Database List By Subject: Economics

Databases
By Title:
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPRSTUVWZNumAll

Anthropology Plus
As a compilation of the Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature databases, Anthropology Plus is the world’s most comprehensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
This database offers worldwide indexing of all core periodical and lesser-known journals from the early 19th century to today, providing extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, interdisciplinary studies, etc.


Business Searching Interface
The Business Searching Interface is a more powerful, more specific search engine for using the EBSCO Business Search Premier database. As the world’s largest full text business database, Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 7,800 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,125 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete provides full text from 11,200 sources, including more than 1,100 scholarly business journals. This database offers information in virtually every area of business including accounting & tax, banking, finance & insurance, construction, computer science, economics and many more. The database contains full text from international top ranking journals including, Harvard Business Review, Brookings Papers on Economic Activity , Academy of Management Review, Journal of Accounting, Auditing & Finance, Journal of Marketing Management etc.

Business Source Complete also includes publications with full text such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch, detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies as well as Bernstein's White and Black Book series with financial information.

Cambridge Histories Online
Online access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series, with access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content. Coverage includes American and British history, general history, music, religious studies, theater and performing arts, and more.
CCH Tax Research
This service provides information on federal tax, state tax, business entity planning, financial and estate planning, securities, federal banking law, capital changes, documents in the federal tax library, and government contracts from 1971 to the present.

County Business Patterns
Compiles data on numbers of employees, payroll, and numbers of establishments for major industries in the United States, on federal, state, and county levels.

Directory of Open Access Journals
The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.

The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. In short, a one stop shop for users to Open Access Journals.
Discovery
Discovery (short for EBSCO Discovery Service) searches across the LSU Libraries’ catalog and many of its databases and online resources so that customers will have a one-stop search engine that returns high quality content in books, journals, archives, and databases.
  • Click for Complete List
    • LSU Libraries’ online catalog
    • Abstract in Social Gerontology
    • Academic Search Complete
    • Accessible Archives
    • AGRIS
    • Alexander Street Press
    • Alt HealthWatch
    • America: History and Life with Full Text
    • American National Biography Online
    • Anthropology Plus
    • Aphasiology Archive
    • Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective: 1913-1983 (H.W. Wilson)
    • Archive of European Integration
    • Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
    • Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)
    • Arts & Humanities Citation Index
    • arXiv
    • ATLA Religion Database
    • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
    • Biological Abstracts
    • Biological Abstracts 1969 - Present
    • BioOne Online Journals
    • Book Collection: Nonfiction
    • Business Source Complete
    • CINAHL Complete
    • Communication & Mass Media Complete
    • Computer Source
    • Credo Reference Collections
    • Directory of Open Access Journals
    • eArticle
    • eBook Collection (EBSCOhost )
    • EconLit
    • Educational Administration Abstracts
    • Environment Index
    • ERIC
    • Essay and General Literature Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)
    • European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
    • Family Studies Abstracts
    • Fuente Académica
    • Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
    • GeoRef
    • GeoRef In Process
    • Government Printing Office Catalog
    • GreenFILE
    • Grove Art Online
    • Grove Music Online
    • HathiTrust
    • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
    • HeinOnline
    • History Reference Center
    • Hospitality & Tourism Index
    • Human Resources Abstracts
    • Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson)
    • Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
    • Index to Printed Music
    • Industry Studies Working Papers
    • Information Science & Technology Abstracts (ISTA)
    • JSTOR Journals
    • Legal Collection
    • Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
    • Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective: 1905-1983 (H.W. Wilson)
    • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
    • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text
    • Literary Reference Center
    • Literature Resource Center (Gale)
    • LGBT Life with Full Text
    • MAS Ultra - School Edition
    • MedicLatina
    • MEDLINE
    • Mental Measurements Yearbook
    • Military & Government Collection
    • Minority Health Archive
    • MLA Directory of Periodicals
    • MLA International Bibliography
    • Music Index
    • Naxos Music Library
    • New Testament Abstracts
    • NewsBank
    • NewsBank - Archives
    • Newspaper Source
    • Newswires
    • OAIster
    • OAPEN Library
    • Old Testament Abstracts
    • Oxford Handbooks Online
    • Peace Research Abstracts
    • Philosopher's Index
    • PhilSci Archive
    • Primary Search
    • Professional Development Collection
    • Project Muse
    • PsycARTICLES
    • PsycARTICLES
    • PsycBOOKS
    • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
    • PsycINFO
    • Public Administration Abstracts
    • Publisher Provided Full Text Searching File
    • Race Relations Abstracts
    • Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson)
    • Regional Business News
    • Religion and Philosophy Collection
    • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
    • RIPM - Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals
    • RISM Series A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600
    • Science & Technology Collection
    • ScienceDirect
    • Shock & Vibration Digest
    • SocINDEX with Full Text
    • SPORTDiscus with Full Text
    • Supplemental Index
    • Sustainability Watch
    • Teacher Reference Center
    • Textile Technology Complete
    • Urban Studies Abstracts
    • Vente et Gestion
    • Violence & Abuse Abstracts
    • Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
Discovery also searches other Louisiana libraries. By default, LSU is searched. To search more, go to Advanced Search and change the "Location" option to "all" to search other Louisiana academic libraries.
Dissertations & Theses Abstracts
Contains citations to 1.2 million dissertations and masters theses. Coverage begins in 1861, with abstracts available since 1980, and thesis abstracts since 1988.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) is a collection of reference, scholarly, and professional e-books (full text electronic books) from university and commercial presses, covering a variety of disciplines.
EBSCO Electronic Journals Service
EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service (EJS) is a gateway to thousands of e-journals containing millions of articles from hundreds of different publishers, all at one web site.
Econlit
Contains citations since 1969, with selected abstracts since 1987, of world economic literature from 400 major journals, essays, proceedings, books, reviews, dissertations and working papers. It is produced by the American Economic Association.

