|Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online is a platform that allows one to search across all video titles in the Alexander Street Press catalog that LSU either owns or to which we subscribe. This includes individual collections we have already purchased such as Counseling and Therapy in Video, and Theatre in Video.
|Biography in Context
The Biography in Context (formerly Biography Resource Center) is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more than 185,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It contains approximately 250,000 biographies and full-text articles from nearly 250 periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search path.
Black Drama contains the full text of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 150 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. James Vernon Hatch, the playwright, historian, and curator of the landmark Hatch-Billops Collection, is the project's editorial advisor. Nearly a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.
Each play is extensively and deeply indexed, allowing both keyword and multi-fielded searching. The plays are accompanied by reference materials, significant ancillary information, a rich performance database, and images. The result is an exceptionally deep and unified collection that illustrates the many purposes that black theater has served: to give testimony to the ancient foundations of black culture; to protest injustices; to project emerging images of the New Black; and to give voice to the many and varied expressions of black creativity.
|C19: Nineteenth Century Index
C19 Index is the bibliographic spine of 19th century research, providing integrated access to the most important finding aids for books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers and archives. Users of C19 Index can query its 12 collections simultaneously, or can conduct more detailed research using collection specific search screens. C19 Index is a dynamic and growing resource, currently containing over 20 million bibliographic records for a full range of 19th century source material. The links below provide more detail on the 12 collections available in C19 Index.
C19 Index draws on 12 collections:
|Cambridge Histories Online
Online access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series, with access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content. Coverage includes American and British history, general history, music, religious studies, theater and performing arts, and more.
|Directory of Open Access Journals
The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.
The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. In short, a one stop shop for users to Open Access Journals.
Discovery (short for EBSCO Discovery Service) searches across the LSU Libraries’ catalog and many of its databases and online resources so that customers will have a one-stop search engine that returns high quality content in books, journals, archives, and databases.
|Dissertations & Theses Abstracts
Contains citations to 1.2 million dissertations and masters theses. Coverage begins in 1861, with abstracts available since 1980, and thesis abstracts since 1988.
Use PAWS ID and password for Endnotes Help
|eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) is a collection of reference, scholarly, and professional e-books (full text electronic books) from university and commercial presses, covering a variety of disciplines.
|EBSCO Electronic Journals Service
EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service (EJS) is a gateway to thousands of e-journals containing millions of articles from hundreds of different publishers, all at one web site.
|Electronic Thesis and Dissertation Library
Note: Access to electronic theses and dissertations is usually unrestricted. Some titles may be limited to the LSU campus or have other access restrictions.
Online versions of various theses and dissertations from LSU graduate students.
Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to access them.
|Filmakers Library Online
Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
|Grove Dictionary of Music is now part of Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, individual works, instruments and notation, forms and genres; The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Second Edition, Revised (2006) will similarly supplement Grove's more extensive coverage with content geared toward undergraduates and general users. Both of these sources are included in a subscription to Grove Music Online. Oxford Music Online is also pleased to feature Colin Larkin's landmark Encyclopedia of Popular Music — online for the first time by popular demand. The most comprehensive reference work devoted exclusively to popular music, EPM is the authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists, covering popular music from 1900 to the present. It is exhaustive, meticulous, authoritative — and incredibly fun to read.
|ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Iter is a not-for-profit research project with partners in Toronto (the headquarters), New York City, and Tempe. Iter was created for the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the development of online resources. The Iter Databases include:
The Iter Bibliography: Iter's bibliography includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
International Directory of Scholars: The International Directory of Scholars (IDS) is the fortunate result of a convergence of interests of the Renaissance Society of America (RSA), who wanted a major revision of its own Directory, and the Sixteenth Century Society and Conference (SCSC), who wanted to transform its highly respected Scholars of Early Modern Studies into an online database. The IDS is a comprehensive resource which accommodates not only the usual directory contact information, but also detailed information on the research and teaching careers of scholars around the world.
Iter Italicum: Brill Academic Publishers and Iter are pleased to announce the publication of the first online edition of Paul Oskar Kristeller's Iter Italicum, the most comprehensive finding list available of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world. Originally published in six volumes between 1963 and 1992, it is an essential tool for any scholar working in the fields of classical, medieval and Renaissance studies.
Early Theatre: Iter, in partnership with the Centre for Reformation and Renaissance Studies at Victoria University in the University of Toronto, is pleased to offer online access to Early Theatre (ET). Authorized users can search, view, and print the full-text of volume 1 (1998), volume 2 (1999), and volume 4 (2001) to the current issue. Volume 3 (2000) is forthcoming.
Renaissance and Reformation / Renaissance et Réforme: Iter, in partnership with the Centre for Reformation and Renaissance Studies at Victoria University in the University of Toronto, is pleased to offer online access to Renaissance and Reformation / Renaissance et Réforme (RR). Authorized users can search, view, and print the full-text of the journal from volume 24, no. 1 (2000).
Renaissance Quarterly: Iter, in partnership with the Renaissance Society of America, is pleased to offer online access to Renaissance Quarterly (RQ). Authorized users can search, view, and print the full-text of the journal from volume 53, no. 1 (2000).
Aestimatio: Aestimatio provides critical, timely assessments of books published in the history of what was called science from antiquity up to the early modern period in cultures ranging from Spain to India, and from Africa to northern Europe. The aim is to allow reviewers the opportunity to engage critically both the results of research in the history of science and how these results are obtained.
