On a mobile device?

View the LSU Libraries Mobile Website at
http://www.lib.lsu.edu/m/

Databases
By Title:
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPRSTUVWZNumAll

American Institute of Physics
Note: Because of licensing restrictions, this database is limited to the LSU campus.
Provides full text access to eighty-seven journals published by the American Institute of Physics.
Aquinas: Collected Works (Past Masters)
St. Thomas Aquinas database which contains virtually all translations of St. Thomas Aquinas. The only work translated and published through ordinary channels which we know to be missing is the Catena Aurea (translated by Peter Newman in the mid-19th century). We learned of this translation too late to include it in this first installment. We do include here the Sunday Sermons of the Great Fathers, which contains a substantial portion of the Catena Aurea. In the next installment we will be including the Newman translation, a substantial number of new translations, other commentators of St. Thomas, and (we hope) the Latin of St. Thomas.

Aristotle: Complete Works (Past Masters)
The Complete Works of Aristotle, (mostly) translated by Benjamin Jowett.
Black Thought and Culture
Black Thought and Culture will provide approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art. The collection begins with the works of Frederick Douglass and is targeted to include the works of W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, Booker T. Washington, Marcus Garvey, Langston Hughes, Richard Wright, Ralph Ellison, Ralph Bunche, Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Jr., Angela Davis, Houston Baker, Jesse Jackson, Ida B. Wells, Bobby Seale, and many others.

Black Thought and Culture is intended to present a wide range of previously inaccessible material, including letters by athletes such as Jackie Robinson, correspondence by Ida B. Wells, prefatory essays by Amiri Baraka, political leaflets by Huey Newton, and interviews with Paul Robeson. Much of the material is fugitive, and almost twenty percent of the collection has not been published previously.
CAJ: China Academic Journals
CAJ is the most comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese journals in the world. It comprises ten Series databases; of these, LSU Libraries provides access to Series F: Literature/History/Philosophy.
Directory of Open Access Journals
The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.

The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. In short, a one stop shop for users to Open Access Journals.
Discovery
Discovery (short for EBSCO Discovery Service) searches across the LSU Libraries’ catalog and many of its databases and online resources so that customers will have a one-stop search engine that returns high quality content in books, journals, archives, and databases.
  • Click for Complete List
    • LSU Libraries’ online catalog
    • Abstract in Social Gerontology
    • Academic Search Complete
    • Accessible Archives
    • AGRIS
    • Alexander Street Press
    • Alt HealthWatch
    • America: History and Life with Full Text
    • American National Biography Online
    • Anthropology Plus
    • Aphasiology Archive
    • Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective: 1913-1983 (H.W. Wilson)
    • Archive of European Integration
    • Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
    • Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)
    • Arts & Humanities Citation Index
    • arXiv
    • ATLA Religion Database
    • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
    • Biological Abstracts
    • Biological Abstracts 1969 - Present
    • BioOne Online Journals
    • Book Collection: Nonfiction
    • Business Source Complete
    • CINAHL Complete
    • Communication & Mass Media Complete
    • Computer Source
    • Credo Reference Collections
    • Directory of Open Access Journals
    • eArticle
    • eBook Collection (EBSCOhost )
    • EconLit
    • Economía y Negocios
    • Educational Administration Abstracts
    • Environment Index
    • ERIC
    • Essay and General Literature Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)
    • European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
    • Family Studies Abstracts
    • Fuente Académica
    • Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
    • GeoRef
    • GeoRef In Process
    • Government Printing Office Catalog
    • GreenFILE
    • Grove Art Online
    • Grove Music Online
    • HathiTrust
    • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
    • HeinOnline
    • History Reference Center
    • Hospitality & Tourism Index
    • Human Resources Abstracts
    • Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson)
    • Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
    • Index to Printed Music
    • Industry Studies Working Papers
    • Information Science & Technology Abstracts (ISTA)
    • JSTOR Journals
    • Legal Collection
    • Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
    • Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective: 1905-1983 (H.W. Wilson)
    • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
    • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text
    • Literary Reference Center
    • Literature Resource Center (Gale)
    • MAS Ultra - School Edition
    • MedicLatina
    • MEDLINE
    • Mental Measurements Yearbook
    • Military & Government Collection
    • Minority Health Archive
    • MLA Directory of Periodicals
    • MLA International Bibliography
    • Music Index
    • Naxos Music Library
    • New Testament Abstracts
    • NewsBank
    • NewsBank - Archives
    • Newspaper Source
    • Newswires
    • OAIster
    • OAPEN Library
    • Old Testament Abstracts
    • Oxford Handbooks Online
    • Peace Research Abstracts
    • Philosopher's Index
    • PhilSci Archive
    • Primary Search
    • Professional Development Collection
    • Project Muse
    • PsycARTICLES
    • PsycARTICLES
    • PsycBOOKS
    • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
    • PsycINFO
    • Public Administration Abstracts
    • Publisher Provided Full Text Searching File
    • Race Relations Abstracts
    • Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson)
    • Regional Business News
    • Religion and Philosophy Collection
    • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
    • RIPM - Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals
    • RISM Series A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600
    • Science & Technology Collection
    • ScienceDirect
    • Shock & Vibration Digest
    • SocINDEX with Full Text
    • SPORTDiscus with Full Text
    • Supplemental Index
    • Sustainability Watch
    • Teacher Reference Center
    • Textile Technology Complete
    • Urban Studies Abstracts
    • Vente et Gestion
    • Violence & Abuse Abstracts
    • Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
Discovery also searches other Louisiana libraries. By default, LSU is searched. To search more, go to Advanced Search and change the "Location" option to "all" to search other Louisiana academic libraries.
Dissertation Abstracts
Contains citations to 1.2 million dissertations and masters theses. Coverage begins in 1861, with abstracts available since 1980, and thesis abstracts since 1988.

