The Catalog is a search and retrieval service that provides bibliographic records of U.S. Government information products. Use it to link to Federal agency online resources or identify materials distributed to Federal Depository Libraries. Coverage begins with January 1994 and new records are added daily. New Electronic Titles contains online titles that are the latest entries in the Catalog or are in the queue to be added to it.
| ||Directory of Open Access Journals |
The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.
The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. In short, a one stop shop for users to Open Access Journals. (Link to Record)
| ||Discovery |
Discovery (short for EBSCO Discovery Service) searches across the LSU Libraries’ catalog and many of its databases and online resources so that customers will have a one-stop search engine that returns high quality content in books, journals, archives, and databases.
- Click for Complete List
- LSU Libraries’ online catalog
- Academic Search Complete
- Accessible Archives
- Alexander Street Press
- Alt HealthWatch
- America: History and Life with Full Text
- American National Biography Online
- AP NewsMonitor Collection
- Aphasiology Archive
- Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective: 1913-1983
- Archive of European Integration
- Art Full Text
- Art Index Retrospective
- ATLA Religion Database
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
- Biological Abstracts
- Biological Abstracts 1969 - Present
- Book Collection: Nonfiction
- Britannica Online
- British Library Document Supply Centre Inside Serials & Conference Proceedings
- Business Source Complete
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
- Computer Science Index
- Computer Source
- Credo Reference Collections
- Directory of Open Access Journals
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
- Economía y Negocios
- Educational Administration Abstracts
- Environment Index
- Essay and General Literature Retrospective
- European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
- Freedonia Focus Reports
- Fuente Académica
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
- GeoRef In Process
- Government Printing Office Catalog
- Grove Art Online
- Grove Music Online
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
- History Reference Center
- Hoover's Company Profiles
- Hospitality & Tourism Index
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
- Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text
- Index to Printed Music
- Industry Studies Working Papers
- Information Science & Technology Abstracts (ISTA)
- Informit Business Collection
- Informit Engineering Collection
- Informit Health Collection
- Informit Humanities & Social Sciences Collection
- Informit Indigenous Collection
- Informit Literature & Culture Collection
- Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts
- Japanese Periodical Index
- Korean Studies Information Service System (KISS)
- Legal Collection
- LexisNexis Academic: Law Reviews
- LexisNexis U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection
- Library Literature & Information Science Full Text
- Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective: 1905-1983
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text
- Literary Reference Center
- Manuscriptorium Digital Library
- MAS Ultra - School Edition
- Mental Measurements Yearbook
- Mergent Annual Reports Collection
- Military & Government Collection
- Minority Health Archive
- MLA Directory of Periodicals
- MLA International Bibliography
- Music Index
- New Testament Abstracts
- NewsBank - Archives
- Newspaper Source
- OAPEN Library
- Old Testament Abstracts
- Oxford Handbooks Online
- Oxford Scholarship Online
- Philosopher's Index
- PhilSci Archive
- Primary Search
- Professional Development Collection
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
- Public Information Online
- Publisher Provided Full Text Searching File
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson)
- Regional Business News
- Religion and Philosophy Collection
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
- RIPM - Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals
- RISM Series A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600
- Science & Technology Collection
- SocINDEX with Full Text
- SOFIS - Sozialwissenschaftliche Forschungsinformationen
- SOLIS - Sozialwissenschaftliche Literatur
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text
- Sustainability Watch
- Teacher Reference Center
- Textile Technology Complete
- Vente et Gestion
- Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
- World History Collection
Discovery also searches other Louisiana libraries. By default, LSU is searched. To search more, go to Advanced Search and change the "Location" option to "all" to search other Louisiana academic libraries. (Link to Record)
| ||Dissertation Abstracts |
Contains citations to 1.2 million dissertations and masters theses. Coverage begins in 1861, with abstracts available since 1980, and thesis abstracts since 1988.
Use PAWS ID and password for Endnotes Help (Link to Record)
| ||eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) |
Formerly netLibrary, eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), a collection of almost 40,000 reference, scholarly, and professional e-books (full text electronic books) from university and commercial presses, covering a variety of disciplines. (Link to Record)
| ||EBSCO Electronic Journals Service |
EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service (EJS) is a gateway to thousands of e-journals containing millions of articles from hundreds of different publishers, all at one web site. (Link to Record)
| ||Electronic Thesis and Dissertation Library|
Note: Access to electronic theses and dissertations is usually unrestricted. Some titles may be limited to the LSU campus or have other access restrictions.
Online versions of various theses and dissertations from LSU graduate students.
Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to access them. (Link to Record)
| ||Google Scholar |
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. (Link to Record)
| ||Ingenta |
(Link to Record)
- Finding your way to the Louisiana State University Gateway Logon Screen:
- From the LSU Libraries homepage (http://www.lib.lsu.edu/), click on the Ingenta link under Services.
- Navigate through the subsequent connection/authentication pages - if you are connecting to the LSU Ingenta gateway from off campus, you are required to demonstrate your university affiliation by entering your 17-digit Tiger Card ID Number and your PIN.
- After authentication/connection to the gateway, you arrive at the Logon Screen.
- Logging in to the Louisiana State University Ingenta Gateway:
- University Faculty, Research Staff, and Graduate Students are able to create User IDs and Passwords for use in logging into the Ingenta gateway. At any time after you create a User ID and Password and forget either, you can retrieve this information by clicking the "forgot your password?" link on the Logon Screen.
- New users have two options for creating User IDs and Passwords:
- Creating a User ID and Password by entering your 17-digit Tiger Card ID Number:
- Enter your 17-digit Tiger Card ID Number in the field on the Logon page that asks for it specifically.
