Databases
By Title:
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPRSTUVWZNumAll

American Chemical Society
This database provides full text access to about thirty journals, with the ability to search all of The American Chemical Society journals, including the archives, which features access back to Vol. 1 of all their titles.
ASTM Standards Source
Note: YOU MUST USE INTERNET EXPLORER TO ACCESS. NOT SUPPORTED BY FIREFOX.
A complete database of all 11,000+ ASTM Standards. Accessed through a search menu to display PDF files of the Standards with the ability to enlarge any illustrations, pictures, or tables.

Access is limited to on campus only. One must use an official LSU Active Directory account managed by InformationTechnology Services (ITS) to access this resource. If you are unableto access this resource, please contact your local IT contact for assistance.

NOTE: For any buttons that request to "Insert Data Disc" to view any documents, just press the button and the document will be displayed.

Compendex
Compendex is a bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing references to over 5000 engineering journals and conferences. Ei covers literature that makes a definite contribution to knowledge in the subject areas of engineering and applied science. About half the citations (from 2600 journals and conferences) include abstracts and indexing in the records. CompendexWeb is the internet version of Engineering Index, the world's premier source of engineering abstracts. The database adds about 220,000 abstracts yearly. Abstracts come from 2600 engineering journals, conferences, and reports. All areas of engineering are covered. Approximately 22% of the database is conference literature, and 90% of the source documents are in English.
GEOREF
This database is a comprehensive geoscience resource containing over 2.2 million bibliographic records covering subjects such as mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of non-silicates. Bibliographic records from more than 3,000 journals are included in the database as well as journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Over 60,000 references are added to the GeoRef database annually. Geology of North America is covered from 1785 to the present, and geology of the world is covered from 1933 to the present. This database is produced by the American Geological Institute.
GeoScience World
GeoScienceWorld (GSW) is a nonprofit collaborative and comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the earth sciences, which is built on a core database of peer-reviewed journals and is integrated with the GeoRef abstract and index service. The organization gives global researchers a single point of access to 45 full-text scholarly journals plus specialized searching capabilities and links to millions of relevant resources hosted elsewhere on the Web.
GeoScience World Ebooks
Note: Trial ends September 25, 2014.
GeoScienceWorld is pleased to introduce the eBook Collections. GeoScienceWorld eBook Collections is the first nonprofit, multi-publisher eBooks platform dedicated to the study of the earth sciences.
IEEE Xplore
IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)
Abstract records and full text articles published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from:
  • IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents
  • IEEE conference proceedings
  • IET journals
  • IET conference proceedings
  • IEEE published standards and redline versions
  • IEEE Standards Dictionary Online

Access to the AbstractPlus records and select full text published since 2005 from:
        VDE VERLAG conference proceedings

IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library Purchase
    Full text access to all IEEE-Wiley eBooks titles copyrighted in the year(s) 1974-2014.
The online version of several IEEE journals, magazines, and proceedings.
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry, and Technology
Knovel brings essential Sci-tech reference data to life in a virtual technical library that solves problems for engineers, applied scientists and librarians worldwide. On one interface the Knovel Library combines authoritative reference content from major Sci-tech publishers including John Wiley & Sons, McGraw-Hill and Elsevier. This data is enhanced with time-saving analytical tools to help analyze and manipulate the data.

Users can analyze and reorganize the data in over 800 full-text engineering and scientific reference works, handbooks, and databases Knovel. They can sort, filter and export data from 'live tables', resolve equations and plot graphs, capture values from existing graphs and perform 'what if' experiments on the data. Knovel's uniquely powerful research platform integrates a intuitive yet powerful search engine with a user friendly browse capability to allow the user to discover data in ways which are close to real information seeking behavior.
Knovel Interactive Library
Knovel brings essential Sci-tech reference data to life in a virtual technical library that solves problems for engineers, applied scientists and librarians worldwide. On one interface the Knovel Library combines authoritative reference content from major Sci-tech publishers including John Wiley & Sons, McGraw-Hill and Elsevier. This data is enhanced with time-saving analytical tools to help analyze and manipulate the data.

Users can analyze and reorganize the data in over 800 full-text engineering and scientific reference works, handbooks, and databases Knovel. They can sort, filter and export data from 'live tables', resolve equations and plot graphs, capture values from existing graphs and perform 'what if' experiments on the data. Knovel's uniquely powerful research platform integrates a intuitive yet powerful search engine with a user friendly browse capability to allow the user to discover data in ways which are close to real information seeking behavior.
PubChem
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool. Links from PubChem's chemical structure records to other Entrez databases provide information on biological properties. These include links to PubMed scientific literature and NCBI's protein 3D structure resource. Links to PubChem's bioassay database present the results of biological screening. Links to depositor web sites provide further information. A PubChem FTP site is also available.
Reaxys
Reaxys supports today’s multi-disciplinary approach to

modern research with a wealth of experimentally validated
data from journals and patents. Researchers and students
from all chemistry-related disciplines will benefit from the
relevant, actionable results Reaxys has to offer.


Reaxys has extensive coverage of authoritative information in organic, organometallic and inorganic chemistry including:
• Single and multi-step reaction data
• Information on catalysts
• Experimental substance property data
• Reaction procedure text.


