT orientation, mini-tests, a countdown to test day, and more tips and links.

ETS: Educational Testing Services
ETS conducts assessment and policy research and develops assessments and related services to advance quality and equity in learning worldwide.

GED Introduction for Test-takers
This is an overview of the GED test that takes test-takers from preparation to the steps after taking the test.

GED Official Site
The American Council on Education web site gives information about the GED test, including contact information on your jurisdiction's GED testing center and locations where the test is administered. The site also offers general GED information for test-takers and educational professionals.

GED: Free-Ed.Net GED Prep
This site offers free online preparation materials for GED test-takers, including materials for language arts: reading and writing, social studies, science, and mathematics. Sample tests, Lessons, a Writing Handbook, and a Glossary are provided.

GRE Web Site - Test Preparation
The official web site of the Graduate Record Examination features information about the test itself, including registration and study resources. Test preparation materials include sample test questions and essay topics, test-taking tips and a practice examination.

GRE Web Site - Test Takers Download Library
Here, test takers can download materials about registration, testing locations, test preparation materials, score reports, and refunds.

Kaplan - Your Complete Guide to the GRE
Kaplan is a popular program for paid GRE preparation, but the web site includes free practice test, practice questions, and strategy sessions with test-taking tips.

Kaplan LSAT Preps
Kaplan is a leader in LSAT prep courses. Their web site includes a free online practice test, sample test questions, and strategy sessions with test-taking tips.

LearningExpress Library
This database provides study materials and practice tests for standardized tests at all levels, from elementary to postgraduate studies. Also available are general skills improvement materials in areas such as reading, writing and language.

LSAC - Getting Started: Thinking About Law School
The Law School Admissions Council, which organizes the LSAT, provides useful advice and information on its web site. Students at different stages in their LSAT preparation, from those considering law school as a possibility, to those ready to sign up for the LSAT, to those who have signed up and are studying for the exam, will all find valuable resources at this site.

LSAT Prep Guide - Wikibooks, collection of open-content textbooks
An open-content textbook dedicated to information on the LSAT and preparation for the test. Most of the information here is on test-taking strategy. There are external links to other preparation sites.

LSAT Test Prep - Yahoo! Education
Yahoo's resource for people preparing for the LSAT includes practice questions and games, as well as tips for strategy and writing a great essay.

LSU Career Services > Students: Admission Tests
LSU's Career Serices page on how to register and prepare for graduate school admissions tests.

LSU Career Services for current students
LSU Career Services has many resources for students. They provide study guides for graduate school admissions tests, advice for making career decisions, and tips for finding a job, among other things.

LSU College of Human Sciences and Education Home
Resources for LSU education students, alumni, faculty and staff. Includes many resources to prepare future educators.

LSU College of Education: PRAXIS Examination Information
The LSU College of Education web site offers information about PRAXIS requirements for Louisiana teacher certification, offers registration information and study tips.

LSU Writing Support
A great resource for anyone who wants to improve his or her writing skills - it is a good idea to brush up on these skills before taking a test that includes a grammar, reading comprehension or essay section.

MBA.com - GMAT Resources
At the official GMAT site, students can learn the basics about the test, check seat availability, sign up for the test, and browse preparation materials.

MCAT Official Practice Tests
The official MCAT site offers one free full-length practice test. Additional practice tests are available for purchase. This page also offers links to Frequently Asked Questions about MCAT preparation and publications for students.

MCAT Official Site
Learn about the MCAT, prepare to register for the exam, determine where and how to send score reports. This site has information for testers with disabilities, information about the fee assistance program, data on examinees, and preparation resources.

MCAT: About.com - MCAT
About.com provides a general overview of the MCAT and detailed resources for the biological sciences, physical sciences, verbal reasoning, and writing sample portions of the test. This page also answers frequently asked questions about the MCAT.

MCAT: Kaplan MCAT Prep
Kaplan is a paid test preparation service, but its web site provides some resources to test-takers at no charge. Resources include a free online practice test, sample test questions and strategy sessions with test-taking tips.

Milada Broukal, Enid Nolan-Woods. The NTC's Preparation for the TOEFL. Lincolnwood, IL: National Textbook Company, 1997.
This program offers language instruction as well as strategies for taking the TOEFL tests for the intermediate to advanced reading level student.

Number2.com - GRE prep materials
This free web site offers test information, a word of the day, GRE question of the day, links to information about financial aid and tips for international test takers.

PRAXIS Test Preparation Materials
The PRAXIS site offers test preparation materials from outlines, sample questions and strategy tips to test-preparation booklets. Additional test preparation materials are available for purchase.

Soundkeepers.com: GRE Vocabulary Builder
Extensive vocabulary word lists that students can use as virtual flash cards. Students can select particular words as favorites, adding them to a personalized list for quick review.

Student Doctor Network
The Student Doctor Network is a nonprofit organization devoted to providing unbiased information to students. The web site features blogs, articles, interviews, a medical schools database, and an active discussion forum where test-takers can share their thoughts, tips, and strategies as they prepare for the MCAT. Registration is required to post on the forum, but it is free.

Syvum - GRE Test Preparation
A store of free online GRE practice exercises and study resources, with mini subject tests in verbal ability, quantitative ability, and vocabulary. Also offers test-taking tips, an overview of the GRE's structure, and tips for the computer-based GRE.

Test Sherpa - LSAT
This free LSAT preparation site has more than 650 pages of study materials and an LSAT learning lab. The study materials are divided by subject and give helpful tips on improving your score.

The GMAT Cat
Divided into sections titled "Teach Yourself," "Coach Yourself," "Test Yourself" and "Prepare Yourself," this site has a variety of preparation resources for the GMAT. Also provides links to other resources, including those for improving writing skills.

The Praxis Series: Teacher Licensure and Certification
The official site of the PRAXIS test. Learn details about the different types of PRAXIS exams, stay up to date on news and events in education, and register for your exam at this site.

TOEFL Success, 1997 ed. Princeton, NJ: Peterson's, 1997.
TOEFL tips and preparation. Covers TWE. Contains practice tests. Call number: PE 1128 .R6345 1997 (Main Stacks)

TOEFL: Deborah Phillips. The Longman Complete Course for the TOEFL Test: Preparation for the Computer and Paper Tests. White Plains, NY: Longman, 2001.
The Longman Complete Course offers a comprehensive language course for students preparing to take the TOEFL Test in either format: paper-and-pencil, or computer-based. Focusing on skill-building strategies for more advanced students, this multimedia course is appropriate for use as a primary test preparation text or as a supplement to general courses. Call number: Compact Disc 2799 and Compact Disc 2800. This item is found in the Carter Music Resources Center.

TOEFL: Lynn Stafford-Yilmaz, Lawrence J. Zwier. 400 Must-Have Words for the TOEFL. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2005.
Contains activities to help increase English fluency. Each chapter is built around learning ten target words and their definitions and usage. The words are grouped into topics such as nature, science, society, culture, etc. NetLibrary eBook.

TOEFL: Pamela J. Sharpe. How to Prepare for the TOEFL Test: Test of English as a Foreign Language, 10th ed. Hauppauge, NY: Barron's Educational Series, 2001.
Provides a detailed review of English language skills for each section of the TOEFL. Contains practice tests. Also contains a TOEFL test timeline. NetLibrary eBook.