Database List By Subject: Sociology

Databases
By Title:
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPRSTUVWZNumAll

Abstracts in Social Gerontology
Abstracts in Social Gerontology includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other key areas of relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 35,700 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources.
Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of more than 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals. Academic Search Complete is updated daily and available via EBSCOhost.
Access World News
"The most comprehensive collection of full-text newspapers globally, Access World News provides extensive coverage at any level—local, state, regional, national and international. This fully searchable Web-based resource features the vast majority of the top U.S. newspapers by circulation, along with hundreds of hard-to-find local and regional titles, most of which are unavailable elsewhere. Additionally, Access World News offers hundreds of international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages." (Newsbank)
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
The African American Newspapers will feature, when complete, 270 newspapers published in 36 states, including rare and historically significant 19th-century titles. This fully searchable online collection will offer fascinating insights into African American history, culture and daily life.

This resource is limited to three concurrent users
American FactFinder (1990 and 2000 Census of Population and Housing)
Includes the 1990 and 2000 Census of Population and Housing.
American Memory
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
Annual Reviews
Since 1932, Annual Reviews has offered comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 32 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.

Annual Reviews is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to provide the worldwide scientific community with a useful and intelligent synthesis of the primary research literature for a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in scientific literature as indexed by the Institute for Scientific Information's Journal Citation Report. Each year, Annual Reviews critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide you to the principal contributions of the field and help you keep up to date in your area of research.
Anthropology Plus
As a compilation of the Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature databases, Anthropology Plus is the world’s most comprehensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
This database offers worldwide indexing of all core periodical and lesser-known journals from the early 19th century to today, providing extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, interdisciplinary studies, etc.


Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System: Survey Data
Includes eight databases on specific illnesses or aspects of chronic disease prevention and health promotion, designed to help public health professionals and educators locate both published and unpublished program information. The databases cover such specific topics as health promotion and education, school health, cancer prevention and control, smoking, epilepsy, chronic disease prevention, state profile programs, and the health promotion and education thesaurus. Also called Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
The Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance is a government-wide compendium of Federal programs, projects, services, and activities which provide assistance or benefits to the American public. It contains financial and nonfinancial assistance programs administered by departments and establishments of the Federal government.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Note: Unrestricted Access
The Catalog is a search and retrieval service that provides bibliographic records of U.S. Government information products. Use it to link to Federal agency online resources or identify materials distributed to Federal Depository Libraries. Coverage begins with January 1994 and new records are added daily. New Electronic Titles contains online titles that are the latest entries in the Catalog or are in the queue to be added to it.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports, each around 12,000 words, produced each year. The reports include a pro-con feature, a chronology, bibliographies and a list of contacts.
David Rumsey Map Collection
Help Center: http://www.davidrumsey.com/help/center

Focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America cartographic history materials. The collection includes atlases, globes, school geography, maritime charts, and a variety of separate maps including pocket, wall, children's and manuscript maps.
Directory of Open Access Journals
The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.