Electronic Thesis and Dissertation Library
Note: Access to electronic theses and dissertations is usually unrestricted. Some titles may be limited to the LSU campus or have other access restrictions.
Online versions of various theses and dissertations from LSU graduate students.

Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to access them.
French Business Source
French Business Source provides full text coverage for French language business journals serving both, the academic and the professional researcher. Economic and business topics included in this database are: Accounting & Tax, Administration, Industry & Manufacturing, Marketing, Logistics, Technology and others.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
GreenFILE
GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.

Non-LSU Affiliates may click here to access GreenFILE Abstracts for free.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization and a shared digital library archive of critical scholarly journal literature.

Louisiana State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
  • Arts & Sciences Collections I-XI
  • Ireland Archive Collection
  • Life Sciences Collection
  • University of California Press Collection
  • University of Chicago Press Collection

Mergent Online
Mergent Online delivers a comprehensive suite of authoritative financial information with the accuracy, timeliness and transparency required in today’s marketplace. The database contains:

U.S. Company Data
An Internet-accessible subscription service covering 10,000 public companies and their SEC filings.

International Company Data
More companies from more countries than any other international database, with global searching across databases.

U.S. Annual Reports
Easy-to-access current and historical annual reports on 10,000 U.S. public companies, all in PDF image format that provides faster download and allows viewing the document.

International Annual Reports
Hard-to-get, timely annual reports on all companies in our International Company Data database, available in PDF image formats.
NBER Working Papers
NBER researchers initially report their findings in scientific papers aimed at other professional economists in academic institutions, business, government, and the business media around the world. Nearly 700 NBER Working Papers are published each year, and many subsequently appear in scholarly journals.

Newspaper Source
The Newspaper Source database provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, The New York Daily News, The San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc.
NTIS (National Technical Information Service)
The National Technical Information Service (NTIS) is the nation's largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today. As part of the U.S. Department of Commerce, NTIS supports the nation's economic growth by providing access to information that stimulates innovation and discovery. The main NTIS website allows for searching but does not provide free access to full-text documents.
OECD
Contains the full text of all Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) studies and reports from both serial and monographic publications, as well as time series databases. Arranged under 19 thematic areas covering issues in agriculture, business, development, economics, education, environment, finance, governance, investment, social sciences, and statistics.

Periodical titles include: OECD Economic Outlook (and OECD Economic Surveys ), OECD Factbook - Statistical Yearbook Providing Coverage of 100 Key Variables, Main Economic Outlook, Monthly Statistics of International Trade, National Accounts Database, Quarterly Labour Force Statistics, Society at a Glance - compares social indicators across OECD countries, and STAN Industrial Data - covers a wide range of industry- and aggregate-level indicators of industrial structure and the evolution of performance (e.g. import penetration, investment per employee, export market shares). Updated weekly.
Picayune
Access World News: Research Collection features thousands of U.S. and global news sources, most available online exclusively through NewsBank. Designed in collaboration with academic librarians, this primary resource solution supports a wide range of academic disciplines, including political science, journalism, English, history, environmental studies, sociology, economics, education, business, social sciences and more.

Project Muse
Project Muse provides online, world wide, institutional subscription access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Regional Business News
Regional Business News incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.

Regional Economic Accounts
The Regional Economic Accounts database provides local area economic data for states, counties, and metropolitan areas for 1969-1998. Statistics in the data base include: personal income and earning variables, full and part employment variables, transfer payments variables, and farm income and expenses variables. The Regional Economic Accounts database is produced by the Bureau of Economic Analysis.

CD-ROM also available at the Middleton Library Reference Desk 1999 - 1997

SimplyMap
SimplyMap is an award-winning web-based mapping application that allows people to use and interact with complex data. SimplyMap enables non-technical users to quickly create professional quality thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business and marketing data. SimplyMap turns complex data into valuable information that is easily accessed through an innovative and user-friendly interface.
SpringerLink
The Springer database offers full-text searching through Springer’s entire electronic output, including Journals, Books, Book Series, eReference books, and Protocols. Subject areas include engineering, science, humanities, business etc. Most full-text content is accessible to LSU patrons, with a few exceptions, most notable being the Protocols.
Statistical Abstract (ProQuest)
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
U.S.A. Counties
Serves as a reference source of county information, containing over 3400 variables or items from 13 federal and private organizations.
WDI Online (World Development Indicators)
World Development Indicators Online (WDI) provides direct access to more than 700 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2006, where data are available (see WDI data availability query).
WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)
Note: This database is restricted to LSU phD students, faculty, and research staff who set up an account through the WRDS website OR The Middleton Library Research Desk side computers. Please see the Middleton Reference Desk for more information.
WRDS provides financial, accounting, economic, management, marketing, banking, and insurance data.

Louisiana State University's subscription to WRDS includes: COMPUSTAT Global & EMDB, COMPUSTAT North America, CRSP, EVENTUS, Global Insight (formerly DRI), I/B/E/S, Bank Regulatory, Blockholders, Dow Jones Averages, Fama French, FDIC, Federal Reserve Bank Reports, Penn World Table, PHLX, and SEC Disclosure of Order Execution.
Databases by Title
This does not search within databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide Information
Some full text available Some Full Text
Free Trial
Open Access