Database List By Subject: Political Science

Databases
By Title:
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPRSTUVWZNumAll

Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of more than 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals. Academic Search Complete is updated daily and available via EBSCOhost.
Access World News
"The most comprehensive collection of full-text newspapers globally, Access World News provides extensive coverage at any level—local, state, regional, national and international. This fully searchable Web-based resource features the vast majority of the top U.S. newspapers by circulation, along with hundreds of hard-to-find local and regional titles, most of which are unavailable elsewhere. Additionally, Access World News offers hundreds of international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages." (Newsbank)
Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals
Subject index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals. The Index contains citations since 1990 and is updated quarterly as the hard copy version of the AULIMP is released.

American Civil War Online
According to Alexander Street Press, "The American Civil War Online is a diverse collection of searchable databases designed to promote the creative study of all aspects of the Civil War. Equally useful for teaching and research, the resource offers a range of contemporary perspectives on the war and American society. In addition to letters, diaries, posters, photographs, and cartoons, The American Civil War Online includes a wealth of compiled data on soldiers, regiments, and battles. Combined with the extensive personal and journalistic accounts, this statistical information completes the picture of America during a time of unparalleled national crisis."

The Collections includes four databases:

 


American FactFinder (1990 and 2000 Census of Population and Housing)
Includes the 1990 and 2000 Census of Population and Housing.
American State Papers
The more than 50,000 maps in the U.S. Congressional Serial Set range from the great atlases to small individual maps clarifying very specific land questions, to the great triangulation surveys, to the repetitive but for the meteorologist important weekly weather maps, to the maps that made history as well as the maps of past history and of course to the purely serendipitous, or so it would seem, maps found in the Serial Set.

Since some maps lack titles and many are not listed in the introductory matter of the Reports and Documents, which they accompany, they have been difficult to research - especially since all the subjects depicted on a map may not have merited indexing in the index coverage of the whole Report or Document. Readex has created this additional search module to focus searches on maps themselves - the geographic areas they depict, the subjects they represent, their titles, and the names associated with the maps either as cartographers, explorers, or in some other capacity.
Annual Reviews
Since 1932, Annual Reviews has offered comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 32 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.

Annual Reviews is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to provide the worldwide scientific community with a useful and intelligent synthesis of the primary research literature for a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in scientific literature as indexed by the Institute for Scientific Information's Journal Citation Report. Each year, Annual Reviews critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide you to the principal contributions of the field and help you keep up to date in your area of research.
Biography in Context
The Biography in Context (formerly Biography Resource Center) is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more than 185,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It contains approximately 250,000 biographies and full-text articles from nearly 250 periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search path.
Black Thought and Culture
Black Thought and Culture will provide approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art. The collection begins with the works of Frederick Douglass and is targeted to include the works of W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, Booker T. Washington, Marcus Garvey, Langston Hughes, Richard Wright, Ralph Ellison, Ralph Bunche, Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Jr., Angela Davis, Houston Baker, Jesse Jackson, Ida B. Wells, Bobby Seale, and many others.

Black Thought and Culture is intended to present a wide range of previously inaccessible material, including letters by athletes such as Jackie Robinson, correspondence by Ida B. Wells, prefatory essays by Amiri Baraka, political leaflets by Huey Newton, and interviews with Paul Robeson. Much of the material is fugitive, and almost twenty percent of the collection has not been published previously.
Book Collection: Nonfiction
Book Collection:Nonfiction is a rich research database for school and public libraries, and includes general interest, high interest, leveled full text articles on civics, social studies, science, careers, health, sports, adventure, hobbies, technology, biographies and much more. This database contains informative abstracts and full text for more than 2,100 popular nonfiction books.

C19: Nineteenth Century Index
C19 Index is the bibliographic spine of 19th century research, providing integrated access to the most important finding aids for books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers and archives. Users of C19 Index can query its 12 collections simultaneously, or can conduct more detailed research using collection specific search screens. C19 Index is a dynamic and growing resource, currently containing over 20 million bibliographic records for a full range of 19th century source material. The links below provide more detail on the 12 collections available in C19 Index.