The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. In short, a one stop shop for users to Open Access Journals.
Discovery
Discovery (short for EBSCO Discovery Service) searches across the LSU Libraries’ catalog and many of its databases and online resources so that customers will have a one-stop search engine that returns high quality content in books, journals, archives, and databases.
  • Click for Complete List
    • LSU Libraries’ online catalog
    • Abstract in Social Gerontology
    • Academic Search Complete
    • Accessible Archives
    • AGRIS
    • Alexander Street Press
    • Alt HealthWatch
    • America: History and Life with Full Text
    • American National Biography Online
    • Anthropology Plus
    • Aphasiology Archive
    • Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective: 1913-1983 (H.W. Wilson)
    • Archive of European Integration
    • Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
    • Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)
    • Arts & Humanities Citation Index
    • arXiv
    • ATLA Religion Database
    • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
    • Biological Abstracts
    • Biological Abstracts 1969 - Present
    • BioOne Online Journals
    • Book Collection: Nonfiction
    • Business Source Complete
    • CINAHL Complete
    • Communication & Mass Media Complete
    • Computer Source
    • Credo Reference Collections
    • Directory of Open Access Journals
    • eArticle
    • eBook Collection (EBSCOhost )
    • EconLit
    • Economía y Negocios
    • Educational Administration Abstracts
    • Environment Index
    • ERIC
    • Essay and General Literature Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)
    • European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
    • Family Studies Abstracts
    • Fuente Académica
    • Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
    • GeoRef
    • GeoRef In Process
    • Government Printing Office Catalog
    • GreenFILE
    • Grove Art Online
    • Grove Music Online
    • HathiTrust
    • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
    • HeinOnline
    • History Reference Center
    • Hospitality & Tourism Index
    • Human Resources Abstracts
    • Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson)
    • Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
    • Index to Printed Music
    • Industry Studies Working Papers
    • Information Science & Technology Abstracts (ISTA)
    • JSTOR Journals
    • Legal Collection
    • Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
    • Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective: 1905-1983 (H.W. Wilson)
    • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
    • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text
    • Literary Reference Center
    • Literature Resource Center (Gale)
    • LGBT Life with Full Text
    • MAS Ultra - School Edition
    • MedicLatina
    • MEDLINE
    • Mental Measurements Yearbook
    • Military & Government Collection
    • Minority Health Archive
    • MLA Directory of Periodicals
    • MLA International Bibliography
    • Music Index
    • Naxos Music Library
    • New Testament Abstracts
    • NewsBank
    • NewsBank - Archives
    • Newspaper Source
    • Newswires
    • OAIster
    • OAPEN Library
    • Old Testament Abstracts
    • Oxford Handbooks Online
    • Peace Research Abstracts
    • Philosopher's Index
    • PhilSci Archive
    • Primary Search
    • Professional Development Collection
    • Project Muse
    • PsycARTICLES
    • PsycARTICLES
    • PsycBOOKS
    • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
    • PsycINFO
    • Public Administration Abstracts
    • Publisher Provided Full Text Searching File
    • Race Relations Abstracts
    • Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson)
    • Regional Business News
    • Religion and Philosophy Collection
    • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
    • RIPM - Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals
    • RISM Series A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600
    • Science & Technology Collection
    • ScienceDirect
    • Shock & Vibration Digest
    • SocINDEX with Full Text
    • SPORTDiscus with Full Text
    • Supplemental Index
    • Sustainability Watch
    • Teacher Reference Center
    • Textile Technology Complete
    • Urban Studies Abstracts
    • Vente et Gestion
    • Violence & Abuse Abstracts
    • Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
Discovery also searches other Louisiana libraries. By default, LSU is searched. To search more, go to Advanced Search and change the "Location" option to "all" to search other Louisiana academic libraries.
Dissertation Abstracts
Contains citations to 1.2 million dissertations and masters theses. Coverage begins in 1861, with abstracts available since 1980, and thesis abstracts since 1988.

Use PAWS ID and password for Endnotes Help
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) is a collection of reference, scholarly, and professional e-books (full text electronic books) from university and commercial presses, covering a variety of disciplines.
EBSCO Electronic Journals Service
EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service (EJS) is a gateway to thousands of e-journals containing millions of articles from hundreds of different publishers, all at one web site.
Economics and Sociology Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Electronic Thesis and Dissertation Library
Note: Access to electronic theses and dissertations is usually unrestricted. Some titles may be limited to the LSU campus or have other access restrictions.
Online versions of various theses and dissertations from LSU graduate students.

Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to access them.
Encyclopedia of Developing Regional Communities with Information and Communication Technology
The Encyclopedia of Developing Regional Communities with Information and Communication Technology is an important and timely reference source on all topics related to the emerging field of information and communication technology (ICT) and its role in developing regional communities. This single-volume provides a thorough examination of concepts, technologies, policies, training, and applications of ICT in support of economic and regional developments around the globe. With 171 leading international contributors from 40 countries, over 940 terms and definitions, and more than 2,200 references, this publication is the single indispensable source of knowledge related to ICT and its strong positive impacts on the economic development of regional communities around the world.
Encyclopedia or World Dress and Fashion
Informed by prestigious academic and library advisors, and anchored by the ten-volume Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion (July 2010), the Berg Fashion Library is the first online resource to provide access to interdisciplinary and integrated text, image, and journal content on world dress and fashion. The Berg Fashion Library offers users cross-searchable access to an expanding range of essential resources in this discipline of growing importance and relevance including a specially-created taxonomy, an e-book collection, and extensive color image bank. It will be of use to anyone working in, researching, or studying fashion, anthropology, art history, history, museum studies, and cultural studies.

