Provides citations to literature in agriculture and related fields that have been acquired by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperating institutions since 1970. Although production of these records in electronic form began in 1970, but the database covers materials dating from the 15th century to the present. The recordsdescribe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil andwater resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition. Currently, Books, etc., contains all records produced from 1970 to the present (683,760 records). Articles, etc., contains records produced from 1979 to the present (1,884,383 records).
|Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts
Covers agricultural products, new applications across the food industry, and environmental developments. Plant genome studies are examined in detail. Other topics include patents, new product approval, fermenation, soil microorganisms, bioremediation, transgenic plants and animals, breeding techniques, biopesticides, food production and safety tests, treatment and disposal of wastes, biochemical applications in water treatment, and industrial hygiene. Bimonthly. 122 serials are currently monitored for inclusion in this database. 3,000 abstracts anually.
Journals indexed by this site.
|Agricultural Engineering Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Compendex is a bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing references to over 5000 engineering journals and conferences. Ei covers literature that makes a definite contribution to knowledge in the subject areas of engineering and applied science. About half the citations (from 2600 journals and conferences) include abstracts and indexing in the records. CompendexWeb is the internet version of Engineering Index, the world's premier source of engineering abstracts. The database adds about 220,000 abstracts yearly. Abstracts come from 2600 engineering journals, conferences, and reports. All areas of engineering are covered. Approximately 22% of the database is conference literature, and 90% of the source documents are in English.
IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)
Abstract records and full text articles published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from:
Access to the AbstractPlus records and select full text published since 2005 from:
IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library PurchaseThe online version of several IEEE journals, magazines, and proceedings.
Full text access to all IEEE-Wiley eBooks titles copyrighted in the year(s) 1974-2014.
|Knovel Interactive Library
Knovel brings essential Sci-tech reference data to life in a virtual technical library that solves problems for engineers, applied scientists and librarians worldwide. On one interface the Knovel Library combines authoritative reference content from major Sci-tech publishers including John Wiley & Sons, McGraw-Hill and Elsevier. This data is enhanced with time-saving analytical tools to help analyze and manipulate the data.
Users can analyze and reorganize the data in over 800 full-text engineering and scientific reference works, handbooks, and databases Knovel. They can sort, filter and export data from 'live tables', resolve equations and plot graphs, capture values from existing graphs and perform 'what if' experiments on the data. Knovel's uniquely powerful research platform integrates a intuitive yet powerful search engine with a user friendly browse capability to allow the user to discover data in ways which are close to real information seeking behavior.
Referex Engineering can be accessed on the Engineering Village 2 Platform by choosing the "eBooks Search" tab.
Referex Engineering comprises three carefully crafted collections combining key sources of reference material. Content ranges from broad based engineering titles to highly specialized professional reference texts.
Referex Engineering Collections:
Chemical, Petrochemical and Process - Leading titles in energy, chemical engineering, chemical hazards, process engineering, oil and gas engineering and environmental engineering.
Mechanical and Materials - Selection draws on publishing programs of Butterworth-Heinemann, Elsevier and Academic Press. Handbooks and practical guides cover automotive, metallurgy, maintenance and more.
Electronics and Electrical - Comprehensive range of books for electrical power engineers, electronics engineer and circuit designers embedded systems and computer engineers and communication engineers.
|Science and Technology Collection
Science & Technology Collection contains over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications. This collection contains many scholarly journals including Advances in Physics, American Scientist, Annual Review of Astronomy & Astrophysics, Annual Review of Biochemistry, Archaeoastronomy, Astronomy & Geophysics, Civil Engineering, Engineering Management Journal, International Journal of Computational Engineering Science, Journal of Aerospace Engineering, Journal of Architectural Engineering, Journal of Applied Microbiology, Journal of Mathematical Logic, Journal of Theoretical & Computational Chemistry, Molecular Physics, Plant Biotechnology Journal, Quarterly Review of Biology, Space Communications, Spatial Vision, and many more.
|Science Citation Index
Science Citation Index Expanded - This database covers the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,800 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines from 1900 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: agriculture, neuroscience, astronomy, oncology, biochemistry, pediatrics, biology, pharmacology, biotechnology, physics, chemistry, plant sciences, computer science, psychiatry, materials science, surgery, mathematics, veterinary science, medicine, and zoology.
