Database List By Subject: Psychology

Databases
By Title:
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPRSTUVWZNumAll

Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online is a platform that allows one to search across all video titles in the Alexander Street Press catalog that LSU either owns or to which we subscribe. This includes individual collections we have already purchased such as Counseling and Therapy in Video, and Theatre in Video.
Annual Reviews
Since 1932, Annual Reviews has offered comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 32 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.

Annual Reviews is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to provide the worldwide scientific community with a useful and intelligent synthesis of the primary research literature for a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in scientific literature as indexed by the Institute for Scientific Information's Journal Citation Report. Each year, Annual Reviews critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide you to the principal contributions of the field and help you keep up to date in your area of research.
Anthropology Plus
As a compilation of the Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature databases, Anthropology Plus is the world’s most comprehensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
This database offers worldwide indexing of all core periodical and lesser-known journals from the early 19th century to today, providing extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, interdisciplinary studies, etc.


Biography in Context
The Biography in Context (formerly Biography Resource Center) is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more than 185,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It contains approximately 250,000 biographies and full-text articles from nearly 250 periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search path.
Counseling and Therapy in Video
Features more than 175 therapists practicing more than 50 separate therapeutic approaches. From Arnold Lazarus on Behavioral Therapy to Irvin Yalom on Group Therapy, this collection features renowned experts explaining and applying their methods in a variety of real-to-life situations and environments.

Several types of videos and supplementary materials have been chosen to provide a well-rounded collection that will be of interest to students, academics, and professionals alike.

Counseling Sessions and Demonstrations include filmed footage of actual therapy sessions, re-enacted therapy sessions, and scripted sessions designed by counseling professionals to illustrate common issues and scenarios that arise during courses of therapy.

Consultations feature experts in particular courses of therapy offering advice on the application of their methods. These videos often include scenes of counseling sessions interspersed with analysis and discussion between the consultant, the practicing therapists, and the clients.

Lectures, presentations, and interviews feature well-known therapists discussing their own work and issues affecting the larger fields of mental health and wellness.

Teaching and Discussion Guides are downloadable PDF documents designed to facilitate the use of the videos in an educational setting.

Directory of Open Access Journals
The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.

The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. In short, a one stop shop for users to Open Access Journals.
Discovery
Discovery (short for EBSCO Discovery Service) searches across the LSU Libraries’ catalog and many of its databases and online resources so that customers will have a one-stop search engine that returns high quality content in books, journals, archives, and databases.
  • Click for Complete List
    • LSU Libraries’ online catalog
    • Abstract in Social Gerontology
    • Academic Search Complete
    • Accessible Archives
    • AGRIS
    • Alexander Street Press
    • Alt HealthWatch
    • America: History and Life with Full Text
    • American National Biography Online
    • Anthropology Plus
    • Aphasiology Archive
    • Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective: 1913-1983 (H.W. Wilson)
    • Archive of European Integration
    • Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
    • Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)
    • Arts & Humanities Citation Index
    • arXiv
    • ATLA Religion Database
    • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
    • Biological Abstracts
    • Biological Abstracts 1969 - Present
    • BioOne Online Journals
    • Book Collection: Nonfiction
    • Business Source Complete
    • CINAHL Complete
    • Communication & Mass Media Complete
    • Computer Source
    • Credo Reference Collections
    • Directory of Open Access Journals
    • eArticle
    • eBook Collection (EBSCOhost )
    • EconLit
    • Economía y Negocios
    • Educational Administration Abstracts
    • Environment Index
    • ERIC
    • Essay and General Literature Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)
    • European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
    • Family Studies Abstracts
    • Fuente Académica
    • Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
    • GeoRef
    • GeoRef In Process
    • Government Printing Office Catalog
    • GreenFILE
    • Grove Art Online
    • Grove Music Online
    • HathiTrust
    • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
    • HeinOnline
    • History Reference Center
    • Hospitality & Tourism Index
    • Human Resources Abstracts
    • Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson)
    • Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
    • Index to Printed Music
    • Industry Studies Working Papers
    • Information Science & Technology Abstracts (ISTA)
    • JSTOR Journals
    • Legal Collection
    • Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
    • Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective: 1905-1983 (H.W. Wilson)
    • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
    • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text
    • Literary Reference Center
    • Literature Resource Center (Gale)
    • LGBT Life with Full Text
    • MAS Ultra - School Edition
    • MedicLatina
    • MEDLINE
    • Mental Measurements Yearbook
    • Military & Government Collection
    • Minority Health Archive
    • MLA Directory of Periodicals
    • MLA International Bibliography
    • Music Index
    • Naxos Music Library
    • New Testament Abstracts
    • NewsBank
    • NewsBank - Archives
    • Newspaper Source
    • Newswires
    • OAIster
    • OAPEN Library
    • Old Testament Abstracts
    • Oxford Handbooks Online
    • Peace Research Abstracts
    • Philosopher's Index
    • PhilSci Archive
    • Primary Search
    • Professional Development Collection
    • Project Muse
    • PsycARTICLES
    • PsycARTICLES
    • PsycBOOKS
    • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
    • PsycINFO
    • Public Administration Abstracts
    • Publisher Provided Full Text Searching File
    • Race Relations Abstracts
    • Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson)
    • Regional Business News
    • Religion and Philosophy Collection
    • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
    • RIPM - Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals
    • RISM Series A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600
    • Science & Technology Collection
    • ScienceDirect
    • Shock & Vibration Digest
    • SocINDEX with Full Text
    • SPORTDiscus with Full Text
    • Supplemental Index
    • Sustainability Watch
    • Teacher Reference Center
    • Textile Technology Complete
    • Urban Studies Abstracts
    • Vente et Gestion
    • Violence & Abuse Abstracts
    • Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
Discovery also searches other Louisiana libraries. By default, LSU is searched. To search more, go to Advanced Search and change the "Location" option to "all" to search other Louisiana academic libraries.
Dissertation Abstracts
Contains citations to 1.2 million dissertations and masters theses. Coverage begins in 1861, with abstracts available since 1980, and thesis abstracts since 1988.

