Research Guides: Genealogy Resources

Genealogy Resources
1895 U.S. Atlas
This site contains scanned images of an 1895 U.S. Atlas, with city and town data.

About.com's Genealogy Forum
A place to meet and discuss research with other genealogy enthusiasts.

About.com's Genealogy Page
This site contains a blog, tips for genealogy research, and links to finding aids.

Access Genealogy
This site provides 16 large categories to search from, also includes: surname search, recently added data, family tree programs, and is a resource for Native American research particularly.

Ancestors: Research Records
Related to the PBS show Ancestors, this site offers of list indicating which records are important for researchers. Includes video clips.

Ancestry.com
Ancestry.com is the world’s largest online resource for family history, with almost one million paying subscribers around the world as of June 30, 2009. We have been a leader in the family history market for over 20 years and have helped pioneer the market for online family history research. We believe that most people have a fundamental desire to understand who they are and from where they came, and that anyone interested in discovering, preserving and sharing their family history is a potential user of Ancestry.com. We strive to make our service valuable to individuals ranging from the most committed family historians to those taking their first steps towards satisfying their curiosity about their family stories.

Association of Professional Genealogists
APG is an independent organization whose principal purpose is to support professional genealogists in all phases of their work: from the amateur genealogist wishing to turn knowledge and skill into a vocation, to the experienced professional seeking to exchange ideas with colleagues and to upgrade the profession as a whole. The association also seeks to protect the interest of those engaging in the services of the professional.

Board for Certification of Genealogists
Founded 1964, the Board of Certification of Genealogists promotes high standards in genealogical practice, both as a profession and as a hobby.

Census Finder
This site provides access to all records available online, paying and non-paying, and is searchable by state and county/parish.

DAR Library
The Library provides a listing of online databases searchable by the Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) Library.

Ellis Island
A free search from The Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Foundation, Inc. which gives information about the passengers of boats as they landed on Ellis Island. See a picture about the ship, read about the individual ships, and read the ships manifest. Many times the manifest will include the amount of money they had, where they were going, and the name of the person in the U.S. with whom they intended to stay.

FamilySearch.org
Provided by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, this site provides access to genealogy resources for national and international researchers.

Federation of Genealogical Societies - About FGS
This site connects more than 500 genealogical societies in the US and Canada and produces a quarterly magazine entitled FORUM.

Genealogical Materials in the New Orleans Public Library's Louisiana Division & City Archives
This book, printed by the New Orleans Public Library, is available for purchase. Clicking on the title will lead you to a page with the contents list; the book is viewable online.

Genealogy Blog Finder
This site tracks 1,403 genealogy blogs.

Genealogy Mailing Lists
This is a comprehensive listing of genealogy mailing lists and newsgroups with descriptions and instructions.

Genealogy Records on Footnote
Footnote has made available, through their partnership with the National Archives, original source documents that include information about an individual's birth, immigration history, marriage, occupation, death, and other genealogical research data. This is a pay-to-use site, but it does provide a free 7 day trial.

Genealogy Reviews Online
This site Provides news, reviews and other interesting items related to genealogy and history.

Genealogy.com: Census Record Abstracts
Blank forms of the questions asked from the 1790-1930 censuses.

GeneaSearch
Provides a list of books and other forms of publications from societies and individuals.

LOUISiana Digital Library
An online library of over 144,000 digital materials about Louisiana's history, culture, places, and people. Its purpose is to make unique historical treasures from Louisiana's archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories in the state electronically accessible to Louisiana residents and to students, researchers, and the general public in other states and countries.

Louisiana Division/City Archives/Special Collections
The Louisiana Division is a reference division which collects resources relating to the study of Louisiana and its citizens and to the city of New Orleans and New Orleanians. Other areas of concentration are the Mississippi River, the Gulf of Mexico, and the South. Included within the Division's collections are books by or about Louisianians; city, regional, and state documents; manuscripts, maps, newspapers, periodicals, microfilms, photographs, slides, motion pictures, sound recordings, video tapes, postcards, and ephemera of every sort.

Louisiana Newspaper Project WebIndex (LSU Libraires Special Collections)
Parish and chronological index to over 1,700 extant and currently published Louisiana newspapers dating from 1794, the Moniteur de la Louisiane, (the first newspaper printed in French and published in New Orleans), as well as Times- Picayune, the longest-lived Louisiana newspaper, established in 1837.

Louisiana State Archives
Outline of resources available, as well as hours, location, and contact information. They have their own Research Library which carries "books on general histories, census indexes, immigration schedules, church records, and family histories."

LSU Libraries -- Government Documents and Microforms
This page provides historical and statistical information regarding the U.S. Census as well as holdings for the LSU Libraries.

LSU Libraries Special Collections: Family Trees
Listing of Louisiana newspapers from LSU Libraries, searchable by city, parish, and title. Helpful for researchers when the newspaper needed has changed names, and for ascertaining exact dates.