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
A bibliographic database of more than 32,000 entries, providing a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750, this database is the result of a cooperation between EBSCO Publishing and the John Carter Brown Library. The database is created from "European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750," and is available to LSU free from EBSCO.

FDsys
Provides online access to the U.S. Government Printing Office. This service was mandated by Public Law 103-40 (June 8, 1993), "The Government Printing Office Electronic Information Access Enhancement Act of 1993," to make the Federal Register and other Congressional information available to the public.

Filmakers Library Online
Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. While coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, the database also covers Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new and investigational drugs. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
Ingenta
  1. Finding your way to the Louisiana State University Gateway Logon Screen:
    1. Follow this link to the Ingenta Gateway.
    2. Navigate through the subsequent connection/authentication pages - if you are connecting to the LSU Ingenta gateway from off campus, you are required to demonstrate your university affiliation by entering your 17-digit Tiger Card ID Number and your PIN.
    3. After authentication/connection to the gateway, you arrive at the Logon Screen.
  2. Logging in to the Louisiana State University Ingenta Gateway:
    1. University Faculty, Research Staff, and Graduate Students are able to create User IDs and Passwords for use in logging into the Ingenta gateway. At any time after you create a User ID and Password and forget either, you can retrieve this information by clicking the "forgot your password?" link on the Logon Screen.
    2. New users have two options for creating User IDs and Passwords:
      1. Creating a User ID and Password by entering your 17-digit Tiger Card ID Number:
        1. Enter your 17-digit Tiger Card ID Number in the field on the Logon page that asks for it specifically.
        2. Once you are recognized as a Faculty member, Research Staff, or Graduate Student, you will be taken to a registration page where you can create a User ID and Password for using the LSU Ingenta Gateway.
        3. Now that you have a User ID and Password, you can login to the gateway from the Logon Page - your profile is saved and your User ID is now, already, connected to our Patrons Deposit Account, which is used to subsidize your Ingenta purchases (up to $65 per article).
        4. If your ID Number is not recognized by Ingenta, then you should register for a User ID and Password by clicking the Register button on the Logon Page. Some users' IDs are not recognized at the beginning of a semester, before new patron information is sent to Ingenta.
        5. Creating a User ID and Password by registering as a new user:
          1. Click the Register button on the Logon Page to complete the registration form; the only difference between registering by clicking the Register button and registering by entering your 17-digit Tiger Card ID number is that you will not be connected to the Patrons Deposit Account if you register by clicking the Register button.
          2. Therefore, after completing this form and selecting a User ID and Password, send an email to the Middleton Interlibrary Loan Department at libilb@lsu.edu with your User ID and Password, stating that you are a new user and would like to be connected to the Patrons Deposit Account.
          3. Once the email is received and processed, your profile will then be connected to the account, which is used to subsidize your Ingenta purchases (up to $65 per article).
      2. You can always use your User ID and Password, once you have them, to login to the LSU Ingenta Gateway, and you should always use your original User ID - if you create a second User ID, it will not be connected to the Patrons Deposit Account and your article purchases will not be subsidized by LSU Libraries.
     
    Allows for the ordering of articles, from periodicals not owned by LSU, by faculty, research staff, and graduate students for research or instructional use. These orders are subsidized by the library.

    Please review the Ingenta policies before accessing.

    Accessing Ingenta: Instructions

    Accessing Ingenta: Instruction Sheet

    (For any questions or additional information see the Interlibrary Borrowing web page (http://www.lib.lsu.edu/lib/ilb/ ) or call (225) 578-2138.

iPoll
iPOLL is a one-stop comprehensive source for polling data. It includes, every major US survey firm – over 150 organizations; Academic, commercial, and media polls; More than one-half million questions and answers; Opinions and behaviors; Topical coverage from crime to politics to diplomacy to social behavior; 1935 to yesterday; Question-level retrieval with links to full results; and Links from questions to study abstracts and questionnaires.

JSTOR
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization and a shared digital library archive of critical scholarly journal literature.