Use PAWS ID and password for Endnotes Help
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) is a collection of reference, scholarly, and professional e-books (full text electronic books) from university and commercial presses, covering a variety of disciplines.
EBSCO Electronic Journals Service
EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service (EJS) is a gateway to thousands of e-journals containing millions of articles from hundreds of different publishers, all at one web site.
Electronic Thesis and Dissertation Library
Note: Access to electronic theses and dissertations is usually unrestricted. Some titles may be limited to the LSU campus or have other access restrictions.
Online versions of various theses and dissertations from LSU graduate students.

Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to access them.
Encyclopedia of Human Computer Interaction
The Encyclopedia of Human Computer Interaction is the most thorough and definitive source providing coverage of everything related to the field of human computer interaction (HCI). This encyclopedia covers a wide range of HCI related topics such as concepts, design, usability, evaluation, innovations, and applications of HCI in organizations around the globe. Over 120 contributors and advisors from around the world have conferred their expertise to this publication, and with over 830 key terms and definitions as well as more than 2,600 references, this encyclopedia is the single source of authoritative and contemporary research in field of human computer interaction.

The Encyclopedia of Human Computer Interaction also includes coverage of real life experiences and cases of HCI and the lessons learned helping readers to learn extensively about this important field of study.
Essay and General Literature Index Retrospective
Covering 1900 - 1984, this database indexes more than 249,000 essays included in this collection, it indexes single and multi-author collections, plus selected annuals and serials. It includes publications from the United States, Canada and Great Britain, covering eight decades of 20th Century literature.
Filmakers Library Online
Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
Handbook of Psychology, Second Edition
Covers every aspect of the ever-burgeoning discipline of psychology. Leading national and international scholars have collaborated under the guidance of recognized expert editors to produce this handbook, which includes chapters covering virtually every core, as well as contemporary topic in the subject area, from the established theories to the most modern research and developments.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective
A wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907—in the convenient electronic format users prefer! Coverage also includes content from H.W. Wilson’s International Index. Combine this valuable resource with other Wilson databases such as Humanities Full Text and/or Social Sciences Full Text for a century of research in hundreds of journals. With its astounding breadth and depth, Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 makes important periodicals in your library’s collection more accessible—and valuable—to research
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
CSA Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Mental Measurements Yearbook
The Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) series, produced since 1938 by the Buros Institute, provides users with critical evaluations for over 2,000 commercial tests within a wide variety of areas that include education, psychology, business, aptitude, achievement, and intelligence. Written by leading experts in the field, this series supports the informed selection and use of commercial testing products.

Typical MMY entries include descriptive information about the test, professional reviews, and reviewer references. To be included in this series, a test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and be new or substantively revised since it last appeared in the series. Full text of test reviews is included in the database, and up to three independent reviews are included for each test.

