On a mobile device?

View the LSU Libraries Mobile Website at
http://www.lib.lsu.edu/m/

Databases
By Title:
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPRSTUVWZNumAll

Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts
Covers agricultural products, new applications across the food industry, and environmental developments. Plant genome studies are examined in detail. Other topics include patents, new product approval, fermenation, soil microorganisms, bioremediation, transgenic plants and animals, breeding techniques, biopesticides, food production and safety tests, treatment and disposal of wastes, biochemical applications in water treatment, and industrial hygiene. Bimonthly. 122 serials are currently monitored for inclusion in this database. 3,000 abstracts anually.
Journals indexed by this site.
Agricultural Engineering Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Agricultural Entomology Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Alt HealthWatch
The Alt HealthWatch database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. This database provides full text for articles from more than 140 international and often peer-reviewed journals, reports and proceedings, as well as association and consumer newsletters. In addition, Alt HealthWatch includes hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.

Full text titles include American Journal of Chinese Medicine, American Journal of Homeopathic Medicine, California Journal of Oriental Medicine, European Journal of Clinical Hypnosis, International Journal of Medicinal Mushrooms, Journal of Alternative & Complementary Medicine, Journal of Asian Natural Products Research, Journal of the American Institute of Homeopathy, Journal of the Australian Traditional-Medicine Society, Journal of the Canadian Chiropractic Association, Journal of Traditional Acupuncture and many others. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. The majority of the full text titles included in the database are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.
Annual Reviews
Since 1932, Annual Reviews has offered comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 32 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.

Annual Reviews is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to provide the worldwide scientific community with a useful and intelligent synthesis of the primary research literature for a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in scientific literature as indexed by the Institute for Scientific Information's Journal Citation Report. Each year, Annual Reviews critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide you to the principal contributions of the field and help you keep up to date in your area of research.
Aromatic and Medicinal Plants Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
ASFA 1: Biological Sciences & Living Resources LSU Only
This database, which monitors 4026 journals, covers basic and applied research on aquatic organisms, including all aspects of marine, fresh water, and brackish water organisms and environments. Covers research on exploitation of living resources, and related legal and socioeconomic issues. Sponsored by four U.N. specialized agencies. Monthly. 22,000 abstracts annually. Journals indexed by this database.
ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
Accesses research into improving and augmenting aquatic yields, including cultivating marine, freshwater, and brackishwater species. Provides international perspectives on the science, practice, management, and economics of aquaculture. Bimonthly. 4,800 abstracts annually. Journals indexed by this database.
Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B)
Major areas of coverage include: aggressins and toxins, animal bacteriology, antibacterial agents, antibiosis, antibiotics, cell structure and function, culture, ecology and distribution, genetics and evolution, human bacteriology, identification, immunology, invetebrate bacteriology, methodology, microbial symbiosis, plasmids, predation, taxonomy, and typing. Monthly. 13,200 Abstracts annually. Journals indexed by this database.
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System: Survey Data
Includes eight databases on specific illnesses or aspects of chronic disease prevention and health promotion, designed to help public health professionals and educators locate both published and unpublished program information. The databases cover such specific topics as health promotion and education, school health, cancer prevention and control, smoking, epilepsy, chronic disease prevention, state profile programs, and the health promotion and education thesaurus. Also called Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
Biological Control Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Biological Sciences & Living Resources (ASFA 1)
This database, which monitors 4026 journals, covers basic and applied research on aquatic organisms, including all aspects of marine, fresh water, and brackish water organisms and environments. Covers research on exploitation of living resources, and related legal and socioeconomic issues. Sponsored by four U.N. specialized agencies. Monthly. 22,000 abstracts annually. Journals indexed by this database.
Biology Digest (CSA)
Biology Digest is a compilation of abstracts and indexes of domestic and international literature in the area of life sciences. It is primarily intended for audience at the high school or undergraduate college level. Its purpose is to aid in keeping students and instructors current on the latest developments in biological research. Each of over 20,000 records contains an original abstract averaging about 325 words. Key information such as methods involved and conclusions drawn from the respective research is retained.
CAB Reviews Archive
A brand new reviews publication, using CABI's 90 years of expertise in this area. CAB Reviews will complement the subject coverage of CAB Abstracts, by focusing on animal science, veterinary medicine; applied plant sciences; agriculture; nutrition and food science; natural resources and environmental sciences.

CAB Reviews will provide the scientists, academics and students working in these fields with analysis and information on the current research to complement their own assessment. It will be an authoritative resource to help them keep abreast of the latest developments and place their research efforts into context.
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
Large collection of indexes, each of which focuses on a specific scientific field.
CARIS (Current Agriculture Research Information System)
CARIS is the Current Agricultural Research Information System, which was created by FAO in 1975 to identify and to facilitate the exchange of information about current agricultural research projects being carried out by - or on behalf of - developing countries. An international system, working on a cooperative basis, CARIS identifies projects dealing with all aspects of agriculture: plant and animal production and protection; post harvest processing of primary agricultural products; forestry; fisheries; agricultural engineering; natural resources and the environment as related to agriculture; food and human nutrition; agricultural economics; rural development, and agricultural administration; legislation, information, education and extension.
Chemical Abstracts
Note: You must first register before you can connect to CAS. Click the "i" for instructions.
Scifinder is a database from Chemical Abstracts Service offering electronic access to Chemical Abstracts, which contains the largest substance database, CAS Registry, with more than 24 million substances--including 12 million organic substances. It is also the world's most comprehensive database of chemical literature and patents, containing the most current information, with daily updating by CAS scientists.