Use PAWS ID and password for Endnotes Help

e-Duke Scholarly Collection
Duke University Press publishes and distributes more than thirty periodicals that span a stimulating range of disciplines within the humanities and sciences--from East Asian cultural studies to French history, from lesbian and gay studies to mathematics and the history of economic thought, from feminism, culture and media studies to medieval and early modern studies. The e-Duke Scholarly Collection includes online access to twenty-nine Duke humanities and social science journals.

Early American Imprints Series 1: Evans 1639 - 1800
Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800) has been hailed as one of the most important collections ever produced on microform. Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography, the collection was first published by Readex in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society (AAS).

For decades, the collection has served as a foundation set for research involving early American history, literature, philosophy, religion, and more. Series I. Evans is the definitive resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable.

Continuing their long-term relationship, Readex and the AAS are now undertaking a massive project to digitize the entire Evans collection. Evans Digital Edition will include every item previously produced on microform plus more than1,200 additional works located, catalogued and digitized since completion of the earlier effort.

By searching ASCII text associated with images, researchers enjoy unprecedented power to locate relevant material. Bibliographic records created by the AAS are integrated into the database as well, providing additional access points. Upon completion, Evans Digital will consist of more than 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images.
Early American Imprints Series 2: Shaw-Shoemaker 1801 - 1819
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 provides a comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century. It is based on the noted -American Bibliography, 1801-1819- by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. With more than four million pages from over 36,000 items - including 1,000 catalogued new items unavailable in previous microform editions-this digital edition from Readex is an essential complement to Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800, the definitive resource for researching 17th- and 18th-century America.

Early English Books Online
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this collection now contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Libraries possessing this collection find they are able to fulfill the most exhaustive research requirements of graduate scholars - from their desktop! - in many subject areas, including: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) is a collection of reference, scholarly, and professional e-books (full text electronic books) from university and commercial presses, covering a variety of disciplines.
EBSCO Electronic Journals Service
EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service (EJS) is a gateway to thousands of e-journals containing millions of articles from hundreds of different publishers, all at one web site.
Electronic Thesis and Dissertation Library
Note: Access to electronic theses and dissertations is usually unrestricted. Some titles may be limited to the LSU campus or have other access restrictions.
Online versions of various theses and dissertations from LSU graduate students.

Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to access them.

Evans Digital Edition, Early American Imprints Series 1: 1639 - 1800
Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800) has been hailed as one of the most important collections ever produced on microform. Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography, the collection was first published by Readex in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society (AAS).

For decades, the collection has served as a foundation set for research involving early American history, literature, philosophy, religion, and more. Series I. Evans is the definitive resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable.