Use PAWS ID and password for Endnotes Help
PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES® is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection can be searched independently, but also allows users to conveniently link to full text from citations within PsycINFO®. These citations, when viewed via EBSCOhost, have the ability to link to articles from more than 500 full text journals contained within Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection.
PsycINFO (Psychological Abstracts)
Includes an index with abstracts from over 1300 journals, dissertations, and technical reports in 30 languages from 50 countries, as well as summaries of English-language chapters and books published worldwide, concerning psychology and the related disciplines of education, medicine, business, sociology, and psychiatry. Major subject areas include: experimental psychology, developmental psychology, communications, social processes and issues, personality, physical and psychological disorders, professional issues, applied psychology, and behavioral psychology.

PsycTests
PsycTESTS® is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
 
Comprehensive Test Coverage
  • Focuses primarily on unpublished tests, those developed by researchers but not made commercially available
  • Most records link to a variety of materials describing the test in peer-reviewed literature, technical reports, or dissertations as well as links to related peer-reviewed literature describing test development, review, or use
  • ll records include a summary that describes the test, with its purpose and some history of its development
  • Most records include the actual test instrument
High-Quality Records and Search Features
  • Each record includes data on the scope of the test, test implementation, a high-level overview of the test's development, and reliability and validity data (when available
  • Users can browse tests using the test name or acronym, author, construct, or year and get directly to the test record
  • Or they can create detailed searches across a variety of customized fields such as construct, index terms, author, format, population, and so on
  • Search results integrate with other APA databases, offering a unified display for improved discoverability
Authoritative Sources
  • Tests include those compiled from a systematic review of peer-reviewed journals published by APA, Hogrefe Publishing Group, and other large publishers; technical reports from PsycEXTRA®; contributions from individual test authors; collections from the Archives of the History of American Psychology; and more
  • Records are created by skilled indexers with deep knowledge of the psychology literature
  • Links are provided for each instrument to source documentation containing a full citation, DOI for the full text, and a link to the PsycINFO® or PsycEXTRA record

PsycTHERAPY
PsycTHERAPY® is a database containing more than 300 videos featuring therapy demonstrations showing clinicians working with individuals, couples, and families.
 
Comprehensive Coverage
  • More than 200 different topics covered throughout hundreds of hours of filmed demonstrations
  • Demonstrations exemplifying various therapist interactions with individuals, couples, and families
High-Quality Content and Features
  • Interactions from therapy demonstrations utilizing a wide range of approaches
  • Contains only unscripted, spontaneous therapy sessions taped in the last 10 years
  • Highly flexible tool with synchronized, searchable transcripts that enhance user navigation and access
  • Ability to tag segments of each therapy demonstration to create, save, or share personal playlists
Authoritative Publications
  • APA has produced educational therapy demonstration videos since the mid-1990s
  • All videos in PsycTHERAPY were originally taped in conjunction with the APA Psychotherapy Video Series and will only be available in PsycTHERAPY
  • Demonstrations conducted with master practitioners who are experts in their respective fields, featuring the most recent versions of classic therapeutic approaches as well as newer approaches
Additional Features
  • Cross-searchable with other APA databases
  • Growing collection of demonstrations with new content being added biannually
  • Videos coded with index terms and information about the participants, session content, and therapeutic approaches demonstrated in order to facilitate accurate precise searching

Social Sciences Citation Index
Science Citation Index Expanded - This database covers the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,800 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines from 1900 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: agriculture, neuroscience, astronomy, oncology, biochemistry, pediatrics, biology, pharmacology, biotechnology, physics, chemistry, plant sciences, computer science, psychiatry, materials science, surgery, mathematics, veterinary science, medicine, and zoology.

Social Sciences Citation Index - This database covers the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines from 1956 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: anthropology, political science, history, public health, industrial relations, social issues, information science & library science, social work, law, sociology, linguistics, substance abuse, philosophy, urban studies, psychology, women's studies, and psychiatry.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index - This database indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals from 1975 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: archaeology, linguistics, architecture, literary reviews, art, literature, Asian studies, music, classics, philosophy, dance, poetry, folklore, radio, television, film, history, religion, language, and theater.

Use PAWS ID and password for Endnotes Help
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The index features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,000 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. This file also contains informative abstracts for more than 590 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as 1,040 "selective" coverage journals. Further, extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. Searchable cited references are also provided.

SocINDEX with Full Text offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.

SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 235 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 545 books and monographs, and full text for 6,601 conference papers.
Databases by Title
This does not search within databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide Information
Some full text available Some Full Text
Free Trial
Open Access