State regalia, basic statistics, and links to such things as the state constitution and Office of Motor Vehicles.
Acadia Parish Library
The Acadia Parish Library strives to serve the residents of Acadia Parish. The Library's branches are located in Church Point, Crowley, Estherwood, Iota, Mermentau, Morse, and Rayne, Louisiana.
Allen Parish Libraries
Allen Parish Libraries was founded in the year 1957. Over the years, the Allen Parish Libraries has grown to include 3 branches: (Oberlin, Oakdale, and Kinder). In addition, we also have a van outreach route that services the rural communities, nursing homes, and prisons.
Ascension Parish Library
The Ascension Parish Library was established for the purpose of making available to all citizens of the parish books and other library materials for education, information and recreation. The Library strives to maintain a program of service to locate information, guide reading, and promote the most effective use of these materials. The Library's branches are located in Donaldsonville, Gonzales, and Prairieville, Louisiana.
Audubon Regional Library
The Audubon Regional Library serves East Feliciana and St. Helena Parishes. The Library's branches are located in Clinton, Greenville, and Jackson, Louisiana, and a bookmobile services the Parishes, also.
Avoyelles Parish Libraries
Avoyelles Parish Libraries strive to serve the citizens of Avoyelles Parish. The Library's branches are located in Bunkie, Cottonport, Marksville, Moreauville, Plaucheville, and Simmesport, Louisiana.
Beauregard Parish Library
Beauregard Parish Library strives to serve the citizens of Beauregard Parish. The Library's branches are located in DeRidder, Fields, Merryville, Ragley, Singer, and Wye, Louisiana.
Bienville Parish Library
The Bienville Parish Library is a public library that has been serving the people of Bienville Parish, Louisiana, since 1964. The Library System supports the informational, educational, cultural, and recreational needs of its patrons by providing a wide array of services at each branch. The Library's branches are located in Arcadia, Castor, Ringgold, and Saline, Louisiana, and a bookmobile services the parish as well.
Bossier Parish Community College Library
The mission of the BPCC Library is to provide library resources and services to support the mission and goals of Bossier Parish Community College.
Bossier Parish Library
The Bossier Parish Library serves the citizens of Bossier Parish. The Library's branches are located in Benton, Bossier City, Haughton, and Plain Dealing, Louisiana.
Brief History of Louisiana History Under Ten Flags
Nice snapshot of Louisiana History; images of flags included.
Calcasieu Parish Library
The Library serves Calcasieu Parish, located in the southwestern region of Louisiana. The Library's branches are located in Bell City, Hayes, Iowa, Lake Charles, Maplewood, Starks, Vinton, and Westlake, Louisiana.
Caldwell Parish Library
The Caldwell Parish Library is located on the corner of Jackson and Pearl Streets in Columbia, Louisiana.
Cameron Parish Library
Cameron Parish library branches are located in Cameron, Grand Chenier, Hackberry, Lake Arthur, and Lake Charles, LA.
Centenary College of Louisiana: Magale Library
With over 132 computers for student use, high-speed Internet access, wireless network, study rooms, and a multimedia production center, the Magale Library serves as a mecca for students studying and conducting research. In addition to numerous computers, the library also boasts an extensive collection of monographs, academic journals, archived rare books and manuscripts relating to the history of Centenary College of Louisiana, the United Methodist Church in Louisiana, the state of Louisiana and the city of Shreveport.
City-Parish Employment Opportunities (EBRP)
The Baton Rouge government's human resources mission is "to provide leadership and partnership in creating and implementing innovative strategies in order to meet the current and emerging needs of our diverse workforce and the citizens we serve."
Claiborne Parish Library
The mission of the Claiborne Parish Public Library is to provide the citizens of the parish with the best possible library service to meet their informational, educational, cultural and recreational needs. Branches are located in Haynesville and Homer, and a bookmobile services the Parish, also.
Delgado Community College Libraries
The Delgado Community College libraries provide valuable resources to assist students and faculty with their education needs. A wide array of online resources is provided to the Delgado Community College community.
East Baton Rouge Parish Library
The mission of the East Baton Rouge Parish Library is to serve all residents of the parish as an educational, informational, recreational and cultural center through a wide variety of resources, services and programs.
Evangeline Parish Library
The Library's branches are located in Basile, Chataignier, Mamou, Pine Prairie, and Turkey Creek, Louisiana.