C19 Index draws on 12 collections:
  • American Periodicals Series
  • Archive Finder
  • British Periodicals
  • Dictionary of Nineteenth Century Journalism
  • House of Commons Parlimentary Papers
  • The Nineteenth Century
  • Nineteenth-Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC)
  • Palmer's Index to the Times
  • Periodicals Index Online / Periodicals Archive Online (formerly Periodicals Contents Index (PCI) and PCI Full Text)
  • Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
  • The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900
  • the U.S. Congressional Serial Set

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
The Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance is a government-wide compendium of Federal programs, projects, services, and activities which provide assistance or benefits to the American public. It contains financial and nonfinancial assistance programs administered by departments and establishments of the Federal government.

CCH Tax Research
This service provides information on federal tax, state tax, business entity planning, financial and estate planning, securities, federal banking law, capital changes, documents in the federal tax library, and government contracts from 1971 to the present.

Census DVD Research
Note: Available in Government Documents/Microforms, Middleton Basement, Room 53. Ask for assistance at Government Documents/Microforms Service Desk and see Library’s main informational pages for hours.
This database includes CDs and DVDs with census datasets for complete historical analysis: Neighborhood Change Database, 1990 Long Form in 2000 Boundaries, 1980 in 2000 Boundaries, CensusCD 1990 Blocks, Census Reference Package (1970, 1980, and 1990 Long Form products), Census 2000 Package (Long Form, Short Form, Redistricting, Blocks).
Census of Agriculture 1992/1997/2002
Provides data on number of farms, land in farms, land use, irrigation, crops, livestock, poultry, value of farm products sold, hired farm labor, injuries and deaths, direct sales for human consumption, production expenses, and operator characteristics. The CD-ROM version of the study of the United States' production agriculture taken every five years at the national, state and county level.

Congressional Hearings (see ProQuest Congressional Hearings)
The ProQuest Congressional Hearings Digital Collection includes full transcripts of the proceedings, including all oral statements, committee questions, and discussion. Also included are the texts of related reports, statistical analyses, correspondence, exhibits, and articles presented by witnesses or inserted into the record by committee members and staff. NOTE: Use Advanced Search to select only the Hearings.
County and City Data Book
Provides data on counties, cities of 5000 or more, and towns and places of over 2500, including extensive data from the 1990 Census. Coverage includes land area, population, households, vital statistics, labor force, education, crime, and for cities, form of government.
County Business Patterns
Compiles data on numbers of employees, payroll, and numbers of establishments for major industries in the United States, on federal, state, and county levels.

CQ Press
Created and hosted by CQ Press, the CQ Press Electronic Library (CQEL) is the definitive reference resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. A wealth of CQ Press resources and years of journalistic and editorial expertise are combined in this indispensable reference collection. These reference products offer researchers—whether students, scholars, professionals, or interested citizens—a range of tools for discovering and understanding CQ Press's authoritative content.

CQ Researcher Plus Archive
The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports, each around 12,000 words, produced each year. The reports include a pro-con feature, a chronology, bibliographies and a list of contacts.
CQ Weekly
Each issue of CQ Weekly - in your stacks or fully archived to 1983 on the Web - looks forward and back. Your readers get in-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon, plus a complete wrap up the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes. Just as important, CQ Weekly is written in plain-English prose that makes it easy for people "outside the beltway" to understand complex legislation, and its ramifications, just as well as any Washington insider. Simply put, no matter what legislative issue your readers follow or research, CQ Weekly is the one source that can be relied on to cover it, to make it simple to understand, and to do so in a manner that is even-handed and accurate. CQ Weekly Online includes an archive dating back to 1983 and access by IP authentication. Search by topic, page number, committee, "exact phrases or words," bill number, byline or reporter and by Boolean full-text and date searches. Detailed floor votes dating back to August 1983 are easily retrieved.

Data.gov
The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Although the initial launch of Data.gov provides a limited portion of the rich variety of Federal datasets presently available, we invite you to actively participate in shaping the future of Data.gov by suggesting additional datasets and site enhancements to provide seamless access and use of your Federal data. Visit today with us, but come back often. With your help, Data.gov will continue to grow and change in the weeks, months, and years ahead.

Directory of Open Access Journals
The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.