- Once you are recognized as a Faculty member, Research Staff, or Graduate Student, you will be taken to a registration page where you can create a User ID and Password for using the LSU Ingenta Gateway.
- Now that you have a User ID and Password, you can login to the gateway from the Logon Page - your profile is saved and your User ID is now, already, connected to our Patrons Deposit Account, which is used to subsidize your Ingenta purchases (up to $50 per article).
- If your ID Number is not recognized by Ingenta, then you should register for a User ID and Password by clicking the Register button on the Logon Page. Some users' IDs are not recognized at the beginning of a semester, before new patron information is sent to Ingenta.
- Creating a User ID and Password by registering as a new user:
- Click the Register button on the Logon Page to complete the registration form; the only difference between registering by clicking the Register button and registering by entering your 17-digit Tiger Card ID number is that you will not be connected to the Patrons Deposit Account if you register by clicking the Register button.
- Therefore, after completing this form and selecting a User ID and Password, send an email to the Middleton Interlibrary Loan Department at firstname.lastname@example.org with your User ID and Password, stating that you are a new user and would like to be connected to the Patrons Deposit Account.
- Once the email is received and processed, your profile will then be connected to the account, which is used to subsidize your Ingenta purchases (up to $50 per article).
- You can always use your User ID and Password, once you have them, to login to the LSU Ingenta Gateway, and you should always use your original User ID - if you create a second User ID, it will not be connected to the Patrons Deposit Account and your article purchases will not be subsidized by LSU Libraries.
Allows for the ordering of articles, from periodicals not owned by LSU, by faculty, research staff, and graduate students for research or instructional use. These orders are subsidized by the library.
Please review the Ingenta policies before accessing.
Accessing Ingenta: Instructions
Accessing Ingenta: Instruction Sheet
(For any questions or additional information see the Interlibrary Borrowing web page (http://www.lib.lsu.edu/lib/ilb/ ) or call (225) 578-2138.
| ||JSTOR |
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. JSTOR consists of a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. Louisiana State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
(Link to Record)
- Arts & Sciences I Collection
- Arts & Sciences II Collection
- Arts & Sciences III Collection
- Arts & Sciences IV Collection
- Arts & Sciences V Collection
- Arts & Sciences VII Collection
- Ecology & Botany Collection
- Health & General Sciences Collection
- Public Health Reports
- Journal of Military History
- Journal of Field Archaeology
| ||Project Muse |
Project Muse provides online, world wide, institutional subscription access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. (Link to Record)
Note: Access available from the Middleton Library Text Lab. Password required. For use of this database, inquire at the reference desk
PubWest (Public Web-based Examiner's Search Tool) contains the U.S. Patents Full-Text Database, U.S. Pre-grant Publication Full-Text Database, U.S. OCR Full-Text Database, EPO Abstracts Database, and JPO Abstracts Database. Users can search by proximity operators (near, adj, same, with) or field codes. The Search Results screen can be displayed in multiple ways, Hit List, KWIC, Side by Side Text Display, Document Text, and Images. One can also view and edit their Search History and create Collections of patents. (Link to Record)
| ||Trademark Electronic Search System |
The U.S. government's website which contains information on trademarks, how to apply for one, and TESS: the search system that contains more than 3 million pending, registered and dead federal trademarks. (Link to Record)
| ||U.S. Patent and Trademark Office |
The main site for the United States Patent and Trademark Office. The office issues patents and trademarks and the site gives information on how to apply and contains various search engines which gives the user access to millions of patents and trademarks. (Link to Record)
| ||U.S. Patents Full-Text and Full-Image Databases |
The patent database for the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. The database contains over 3 million patents including design patents, utility patents, plant patents, etc. (Link to Record)
| ||Web of Knowledge Databases |
Web of Science
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
Food Science and Technology Abstracts
Provides thorough coverage of pure and applied research in food science, food technology, and food-related nutrition.
The U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM®) premier life sciences database.
Journal Citation Reports
Journal performance metrics offer a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals (Link to Record)
| ||WorldCat Local (Mobile) |
The LSU Libraries collection and the collections of many other libraries are searchable worldwide using WorldCat Local, the world's largest network of library-based content and services.
Although WorldCat has a global reach, you'll always see information about our collections and links to our services up front. Everything you need is displayed right within the WorldCat record, including location and availability information for the item, and prominent button links to reserve or request an item or directly view electronic content such as the full text of an article.
What does it include? Resources owned by LSU Libraries: Resources available through our sharing relationships with other libraries, if your library belongs to a group; Resources owned by all other WorldCat libraries globally. Results within each of these groups are ordered by relevance. Note that global WorldCat results may include many resources not owned by LSU Libraries. You may be able to obtain these items from a nearby library or through our resource-sharing network—click the "Request Item" button on the WorldCat record.
WorldCat Local now searches JSTOR articles as well!
What does it not include?
- Materials on order or in the process of being added to the collection
- Materials that are locally cataloged
- Some LSU print dissertations and theses from 1898-2001*
- Article citations not included in ArticleFirst, ERIC, MEDLINE, British Library Serials, and GPO
- Monthly Catalog
- Materials included in the following online collections:*
- Early American Newspapers
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)
- English Poetry, Second Edition
- CABI e-books
- Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online (MEMSO)
- Safari Books Online
*The Libraries are working to add catalog records for these resources to WorldCat Local. With the exception of LSU print dissertations and theses, approval from vendors is required to add the records to WorldCat Local. This list will be updated as records are added to WorldCat Local. These resources are always available through the online catalog. (Link to Record)