Grambling State University Library
The A. C. Lewis Memorial Library serves as the information and knowledge center for the students and faculty of Grambling State University. It is the responsibility of the library to provide quality services and equitable access to resources in all formats, which effectively implement, support, and enrich the university's mission and goals.
Grant Parish Library
The Library's branches are located in Colfax, Dry Prong, Georgetown, Montgomery, and Pollock, Louisiana.
Howard-Tilton Memorial Library at Tulane University
Howard-Tilton Memorial Library is Tulane University's main library and supports the university's undergraduate and graduate programs in the humanities, social sciences, and science and engineering. It is also a major cultural resource for researchers and scholars from throughout the Louisiana-Gulf Coast region. Its unique collections in areas such as Latin American studies, jazz, and New Orleans history often draw researchers from around the globe.
Iberia Parish Library
The Library's branches are located in Delcambre, Jeanerette, Loreauville, and New Iberia, Louisiana.
Jackson Parish Library
The Jackson Parish Library is a service institution that seeks to inform, educate, entertain, and culturally enrich the lives of all people, from early childhood to senior citizens, through the use of books and other materials, technological innovations, facilities, and professional services. The Library is located in Jonesboro, and has a bookmobile to service the Parish, also.
Jefferson Davis Library
The main branch of the Library is located in Jennings, while three supporting branches are located in Elton, Lake Arthur, and Welsh. A bookmobile services the Parish, also.
Jefferson Parish Library
The Library's branches are located in Bridge City, Grand Isle, Gretna, Harahan, Harvey, Jefferson, Kenner, Lafitte, Marerro, Metairie, New Orleans, River Ridge, Terrytown, and Westwego, Louisiana.
Lafayette Parish Library
The Library's branches are located in Broussard, Carencro, Duson, Lafayette, Milton, Scott, and Youngsville, Louisiana.
Lafourche Parish Library
The Library's branches are located in Bayou Blue, Choctaw, Gheens, Golden Meadow, Larose, Lockport, Raceland, South Lafourche, and Thibodaux, Louisiana.
This is a Yahoo! group/job listing that provides information about Louisiana library positions as well as a select few out-of-state positions.
LaSalle Parish Library
The Library's branches are located in Jenna and Olla, Louisiana.
Lincoln Parish Library
Lincoln Parish Library is a service institution that seeks to inform, educate, entertain, and culturally enrich the lives of all people, from early childhood to senior citizens, through the use of books and other materials, technological innovations, facilities, and professional services. The Library is located in Ruston, Louisiana.
Livingston Parish Library
The Library's branches are located in Albany, Denham Springs, and Livingston, Louisiana.
Louisiana College Library
Louisiana College's Richard W. Norton Memorial Library contains more than 135,000 volumes, 199,000 government documents, 75,000 items in microfilm and subscribes to over 390 journals. Electronic access to 41,000 e-books and 13,200 e-journals is also available.
LOUISiana Digital Library
An online library of over 144,000 digital materials about Louisiana's history, culture, places, and people. Its purpose is to make unique historical treasures from Louisiana's archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories in the state electronically accessible to Louisiana residents and to students, researchers, and the general public in other states and countries.
Louisiana Division/City Archives/Special Collections
The Louisiana Division is a reference division which collects resources relating to the study of Louisiana and its citizens and to the city of New Orleans and New Orleanians. Other areas of concentration are the Mississippi River, the Gulf of Mexico, and the South. Included within the Division's collections are books by or about Louisianians; city, regional, and state documents; manuscripts, maps, newspapers, periodicals, microfilms, photographs, slides, motion pictures, sound recordings, video tapes, postcards, and ephemera of every sort.
Louisiana Geographic Information Center (LAGIC)
Info Louisiana's collection of geographical resources.
Louisiana Library Jobs
Looking for a library job? The following is a list of job openings received by the State Library. If you wish to submit a job opening to this list or to update an announcement, please contact Margaret Huddleston in the Library Development Department of the State Library at: Post Office Box 131, Baton Rouge, LA 70821. Telephone (225) 342-4931.
Louisiana Newspaper Project Parish Index
"This Louisiana Newspaper Project Parish/Chronological Indexes and Louisiana Family Trees includes more than 1750 Louisiana newspapers that are inventoried and cataloged by the Louisiana Newspaper Project (LNP) for Louisiana repositories since 1986."
