On a mobile device?

View the LSU Libraries Mobile Website at
http://www.lib.lsu.edu/m/

Anthropology
                                                            
Resources

Computer-Mediated Anthropology
Computer-Mediated Anthropology examines the intersections between anthropology and computing.

CSAC Ethnographics Gallery
The Ethnographics Gallery is a publication of the Centre for Social Anthropology and Computing. This site contains reports on CSAC research, Teaching materials, and resources that can be used for planning and executing research, including bibliographic materials, databases of ethnographic material, fieldnotes, descriptors, and software for working with ethnographic data. 

Cultural Anthropology Tutorials Menu
Lessons on various topics in cultural anthropology. Includes glossaries, practice quizzes, and lists of related links.

Cultural Survival | Promoting the Rights, Voices, and Visions of Indigenous Peoples
Partnering with indigenous communities to protect their lands, languages, and cultures. Through their programs and campaigns we help them get the knowledge, advocacy tools, and strategic partnerships they need to protect their rights. In addition, Cultural Survival offers the most comprehensive source of information on indigenous peoples on the planet, including our award-winning magazine, the Cultural Survival Quarterly, which has been published for more than 30 years.

Documentary Educational Resources
Documentary Educational Resources is a non-profit organization founded in 1968 and incorporated in 1971 for the purpose of producing and distributing cross-cultural documentary film for educational use. 

Encyclopedia Mythica: mythology, folklore, and religion.

An award-winning internet encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and religion. The mythology section is divided to six geographical regions: Africa, Americas, Asia, Europe, Middle East, and Oceania. Each region has many clearly defined subdivisions that will ease your search. The Folklore section contains general folklore, Arthurian legends, and fascinating folktales from many lands. In addition, we feature special interest areas to enhance and refine your research. A Bestiary, legendary heroes, an image gallery, and genealogical tables of various pantheons and prominent houses. To bring our entities to life, we have created an image gallery, where you will find hundreds of images of all kinds of deities, heroes, and strange creatures of every description. The encyclopedia will serve the serious researcher, the student, and the casual reader with equal success.

Folklife Sourcebook Database
A searchable database of ethnographic resources related to folklife, anthropology, ethnomusicology, and the humanities.  It lists museums, archives, public programs, and other organizations, as well as internet-based resources, providing their contact information and links to their web pages. Serial publications and directories produced by these organizations, as well as brief introductory information about their programs and services, is also included when available.

Isuma TV
An internet video portal for indigenous filmmakers providing unique indigenous-language content.  Their goal is to help films and filmmakers reach a wider audience; help audiences see themselves in their own languages; help communities connect around common concerns; and help worldwide viewers see indigenous reality from its own point of view. Isuma.tv is a FREE service to filmmakers and viewers: a serious, professional, high-quality space to post your films on the internet. 

Medical Humanities
This site, established in 1994 at New York University School of Medicine, is dedicated to providing a resource for scholars, educators, students, patients, and others who are interested in the work of medical humanities. We define the term "medical humanities" broadly to include an interdisciplinary field of humanities (literature, philosophy, ethics, history and religion), social science (anthropology, cultural studies, psychology, sociology), and the arts (literature, theater, film, and visual arts) and their application to medical education and practice. The Literature, Arts, and Medicine Database holds annotations of works of literature, art, and film relevant to the illness experience, medical education and practice -- fiction; poetry; memoir, biography, autobiography; literary, cultural, and social criticism; visual art; film; drama. The annotations are written by an invited editorial board of scholars from all over North America.

Mesoweb
This site is devoted to the ancient cultures of Mexico and adjacent Central America, including the Olmec, Zapotec, Mixtec, Teotihuacan, Toltec, Aztec and Maya (reserving the word Mayan for the language and the word Maya for the people and their culture). We have chosen to specialize in the Maya and, more particularly, Maya history, viewing it through the lens of archaeology and the related disciplines and the written records left by the Maya themselves.

NativeWiki

NativeWiki is a free, open-to-the-public library of information about indigenous nations and peoples (past and present) of the world. They feature major sections on Nations and Peoples, Documents and Materials, Geographic Regions and a Picture Gallery of selected images.

Online Dictionary of Anthropology - AnthroBase
A multilingual, searchable database of articles, theses, essays, reports, conference papers, field-notes etc., written by anthropologists and others with an interest in social and cultural diversity. Authors retain copyright to their texts and may withdraw their texts from the database at any time.

Photoethnography.com
Notes on photoethnography, ethnographic filmmaking, fieldwork in Japan, classic cameras, digital photography, and other topics concerning visual anthropology. 

Southeastern Native American Documents, 1763-1842
Contains approximately 2,000 documents and images relating to the Native American population of the Southeastern United States from the collections of the University of Georgia Libraries, the University of Tennessee at Knoxville Library, the Frank H. McClung Museum, the Tennessee State Library and Archives, the Tennessee State Museum, the Museum of the Cherokee Indian, and the LaFayette-Walker County Library. The documents are comprised of letters, legal proceedings, military orders, financial papers, and archaeological images relating to Native Americans in the Southeast. This site includes historical materials that may contain offensive language or negative stereotypes reflecting the culture or language of a particular period or place. These items are presented as part of the historical record. 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Kelly Blessinger

Kelly Blessinger
Head, Research & Instruction Services
Tel: 578-8538

Book Search
Search for in
Ask Us!
FAQ Frequently Asked Questions
Phone Reference Call: (225) 578-8875
Text Reference
Text: (225) 245-3667
eMail Reference Email
Online Reference Online Reference
For more information, visit us at our Ask Us! webpage.
Untitled Document