This contains a listing of biographies of over 125 women in the various fields of science. It is searchable by name, time period, or field of study.
Biographical Dictionary - S9.com
S9.com was established in 1997. The dictionary covers more than 33,000 notable men and women who have shaped our world from ancient times to the present day. The dictionary can be searched by names, birth years, death years, positions held, professions, literary and artistic works, and miscellaneous achievements.
Biographic Directory of the U.S. Congress
This is a searchable database with information ranging from 1774 to the present. Users can search by first and/or last name, political party, Congress or year, state, or position.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
This indexes current and retrospective biographical dictionaries and Who's Whos that cover both contemporary and historical figures, providing citations to biographies of individuals from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
Biography in Context
The Biography in Context (formerly Biography Resource Center) is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more than 185,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It contains approximately 250,000 biographies and full-text articles from nearly 250 periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search path.
This site from the popular TV program A&E Biography contains biographies of both celebrities and historical figures.
A Celebration of Women Writers
This is a database of female authors; searchable by name, century, country, or ethnicity. There is a section to view selections of each author's work, biographical information, and bibliography.
This page includes biographical information on members of congress, searchable back to the 104th Congress, 1995-1996.
Dead People Server
This is a popular site that provides information on whether or not an individual is alive or dead. It is not intended for the serious researcher, but it is a quick and useful reference tool.
Distinguished Women of Past and Present
This is Danuta Bois' collection of information concerning women who have contributed to our culture. It is searchable by subject and name and includes a bibliography.
The Faces of Science: African Americans in the Sciences
This contains profiles of African American Scientists (in the past and present) who have contributed to engineering and science have been divided into 18 categories, including: chemistry, biochemistry, physics, mathematics, and medicine
Internet Public Library: Biographies
The Internet Public Library's biographies section provides a large list of websites useful for researchers.
National Inventors Hall of Fame Database
The National Inventors Hall of Fame honors the women and men responsible for the great technological advances that make human, social and economic progress possible". Lists inductees with their inventions and brief biographies.
Nobelprize.org is the official web site of the Nobel Foundation. Providing a wealth of background to every Nobel Prize since 1901, the site presents Nobel Lectures, biographies, interviews, photos, articles, video clips, press releases, educational games and a great deal more information about the Nobel Laureates and their work.
Operated by Legacy.com, the site collaborates with more than 500 newspapers in the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom. Searchable by name or by state; the obituaries vary on how far back the publication dates are per each individual paper.
The Political Graveyard
This site provides access to biographies of politicians (famous and obscure), as well as information about where the deceased are buried. Contains over 135,000 people, broken down into the following search formats: alphabetical index; by office held or sought; by date or year of birth, death, or marriage; state and country of birth or death; and several more.
Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Inductees
This page includes brief biographies of all inductees of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and a timeline of their work.
This site contains lists of heads of state and heads of government (and, in certain cases, de facto leaders not occupying either of those formal positions) of all countries and territories, going back to about 1700 in most cases. Also included are the subdivisions of various countries (the links are at the bottom of the respective country entries), as well as a selection of international organizations. Recent foreign ministers of all countries are listed separately.
Who's Who Online
Who's Who Online® is a searchable site on the World Wide Web which contains professional and biographical data about individuals of accomplishment who are part of the worldwide Internet community. Profiles are provided by the individuals themselves, who own the copyrights to their own pages.
|Frequently Asked Questions|
|Call: (225) 578-8875|
|Text: (225) 245-3667|