On a mobile device?

View the LSU Libraries Mobile Website at
http://www.lib.lsu.edu/m/

Databases
By Title:
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPRS TUVWZNumAll

Safari Tech Books Online
Provides access to a variety of online full text information technology books.

SAGE Journals Online
SAGE Publications publishes over 460 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.

SAGE Journals Online is the delivery platform that provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals. The SAGE Full-Text Collections, SAGE's award-winning, discipline-specific research databases, are also available on SAGE Journals Online.

Sanborn Maps
Note: LSU Libraries provides access only to the Louisiana maps.
Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in both public and academic libraries. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods. They are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures. This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Seven or eight different editions represent some areas.
 
Textual information on construction details (for example, steel beams or reinforced walls) is often given on the plans while shading indicates different building materials. Extensive information on building use is given, ranging from symbols for generic terms such as stable, garage, and warehouse to names of owners of factories and details on what was manufactured in them. In the case of large factories or commercial buildings, even individual rooms and the uses to which they were put are recorded on the maps. Other features shown include pipelines, railroads, wells, dumps, and heavy machinery. Click here to access a key provided by the Sanborn Map Company. (Note: Because the key is a detailed file, it must be large so that you can view it completed. As a result, it may take a while for the key to load onto your computer screen.)

Sax’s Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials
Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials is the primary source to evaluate the hazardous potential of substances used in commerce. Sax's combines data on toxicology, flammability, reactivity, explosive potential, and regularity information. It contains extensive data on approximately 28,000 substances.
Science and Technology Collection
Science & Technology Collection contains over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications. This collection contains many scholarly journals including Advances in Physics, American Scientist, Annual Review of Astronomy & Astrophysics, Annual Review of Biochemistry, Archaeoastronomy, Astronomy & Geophysics, Civil Engineering, Engineering Management Journal, International Journal of Computational Engineering Science, Journal of Aerospace Engineering, Journal of Architectural Engineering, Journal of Applied Microbiology, Journal of Mathematical Logic, Journal of Theoretical & Computational Chemistry, Molecular Physics, Plant Biotechnology Journal, Quarterly Review of Biology, Space Communications, Spatial Vision, and many more.
Science Citation Index
Science Citation Index Expanded - This database covers the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,800 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines from 1900 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: agriculture, neuroscience, astronomy, oncology, biochemistry, pediatrics, biology, pharmacology, biotechnology, physics, chemistry, plant sciences, computer science, psychiatry, materials science, surgery, mathematics, veterinary science, medicine, and zoology.

Social Sciences Citation Index - This database covers the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines from 1956 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: anthropology, political science, history, public health, industrial relations, social issues, information science & library science, social work, law, sociology, linguistics, substance abuse, philosophy, urban studies, psychology, women's studies, and psychiatry.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index - This database indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals from 1975 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: archaeology, linguistics, architecture, literary reviews, art, literature, Asian studies, music, classics, philosophy, dance, poetry, folklore, radio, television, film, history, religion, language, and theater.

Use PAWS ID and password for Endnotes Help
Science Direct
Science Direct, published by Elsevier Science, serves as a web information source for scientific, technical, and medical (STM) research. It offers access to more than 1,100 journals in 16 fields of science, including the social sciences.
Scifinder
Note: Click on "i" and follow the instructions if you do not already have an account set up with Scifinder
Scifinder is a database from Chemical Abstracts Service offering electronic access to Chemical Abstracts, which contains the largest substance database, CAS Registry, with more than 24 million substances--including 12 million organic substances. It is also the world's most comprehensive database of chemical literature and patents, containing the most current information, with daily updating by CAS scientists.

We are now using the web version of SciFinder. You must first register before you can connect to CAS. To register, click on the link we have provided in PAWS under Library Resources, Off-campus access. During registration, you will create your own username and password which you will subsequently use to logon to SciFinder from the above link. Go to PAWS Registration.
Seed Science Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Serials Directory, The
The Serials Directory provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. It contains over 182,500 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; historical data for an additional 20,000 titles; data from over 85,000 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses; and Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classifications for every entry.

Sheet Music Database
Contains information for over 2000 pieces of sheet music in LSU Libraries Music Resources (Middleton Library, Second Floor).