We are now using the web version of SciFinder. You must first register before you can connect to CAS. To register, click on the link we have provided in PAWS under Library Resources, Off-campus access. During registration, you will create your own username and password which you will subsequently use to logon to SciFinder from the above link. Go to PAWS Registration.
Conference Papers Index
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at conferences in physics, engineering and materials science, and, since 1995, in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences. Information is derived from final programs, abstracts booklets and published proceedings, and questionnaire responses. Begins 1982.
Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA)
The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) is a core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science,forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Scholars have selected the titles in this collection for their historical importance. Their evaluations and 4,500 core titles are detailed in the seven volume series The Literature of the Agricultural Sciences, Wallace C. Olsen, series editor.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports, each around 12,000 words, produced each year. The reports include a pro-con feature, a chronology, bibliographies and a list of contacts.
Crop Physiology Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
CSA Illustrata: Natural Sciences
CSA Illustrata: Natural Sciences is the first in a series of CSA Illustrata databases of searchable tables, figures, graphs, charts and other illustrations from the scholarly research and technical literature.

CSA Illustrata: Natural Sciences is interdisciplinary, covering a wide variety of journals from all major areas such as:

Biology, Earth Sciences, Environmental Studies, Medical Sciences, Agriculture, Fish and Fisheries, Education, Geography, Veterinary Science, Food and Food Industries, Pharmacy and Pharmacology, Meteorology, Public Health and Safety, Water Resources, Conservation, and Forests and Forestry.
Diagnosis of Shrimp Diseases with emphasis on the black tiger shrimp (Penaeus monodon)
Note: CD-ROM available at the Middleton Library Research Desk
Call Number  QL 444.M33 A5 1999
Diagnosis of Shrimp Diseases with emphasis on the black tiger shrimp (Penaeus monodon)
Dictionary of Substances and Their Effects
Note: Access restricted to to LSU campus
The Dictionary of Substances and their Effects (DOSE) is a major reference work of specialist data on chemicals with environmental impact. DOSE brings together, in one source, all relevant data for the accurate assessment of the risks associated with the use of over 4,100 chemicals, making it a vital reference for all health, safety and environmental officers, toxicologists and regulatory bodies. All the information in DOSE is fully referenced and is presented in concise, easy-to-read summaries. Data include physical properties, occupational exposure limits, mammalian and avian toxicity, genotoxicity, ecotoxicity, environmental fate, plus regulatory requirements including risk and safety phrases.
Ecology Abstracts
Ecology Abstracts focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants, and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment, and is updated monthly. Major areas of coverage include: algae/lichens, animals, annelids, aquatic ecosystems, arachnids, arid zones, birds, brackish water, bryophytes/pteridophytes, coastal ecosystems, conifers, conservation, control, crustaceans, ecosystem studies, fungi, grasses, grasslands, high altitude environments, human ecology, insects, legumes, mammals, management, microorganisms, molluscs, nematodes, paleo-ecology, plants, pollution studies, reptiles, river basins, soil, taiga/tundra, terrestrial ecosystems, vertebrates, wetlands, and woodlands. Journals indexed by this database.
ERIC Abstracts (Education Resources Information Center)
ERIC, sponsored by the US Department of Education, consists of two files: Resources in Education, covering the document literature, (research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books), and Current Index to Journals in Education, covering published journal literature from over 775 periodicals.

Covers educational research and resources, including career, adult, vocational, technical, and teacher education; education of the handicapped, disadvantaged, and the gifted; early childhood education, junior colleges and higher education; reading and communications skills; languages and linguistics; education management; counseling and personnel services; library and information science; information resources.

Free Web Access
Food Safety Research Database (FSRIO)
The Secretary of Agriculture established a Food Safety Research Information Office at the National Agricultural Library. The Office shall provide to the research community and the general public information on publicly funded, and to the extent possible, privately funded food safety research initiatives for the purpose of-- (A) preventing unintended duplication of food safety research; and (B) assisting the executive and legislative branches of the Government and private research entities to assess food safety research needs and priorities.
Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB)
Hazardous Substances Data Bank - Broad scope in human and animal toxicity, safety and handling, environmental fate, and more. Scientifically peer-reviewed.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. While coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, the database also covers Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new and investigational drugs. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
Helminthology Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Illustrata: Natural Sciences (CSA)
CSA Illustrata: Natural Sciences is the first in a series of CSA Illustrata databases of searchable tables, figures, graphs, charts and other illustrations from the scholarly research and technical literature.