Louisiana State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
  • Arts & Sciences Collections I-XI
  • Ireland Archive Collection
  • Life Sciences Collection
  • University of California Press Collection
  • University of Chicago Press Collection

NewsBank
This site provides access to all of LSU Libraries' NewsBank subscriptions, including the following:
  • Access World News (local, regional, national and international newspapers and news sources)
  • Archive of Americana
    • America's Historical Imprints
    • America's Historical Newspapers
      • African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
    • American State Papers, 1789-1838
    • U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994
      • Serial Set Maps
  • Foreign Broadcast INformation Service (FBIS) Daily Reports

O*NET
The information in O*NET 98 is based largely on data supplied by occupational analysts from sources such as the Dictionary of Occupational Titles (DOT).

Past Masters
Since 1989, InteLex has been publishing the Past Masters series of full-text humanities databases. They are focused on the needs of the scholarly community in the human sciences. InteLex assembles and publishes cohesive collections of excellent editions, in both original language and in English translation, using meticulous text conversion processes. Combined with powerful CD-ROM- and web-based search and reference tools, the Past Masters series provides scholars with significantly-enhanced and highly-flexible access to the classic texts.

InteLex Corporation's Past Masters series encompasses the largest collection of full-text electronic editions in philosophy in the world. They publish significant databases in the history of political thought and theory, education, religious studies, economics, classics, history and philosophy of science, germanic studies and sociology.

Population Index on the Web
Indexes publications on demography and population research. You may search the Population Index database for 1986-1999 (43,463 citations) by author, subject, geographical region and/or year. You may also search for text anywhere in a citation, including the title, series and abstract. All of these criteria can be freely combined.
Project Muse
Project Muse provides online, world wide, institutional subscription access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
PsycTests
PsycTESTS® is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
 
Comprehensive Test Coverage
  • Focuses primarily on unpublished tests, those developed by researchers but not made commercially available
  • Most records link to a variety of materials describing the test in peer-reviewed literature, technical reports, or dissertations as well as links to related peer-reviewed literature describing test development, review, or use
  • ll records include a summary that describes the test, with its purpose and some history of its development
  • Most records include the actual test instrument
High-Quality Records and Search Features
  • Each record includes data on the scope of the test, test implementation, a high-level overview of the test's development, and reliability and validity data (when available
  • Users can browse tests using the test name or acronym, author, construct, or year and get directly to the test record
  • Or they can create detailed searches across a variety of customized fields such as construct, index terms, author, format, population, and so on
  • Search results integrate with other APA databases, offering a unified display for improved discoverability
Authoritative Sources
  • Tests include those compiled from a systematic review of peer-reviewed journals published by APA, Hogrefe Publishing Group, and other large publishers; technical reports from PsycEXTRA®; contributions from individual test authors; collections from the Archives of the History of American Psychology; and more
  • Records are created by skilled indexers with deep knowledge of the psychology literature
  • Links are provided for each instrument to source documentation containing a full citation, DOI for the full text, and a link to the PsycINFO® or PsycEXTRA record

PsycTHERAPY
PsycTHERAPY® is a database containing more than 300 videos featuring therapy demonstrations showing clinicians working with individuals, couples, and families.
 
Comprehensive Coverage
  • More than 200 different topics covered throughout hundreds of hours of filmed demonstrations
  • Demonstrations exemplifying various therapist interactions with individuals, couples, and families
High-Quality Content and Features
  • Interactions from therapy demonstrations utilizing a wide range of approaches
  • Contains only unscripted, spontaneous therapy sessions taped in the last 10 years
  • Highly flexible tool with synchronized, searchable transcripts that enhance user navigation and access
  • Ability to tag segments of each therapy demonstration to create, save, or share personal playlists
Authoritative Publications
  • APA has produced educational therapy demonstration videos since the mid-1990s
  • All videos in PsycTHERAPY were originally taped in conjunction with the APA Psychotherapy Video Series and will only be available in PsycTHERAPY
  • Demonstrations conducted with master practitioners who are experts in their respective fields, featuring the most recent versions of classic therapeutic approaches as well as newer approaches
Additional Features
  • Cross-searchable with other APA databases
  • Growing collection of demonstrations with new content being added biannually
  • Videos coded with index terms and information about the participants, session content, and therapeutic approaches demonstrated in order to facilitate accurate precise searching

Roper Center Public Opinion Archives
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. The data held by the Roper Center range from the 1930s, when survey research was in its infancy, to the present. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented. This includes on demand access to the full datasets required to conduct bivariate and multivariate analyses on archived surveys using RoperExpress.