The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. In short, a one stop shop for users to Open Access Journals.
Discovery
Discovery (short for EBSCO Discovery Service) searches across the LSU Libraries’ catalog and many of its databases and online resources so that customers will have a one-stop search engine that returns high quality content in books, journals, archives, and databases.
  • Click for Complete List
    • LSU Libraries’ online catalog
    • Abstract in Social Gerontology
    • Academic Search Complete
    • Accessible Archives
    • AGRIS
    • Alexander Street Press
    • Alt HealthWatch
    • America: History and Life with Full Text
    • American National Biography Online
    • Anthropology Plus
    • Aphasiology Archive
    • Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective: 1913-1983 (H.W. Wilson)
    • Archive of European Integration
    • Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
    • Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)
    • Arts & Humanities Citation Index
    • arXiv
    • ATLA Religion Database
    • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
    • Biological Abstracts
    • Biological Abstracts 1969 - Present
    • BioOne Online Journals
    • Book Collection: Nonfiction
    • Business Source Complete
    • CINAHL Complete
    • Communication & Mass Media Complete
    • Computer Source
    • Credo Reference Collections
    • Directory of Open Access Journals
    • eArticle
    • eBook Collection (EBSCOhost )
    • EconLit
    • Economía y Negocios
    • Educational Administration Abstracts
    • Environment Index
    • ERIC
    • Essay and General Literature Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)
    • European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
    • Family Studies Abstracts
    • Fuente Académica
    • Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
    • GeoRef
    • GeoRef In Process
    • Government Printing Office Catalog
    • GreenFILE
    • Grove Art Online
    • Grove Music Online
    • HathiTrust
    • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
    • HeinOnline
    • History Reference Center
    • Hospitality & Tourism Index
    • Human Resources Abstracts
    • Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson)
    • Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
    • Index to Printed Music
    • Industry Studies Working Papers
    • Information Science & Technology Abstracts (ISTA)
    • JSTOR Journals
    • Legal Collection
    • Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
    • Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective: 1905-1983 (H.W. Wilson)
    • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
    • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text
    • Literary Reference Center
    • Literature Resource Center (Gale)
    • LGBT Life with Full Text
    • MAS Ultra - School Edition
    • MedicLatina
    • MEDLINE
    • Mental Measurements Yearbook
    • Military & Government Collection
    • Minority Health Archive
    • MLA Directory of Periodicals
    • MLA International Bibliography
    • Music Index
    • Naxos Music Library
    • New Testament Abstracts
    • NewsBank
    • NewsBank - Archives
    • Newspaper Source
    • Newswires
    • OAIster
    • OAPEN Library
    • Old Testament Abstracts
    • Oxford Handbooks Online
    • Peace Research Abstracts
    • Philosopher's Index
    • PhilSci Archive
    • Primary Search
    • Professional Development Collection
    • Project Muse
    • PsycARTICLES
    • PsycARTICLES
    • PsycBOOKS
    • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
    • PsycINFO
    • Public Administration Abstracts
    • Publisher Provided Full Text Searching File
    • Race Relations Abstracts
    • Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson)
    • Regional Business News
    • Religion and Philosophy Collection
    • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
    • RIPM - Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals
    • RISM Series A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600
    • Science & Technology Collection
    • ScienceDirect
    • Shock & Vibration Digest
    • SocINDEX with Full Text
    • SPORTDiscus with Full Text
    • Supplemental Index
    • Sustainability Watch
    • Teacher Reference Center
    • Textile Technology Complete
    • Urban Studies Abstracts
    • Vente et Gestion
    • Violence & Abuse Abstracts
    • Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
Discovery also searches other Louisiana libraries. By default, LSU is searched. To search more, go to Advanced Search and change the "Location" option to "all" to search other Louisiana academic libraries.
Dissertation Abstracts
Contains citations to 1.2 million dissertations and masters theses. Coverage begins in 1861, with abstracts available since 1980, and thesis abstracts since 1988.

Use PAWS ID and password for Endnotes Help

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) is a collection of reference, scholarly, and professional e-books (full text electronic books) from university and commercial presses, covering a variety of disciplines.
EBSCO Electronic Journals Service
EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service (EJS) is a gateway to thousands of e-journals containing millions of articles from hundreds of different publishers, all at one web site.
Electronic Thesis and Dissertation Library
Note: Access to electronic theses and dissertations is usually unrestricted. Some titles may be limited to the LSU campus or have other access restrictions.
Online versions of various theses and dissertations from LSU graduate students.

Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to access them.

Energy Citations Databases
This database contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC).

ERIC Abstracts (Education Resources Information Center)
ERIC, sponsored by the US Department of Education, consists of two files: Resources in Education, covering the document literature, (research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books), and Current Index to Journals in Education, covering published journal literature from over 775 periodicals.

Covers educational research and resources, including career, adult, vocational, technical, and teacher education; education of the handicapped, disadvantaged, and the gifted; early childhood education, junior colleges and higher education; reading and communications skills; languages and linguistics; education management; counseling and personnel services; library and information science; information resources.

Free Web Access
Essay and General Literature Index Retrospective
Covering 1900 - 1984, this database indexes more than 249,000 essays included in this collection, it indexes single and multi-author collections, plus selected annuals and serials. It includes publications from the United States, Canada and Great Britain, covering eight decades of 20th Century literature.
ETDEWEB
ETDEWEB includes information on the environmental impact of energy production and use, including climate change; energy R&D; energy policy; nuclear, coal, hydrocarbon and renewable energy technologies and more.

Includes over 953,500 bibliographic records with more than 4.4 million downloadable full text.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
A bibliographic database of more than 32,000 entries, providing a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750, this database is the result of a cooperation between EBSCO Publishing and the John Carter Brown Library. The database is created from "European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750," and is available to LSU free from EBSCO.

Export.gov
Export.gov brings together resources from across the U.S. Government to assist American businesses in planning their international sales strategies and succeed in today’s global marketplace.

What can Market Access and Compliance (MAC) do to help my business?

After you contact our Trade Compliance Center or the country desk in one of our regional offices, MAC will evaluate whether the problem is a market access issue or a compliance problem with an existing trade agreement. MAC will establish a team of experts on the country, the industry, the trade agreement, and other needed areas. The team will review all possible options to resolve the problem and then work through each tactic towards a solution.

What is the difference between market access and compliance?

Market Access – U.S. exporters sometimes encounter trade barriers. For instance, a country may only allow products to enter the most inconvenient port or a country may treat imported goods differently than domestic goods. MAC receives calls from businesses, associations and international U.S. commercial offices, and we then map out a plan to solve the problem.

Compliance – The United States is a party in over 250 trade agreements. But trade agreements are only paper unless foreign governments comply with their obligations. MAC addresses compliance problems quickly and aggressively. Once a problem is identified, we organize a team to outline and implement a solution.

What are some common trade problems MAC can help U.S. businesses overcome?

MAC provides help with the following common trade problems through the Trade Compliance Center:

  • Tariff and customs barriers
  • Service barriers
  • Standards, testing, labeling, or certification barriers
  • Rules of origin
  • Government procurement contract barriers
  • Intellectual property protection problems
  • Excessive government requirements
  • Excessive testing or licensing fees
  • Bribery
  • Investment

FDsys
Provides online access to the U.S. Government Printing Office. This service was mandated by Public Law 103-40 (June 8, 1993), "The Government Printing Office Electronic Information Access Enhancement Act of 1993," to make the Federal Register and other Congressional information available to the public.

Filmakers Library Online
Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service
Created by Presidential directive during World War II and at first placed under the Federal Communications Commission in 1941, the Foreign Broadcast Information Service [it has had several different names during its long history], was later transferred to the War Department, and then to the Central Intelligence Agency in 1947, where it has resided until today.

The original mission of FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. These translations, or transcriptions in the case of English language materials, make up the Daily Reports.

These texts, and their subsequent analysis, have benefited the U.S. intelligence community for almost the past 60 years. Translated into English from more than 50 languages - from Amharic to Urdu - these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches, editorial commentary and other materials.

Fuente Academica
Fuente Academica is a unique collection of scholarly journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This multi-disciplinary database offers full text content to many academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology.

Fuente Academica provides full text (including PDF) for more than 200 scholarly Spanish language journals. Content is provided in Spanish from respected publishers worldwide, including Revista de Arquitectura, Estudios Sobre Educacion, Revista de Estudios Hispanicos, Comunicacion y Sociedad, Revista de Ciencia Politica, and Revista Historia.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
Government Periodicals Index
Bibliographic information of articles published in government periodicals. Citations will include the journal and article title, issuing agency, publication date, volume number, and pages.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Provides a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion.