Baptisteria Sacra: This index offers detailed descriptions of fonts from the early Christian period to the 17th century. The link currently leads to the project web site, where individuals can learn more about the project and search sample records at no charge. In the future, access to the full index will be available, through a subscription to Iter.
Electronic Capito Project: The Electronic Capito Project provides the text of letters from and to Wolfgang Capito which are either unpublished or have been published before 1850 and are therefore difficult to access. The link currently leads to the project web site, where individuals can learn more about the project and search sample records at no charge.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization and a shared digital library archive of critical scholarly journal literature.
Louisiana State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
|Literary Reference Center
Literary Reference Center is a full text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. This resource includes more than 10,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; 75,000 articles of literary criticism; 130,000 author biographies; full text of more than 300 literary journals; 500,000 book reviews; 25,000 classic & contemporary poems; over 11,000 classic & contemporary short stories; full text of more than 7,500 classic novels (anticipated by Fall 2006); over 3,000 author interviews; and over 1,000 images of key literary figures.
Of particular note, the database contains the Bloom Series of more than 500 books from Chelsea House Publishers edited by renowned literary critic Harold Bloom and all of MagillOnLiterature Plus™ from Salem Press, including the highly regarded Masterplots series.
|MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association)
MLA International Bibliography is an index of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1926. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. In addition, the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the Bibliography are also included. Examples of titles offered in MLA International Bibliography include: Journal of International Folklore, Journal of English and German Philology, Journal of Linguistics, Journal of Popular Film and Television, Language and Communication, Language Teaching Research, Modern Language Journal, etc.
Click here to access the Directory of Periodicals (MLA).
|Modernist Journals Project
The MJP is a multi-faceted project, which is intended to become a major resource for the study of the rise of modernism in the English-speaking world, with periodical literature at the center of this study. As such, its historical scope has a chronological range of 1890 to 1922, and a geographical range that extends to English language periodicals, wherever they were published. With magazines at the center, the MJP also has a generic range that extends to the digital publication of books directly connected to modernist periodicals and other supporting materials for the study of these periodicals. At this stage of the MJP's development, however, the chronological range of periodicals extends only from 1904 to 1922. We end at 1922 for both intellectual and practical reasons: the practical reason is that copyright becomes an issue with publications from 1923 onward; the intellectual reason is that most scholars consider modernism to be fully fledged in 1922, a date marked by the publication of James Joyce's Ulysses and T. S. Eliot's The Waste Land. We are concentrating, then, on the rise of modernism, in which the magazines played a crucial role.
|North American Women's Letters and Diaries
North American Women's Letters and Diaries is the largest collection of women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled. Spanning more than 300 years, brings the personal experiences of some 1,325 women to researchers, students, and general readers.
The collection includes some 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from Colonial times to 1950, including more than 6,000 pages of previously unpublished materials. Drawn from more than 600 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings, much of the material is in copyright. Represented are all age groups and life stages, all ethnicities, many geographical regions, the famous and the not so famous. It includes some 300 biographies to enhance the use of the database.
|Oxford Music Online
With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006)
Project Muse provides online, world wide, institutional subscription access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
|Romantic Era Redefined, The
The Romantic Era Redefined brings academic research libraries a new, genre-redefining electronic collection of Romantic-era literature. In partnership with Pickering & Chatto Publishers, Alexander Street Press is publishing over 170,000 pages of text by writers from Britain, the British Empire, and North America. Included is poetry, prose, drama, letters,and diaries—along with political, philosophical, scientific, and sociological works. In addition to the primary texts themselves, the project includes the full run of The Wordsworth Circle.
This is the first time that Pickering & Chatto’s highly acclaimed critical editions have been made available in electronic format, allowing scholars to examine the texts in new ways. Important texts that have been long overlooked will be rediscovered, and researchers will be able to trace new interrelationships among these works.
In addition to Pickering & Chatto's critical editions, The Romantic Era Redefined includes the only complete digital version of The Wordsworth Circle, the international academic journal devoted to the study of English literature, culture, and society during the Romantic era. The quarterly print journal is finally available electronically, with in-depth indexing and powerful search functionality.
The Romantic Era Redefined presents the writings of Maria Edgeworth, Charlotte Smith, William Godwin, Elizabeth Inchbald, Harriet Martineau, Joanna Baillie, Thomas DeQuincey, Mary Russell Mitford, and John Thelwall, among dozens of other writers of the time.
|Theatre in Video
Theatre in Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all. This release contains 60 titles, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Included are landmark performances such as The Iceman Cometh, Hamlet, Othello, Awake and Sing, Long Day's Journey Into Night, Playboy of the Western World, and others. Notable actors include Gene Wilder, Laurence Olivier, Richard Dreyfuss, Walter Matthau, Meryl Streep, and more. For the first time, students, instructors and researchers can bookmark specific scenes, monologues and staging, and these landmark performances can become a permanent part of the curriculum.
NOTE: Database only supports up to 3 users at any given time.
|Twentieth Century North American Drama
Contains more than 1,500 plays from the United States and Canada. In addition to providing a comprehensive full-text resource for students in the performing arts, the collection offers a unique window into the economic, historical, social, and political psyche of two countries. Scholars and students who use the database will have a new way to study the signal events and trends of the twentieth century - including the Depression, the role of women, the Cold War, and more - through the plays and performances of writers who lived through these decades.
Frequently Used Databases
Databases by Title
This does not search within databases
Key to Icons