- North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) - The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
- IBISWorld - IBISWorld is a comprehensive collection of hundreds of Industry Market Research reports.
- 2007 Economic Census - From the U.S. Census Bureau
- Mergent Online - Use this database to search by key word or industry code- use the search tool.
- Business Source Complete - This database offers information in virtually every area of business including accounting & tax, banking, finance & insurance, construction, computer science, economics and many more.
- Marketline Company Profiles - Contains profiles of over 10,000 companies and includes sections such as company overview, business description, history, key employees, products and services, revenue analysis, SWOT analysis, top competitors, and subsidiaries. Access provided via EBSCO’s Business Source Complete.
- Experian Business Reports - Experian Information Solutions, Inc. is a commercial database that contains data on U.S. businesses and business owners. Experian was founded in 1976 and collects data from 152 different sources and compiles more than 20 million lines of legal information. The U.S. Bankruptcy courts report all filings to Experian within 72 hours. (Available through LexisNexis Business)
- Factiva - This database is a joint venture between Dow Jones and Reuters - two of the world's leading business and news providers. Factiva.com combines nearly 9,000 sources to give access to premium content from 118 countries, in 22 languages.
- Hoover's Company Records - In-depth Records - This database contains information for more than 40,000 major public and private companies worldwide. In-Depth Records include overviews and histories, up to 10 years of key financial and employment data, lists of products and key competitors, names of key officers, addresses, and phone and fax numbers. (Available through LexisNexis Business)
- LexisNexis Business - Part of the LexisNexis Academic database, the Business section provides a range of sources for business information, including business and financial news, U.S. and international company financial information from government or private sources, market research, industry reports, and SEC filings.
- Mergent Online - This database has information on public and private companies.