On a mobile device?

View the LSU Libraries Mobile Website at
http://www.lib.lsu.edu/m/

Databases
By Title:
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPRSTUVWZNumAll

Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts
Covers agricultural products, new applications across the food industry, and environmental developments. Plant genome studies are examined in detail. Other topics include patents, new product approval, fermenation, soil microorganisms, bioremediation, transgenic plants and animals, breeding techniques, biopesticides, food production and safety tests, treatment and disposal of wastes, biochemical applications in water treatment, and industrial hygiene. Bimonthly. 122 serials are currently monitored for inclusion in this database. 3,000 abstracts anually.
Journals indexed by this site.
American FactFinder (1990 and 2000 Census of Population and Housing)
Includes the 1990 and 2000 Census of Population and Housing.
Anthrosource
AnthroSource is an online resource serving the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings 100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public.

Which includes, current issues for 15 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly. As well as, an electronic archive of all AAA journals and seamless access to archival content housed at JSTOR for key AAA publications including American Anthropologist (for AAA members and subscribing institutions).

AnthroSource is a fully integrated information resource. Citations in article PDF files are dynamically linked through CrossRef to other publications, both within and beyond AnthroSource.
Biography in Context
The Biography in Context (formerly Biography Resource Center) is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more than 185,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It contains approximately 250,000 biographies and full-text articles from nearly 250 periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search path.
Census DVD Research
Note: Available in Government Documents/Microforms, Middleton Basement, Room 53. Ask for assistance at Government Documents/Microforms Service Desk and see Library’s main informational pages for hours.
This database includes CDs and DVDs with census datasets for complete historical analysis: Neighborhood Change Database, 1990 Long Form in 2000 Boundaries, 1980 in 2000 Boundaries, CensusCD 1990 Blocks, Census Reference Package (1970, 1980, and 1990 Long Form products), Census 2000 Package (Long Form, Short Form, Redistricting, Blocks).
County and City Data Book
Provides data on counties, cities of 5000 or more, and towns and places of over 2500, including extensive data from the 1990 Census. Coverage includes land area, population, households, vital statistics, labor force, education, crime, and for cities, form of government.
CSA Illustrata: Natural Sciences
CSA Illustrata: Natural Sciences is the first in a series of CSA Illustrata databases of searchable tables, figures, graphs, charts and other illustrations from the scholarly research and technical literature.

CSA Illustrata: Natural Sciences is interdisciplinary, covering a wide variety of journals from all major areas such as:

Biology, Earth Sciences, Environmental Studies, Medical Sciences, Agriculture, Fish and Fisheries, Education, Geography, Veterinary Science, Food and Food Industries, Pharmacy and Pharmacology, Meteorology, Public Health and Safety, Water Resources, Conservation, and Forests and Forestry.
David Rumsey Map Collection
Help Center: http://www.davidrumsey.com/help/center

Focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America cartographic history materials. The collection includes atlases, globes, school geography, maritime charts, and a variety of separate maps including pocket, wall, children's and manuscript maps.
Effects of Offshore Oil & Gas Development
This bibliography is a quarterly compilation of current publications (citations with abstracts) from a wide variety of electronic and print information sources relating to offshore oil and gas development.
eHRAF World Cultures
HRAF is an acronym for Human Relations Area Files. HRAF is a consortium of educational, research and cultural organizations, and government agencies; its mission is to encourage and facilitate the study of human culture, society, and behavior. This mission is accomplished mainly through the compilation, indexing, and distribution of a collection of ethnographic and other texts that are indexed by culture and subject. (eHRAF stands for the electronic collections of the HRAF).
Environmental Issues and Policy Index
The Environmental Issues & Policy Index database offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