Continuing their long-term relationship, Readex and the AAS are now undertaking a massive project to digitize the entire Evans collection. Evans Digital Edition will include every item previously produced on microform plus more than1,200 additional works located, catalogued and digitized since completion of the earlier effort.

By searching ASCII text associated with images, researchers enjoy unprecedented power to locate relevant material. Bibliographic records created by the AAS are integrated into the database as well, providing additional access points. Upon completion, Evans Digital will consist of more than 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
Helminthology Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Ingenta
  1. Finding your way to the Louisiana State University Gateway Logon Screen:
    1. Follow this link to the Ingenta Gateway.
    2. Navigate through the subsequent connection/authentication pages - if you are connecting to the LSU Ingenta gateway from off campus, you are required to demonstrate your university affiliation by entering your 17-digit Tiger Card ID Number and your PIN.
    3. After authentication/connection to the gateway, you arrive at the Logon Screen.
  2. Logging in to the Louisiana State University Ingenta Gateway:
    1. University Faculty, Research Staff, and Graduate Students are able to create User IDs and Passwords for use in logging into the Ingenta gateway. At any time after you create a User ID and Password and forget either, you can retrieve this information by clicking the "forgot your password?" link on the Logon Screen.
    2. New users have two options for creating User IDs and Passwords:
      1. Creating a User ID and Password by entering your 17-digit Tiger Card ID Number:
        1. Enter your 17-digit Tiger Card ID Number in the field on the Logon page that asks for it specifically.
        2. Once you are recognized as a Faculty member, Research Staff, or Graduate Student, you will be taken to a registration page where you can create a User ID and Password for using the LSU Ingenta Gateway.
        3. Now that you have a User ID and Password, you can login to the gateway from the Logon Page - your profile is saved and your User ID is now, already, connected to our Patrons Deposit Account, which is used to subsidize your Ingenta purchases (up to $65 per article).
        4. If your ID Number is not recognized by Ingenta, then you should register for a User ID and Password by clicking the Register button on the Logon Page. Some users' IDs are not recognized at the beginning of a semester, before new patron information is sent to Ingenta.
        5. Creating a User ID and Password by registering as a new user:
          1. Click the Register button on the Logon Page to complete the registration form; the only difference between registering by clicking the Register button and registering by entering your 17-digit Tiger Card ID number is that you will not be connected to the Patrons Deposit Account if you register by clicking the Register button.
          2. Therefore, after completing this form and selecting a User ID and Password, send an email to the Middleton Interlibrary Loan Department at libilb@lsu.edu with your User ID and Password, stating that you are a new user and would like to be connected to the Patrons Deposit Account.
          3. Once the email is received and processed, your profile will then be connected to the account, which is used to subsidize your Ingenta purchases (up to $65 per article).
      2. You can always use your User ID and Password, once you have them, to login to the LSU Ingenta Gateway, and you should always use your original User ID - if you create a second User ID, it will not be connected to the Patrons Deposit Account and your article purchases will not be subsidized by LSU Libraries.
     
    Allows for the ordering of articles, from periodicals not owned by LSU, by faculty, research staff, and graduate students for research or instructional use. These orders are subsidized by the library.

    Please review the Ingenta policies before accessing.

    Accessing Ingenta: Instructions

    Accessing Ingenta: Instruction Sheet

    (For any questions or additional information see the Interlibrary Borrowing web page (http://www.lib.lsu.edu/lib/ilb/ ) or call (225) 578-2138.

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Iter is a not-for-profit research project with partners in Toronto (the headquarters), New York City, and Tempe. Iter was created for the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the development of online resources. The Iter Databases include:

The Iter Bibliography: Iter's bibliography includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).

International Directory of Scholars: The International Directory of Scholars (IDS) is the fortunate result of a convergence of interests of the Renaissance Society of America (RSA), who wanted a major revision of its own Directory, and the Sixteenth Century Society and Conference (SCSC), who wanted to transform its highly respected Scholars of Early Modern Studies into an online database. The IDS is a comprehensive resource which accommodates not only the usual directory contact information, but also detailed information on the research and teaching careers of scholars around the world.

Iter Italicum: Brill Academic Publishers and Iter are pleased to announce the publication of the first online edition of Paul Oskar Kristeller's Iter Italicum, the most comprehensive finding list available of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world. Originally published in six volumes between 1963 and 1992, it is an essential tool for any scholar working in the fields of classical, medieval and Renaissance studies.