HarpWeek (Harper's Weekly)
Contains the full-text of Harper's Weekly during the Civil War era (1857-1865) and access to HarpWeek Reconstruction I (1866 - 1871). The HarpWeek Database consists of the pages of Harper's Weekly, scanned as images, together with a series of controlled-vocabulary indexes, which are interactively linked.

Historical Chicago Defender
As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ program, the Chicago Defender offers primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Covering the years 1909-1975, the Chicago Defender includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.

Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective
A wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907—in the convenient electronic format users prefer! Coverage also includes content from H.W. Wilson’s International Index. Combine this valuable resource with other Wilson databases such as Humanities Full Text and/or Social Sciences Full Text for a century of research in hundreds of journals. With its astounding breadth and depth, Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 makes important periodicals in your library’s collection more accessible—and valuable—to research
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines: Important and Rare Periodicals from Confederate, Union, Abolitionist, and British Presses database contains 65,000 pages drawn from 49 periodicals, including 15 campaign newspapers, most of them illustrated 3,720 issues published from 1860 to 1865. Originally printed in 16 different cities, many of the publications are now rare and hard to find, with an item sometimes extant only in a single archive. Carefully sought out and compiled from 17 different museum, library, and private collections, including those of the American Antiquarian Society and the Chicago Historical Society. Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines is currently offered on the HarpWeek platform, which was specially designed for this kind of content, allowing the user to view re-keyed tables of contents, full page images, or browsable thumbnails.
Index to American Periodicals 1700 - 1850
Two "Indexes to Early American Periodicals," covering the time periods from 1741 to 1850 and thought to include all known periodical publications that had their inception and ending during this time periods.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, produced by The American Association of Law Libraries, provides access to legal literature worldwide, covering all forms of foreign (non-Anglo-American) law. This includes comparative law and legal systems, such as Islamic law; socialist law; public and private international law; and transnational commercial law. The data is not limited by country of publication, but rather type of publication. Thus, while publications concerning British and American law are not included, British and American publications concerning foreign law are included. The types of documents covered include journal articles, congress reports, essay collections, yearbooks, and book reviews. The database encompasses all languages. Materials in Greek, Cyrillic, and East Asian vernacular are Romanized according to Library of Congress standards. Arabic and Hebrew titles are translated into English or French.

iPoll
iPOLL is a one-stop comprehensive source for polling data. It includes, every major US survey firm – over 150 organizations; Academic, commercial, and media polls; More than one-half million questions and answers; Opinions and behaviors; Topical coverage from crime to politics to diplomacy to social behavior; 1935 to yesterday; Question-level retrieval with links to full results; and Links from questions to study abstracts and questionnaires.

JSTOR
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization and a shared digital library archive of critical scholarly journal literature.

Louisiana State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
  • Arts & Sciences Collections I-XI
  • Ireland Archive Collection
  • Life Sciences Collection
  • University of California Press Collection
  • University of Chicago Press Collection

Law Practice of Abraham Lincoln, The
Note: CD-ROM Available at the Middleton Library Research Desk
This database fills the last large gap in documenting the life of Abraham Lincoln: his quarter-century career as a general practice attorney in Illinois. This DVD edition combines an enormous corpus of digitized documentary images with a custom-designed database, a comprehensive index, and an array of reference and background sections. For each case a narrative summary is provided, along with subject entries and information about the various court levels in which it was tried.
LexisNexis Government Periodicals Index
Bibliographic information of articles published in government periodicals. Citations will include the journal and article title, issuing agency, publication date, volume number, and pages.

MEDLINE
Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, Medline contains citations and abstracts to international biomedical literature from over 3700 journals on topics including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. The database contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.

OldMedline from the NLM Gateway includes the years 1958 - 1965. The ISI/Web of Knowledge Interface contains info from 1950 to the present.
Military & Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications, 1895-1976
The Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications, 1895-1976 is a faithful digital version of the US Government Printing Office’s authorized government bibliography from 1895 to June 1976. The Federal Depository Library Program, which has been administered by the Government Printing Office (GPO) since 1895, is filled with information on careers, business opportunities, consumer information, health and nutrition, legal and regulatory information, demographics, and almost any other subject. The U.S. Government is the largest publisher in the world. Due to the huge amount of information printed by the U.S. Government, very few documents have historically been catalogued. The Monthly Catalog is the only finding aid to this vast body of literature.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
Contains bibliographic summaries of more than 150,000 publications on criminal justice, including Federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, and victims of crime, with 6,000 citations added each year through semi-annual updates.