Louisiana Office of State Climatology (LOSC)
Climate information includes: * Daily Divisional Reports: summary tables of daily climate reports for the current month for stations throughout Louisiana. * Weekly Reports: brief overviews of statewide weather conditions, observations and maps. Click here for archived weekly reports. * Monthly Reports: Pdf documents of the LOSC's "Louisiana Monthly Climate Review" and Monthly climate summary tables.
Louisiana State Archives
Outline of resources available, as well as hours, location, and contact information. They have their own Research Library which carries "books on general histories, census indexes, immigration schedules, church records, and family histories."
Louisiana State Legislature
Search engine for the Louisiana State Constitution, Codes, and the Revised Statutes.
Louisiana Tech: Prescott Memorial Library
Prescott Memorial Library houses over 400,000 books and bound periodicals, over 27,000 reels of microfilm, over 400,000 pieces of microfiche, an electronic book collection of nearly 40,000 titles, and over 2 million federal and state documents.
LOUISiana Union Catalog
The union catalog allows you to search any or all of the Louisiana academic library catalogs at the same time. Searching the union catalog will return a list of items, along with the various libraries that own them. Use this catalog if you are searching for a specific title and you’d like to know which Louisiana libraries own it, or you are looking for materials that your home library does not own. Once you have found materials that you would like to borrow from another library, you should contact your home library to find out if you are eligible for a LALINC borrowing card, or if you can request materials via Interlibrary loan. What is your home library? If you are an active student, faculty or staff member at a college or university, your home library is your institution’s library. If you are a member of the general public, your home library is your local public library.
Louisiana.gov - The official website of the State of Louisiana
Entry point to state government information.
Loyola Law Library
The Law Library has a collection of over 371,000 volumes and microform equivalents which has the primary purpose of supporting the curriculum and research needs of the College of Law faculty and students. The collection is comprised of federal and state legal research sources, specific subject materials, foreign, international, comparative, and civil law materials, and law-related books. The microform collection includes United States Supreme Court records and briefs, state bar journals, and legal treatises from the nineteenth century.
Loyola: Monroe Library
The Monroe Library's collection supports the curriculum at Loyola University New Orleans and serves the faculty, staff, and students of Loyola University.
LSU Libraries -- Louisiana Government Resources
List of key Louisiana government resources including extensive list of statistical links.
LSU Libraries Special Collections: Family Trees
Listing of Louisiana newspapers from LSU Libraries, searchable by city, parish, and title. Helpful for researchers when the newspaper needed has changed names, and for ascertaining exact dates.
LSU Libraries Special Collections: Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections
The Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) documents the history and culture of this region. The largest accumulation of materials on Louisiana and the lower Mississippi Valley in existence, LLMVC includes a comprehensive collection of books, periodicals, maps, prints, pamphlets, Louisiana state documents, and microfilm of Louisiana newspapers.
LSU Libraries: Special Collections Division Homepage
LSU Libraries organized the Special Collections division to administer the rare books, manuscripts, and other special research collections already held by the libraries.
LSU Paul M. Hebert Law Center Library
The LSU Law Library is one of the 20 largest academic law libraries in the United States, and now holds more than 848,000 volume equivalents, and 147,000 volumes of court records. In addition to the standard Anglo-American legal materials, the library has substantial collections of foreign, international, and comparative law.
LSU School of Veterinary Medicine Library
Serving the faculty, staff and students of the School of Veterinary Medicine as well as the LSU and Baton Rouge communities, the LSU School of Veterinary Medicine Library is the major health science library in the greater Baton Rouge area.
Frazar Memorial Library is named for Lether E. Frazar, former lieutenant governor of Louisiana and the first president of McNeese State University and contains over 400,000 volumes.
Morehouse Parish Library System
The Library's branches are located in Bastrop, Bonita, Collinston, Dunbar, Mer Rouge, and Oak Ridge, Louisiana.
New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary Library
The New Orleans Baptist Theological seminary maintains comprehensive on-campus libraries. The main library, the John T. Christian Library, is the largest theological collection in the gulf coast region. It includes extensive materials relating to theology, biblical studies, Christian education, pastoral ministries, and related fields. The Martin Music Library is a specialized library providing extensive music and worship related resources.
New Orleans City Archives
The Louisiana Division houses the City Archives, the official repository for the historical records of the New Orleans municipal goverment. The City Archives comprises more than 1200 manuscript volumes, more than 3500 cubic feet of unbound documents, and sizable collections of maps, architectural drawings, photographs, videotapes, and sound recordings.