Environmental Issues & Policy Index offers cover-to-cover indexing and detailed abstracts for well over 1,000 international journals, with ongoing coverage for over 500 titles, providing a global perspective on important issues. The database features an in-depth thesaurus, and extensive subject area coverage ranging as far back as 1950.
GEOREF
This database is a comprehensive geoscience resource containing over 2.2 million bibliographic records covering subjects such as mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of non-silicates. Bibliographic records from more than 3,000 journals are included in the database as well as journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Over 60,000 references are added to the GeoRef database annually. Geology of North America is covered from 1785 to the present, and geology of the world is covered from 1933 to the present. This database is produced by the American Geological Institute.
GeoScience World
Note: Trial ends September 25, 2014.
GeoScienceWorld (GSW) is a nonprofit collaborative and comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the earth sciences, which is built on a core database of peer-reviewed journals and is integrated with the GeoRef abstract and index service. The organization gives global researchers a single point of access to 45 full-text scholarly journals plus specialized searching capabilities and links to millions of relevant resources hosted elsewhere on the Web.
GeoScience World Ebooks
Note: Trial ends September 25, 2014.
GeoScienceWorld is pleased to introduce the eBook Collections. GeoScienceWorld eBook Collections is the first nonprofit, multi-publisher eBooks platform dedicated to the study of the earth sciences.
HRAF Collection of Ethnography
HRAF is an acronym for Human Relations Area Files. HRAF is a consortium of educational, research and cultural organizations, and government agencies; its mission is to encourage and facilitate the study of human culture, society, and behavior. This mission is accomplished mainly through the compilation, indexing, and distribution of a collection of ethnographic and other texts that are indexed by culture and subject. (eHRAF stands for the electronic collections of the HRAF).
Illustrata: Natural Sciences (CSA)
CSA Illustrata: Natural Sciences is the first in a series of CSA Illustrata databases of searchable tables, figures, graphs, charts and other illustrations from the scholarly research and technical literature.

CSA Illustrata: Natural Sciences is interdisciplinary, covering a wide variety of journals from all major areas such as:

Biology, Earth Sciences, Environmental Studies, Medical Sciences, Agriculture, Fish and Fisheries, Education, Geography, Veterinary Science, Food and Food Industries, Pharmacy and Pharmacology, Meteorology, Public Health and Safety, Water Resources, Conservation, andForests and Forestry.
In The First Person
In the First Person is a landmark index to English language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories. Working with archives, repositories, publishers, and individuals we've indexed first person narratives from hundreds of published volumes—those that are publicly available on the Web and those that are held by repositories and archives around the world.

Future updates will contain full-text sources and hundreds of thousands of bibliographic records. The index will allow users perform in-depth field and keyword searches across all letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies within Alexander Street Press databases—more than one million pages of editorially selected materials spanning 400 years. The index also applies the same extensive search tools to scholarly materials that are freely available on the Web. With a single search, users can perform keyword searches across thousands of personal narratives from the English-speaking world.
International Station Meteorological Climate Summary
Includes maps and graphs of climatic data prepared through the joint effort of several agencies. Data is provided in three types of summary: Summaries of Meteorological Observations; Surface Observation Climatic Summaries; and World Wide Airfield Summaries.
Landview 6
Note: CD-ROM available at the Middleton Library Research Desk
LandView reflects the collaborative efforts of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), the U.S. Census Bureau, the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS), and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) to provide the public ready access to published Federal spatial and related data. The LandView product contains two software programs - the LandView database manager and the MARPLOT« map viewer. These two programs work in tandem to create a simple computer mapping system that can display individual layers of information that have spatial information associated with them.
Leisure Recreation and Tourism Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Population Index on the Web
Indexes publications on demography and population research. You may search the Population Index database for 1986-1999 (43,463 citations) by author, subject, geographical region and/or year. You may also search for text anywhere in a citation, including the title, series and abstract. All of these criteria can be freely combined.
U.S.A. Counties
Serves as a reference source of county information, containing over 3400 variables or items from 13 federal and private organizations.
WDI Online (World Development Indicators)
World Development Indicators Online (WDI) provides direct access to more than 700 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2006, where data are available (see WDI data availability query).
World Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Databases by Title
This does not search within databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide Information
Some full text available Some Full Text
Free Trial
Open Access


Untitled Document