NewsBank
This site provides access to all of LSU Libraries' NewsBank subscriptions, including the following:
  • Access World News (local, regional, national and international newspapers and news sources)
  • Archive of Americana
    • America's Historical Imprints
    • America's Historical Newspapers
      • African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
    • American State Papers, 1789-1838
    • U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994
      • Serial Set Maps
  • Foreign Broadcast INformation Service (FBIS) Daily Reports

PAIS Archive
The PAIS Archive database comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. Currently available on the CSA Illumina platform is Part I of this conversion project, containing over 850,000 records covering the years 1937-1976. Part II of the Archive will be available by Fall 2005 and will include records covering the years 1915-1936. When complete, the PAIS Archive will contain over 1 million records.

The PAIS Archive database contains references to monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics. The original historical subject headings have been retained in the file. The PAIS Archive provides historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies.

PAIS International
The PAIS International database from CSA contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.

PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
Papers of George Washington
A landmark in historical scholarship, The Papers of George Washington encompasses five separate series and the complete diaries. This digital edition offers the complete Papers to date in one online publication. You may search on full text and by date, author, or recipient across all volumes and series. The exceptional indexing of the individual print volumes is combined here into a single master index, and all internal document cross-references are linked.

Project Muse
Project Muse provides online, world wide, institutional subscription access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
ProQuest Congressional
Description: Provides access to Committee Prints & Miscellaneous Publications, Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports, and Congressional Hearings (1824-2003)

ProQuest Congressional Hearings (1824-2003)
The ProQuest Congressional Hearings Digital Collection includes full transcripts of the proceedings, including all oral statements, committee questions, and discussion. Also included are the texts of related reports, statistical analyses, correspondence, exhibits, and articles presented by witnesses or inserted into the record by committee members and staff. NOTE: Use Advanced Search to select only the Hearings.
Proquest Digital U.S. Bills and Resolutions 1789-2013
No other online database offers one place to go for the full text of ALL versions of ALL U.S. public and private bills and resolutions from 1789 – 2013. Researchers will no longer need to hunt on multiple sites or turn to print or fiche to find what they are looking for. And, the comprehensive and extensive coverage is ideal in providing the big picture for researchers in law schools, academic research libraries, and all institutions with a commitment to historic and legal research.
Proquest Government Periodicals Index
Bibliographic information of articles published in government periodicals. Citations will include the journal and article title, issuing agency, publication date, volume number, and pages.
RIA: Research Institute of America Tax Service
The RIA Tax Service contains databases which cover the following broad topics Federal Tax Issues, State Tax Issues, and International Tax Issues.

Roper Center Public Opinion Archives
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. The data held by the Roper Center range from the 1930s, when survey research was in its infancy, to the present. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented. This includes on demand access to the full datasets required to conduct bivariate and multivariate analyses on archived surveys using RoperExpress.

SimplyMap
SimplyMap is an award-winning web-based mapping application that allows people to use and interact with complex data. SimplyMap enables non-technical users to quickly create professional quality thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business and marketing data. SimplyMap turns complex data into valuable information that is easily accessed through an innovative and user-friendly interface.
Social Sciences Citation Index
Science Citation Index Expanded - This database covers the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,800 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines from 1900 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: agriculture, neuroscience, astronomy, oncology, biochemistry, pediatrics, biology, pharmacology, biotechnology, physics, chemistry, plant sciences, computer science, psychiatry, materials science, surgery, mathematics, veterinary science, medicine, and zoology.

Social Sciences Citation Index - This database covers the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines from 1956 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: anthropology, political science, history, public health, industrial relations, social issues, information science & library science, social work, law, sociology, linguistics, substance abuse, philosophy, urban studies, psychology, women's studies, and psychiatry.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index - This database indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals from 1975 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: archaeology, linguistics, architecture, literary reviews, art, literature, Asian studies, music, classics, philosophy, dance, poetry, folklore, radio, television, film, history, religion, language, and theater.

