This tutorial was designed to help you navigate the LSU Libraries website.
Discovery Tutorial: http://www.lib.lsu.edu/instruction/guide_on_the_side/tutorial/ebsco-discovery-service
Discovery is a tool that allows you to search across library resources, including pring books, eBooks, government sources of information, peer-reviewed original research articles, and some magazine and news articles. You can use it specifically to find peer-reviewed journal articles.
Access World News Tutorial: http://www.lib.lsu.edu/instruction/guide_on_the_side/tutorial/access-world-news
Access World News is a database that allows you to search for current news articles on your research topic. The articles in this database are not peer-reviewed.
CQ Researcher Tutorial: http://www.lib.lsu.edu/instruction/guide_on_the_side/tutorial/cq-researcher-plus-archive
CQ Researcher is a databases that publishes in-depth articles on current issues and controversies. It is a good source of information to build foundational knowledge about a topic. CQ Researcher articles are not peer-reviewed, but they do include extensive bibliographies, footnotes, and references that can guide you to other sources of information on your topic.
Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles (original research papers and review articles published in academic journals)
1. Are written by researchers, who usually have PhDs or are in the process of earning them. A scholarly journal article will always show the contact information for authors. You can seach for authors by name in Google to determine their academic credentials (where they earned their PhD, what their research interests are, if they have published other articles on your topic). Researchers are almost always going to be affiliated with a research institution. Examples of research institutions are: LSU, the USDA, the CDC, University of California, Stanford, Harvard, etc.
2. Are written for other researchers and use scientific jargon and describe research methods.
3. Always have cited references, a list of works cited, or footnotes, that direct readers to sources of information that show how the researchers designed their study, what scientific knowledge they relied upon to conceptualize their study, and to show engagement with the currently accepted scientific knowledge.
4. Undergo a rigrous processs of peer-review by other scientists to ensure accuracy and reliability of content.
Popular, Non-Peer-Reviewed Articles (newspaper articles, magazine articles, most information on the internet)
1. Are written by journalists who usualy do not have a specialist's knowledge about your research topic. They may be very well educated and may have a science, social science, or humanities background, but they do not have PhDs and currently do not work at research institutions.
2. Are edited for content and fact checked, but they do not undergo the scrutiny of peer review.
3. Do not provide cited references, a list of works cited, or footnotes.
4. Are written for general audiences and avoid scientific jargon.
Peabody Library (Johns Hopkins) YouTube Video - Scholarly vs. Popular
Like scholarly, peer-reviewed articles and popular articles, grey literature is another way scientific knowledge and research is disseminated. A common definition of grey literature is this:
"That which is produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in print and electronic formats, but which is not controlled by commercial publishers."
What types of publications are considered grey literature?
- Reports and proceedings of various organizations and agencies
- Theses and dissertations
- Federal and state agency documents
- Reports addressed to grant funding agencies and published on the web
- Cooperative Extension documents
- Policies and procedures for organizations and agencies. Example: The LSU General Catalog, the LSU Academic Calendar
- Federal and state agency web pages and the documents hosted on those web pages
- White papers
Why is grey literature useful to me as a student/researcher?
Where can I locate grey literature?
There are a variety of resources availalbe to help you find grey literature.
Google Scholar: http://scholar.google.com/
LSU AgCenter: http://www.lsuagcenter.com/
US Fish and Wildlife Service: http://www.fws.gov/
US Forest Service: http://www.fs.fed.us/
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries: http://www.wlf.louisiana.gov/
Louisiana Department of Natural Resources: http://dnr.louisiana.gov/
Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality: http://www.deq.louisiana.gov/portal/
Natural Resources Conservation Service: http://www.nrcs.usda.gov/wps/portal/nrcs/site/national/home/
Center for Plant Conservation: http://www.centerforplantconservation.org/
American Environmental Photographs 1891-1936: http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/collections/ecology/
US Fish and Wildlife Service: Endangered Species: http://www.fws.gov/endangered/
NOAA Fisheries Endangered Species Act: http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/pr/laws/esa/
World Wildlife Fund Species List: https://worldwildlife.org/species/directory?direction=desc&sort=extinction_status
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Endangered Species by Parish: http://www.wlf.louisiana.gov/wildlife/species-parish-list
Invasive Species Compendium from CABI: http://www.cabi.org/isc
LSU AgCenter List of Invasive Species: http://www.lsuagcenter.com/en/communications/publications/agmag/Archive/2010/fall/InvasiveSpecies.htm
US Fish and Wildlife Services Invasive Species site: http://www.fws.gov/invasives/
USDA Forest Service Invasive Species Program: http://www.fs.fed.us/invasivespecies/
USDA National Agricultural Library (NAL) National Invasive Species Information Center: http://www.invasivespeciesinfo.gov/index.shtml
Agriculture and Instruction Librarian