Position Papers Resources
American Civil Liberties Union
The ACLU also works to extend rights to segments of our population that have traditionally been denied their rights, including people of color; women; lesbians, gay men, bisexuals and transgender people; prisoners; and people with disabilities. The website provides information on several controversial issues.

Baylor University || J. M. Dawson Institute of Church-State Studies
A collection of religious and political sites. "The list includes both 'liberal' and 'conservative,' 'separationist' and 'accomodationist' organization and perspectives. While most of the sites are of interest to American religion and politics, a few international ones are included as well.

Books for Understanding
Books for Understanding is a free, easy-to-use resource to help you find books on current events. New bibliographies are compiled when a major news story breaks or public debate heats up.

CQ Researcher
The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports, each around 12,000 words, produced each year. The reports include a pro-con feature, a chronology, bibliographies and a list of contacts.

FactCheck.org
"We are a nonpartisan, nonprofit "consumer advocate" for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. We monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases. Our goal is to apply the best practices of both journalism and scholarship, and to increase public knowledge and understanding." (from the website)

GOP.com Republican National Committee
provides the Party's views and information on hot topics.

Human Rights Campaign | Issues
The Human Rights Campaign is America’s largest civil rights organization working to achieve lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender equality. The site's "Issues" page contains information related to marriage equality, hate crimes, HIV/AIDS, religion, and other topics relevant to GLBTQ citizens.

Interfaith Alliance
The Interfaith Alliance's goal is promoting the positive and healing role of religion in public life by encouraging civic participation, facilitating community activism, and challenging religious political extremism. The organization is dedicated to promoting both religion and democracy in America, and serves as a source for information/viewpoints on several related issues.

IssueLab
"IssueLab's mission is to more effectively archive, distribute, and promote the extensive and diverse body of research being produced by the nonprofit sector. " (from website)

Lexis-Nexis: Hot Bills and Hot Topics
This page contains information about bills (enacted and considered) as well as related topics.

National Organization for Women: Key Issues
This site's issues page covers not only issues of importance to women, but minorities in general, such as immigration, affirmative action, and rights of those with disabilities.

Open Directory - Society: Issues
"The Open Directory Project is the largest, most comprehensive human-edited directory of the Web. It is constructed and maintained by a vast, global community of volunteer editors." (from the website)

Opinion & Commentary - Wall Street Journal - WSJ.com
Editorials concerning current events, from the Wall Street Journal.

ProCon.org - Pros and Cons of Controversial Issues
Non-profit site with no government affiliation that seeks to provide unbiased information on a variety of controversial issues.

Public Policy Issues and Groups - Vanderbilt Library
Directory providing access to sites dealing with a variety of controversial issues, compiled by Vanderbilt University.

RAND Hot Topics
The RAND Corporation is a nonprofit institution that helps improve policy and decisionmaking through research and analysis.

SpeakOut.com - Issues
"Thirty-second news stories don't give enough information. Newspapers and magazines can give you too much data on subjects you don't care about. SpeakOut.com solves both problems by providing the entire range of information in one place. Even better, we organize our information into topics and sub-topics, and provide links to give you even more information." (from website)

Stateline.org
Stateline.org is a nonprofit, nonpartisan online news site that practices journalism in the public interest by reporting on emerging trends and issues in state policy and politics.

The Democratic Party
The official website provides the Party's views and information on hot topics.

The Heritage Foundation
"The Heritage Foundation is the nation’s most broadly supported public policy research institute, with more than 600,000 individual, foundation and corporate donors. Heritage, founded in February 1973, has a staff of 244 and an expense budget of $75 million" (from the website)

United Nations
The United Nations' site provides links to international organizations and provides information articles about current international issues.

Untitled Document