Shock & Vibration Digest
Shock & Vibration Digest includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to shock and vibration, including noise, vibration technologies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 97,100 records, which are selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
SIAM Journals
The electronic versions of various journals published by the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.

NOTE: While searching this database, use the SIAM Journal search at the bottom of the screen over the Google search above it.
Siku Quanshu
Compiled by edict of Emperor Qianlong, the Siku Quanshu (‘Complete Library of Four Treasures’) is a compendium of 3,000 years of Chinese knowledge, including literature, history, medicine, science and technology, diplomacy, philosophy, linguistics and so much more. The definitive Wenyuange edition of the Siku Quanshu encompasses 3,460 works totaling more than 36,000 volumes. This monumental work is the result of contributions by hundreds of editors and noted scholars, and is enhanced by never-before available tools to enhance research.

Access Notes:
To use Siku Quanshu, patrons must first download the client program (setup.exe from http://us.subscriptionv3.skqs.com/skqs/download/, or use the “Connect” link above) using Internet Explorer (Firefox will not read the page correctly) and install it. The Installation Guide and the database User Manual can also be downloaded from this URL. Note: this client program is necessary to access the database, and there is no direct access URL that can be referenced. Using a web browser is not compatible, since the database contains archaic Chinese characters not included in the current Unicode standard. Once the client program is installed, users can open the program on a PC, select IP Login, and gain access to the database.

At this time EZProxy access is not supported by this database. The Installation Guide at http://us.subscriptionv3.skqs.com/skqs/download contains important information regarding the technical requirements for user PCs, especially required language packages.

Once installed Siku Quanshu is available on campus, or off campus only to faculty members with VPN and remote desktop.

Simmons OneView
Simmons OneView is Experian’s new web-based platform for user access to their data products and analytical tools. It represents an online version of the print edition of Simmons Study of Media and Markets, providing marketing data that can be cross-tabulated to create demographic and psychographic profiles of consumers.

Though web-based, this database requires a username and password to connect. LSU Libraries has set up 12 user names and passwords which can be used by LSU faculty, staff, and students to connect to the database. Any user name and password that is not currently in use can be used by any member of the aforementioned groups.

The list of user accounts can be found at our PAWS Library Resource Password site [Library Resources].
SimplyMap
SimplyMap is an award-winning web-based mapping application that allows people to use and interact with complex data. SimplyMap enables non-technical users to quickly create professional quality thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business and marketing data. SimplyMap turns complex data into valuable information that is easily accessed through an innovative and user-friendly interface.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice 1490 - 2007
This is a portal for slavery studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period spanning six centuries, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. It offers: High quality grayscale and color images of many thousands of original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and images not available elsewhere; Links to other online sources approved by scholars; A series of contextual essays by leading authorities from around the world.

There are many substantial clusters of material offering in-depth case studies in America, the Caribbean, Brazil and Cuba and there is fresh material examining European, Islamic and African involvement in slavery.
Social Sciences Citation Index
Science Citation Index Expanded - This database covers the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,800 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines from 1900 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: agriculture, neuroscience, astronomy, oncology, biochemistry, pediatrics, biology, pharmacology, biotechnology, physics, chemistry, plant sciences, computer science, psychiatry, materials science, surgery, mathematics, veterinary science, medicine, and zoology.

Social Sciences Citation Index - This database covers the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines from 1956 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: anthropology, political science, history, public health, industrial relations, social issues, information science & library science, social work, law, sociology, linguistics, substance abuse, philosophy, urban studies, psychology, women's studies, and psychiatry.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index - This database indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals from 1975 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: archaeology, linguistics, architecture, literary reviews, art, literature, Asian studies, music, classics, philosophy, dance, poetry, folklore, radio, television, film, history, religion, language, and theater.

Use PAWS ID and password for Endnotes Help
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The index features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,000 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. This file also contains informative abstracts for more than 590 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as 1,040 "selective" coverage journals. Further, extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. Searchable cited references are also provided.

SocINDEX with Full Text offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.

SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 235 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 545 books and monographs, and full text for 6,601 conference papers.
Soils and Fertilizers via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.

Something About the Author Online, including Archive
Something About the Author Online provides first-time comprehensive online access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's™ acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. Something About the Author Online includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series.