Social Sciences Citation Index - This database covers the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines from 1956 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: anthropology, political science, history, public health, industrial relations, social issues, information science & library science, social work, law, sociology, linguistics, substance abuse, philosophy, urban studies, psychology, women's studies, and psychiatry.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index - This database indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals from 1975 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: archaeology, linguistics, architecture, literary reviews, art, literature, Asian studies, music, classics, philosophy, dance, poetry, folklore, radio, television, film, history, religion, language, and theater.
Use PAWS ID and password for Endnotes Help
Science Direct, published by Elsevier Science, serves as a web information source for scientific, technical, and medical (STM) research. It offers access to more than 1,100 journals in 16 fields of science, including the social sciences.
note: Chose "General Access" option for Engineering Village access and the "System/Library" option for Science Direct access
The Springer database offers full-text searching through Springer’s entire electronic output, including Journals, Books, Book Series, eReference books, and Protocols. Subject areas include engineering, science, humanities, business etc. Most full-text content is accessible to LSU patrons, with a few exceptions, most notable being the Protocols.
A collection of research journals.
note: Trial ends May 31, 2014
|Comprehensive Biotechnology (2nd edition)
The second edition of Comprehensive Biotechnology continues the tradition of the first inclusive work on this dynamic field by presenting up-to-date and essential entries on the principles and practice of biotechnology. The integration of the latest relevant science and industry practice with fundamental biotechnology concepts is presented with entries from internationally recognized world-leaders in their given fields. With two volumes covering basic fundamentals, and four volumes of applications, from environmental biotechnology and safety to medical biotechnology and healthcare, this work serves the needs of newcomers as well as established experts combining the latest relevant science and industry practice in a manageable format.
|Treatise on Estuarine and Coastal Science
The study of estuaries and coasts has seen enormous growth in recent years, since changes in these areas have a large effect on the food chain, as well as on the physics and chemistry of the ocean. As the coasts and river banks around the world become more densely populated, the pressure on these ecosystems intensifies, putting a new focus on environmental, socio-economic and policy issues.
Written by a team of international expert scientists, under the guidance of Chief Editors Eric Wolanski and Donald McClusky, the Treatise on Estuarine and Coastal Science examines topics in depth, and aims to provide a comprehensive scientific resource for all professionals and students in the area of estuarine and coastal science.
- American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers
- The Canadian Society for Bioengineering
- International Commission of Agricultural Engineering
- Intute - Science, Engineering, and Technology
- InfoMine - Biological, Agricultural, and Medical Sciences
- Biotechnology Information Directory
- National Center for Biotechnology Information
- Harvard University Biology Links
- UC Biotech
- Journal of Agricultural Engineering Research - LC Call Number S671.J6 and also available through Science Direct database
- Canadian Biosystems Engineering - LC Call Number S671.C36 and also available through EbscoHost EJS database
- Farm Industry News - Available through LexisNexis Academic database or Business Source Complete database
- Journal of Biomechanics - Available through Science Direct database or in print at the Veterinary Medicine Library
- Journal of Bioscience and Bioengineering - Available through Science Direct database
- IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Engineering - LC Call Number R895.A1 I25 and also available through IEEE Xplore database
- Encyclopedia of Agricultural, Food, and Biological Engineering - LC Call Number TP368.2.E57 2003 - Located in Middleton Reference
- CIGR Handbook of Agricultural Engineering - LC Call Number S675.C54 1999 V.1-V.5
- CRC Handbook of Engineering in Agriculture - LC Call Number S675.C73 1988 V.1-V.5
- Biochemical Engineering and Biotechnology Handbook - LC Call Number TP248.3.A853 1983
Instructional Technologies / Engineering Librarian
Most of these books and journals are on the fourth floor of Middleton Library.