Research Guides: Communication Studies

Subject Specialist
Picture: Alice Daugherty

Alice Daugherty
Collection Assessment and Analysis Librarian
Tel: 578-7652

Databases and Journals
Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of more than 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc

American Communication Journal
Online scholarly refereed journal published by the American Communication Association.

Communication and Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides robust and quality research information in areas related to communication and mass media. This database originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media.

Communication and Mass Media Journals
A listing of Communication and Mass Media Journals available electronically through the LSU Libraries.

JSTOR
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. JSTOR consists of a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature.

LexisNexis Academic
Offers full text of global news, business, legal, and medical information, updated daily.

MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography is an index of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1926. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.

Oratory and Elocution Journals
A listing of Oratory and Elocution Journals available electronically through the LSU Libraries.

Project Muse
Project Muse provides online, world wide, institutional subscription access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

Poroi Journal
Poroi is an online peer-reviewed journal for scholarship attuned to rhetoric in inquiry and culture.

PsycINFO
Includes an index with abstracts from over 1300 journals, dissertations, and technical reports in 30 languages from 50 countries, as well as summaries of English-language chapters and books published worldwide, concerning psychology and the related disciplines of education, medicine, business, sociology, and psychiatry.


Internet Resources
American Rhetoric
Provides an online speech bank, short audio clips of famous figures, list of journal titles, list of associations; advances the understanding of political, social, and religious issues as they relate to the study and practice of rhetoric and public address.

Archives of CRTNET
Search the archives or join the Communication Research and Theory listserv.

BUBL Link: Communication Studies
A listing of Internet resources within Communication Studies.  (Inactive as of April 2011)

CCMS: Communication, Cultural, and Media Studies
CCMS attempts to cover most of the basics of what you're likely to need to know as a student of communication, cultural and media studies.

Center for Nonverbal Studies (CNS)

The Center for Nonverbal Studies (CNS) is a private, nonprofit research center located in Spokane, Washington. Underway since October 1, 1997, the Center's mission is to advance the study of human communication in all its forms apart from language. The Center's goal is to promote the scientific study of nonverbal communication, which includes body movement, gesture, facial expression, adornment and fashion, architecture, mass media, and consumer-product design.

Gifts of Speech
Gifts of Speech is a non-profit project, sponsored by Sweet Briar College, dedicated to preserving and creating access to speeches by inspirational, influential and contemporary, women from around the world.

Glossary of Rhetorical Terms with Examples
Glossary of rhetorical terms.

The History Place: Great Speeches Collection
Famous speeches.

Rhetoric and Composition
While many rhetoric and composition pages on the Web are written in conjunction with writing centers or specialize in computer-mediated communication, this page also has links to works of classical rhetoric, articles on literacy and education, comprehensive bibliographies in the field and a few miscellaneous but useful things.

Silva Rhetoricae
This site is intended to help beginners, as well as experts, make sense of rhetoric, both on the small scale (definitions and examples of specific terms) and on the large scale (the purposes of rhetoric, the patterns into which it has fallen historically as it has been taught and practiced for 2000+ years).

Stuttering Foundation of America
Provides free online resources, services and support to those who stutter and their families, as well as support for research into the causes of stuttering.


Discovery
Discovery searches the LSU Libraries catalog and many databases.
Limit Your Results
Book Search
Search for in
Ask Us!
FAQ Frequently Asked Questions
Chat Chat
eMail Reference Email
Phone Reference Call: (225) 578-8875
Text Reference
Text: (225) 245-3667
Associations and Organizations
American Forensic Association
The professional organization of educators and researchers in argumentation and public advocacy.

International Communication Association

An academic association for scholars interested in the study, teaching, and application of all aspects of human and mediated communication.

International Speech Communication Association
The purpose of the association is to promote, in an international world-wide context, activities and exchanges in all fields related to speech communication science and technology. The association is aimed at all persons and institutions interested in fundamental research and technological development that aims at describing, explaining and reproducing the various aspects of human communication by speech, that is, without assuming this enumeration to be exhaustive, phonetics, linguistics, computer speech recognition and synthesis, speech compression, speaker recognition, aids to medical diagnosis of voice pathologies.

National Communication Association
The National Communication Association advances communication as the discipline that studies all forms, modes, media and consequences of communication through humanistic, social scientific and aesthetic inquiry.

Southern States Communication Association
The Southern States Communication Association's purpose is to promote the study, criticism, research, teaching, and application of the artistic, humanistic, and scientific principles of communication. SSCA, a not-for-profit organization, exists for educational, scientific, and literary purposes only.

Western States Communication Association
An association of scholars, teachers, and practitioners who have an academic, lay, or professional interest in communication.