Use PAWS ID and password for Endnotes Help
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The index features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,000 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. This file also contains informative abstracts for more than 590 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as 1,040 "selective" coverage journals. Further, extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. Searchable cited references are also provided.

SocINDEX with Full Text offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.

SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 235 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 545 books and monographs, and full text for 6,601 conference papers.
Statistical Abstract (ProQuest)
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
Statistical Insight
Brings together statistical information from the Federal Government. It includes the American Statistics Index (ASI) and Abstracts beginning in 1973 and full-text to over 800 U.S. Government statistical publications beginning in 1995.
Television News Archive (Vanderbilt)
The Television News Archive collection at Vanderbilt University holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. These special reports and periodic news broadcasts cover presidential press conferences and political campaign coverage, and national and international events such as the Watergate hearings, the plight of American hostages in Iran, the Persian Gulf war, and the terrorist attack on the United States on September 11, 2001.

Video clips are only available for CNN broadcasts from 1999 to the present. Users will need to have the RealOne media player installed to view the video. A link to the free version of the player is provided on the main page of their Web site.
Thomas: Legislative Information on the Internet
Thomas includes the full text of many legislative publications such as The Congressional Record, bills and summaries, and more. A complete description is available at http://thomas.loc.gov/home/abt_thom.html

U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps
The more than 50,000 maps in the U.S. Congressional Serial Set range from the great atlases to small individual maps clarifying very specific land questions, to the great triangulation surveys, to the repetitive but for the meteorologist important weekly weather maps, to the maps that made history as well as the maps of past history and of course to the purely serendipitous, or so it would seem, maps found in the Serial Set.

Since some maps lack titles and many are not listed in the introductory matter of the Reports and Documents, which they accompany, they have been difficult to research - especially since all the subjects depicted on a map may not have merited indexing in the index coverage of the whole Report or Document. Readex has created this additional search module to focus searches on maps themselves - the geographic areas they depict, the subjects they represent, their titles, and the names associated with the maps either as cartographers, explorers, or in some other capacity.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set with American State Papers
The U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 covers not only information from the U.S. Congress, but also includes key Executive Department publications and publication series. Beginning with Volume 1 in the first session of the 15th Congress (1817), the Readex U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 contains all publications from the 15th through the 96th Congresses. Readex's digital edition of the American State Papers, 1789-1838 - which contains legislative and executive documents of the 1st through 14th Congresses - both complements the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 and is cross-searchable with it.

U.S. Exports of Merchandise
Provides data on U.S. exports of domestic and foreign merchandise, arranged by Harmonized Schedule B Commodity Code, including quantity, value, and shipping weight, by country of destination, customs district of exportation, and method of transportation, both for the current month and for the year to date. Call No.: C 3.278/3:date

U.S. Imports of Merchandise
Provides data on U.S. imports of merchandise, including net quantity, value, and shipping weight data, in terms of commodity, by country of origin, with totals for each customs district of entry and customs district of unlading, both for the current month and for the year to date. Call No.: C 3.278/2:date

U.S.A. Counties
Serves as a reference source of county information, containing over 3400 variables or items from 13 federal and private organizations.
USA Trade Online
Provides monthly information on U.S. imports and exports on over 18,000 commodities.

The Stat-USA office ceased operations on September 30, 2010 and thus, this resource is no longer available. StatUSA has provided a transitional resource at http://www.statusa.gov/. The University of Central Florida Libraries has compiled a list of resources which were used by the Department of Commerce to provide information on the STAT-USA website.  The guide is available at http://guides.ucf.edu/statusa.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
The Television News Archive collection at Vanderbilt University holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. These special reports and periodic news broadcasts cover presidential press conferences and political campaign coverage, and national and international events such as the Watergate hearings, the plight of American hostages in Iran, the Persian Gulf war, and the terrorist attack on the United States on September 11, 2001.

Video clips are only available for CNN broadcasts from 1999 to the present. Users will need to have the RealOne media player installed to view the video. A link to the free version of the player is provided on the main page of their Web site.

Databases by Title
This does not search within databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide Information
Some full text available Some Full Text
Free Trial
Open Access