Research Guides: Rare/Antiquarian Books

LSU Collections
The LSU Libraries' Special Collections, housed in Hill Memorial Library, contain more than 100,000 volumes of rare and antiquarian books. For more information, see the Special Collections website.

Hill and Middleton Libraries have an extensive collection of "books about books." Most of it is shelved in the "Z" section on the second floor of Middleton Library. Materials in Special Collections focus on the history of books and printing, book collecting, and the antiquarian book trade. They may be consulted freely in the library's Reading Room.

If you have questions regarding specific resources, please contact Michael Taylor, Assistant Curator of Books for Special Collections.

Donations / Appraisals
The LSU Libraries are happy to consider donations of rare materials. For more information, please see Giving to Special Collections on the Hill Memorial Library website.

We are not, however, allowed to appraise books. To determine a book's value, we recommend visiting an antiquarian bookselling website and seeing if another copy of your book is currently for sale. This will give you a general idea of its value. See:

Antiquarian Booksellers' Association of America (ABAA)
International League of Antiquarian Booksellers (ILAB)
AbeBooks

If you cannot find a copy of your book on these websites, try contacting a professional appraiser. The ABAA website lists licensed book appraisers in the United States.

See also Your Old Books, a list of frequently asked questions compiled by the Rare Books and Manuscripts Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries. It contains advice on where to find appraisers, how to sell or donate books, and how to preserve them.
 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Michael Taylor

Michael Taylor
Assistant Curator of Books
Tel: 578-6547