LSU Libraries Special Collections: Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections
The Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) documents the history and culture of this region. The largest accumulation of materials on Louisiana and the lower Mississippi Valley in existence, LLMVC includes a comprehensive collection of books, periodicals, maps, prints, pamphlets, Louisiana state documents, and microfilm of Louisiana newspapers.

LSU Libraries Special Collections: Subject Guides to Manuscript Collections
These guides include collections cataloged in the LSU Libraries Online Public Access Catalog and those previously accessible only in the manuscript card catalog in the Hill Memorial Library reading room.

LSU Libraries Special Collections: The United States Civil War Center
Part of LSU Libraries' Special Collections, the United States Civil War Center contains the following sections: Civil War book review, book collections, manuscript collections, online exhibitions and resources, Shaara Award, and the Civil War index.

Map Collections Home Page
The Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress holds more than 4.5 million items, of which Map Collections represents only a small fraction, those that have been converted to digital form. The focus of Map Collections is Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress. These images were created from maps and atlases and, in general, are restricted to items that are not covered by copyright protection.

National Genealogical Society
Founded in 1903, promotes interest and education in genealogy.

New Orleans City Archives
The Louisiana Division houses the City Archives, the official repository for the historical records of the New Orleans municipal goverment. The City Archives comprises more than 1200 manuscript volumes, more than 3500 cubic feet of unbound documents, and sizable collections of maps, architectural drawings, photographs, videotapes, and sound recordings.

Olive Tree Genealogy
Olive Tree Genealogy, created by Lorine in February 1996 was started to bring genealogists FREE genealogy records. Olive Tree Genealogy has more than 1,900 pages of free genealogy records to help you find your brick-wall ancestors and build your family tree.

Olive Tree Genealogy Blog
This blog provides updates about Olive Tree Genealogy and other free genealogy records.

PBS's American 1900 Family Tree Builder
Free downloadable copy of their American 1900 Family Tree Builder chart, includes individual electronic index cards, and gives a listing of historical events organized by region and continent -- events that may have impacted your ancestors' lives.

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
The University of Texas at Austin offers access to a collection of maps ranging from state, city, topographic, historical, and maps of national parks, monuments, historical sites, and many more. The page presents a large collection of current maps and has links to redirect to other sites for additional sources.

Resources for Genealogists and Family Historians
The National Archives offers insight into the lives of people, their families and our history. Because the records at the National Archives come from every branch of the Federal government, almost all Americans can find themselves, their ancestors, or their community in the archives. Knowing how a person interacted with the government is key to a successful search. Records most commonly used include: Census records, military records, immigration records (ship passenger lists), naturalization records, and land records.

RootsWeb.com
This site contains projects and archives hosted by national and world genealogy groups/societies.

Social Security Death Index Interactive Search
This is the most full-featured and up-to-date SSDI search engine on the Internet.

The Library of Congress: Local History & Genealogy
This page contains a listing of published guides to the genealogy collection at The Library of Congress.

The National Archives and Records Administration: Research
Explains how to begin research in archives and what information an archive or a library may provide searchers.

The Official Federal Land Records Site
Live access to Federal land conveyance records for the Public Land States. Also provides image access to more than three million Federal land title records for Eastern Public Land States, issued between 1820 and 1908. Images of Serial patents (land titles issued between 1908 and the mid-1960's) have been added to this web site. Images related to survey plats and field notes, dating back to 1810, are added to the site state-by-state as each state's documents are completed.

The USGenWeb Project
This is a volunteer effort to organize genealogical information by state, and by county or parish. Content will vary with each site, and each usually includes areas for queries and information on local resources.

Tulane University: Louisiana Collection
The Louisiana Collection, a research library within Tulane University's Special Collections Division, preserves publications (books, pamphlets, magazines) pertaining to all aspects of Louisiana from colonial times to the present, from anthropology to zoology. It includes one of the best collections of pre-WWII Louisiana publications in the state.

United States Digital Map Library
From the volunteers of USGenWeb Archives Project, this site includes the state/county maps as well as Indian Land Cessions maps.

United States Resources: Louisiana
This is a comprehensive list of Louisiana-based resources for genealogical research.

University of Alabama Maps
From the University of Alabama, almost 30,000 maps with over 8,000 of them aerial photos. Contains three main indexes: historical, contemporary, aerial photography. Historical index includes: the United States and Canada, the world, western hemisphere, eastern hemisphere, and special topics (i.e. wars, coastal navigation charts, topographical sheets, Mississippi River, national forests, Native Americans, railroads, and U.S.D.A. soil survey).

USGenWeb Archives Obituaries Project
This project will endeavor to provide transcriptions of public domain obituary indexes and obituaries. Copyrighted materials for which written permission has been obtained may be included as well. Also current obituaries (after 1949) may be extracted.

Vital Records Information: Louisiana
This site provides Information on accessing vital records in Louisiana.