Early Theatre: Iter, in partnership with the Centre for Reformation and Renaissance Studies at Victoria University in the University of Toronto, is pleased to offer online access to Early Theatre (ET). Authorized users can search, view, and print the full-text of volume 1 (1998), volume 2 (1999), and volume 4 (2001) to the current issue. Volume 3 (2000) is forthcoming.

Renaissance and Reformation / Renaissance et Réforme: Iter, in partnership with the Centre for Reformation and Renaissance Studies at Victoria University in the University of Toronto, is pleased to offer online access to Renaissance and Reformation / Renaissance et Réforme (RR). Authorized users can search, view, and print the full-text of the journal from volume 24, no. 1 (2000).

Renaissance Quarterly: Iter, in partnership with the Renaissance Society of America, is pleased to offer online access to Renaissance Quarterly (RQ). Authorized users can search, view, and print the full-text of the journal from volume 53, no. 1 (2000).

Aestimatio: Aestimatio provides critical, timely assessments of books published in the history of what was called science from antiquity up to the early modern period in cultures ranging from Spain to India, and from Africa to northern Europe. The aim is to allow reviewers the opportunity to engage critically both the results of research in the history of science and how these results are obtained.

Baptisteria Sacra: This index offers detailed descriptions of fonts from the early Christian period to the 17th century. The link currently leads to the project web site, where individuals can learn more about the project and search sample records at no charge. In the future, access to the full index will be available, through a subscription to Iter.

Electronic Capito Project: The Electronic Capito Project provides the text of letters from and to Wolfgang Capito which are either unpublished or have been published before 1850 and are therefore difficult to access. The link currently leads to the project web site, where individuals can learn more about the project and search sample records at no charge.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization and a shared digital library archive of critical scholarly journal literature.

Louisiana State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
  • Arts & Sciences Collections I-XI
  • Ireland Archive Collection
  • Life Sciences Collection
  • University of California Press Collection
  • University of Chicago Press Collection

Kant: Hauptwerke (Past Masters)
The Immanuel Kant: Hauptwerke database contains Kant's philosophical work published during Kant's lifetime (excepting the Latin and some of the minor pre-critical writings), together with primary texts published posthumously.
Kierkegaard Journals and Papers (Past Masters)
The 2nd edition of Soren's Kierkegaard's Journals and Papers. The 2nd edition was created from the 1st edition (edited and translated by Howard V. Hong and Edna H. Hong, Bloomington and London: Indiana University Press, 1967) by altering the translation using all changes found in the appendices of the Princeton University Press edition of Kierkegaard's Works (translated by Howard V. Hong and Edna H. Hong).

Literary Reference Center
Literary Reference Center is a full text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. This resource includes more than 10,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; 75,000 articles of literary criticism; 130,000 author biographies; full text of more than 300 literary journals; 500,000 book reviews; 25,000 classic & contemporary poems; over 11,000 classic & contemporary short stories; full text of more than 7,500 classic novels (anticipated by Fall 2006); over 3,000 author interviews; and over 1,000 images of key literary figures.

Of particular note, the database contains the Bloom Series of more than 500 books from Chelsea House Publishers edited by renowned literary critic Harold Bloom and all of MagillOnLiterature Plus™ from Salem Press, including the highly regarded Masterplots series.

New Testament Abstracts Online
New Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Weston Jesuit School of Theology. The database is an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. The database contains more than 38,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 13,500 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts. Each year an additional 2,100 articles from more than 500 periodicals in numerous languages are selected for inclusion. In addition, approximately 800 current books are also summarized annually. Article coverage in the database dates back to 1985.

Old Testament Abstracts Online
Old Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association. The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Abstracts from over 450 journals are included. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Coverage in the database dates back to 1978.

Past Masters
Since 1989, InteLex has been publishing the Past Masters series of full-text humanities databases. They are focused on the needs of the scholarly community in the human sciences. InteLex assembles and publishes cohesive collections of excellent editions, in both original language and in English translation, using meticulous text conversion processes. Combined with powerful CD-ROM- and web-based search and reference tools, the Past Masters series provides scholars with significantly-enhanced and highly-flexible access to the classic texts.