SourceOECD
Contains the full text of all Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) studies and reports from both serial and monographic publications, as well as time series databases. Arranged under 19 thematic areas covering issues in agriculture, business, development, economics, education, environment, finance, governance, investment, social sciences, and statistics.

Periodical titles include: OECD Economic Outlook (and OECD Economic Surveys ), OECD Factbook - Statistical Yearbook Providing Coverage of 100 Key Variables, Main Economic Outlook, Monthly Statistics of International Trade, National Accounts Database, Quarterly Labour Force Statistics, Society at a Glance - compares social indicators across OECD countries, and STAN Industrial Data - covers a wide range of industry- and aggregate-level indicators of industrial structure and the evolution of performance (e.g. import penetration, investment per employee, export market shares). Updated weekly.

Soyabeans Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
SPE Papers (OnePetro)
A multi-society library that provides a simple way to search for and access a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry. From one place, one can search and buy documents from many different professional societies, or similar organizations, that serve the oil and gas industry.

Customers can purchase any of the documents they find through their searches with a credit card, and download them as pdf files directly to their computers. Purchases can be made in USD, GBP, or EUR.

The following organizations currently have their technical documents available through OnePetro:

  • American Petroleum Institute (API)
  • American Rock Mechanics Association (ARMA)
  • American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE)
  • Offshore Technology Conference (OTC)
  • NACE International (corrosion engineers)
  • Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE)
  • Society of Petrophysicists and Well Log Analysts (SPWLA)
  • The Society of Underwater Technology (SUT)
  • World Petroleum Council (WPC)

Spinoza (Past Masters)
Benedict de Spinoza: Opera contains the complete works of Spinoza in Latin and Dutch, based on a corrected version of the authoritative edition of Carl Gebhardt.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is a comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo.
SpringerLink
The Springer database offers full-text searching through Springer’s entire electronic output, including Journals, Books, Book Series, eReference books, and Protocols. Subject areas include engineering, science, humanities, business etc. Most full-text content is accessible to LSU patrons, with a few exceptions, most notable being the Protocols.
Statistical Abstract (ProQuest)
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S
Provides a quick statistical reference and a guide to statistical publications and sources, with tables from governmental, private, and international organizations. The most recent issue of Statistical Abstract is available, as well as the older issues dating back to 1878.
Statistical Insight
Brings together statistical information from the Federal Government. It includes the American Statistics Index (ASI) and Abstracts beginning in 1973 and full-text to over 800 U.S. Government statistical publications beginning in 1995.
Sugar Industry Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.

Sustainability Watch
Sustainability Watch provides evidence-based summaries on over 200 sustainability-related topics. Monitoring thousands of leading journals and periodicals, this product presents best practices in a variety of sustainability areas including environmental impacts and pollution prevention initiatives, corporate citizenship, and long-term sustainable business practices.

Sustainability Watch topics center around the concept of “People – Planet – Profits” and provide sustainability executives and their staff with condensed summaries of key developments across the sustainability spectrum. Leveraging a proven evidence-based literature surveillance methodology developed for EBSCO’s DynaMed service, Sustainability Watch is a robust executive decision support tool in the dynamic area of sustainability.

SWOT Analyses via Business Source Complete
Business Source® Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content.

Business Source Complete exceeds all other databases available in terms of its premium content of peer-reviewed, business related journals. Included as part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database are indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886.

In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 40,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science
The basic component of the library is a 50- to 100-page electronic book, called Lectures, that synthesizes an important research or development topic, authored by a prominent contributor to the field. They are more modular and dynamic than traditional print or digital handbooks, such as collected volumes and monographs. and offer ideal entry points to new areas for researchers, advanced developers, and students.

SYNTHESIS is organized by series, each managed by a prominent consulting editor. The series editor oversees lecture topic and author selection as well as peer review to assure quality. SYNTHESIS launched in October 2005 with an initial selection of series in engineering and computer science. New titles in each series will be posted to the site as they become available.

Additional series and titles will be added and revised as necessary. Over time, SYNTHESIS will grow to encompass the entire scope of its subject disciplines. Our goal is to create one of the largest and most complete compilations of knowledge in engineering and computer science.


Databases by Title
This does not search within databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide Information
Some full text available Some Full Text
Free Trial
Open Access


Untitled Document