Rural Development Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.

Scifinder
Note: Click on "i" and follow the instructions if you do not already have an account set up with Scifinder
Scifinder is a database from Chemical Abstracts Service offering electronic access to Chemical Abstracts, which contains the largest substance database, CAS Registry, with more than 24 million substances--including 12 million organic substances. It is also the world's most comprehensive database of chemical literature and patents, containing the most current information, with daily updating by CAS scientists.

We are now using the web version of SciFinder. You must first register before you can connect to CAS. To register, click on the link we have provided in PAWS under Library Resources, Off-campus access. During registration, you will create your own username and password which you will subsequently use to logon to SciFinder from the above link. Go to PAWS Registration.
Simmons OneView
Simmons OneView is Experian’s new web-based platform for user access to their data products and analytical tools. It represents an online version of the print edition of Simmons Study of Media and Markets, providing marketing data that can be cross-tabulated to create demographic and psychographic profiles of consumers.

Though web-based, this database requires a username and password to connect. LSU Libraries has set up 12 user names and passwords which can be used by LSU faculty, staff, and students to connect to the database. Any user name and password that is not currently in use can be used by any member of the aforementioned groups.

The list of user accounts can be found at our PAWS Library Resource Password site [Library Resources].
SimplyMap
SimplyMap is an award-winning web-based mapping application that allows people to use and interact with complex data. SimplyMap enables non-technical users to quickly create professional quality thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business and marketing data. SimplyMap turns complex data into valuable information that is easily accessed through an innovative and user-friendly interface.
Social Sciences Citation Index
Science Citation Index Expanded - This database covers the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,800 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines from 1900 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: agriculture, neuroscience, astronomy, oncology, biochemistry, pediatrics, biology, pharmacology, biotechnology, physics, chemistry, plant sciences, computer science, psychiatry, materials science, surgery, mathematics, veterinary science, medicine, and zoology.

Social Sciences Citation Index - This database covers the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines from 1956 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: anthropology, political science, history, public health, industrial relations, social issues, information science & library science, social work, law, sociology, linguistics, substance abuse, philosophy, urban studies, psychology, women's studies, and psychiatry.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index - This database indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals from 1975 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: archaeology, linguistics, architecture, literary reviews, art, literature, Asian studies, music, classics, philosophy, dance, poetry, folklore, radio, television, film, history, religion, language, and theater.

Use PAWS ID and password for Endnotes Help
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The index features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,000 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. This file also contains informative abstracts for more than 590 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as 1,040 "selective" coverage journals. Further, extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. Searchable cited references are also provided.

SocINDEX with Full Text offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.

SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 235 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 545 books and monographs, and full text for 6,601 conference papers.
Statistical Abstract (ProQuest)
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
U.S.A. Counties
Serves as a reference source of county information, containing over 3400 variables or items from 13 federal and private organizations.
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels is the first ever scholarly, primary source database focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels. Beginning with the first underground comix from the 1960’s to the works of modern sequential artists, this collection will contain more than 75,000 pages of comics and graphic novels, along with 25,000 pages of interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this
Women and Social Movements 1600-2000
This site is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1700 and 2000, the website seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools.

Women and Social Movements contains the following resources:

Sixty-five document projects that interpret and present documents, most of which are not otherwise available online. Each document project poses an interpretive question and provides a collection of documents that address the question. Altogether these document projects provide more than 1,800 documents, approximately 740 images, and over 600 links to other websites. They demonstrate that historical analysis is an interpretive process based on documents. Viewers of the site are encouraged to participate in that interpretive process. We expect to add twelve new document projects annually.

More than 23,000 pages of documents pertaining to Women and Social Movements. These materials have been selected by the Editors for their relevance to the focus of the website. We plan to add 5,000 additional pages of documents annually.

A dictionary of social movements and organizations.

A chronology of U.S. Women's History.

Teaching Tools with lesson ideas and document-based questions related to the website's document projects.
Databases by Title
This does not search within databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide Information
Some full text available Some Full Text
Free Trial
Open Access