InteLex Corporation's Past Masters series encompasses the largest collection of full-text electronic editions in philosophy in the world. They publish significant databases in the history of political thought and theory, education, religious studies, economics, classics, history and philosophy of science, germanic studies and sociology.

Philosopher's Index
A major source of bibliographic information in the areas of aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, and metaphysics; it is also a rich source of material on the philosophy of various disciplines, such as education, history, law, religion, and science.

Use PAWS ID and password for Endnotes Help

Plato: Collected Dialogues (Past Masters)
The Collected Dialogues of Plato, in which the Edith Hamilton and Huntington Cairns (c) 1961 Bollingen Foundation) edition of Plato: The Collected Dialogues and the Benjamin Jowett 4th edition of the Dialogues © 1951 Jowett Copyright Trustees) are presented in their entirety, with the exception of the Lane Cooper translation of Euthyphro (from Hamilton and Cairns).

Project Muse
Project Muse provides online, world wide, institutional subscription access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

Public Administration Abstracts
Public Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 93,600 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
The Religion & Philosophy Collection is a comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. This database offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, making it an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for journals in the database.

Examples of titles offered in the Religion & Philosophy Collection include: Archaeology, Biblical Interpretation, British Journal for the History of Philosophy, Catholic Historical Review, Christianity Today, Comparative Sociology, Ethics, Greek Orthodox Theological Review, Islamic Law & Society, Journal of Jewish Thought & Philosophy, Metaphilosophy, Method & Theory in the Study of Religion, Philosophical Perspectives, Religion & Theology, and many more. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.

Romantic Era Redefined, The
The Romantic Era Redefined brings academic research libraries a new, genre-redefining electronic collection of Romantic-era literature. In partnership with Pickering & Chatto Publishers, Alexander Street Press is publishing over 170,000 pages of text by writers from Britain, the British Empire, and North America. Included is poetry, prose, drama, letters,and diaries—along with political, philosophical, scientific, and sociological works. In addition to the primary texts themselves, the project includes the full run of The Wordsworth Circle.

This is the first time that Pickering & Chatto’s highly acclaimed critical editions have been made available in electronic format, allowing scholars to examine the texts in new ways. Important texts that have been long overlooked will be rediscovered, and researchers will be able to trace new interrelationships among these works.

In addition to Pickering & Chatto's critical editions, The Romantic Era Redefined includes the only complete digital version of The Wordsworth Circle, the international academic journal devoted to the study of English literature, culture, and society during the Romantic era. The quarterly print journal is finally available electronically, with in-depth indexing and powerful search functionality.

The Romantic Era Redefined presents the writings of Maria Edgeworth, Charlotte Smith, William Godwin, Elizabeth Inchbald, Harriet Martineau, Joanna Baillie, Thomas DeQuincey, Mary Russell Mitford, and John Thelwall, among dozens of other writers of the time.

Siku Quanshu
Compiled by edict of Emperor Qianlong, the Siku Quanshu (‘Complete Library of Four Treasures’) is a compendium of 3,000 years of Chinese knowledge, including literature, history, medicine, science and technology, diplomacy, philosophy, linguistics and so much more. The definitive Wenyuange edition of the Siku Quanshu encompasses 3,460 works totaling more than 36,000 volumes. This monumental work is the result of contributions by hundreds of editors and noted scholars, and is enhanced by never-before available tools to enhance research.

Access Notes:
To use Siku Quanshu, patrons must first download the client program (setup.exe from http://us.subscriptionv3.skqs.com/skqs/download/, or use the “Connect” link above) using Internet Explorer (Firefox will not read the page correctly) and install it. The Installation Guide and the database User Manual can also be downloaded from this URL. Note: this client program is necessary to access the database, and there is no direct access URL that can be referenced. Using a web browser is not compatible, since the database contains archaic Chinese characters not included in the current Unicode standard. Once the client program is installed, users can open the program on a PC, select IP Login, and gain access to the database.

At this time EZProxy access is not supported by this database. The Installation Guide at http://us.subscriptionv3.skqs.com/skqs/download contains important information regarding the technical requirements for user PCs, especially required language packages.

Once installed Siku Quanshu is available on campus, or off campus only to faculty members with VPN and remote desktop.

Databases by Title
This does not search within databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide Information
Some full text available Some Full Text
Free Trial
Open Access


Untitled Document