CSA Illustrata: Natural Sciences is interdisciplinary, covering a wide variety of journals from all major areas such as:

Biology, Earth Sciences, Environmental Studies, Medical Sciences, Agriculture, Fish and Fisheries, Education, Geography, Veterinary Science, Food and Food Industries, Pharmacy and Pharmacology, Meteorology, Public Health and Safety, Water Resources, Conservation, andForests and Forestry.
International Tables for Crystallography
International Tables for Crystallography is the definitive resource and reference work for crystallography and structural science.

Each of the eight volumes in the series contains articles and tables of data relevant to crystallographic research and to applications of crystallographic methods in all sciences concerned with the structure and properties of materials. Emphasis is given to symmetry, diffraction methods and techniques of crystal-structure determination, and the physical and chemical properties of crystals. The data are accompanied by discussions of theory, practical explanations and examples, all of which are useful for teaching.

International Tables for Crystallography comprises 6,000 pages including nearly 2,000 pages of symmetry tables which are vital for the analysis of crystal structures:
  • Volume A: Space-group symmetry, 5e
  • Volume A1: Symmetry relations between space groups, 2e
  • Volume B: Reciprocal space, 3e
  • Volume C: Mathematical, physical and chemical tables, 3e
  • Volume D: Physical properties of crystals
  • Volume E: Subperiodic groups, 2e
  • Volume F: Crystallography of biological macromolecules
  • Volume G: Definition and exchange of crystallographic data
This edition includes new editions of Volumes A1 and E, making International Tables the most up-to-date, dynamic, and comprehensive reference work available to crystallographers, and to all those who use crystallography across a wide range of fields.
Leisure Recreation and Tourism Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Maize Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Medical and Veterinary Entomology Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
MEDLINE
Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, Medline contains citations and abstracts to international biomedical literature from over 3700 journals on topics including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. The database contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.

OldMedline from the NLM Gateway includes the years 1958 - 1965. The ISI/Web of Knowledge Interface contains info from 1950 to the present.
NTIS (National Technical Information Service)
The National Technical Information Service (NTIS) is the nation's largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today. As part of the U.S. Department of Commerce, NTIS supports the nation's economic growth by providing access to information that stimulates innovation and discovery. The main NTIS website allows for searching but does not provide free access to full-text documents.
Nutrition Abstracts (Human) via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Pig Production and Health Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Plant Breeding and Genetics Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Plant Genetic Resources Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Plant Growth Regulators Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Plant Pathology Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Postharvest Science and Technology Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Potatoes Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Poultry Science Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Rice Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Science Citation Index
Science Citation Index Expanded - This database covers the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,800 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines from 1900 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: agriculture, neuroscience, astronomy, oncology, biochemistry, pediatrics, biology, pharmacology, biotechnology, physics, chemistry, plant sciences, computer science, psychiatry, materials science, surgery, mathematics, veterinary science, medicine, and zoology.

Social Sciences Citation Index - This database covers the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines from 1956 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: anthropology, political science, history, public health, industrial relations, social issues, information science & library science, social work, law, sociology, linguistics, substance abuse, philosophy, urban studies, psychology, women's studies, and psychiatry.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index - This database indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals from 1975 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: archaeology, linguistics, architecture, literary reviews, art, literature, Asian studies, music, classics, philosophy, dance, poetry, folklore, radio, television, film, history, religion, language, and theater.

Use PAWS ID and password for Endnotes Help
Seed Science Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Soyabeans Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Toxicology Abstracts
Surveys toxicology studies across a wide range of substances including industrial and agricultural chemicals, household products, pharmaceuticals, and myriad other substances. Major areas of coverage include: pharmaceuticals; food, additives, and contaminants; agro-chemicals; cosmetics, toiletries, and household products; industrial chemicals; metals; toxins and other natural substances; social poisons and drug abuse; polycyclic hydrocarbons; nitrosamines and related compounds; radiation and radioactive materials; methodology; legislation and recommended standards. Begins 1981. Monthly. 8,800 abstracts annually. Journals indexed by this database.
TOXLINE
Access to information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Major areas of coverage include: air pollution; antidotes; biological and adverse effects of drugs; carcinogenesis via chemicals; chemically-induced diseases; environmental chemicals and pollutants; food additives; genotoxicity; hazardous materials; health and safety human and animal toxicity; industrial and household chemicals; mutagenicity pesticides and herbicides; radioactive materials; risk information. This database provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from journal articles, monographs, technical reports, theses, letters, meeting abstracts, papers and reports. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, information in the database is drawn from a number of discrete files including Toxicity Bibliography and Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology.
TOXNET
A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas including HSDB (Hazardous Substances Data Bank), IRIS (Integrated Risk Information system), CCRIS (Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System), GENE-TOX, TOXLINE, EMIC (Environmental Mutagen Information Center), DART/ETIC (Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology and Environmental Teratology Information Center), TRI (Toxics Release Inventory), ChemIDplus, HSDB Structures, and NCI-3D.
Tropical Diseases Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Wheat Barley and Triticale Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Databases by Title
This does not search within databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide Information
Some full text available Some Full Text
Free Trial
Open Access


Untitled Document