New Orleans Public Library
The Library has branched located in Algiers, Carrollton, Lakeview, Mid-city and Uptown New Orleans.
Nicholls State University - Ellender Memorial Library
As a unit of Nicholls State University, the Ellender Memorial Library shares the University's overall goals and objectives. The primary mission of the Library is to support the curriculum, the instructional, research and public service programs of the University.
Northwestern State University Library
Watson Memorial Library in Natchitoches houses a main collection of 350,000 books, journals and documents, the Cammie G. Henry Research Center, libraries central services, and administration. The Shreveport Nursing Library provides the NSU College of Nursing with books, journals and other resources. Leesville library serves the campus and distance education for patrons in that area. All libraries support on-campus and distance learning students with Interlibrary Loan, database and electronic journal resources.
Nunez Community College Library
It is the mission of Nunez Community College Library to provide the library resources and services required to support the mission and goals of Nunez Community College. The college library, in order to carry out its mission, has set forth objectives which are attained through its multiple activities. Although the primary objective of the college library is to provide books, periodicals, and other instructional materials to support the academic program, there is another objective of equal importance: to encourage the formation of a lifetime habit of reading for learning, for exploration, and for recreation.
Our Lady of the Lake College Library
The College Library of Our Lady of the Lake College supports the mission of the college and the Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady with a dedication to service excellence. Through a dynamic, innovative and multi-media approach, the College Library supports the curricular, informational and research needs of the Our Lady of the Lake College community in meeting all personal, academic and professional goals while fostering life-long learning. For this purpose, the College Library collects, maintains and organizes current information in various formats to insure efficient access to information.
Plaquemines Parish Library
The Library's branches are located in Belle Chasse, Buras, and Port Sulphur, Louisiana, and a bookmobile provides services to the Parish as well.
Pointe Coupee Parish Library
The Library's branches are located in Innis, Livonia, Morganza New Roads, and Rougon, Louisiana.
Rapides Parish Library
The Library's branches are located in Alexandria, Ball, Boyce, Glenmora, Hineston, Lecompte, and Pineville, Louisiana, and a bookmobile provides services to the Parish, also.
Richland Parish Library
The Library's branches are located in Delhi, Mangham, and Rayville, Louisiana.
River Parishes Community College Library
RPCC Library Services exists to support the mission and goals of River Parishes Community College. Library Services provides the RPCC community with materials, resources, and instructional services necessary for excellence in teaching and learning.
Sabine Parish Library
The Library's branches are located in Converse, Many, Pleasant Hill, and Zwolle, Louisiana.
Search engine created for Louisiana-based businesses and websites.
Shreve Memorial Library
Shreve Memorial Library is a public entity designed to serve all individuals who live, work, own property, or attend school in Caddo Parish. Maintained by a parish-wide property tax millage, the system supports the informational, educational, and recreational needs of its constituents.
South Louisiana Community College Library
The South Louisiana Community College Library is a vital part of the educational program of the institution. SLCC has three such libraries, one at the Lafayette campus, one at the New Iberia campus and a third library at the Franklin site. Each library houses a core collection of books, periodicals, and reference materials arranged in an easily accessible open-shelf arrangement. Seating space for individual and group study is provided throughout the libraries.
South St Landry Community Library
The Library is located in Sunset, Louisiana and serves the communities of Bristol, Cankton, Grand Coteau, and Sunset.
Southeastern Louisiana University - Sims Memorial Library
Linus A. Sims library provides services and resources to the students, faculty, and staff of Southeastern Louisiana University as well as the surrounding community.
Southern University - John B. Cade Library
Welcome to the John B. Cade Library new website which will continue to evolve because information and technology change so rapidly. It is our goal to provide access in a seamless manner whether the information is in electronic or print format. The Library has a vast array of services and resources which we encourage you to utilize. We have an exceptional and dedicated Library faculty and staff who are always willing and available to assist you in your information needs. Access to most of the resources and services you need are provided at this web site. If, however, we do not have what you need, we will make every effort to obtain it for you.
Southern University - Law Library
The Southern University Law Center Library's primary goal is to provide quality service to students and faculty, and to support the Law Center curriculum.
Southern University at New Orleans Virtual Library
Southern University at New Orleans established the Virtual Library to provide online search capabilities, reference materials, databases, journals, and other research services to its students and faculty.
