The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. Free source.
SIC (Standard Industrial Classification)
IBISWorld is a comprehensive collection of hundreds of Industry Market Research reports. Industries represented include Agriculture; Mining; Utilities; Construction; Manufacturing; Wholesale Trade; Retail Trade; Transportation; Information; Finance; Real Estate; Technical and Scientific; Waste Management; Education; Healthcare; Recreation; and Food Services.
(Available in many academic libraries.)
Industry Reports via Business Source Complete
(Available in most public and academic libraries.)
2012 Economic Census
2007 Economic Census
The economic census provides a detailed portrait of the United States' economy once every five years, from the national to the local level. The 2007 Economic Census covers most of the U.S. economy in its basic collection of establishment statistics. There also are several related programs, including statistics on minority- and women-owned businesses. Free source.
County Business Patterns & Zip Code Business Patterns (U.S. Census Bureau)
County Business Patterns is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. Businesses use the data for analyzing market potential, measuring the effectiveness of sales and advertising programs, setting sales quotas, and developing budgets. ZIP Code Business Patterns provides the number of establishments by employment-size classes by detailed industry in the U.S. Free source.
Database that allows custom search by NAICS/SIC code or category of business; includes business directory. (Available in most public libraries.)
Standard & Poor’s Net Advantage
Database that provides in-depth analysis of 52 large industries. Each industry survey includes sections on current environment, trends, how the industry operates, key ratios, and statistics. To locate an industry survey, click on the industries tab at the top of screen. (Available in many public libraries.)
Gale Small Business Resouce Center
Search resources in this database by business type and topic. (Available in many public libraries.)
Database that provides small business research, financials, and market data. (Available in many public and academic libraries.)
Use for business literature, company and industry reports, country profiles, and SWOT analysis. (Available in most academic and public libraries that have EBSCO databases.)
This database is a joint venture between Dow Jones and Reuters - two of the world's leading business and news providers. Factiva.com combines nearly 9,000 sources to give access to premium content from 118 countries, in 22 languages.(Available in many academic libraries.)
LexisNexis Academic - Business
The Business section of the LexisNexis Academic database provides a range of sources for business information, including business and financial news, U.S. and international company financial information, market research, industry reports, and SEC filings. (Available in most academic libraries.)
Regional Business News
Includes more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. (Available in many public and academic libraries.)
Market Research Reports via Business Source Complete (Avalable in many public and academic libraries.)
Books for Entrepreneurial Research .
- Cornell University - School of Hotel Administration
- Florida State University - College of Business
- Purdue University - Krannert School of Management
- Syracuse University - Whitman School of Management
- Texas A&M University - Mays Business School
- UCLA - Anderson School of Management
- University of Connecticut - School of Business
SimplyMap is an award-winning web-based mapping application that allows people to use and interact with complex data. SimplyMap enables non-technical users to quickly create professional quality thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business and marketing data. SimplyMap turns complex data into valuable information that is easily accessed through an innovative and user-friendly interface. (Available in some academic libraries.)
Prizm Market Segmentation
Nielson, Use ZIP code lookup
U.S. Census Bureau source for population, housing, economic, and geographic information. Find the latest annual social, economic, housing, and demographic data at national, state, county, and metro areas. Free source.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Various statistics and reports on labor related topics, such as business cost, salary and wages, employee benefits, and occupational outlook and projections. The consumer expenditure index provides information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics. Free source.
Consumer Expenditure Survey (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
Find information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics. Free source.
State and County Quick Facts (U.S. Census Bureau)
QuickFacts tables are summary profiles showing frequently requested data items from various Census Bureau programs. Profiles are available for the nation, states, counties, and large cities. Free source.
Use for business literature, company and industry reports, country profiles, and SWOT analysis.
(Available in many academic and public libraries.)
Mergent Online delivers a comprehensive suite of authoritative financial information with the accuracy, timeliness and transparency required in today’s marketplace. The database contains: U.S. Company Data An Internet-accessible subscription service covering 10,000 public companies and their SEC filings. International Company Data More companies from more countries than any other international database, with global searching across databases. U.S. Annual Reports Easy-to-access current and historical annual reports on 10,000 U.S. public companies, all in PDF image format that provides faster download and allows viewing the document. International Annual Reports Hard-to-get, timely annual reports on all companies in our International Company Data database, available in PDF image formats.
(Available in many academic libraries.)
Hoover's Company Records - In-depth Records
Contains information for public and private companies, including historical financials, lists of products, key competitors. (Available at many academic libraries via LexisNexis Academic.)
SBA resources for creating your business plan.
SBA Business Plan Tool
SBA's Business Plan Tool provides you with a step-by-step guide to help you get started. Not only can you save your plan as a PDF file, you can also update it at any time, making this a living plan to which you can often refer. Save your work at any time and pick up where you left off the next time you log into the tool. Your information will be saved for up to six months after your last login date.
Business Plans Handbook (by Gale Virtual Reference Library)
This collection of actual business plans was compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses throughout North America. For those looking for examples of how to approach, structure and compose their own business plans, the Handbook presents 24 sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries. (Available in many public and academic libraries.)
Reference for Business: Business Plans Handbook
The Business Plans section is composed of actual business plans written by entrepreneurs in North America who are seeking financing for their business.