Multi-step reactions Reaxys provides more complete information about a reaction pathway. With multi-step reactions, chemists get more insight into the intermediary steps in a synthetic process. Identifying precursor reactions to the target will enhance chemists’ workflows.


Referex
Referex Engineering can be accessed on the Engineering Village 2 Platform by choosing the "eBooks Search" tab.

Referex Engineering comprises three carefully crafted collections combining key sources of reference material. Content ranges from broad based engineering titles to highly specialized professional reference texts.

Referex Engineering Collections:

Chemical, Petrochemical and Process - Leading titles in energy, chemical engineering, chemical hazards, process engineering, oil and gas engineering and environmental engineering.

Mechanical and Materials - Selection draws on publishing programs of Butterworth-Heinemann, Elsevier and Academic Press. Handbooks and practical guides cover automotive, metallurgy, maintenance and more.

Electronics and Electrical - Comprehensive range of books for electrical power engineers, electronics engineer and circuit designers embedded systems and computer engineers and communication engineers.
Science and Technology Collection
Science & Technology Collection contains over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications. This collection contains many scholarly journals including Advances in Physics, American Scientist, Annual Review of Astronomy & Astrophysics, Annual Review of Biochemistry, Archaeoastronomy, Astronomy & Geophysics, Civil Engineering, Engineering Management Journal, International Journal of Computational Engineering Science, Journal of Aerospace Engineering, Journal of Architectural Engineering, Journal of Applied Microbiology, Journal of Mathematical Logic, Journal of Theoretical & Computational Chemistry, Molecular Physics, Plant Biotechnology Journal, Quarterly Review of Biology, Space Communications, Spatial Vision, and many more.
Science Citation Index
Science Citation Index Expanded - This database covers the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,800 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines from 1900 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: agriculture, neuroscience, astronomy, oncology, biochemistry, pediatrics, biology, pharmacology, biotechnology, physics, chemistry, plant sciences, computer science, psychiatry, materials science, surgery, mathematics, veterinary science, medicine, and zoology.

Social Sciences Citation Index - This database covers the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines from 1956 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: anthropology, political science, history, public health, industrial relations, social issues, information science & library science, social work, law, sociology, linguistics, substance abuse, philosophy, urban studies, psychology, women's studies, and psychiatry.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index - This database indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals from 1975 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: archaeology, linguistics, architecture, literary reviews, art, literature, Asian studies, music, classics, philosophy, dance, poetry, folklore, radio, television, film, history, religion, language, and theater.

Use PAWS ID and password for Endnotes Help
Science Direct
Science Direct, published by Elsevier Science, serves as a web information source for scientific, technical, and medical (STM) research. It offers access to more than 1,100 journals in 16 fields of science, including the social sciences.
Scifinder
Note: Click on "i" and follow the instructions if you do not already have an account set up with Scifinder
Scifinder is a database from Chemical Abstracts Service offering electronic access to Chemical Abstracts, which contains the largest substance database, CAS Registry, with more than 24 million substances--including 12 million organic substances. It is also the world's most comprehensive database of chemical literature and patents, containing the most current information, with daily updating by CAS scientists.

We are now using the web version of SciFinder. You must first register before you can connect to CAS. To register, click on the link we have provided in PAWS under Library Resources, Off-campus access. During registration, you will create your own username and password which you will subsequently use to logon to SciFinder from the above link. Go to PAWS Registration.
SpringerLink
The Springer database offers full-text searching through Springer’s entire electronic output, including Journals, Books, Book Series, eReference books, and Protocols. Subject areas include engineering, science, humanities, business etc. Most full-text content is accessible to LSU patrons, with a few exceptions, most notable being the Protocols.
TOXNET
A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas including HSDB (Hazardous Substances Data Bank), IRIS (Integrated Risk Information system), CCRIS (Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System), GENE-TOX, TOXLINE, EMIC (Environmental Mutagen Information Center), DART/ETIC (Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology and Environmental Teratology Information Center), TRI (Toxics Release Inventory), ChemIDplus, HSDB Structures, and NCI-3D.
Ullmanns Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry is a state-of-the-art reference work detailing the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, etc.
Web of Science
Science Citation Index Expanded - This database covers the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,800 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines from 1900 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: agriculture, neuroscience, astronomy, oncology, biochemistry, pediatrics, biology, pharmacology, biotechnology, physics, chemistry, plant sciences, computer science, psychiatry, materials science, surgery, mathematics, veterinary science, medicine, and zoology.

Social Sciences Citation Index - This database covers the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines from 1956 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: anthropology, political science, history, public health, industrial relations, social issues, information science & library science, social work, law, sociology, linguistics, substance abuse, philosophy, urban studies, psychology, women's studies, and psychiatry.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index - This database indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals from 1975 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: archaeology, linguistics, architecture, literary reviews, art, literature, Asian studies, music, classics, philosophy, dance, poetry, folklore, radio, television, film, history, religion, language, and theater.

Use LSU ID and password for Endnotes Help
Databases by Title
This does not search within databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide Information
Some full text available Some Full Text
Free Trial
Open Access


Untitled Document