SOWELA Community College Library
Sowela’s mission is to empower students in transfer, career and technical education to become globally competitive citizens through state-of-the-art learning experiences in all programs and services.
St. Charles Parish Library
The Library's branches are located in Destrehan, Hahnville, Luling, Norco, and St. Rose, Louisiana. A book mobile provides services to the Parish as well.
St. Martin Parish Library
The Library's branches are located in Arnaudville, Breaux Bridge, Cecilia, Parks, and St. Martinville, Louisiana.
St. Mary Parish Library
The Library's branches are located in Amelia, Bayou Vista, Berwick, Centerville, Franklinton, Patterson, and Baldwin, Louisiana.
St. James Parish Library
The Library's branches are located in Lutcher and Vacherie, Louisiana.
St. John the Baptist Parish Library
The Library's branches are located in Edgard, Garyville, LaPlace, and Reserve, Louisiana.
St. Tammany Parish Library
The Library's branches are located in Abita Springs, Bush, Covington, Folsom, Lacombe, Madisonville, Mandeville, Pearl River, and Slidell, Louisiana.
State Library of Louisiana
The State Library of Louisiana is one of Louisiana's greatest resources for research information, government documents, genealogical data, audio books and much more. Its mission is to build an informed, literate and democratic society by ensuring access to informational, cultural, and recreational resources, especially those resources unique to Louisiana.
Tangipahoa Parish Library
The Library's branches are located in Amite, Hammond, Independence, Kentwood, Loranger, and Ponchatoula. A bookmobile provides services to the parish, also.
Terrebonne Parish Library
The Library's branches are located in Bourg, Chauvin, Dulac, Gibson, Houma, and Montegut, Louisiana. A book mobile provides services to the Parish as well.
The Advocate (Baton Rouge)
The Advocate's website "maintain[s] an Online Daily Archive of all site content from the past 7 days" as well as an archive.
The Advocate (Baton Rouge) Archive through Lexis-Nexis Academic
Lexis-Nexis allows the user to search The Advocate from 1994 to the present.
The Times-Picayune archive through Lexis-Nexis Academic
Lexis-Nexis Academic archives The Times-Picayune from 1993 to the present.
Tulane University: Louisiana Collection
The Louisiana Collection, a research library within Tulane University's Special Collections Division, preserves publications (books, pamphlets, magazines) pertaining to all aspects of Louisiana from colonial times to the present, from anthropology to zoology. It includes one of the best collections of pre-WWII Louisiana publications in the state.
Union Parish Library
The Library is located in Farmerville, Louisiana.
United States Resources: Louisiana
This is a comprehensive list of Louisiana-based resources for genealogical research.
University of LA at Monroe Library
The stunning twenty-four million dollar building currently housing the University Library is located on the banks of the scenic Bayou DeSiard. The five-story facility, of approximately 140,000 square feet, seats 2,000 users at study carrels, tables, and in comfortable easy chairs placed throughout the building. When the Library opened on April 12, 1999, the beautiful furnishings included ample shelving to accommodate at least ten years growth.
University of Louisiana at Lafayette - Dupre Library
Edith Garland Dupre Library is centrally situated on the main campus of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette at 400 E. St. Mary Blvd. The library is open to students, faculty, staff, and the public.
University of New Orleans - Earl K. Long Library
The Earl K. Long Library provides service and resources to the students, faculty, and staff of the University of New Orleans, as well as the surrounding community.
Vermilion Parish Library
The Library's branches are located in Abbeville, Delcambre, Erath, Gueydan, Kaplan, and Maurice, Louisiana. A bookmobile provides services to the Parish as well.
Vital Records Information: Louisiana
This site provides Information on accessing vital records in Louisiana.
Washington Parish Library
The Library is located in Franklinton, Louisiana.
Webster Parish Library
The Library's branches are located in Cotton Valley, Doyline, Heflin, Minden, Sarepta, Sibley, and Springhill, Louisiana.
West Baton Rouge Parish Library
The Library is located in Port Allen and a bookmobile provides services to the Parish as well.
Will W. Alexander Library
The Dillard University library is a learning-friendly, user-oriented library that serves a vital on-campus role as a center for the enhancement of skills and knowledge to ensure students' college success and encourages post-graduate life-long learning. The library is a place where the highest quality learning tools in information gathering and usage are provided, thereby enhancing its students' academic and learning experiences.
|Frequently Asked Questions|
|Call: (225) 578-8875|
|Text: (225) 308-1733|