Databases
By Title:
ABCDEFGHIJKLM NOPRSTUVWZNumAll

MADCAD Building Codes eLibrary
MAD CAD is a state-of-the-art subscription based reference database online, containing building codes, knowledge-based design solutions and, guidelines to meet the codes. MAD CAD will provide you access to cross-referenced collections of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes from BOCA, SBCCI, ICBO, ICC, and NFPA. MAD CAD goes beyond compiling national standards, and gives you immediate access to comprehensive state and local codes to meet your unique architectural, engineering and educational solutions. Its ease of use lies in the implementation of a search engine and organizational tools.
Maize Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Making of America
The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts.
Market Research Reports via Business Source Complete
Business Source® Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content.

Business Source Complete exceeds all other databases available in terms of its premium content of peer-reviewed, business related journals. Included as part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database are indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886.

In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 40,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
MarketLine Company Profiles
Formerly know as Datamonitor's Company Profiles, MarketLine contains profiles of over 10,000 companies and includes sections such as company overview, business description, history, key employees, products and services, revenue analysis, SWOT analysis, top competitors, and subsidiaries. Access provided via EBSCO’s Business Source Complete.
Marquis Who's Who on the Web
For over 100 years, Who's Who in America has provided accurate, concise biographies of notable Americans. That was the mission of founder, Albert Nelson Marquis, who selected 8,602 distinguished people for the First Edition in 1899.

Today, the Marquis Who's Who family of directories has grown to include the biographies of millions of leaders and achievers from around the world, and from every significant field of endeavor.

Corporate executives, journalists, personnel recruiters, librarians, researchers, students, and many others consult our information databases for in-depth information they can use with confidence.
MAS Ultra - School Edition
MAS Ultra - School Edition is designed specifically for high school libraries. The LSU Libraries receives this database as part of a larger package. The database provides full text from nearly 550 popular general interest and current events publications covering general reference, health, science, and other areas. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 600 titles. This database also includes more than 250 reference books, such as the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts.
Mathematics ArXiv
The mathematics arXiv is part of the e-print arXiv of physics, mathematics, and computer science. It is maintained at Cornell University. The arXiv was started in 1991 at Los Alamos in the area of high-energy theoretical physics and was then known as hep-th; for many years it was also known as "xxx". It is freely available and mirrored in 15 countries; new submissions are usually available the next day.

The mathematics arXiv was formed from a number of smaller mathematical archives, with some in the arXiv system and some elsewhere, at the beginning of 1998. The system as a whole has over 200,000 articles in physics, over 20,000 in mathematics, and over 2,000 in computer science. The ultimate goal is to distribute all new research literature in all three disciplines worldwide, to store it permanently, and to keep it freely available.
MathSciNet
Indexes materials on mathematics and the mathematical sciences. MathSciNet covers Mathematical Reviews from 1940 to the present. The full text of all reviews from 1940 to the present is available on MathSciNet. Items listed in the annual indexes of Mathematical Reviews but not given an individual review are also included. Current Mathematical Publications is a subject index of bibliographic data for recent and forthcoming publications. Most items are later reviewed in Mathematical Reviews. All items in Mathematical Reviews appear first in Current Mathematical Publications.

Mediamark Reporter
Note: Available only on CD-ROM at the Middleton Research Desk. (Call Number HF5415.3 .M39 2002 F)
Mediamark Reporter is a CD-ROM version of Mediamark Research, a tool for market research, with information on demographics, product and brand usage, and advertising media preferences based on survey responses from a sample of over 25,000 consumers in the United States.
Medical and Veterinary Entomology Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Medical and Veterinary Mycology Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.

MedicLatina
Medic Latina is a Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. This unique database provides access to full text for more than 140 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. A wide range of topics are covered including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology.

Publications covered in this database include Revista Medica Del Imss, Revista Mexicana De Patologia Clinica, Boletin Medico Del Hospital Infantil De Mexico, Archivos De Neurociencias, Revista Biomedica, Veterinaria De Mexico, Salud Publica De Mexico, ACIMED, and the important publication, Archives of Medical Research (in English).

Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online (MEMSO)
Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online (MEMSO) provides a large and growing resource of essential medieval and early modern Britain and Ireland sources online.

MEDLINE
Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, Medline contains citations and abstracts to international biomedical literature from over 3700 journals on topics including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. The database contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.

OldMedline from the NLM Gateway includes the years 1958 - 1965. The ISI/Web of Knowledge Interface contains info from 1950 to the present.
Mental Measurements Yearbook
The Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) series, produced since 1938 by the Buros Institute, provides users with critical evaluations for over 2,000 commercial tests within a wide variety of areas that include education, psychology, business, aptitude, achievement, and intelligence. Written by leading experts in the field, this series supports the informed selection and use of commercial testing products.

Typical MMY entries include descriptive information about the test, professional reviews, and reviewer references. To be included in this series, a test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and be new or substantively revised since it last appeared in the series. Full text of test reviews is included in the database, and up to three independent reviews are included for each test.

Use PAWS ID and password for Endnotes Help
Merck Index Online
The Merck Index is a one-volume encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs and biologicals that contains more than 10,000 monographs, 32 supplemental tables and 450 Organic Name Reactions. Nearly 4,000 of the entries cover drugs and pharmaceuticals, 2,000 describe common organic chemicals and laboratory reagents, another 2,000 cover naturally occurring substances and plants, 1,000 focus on the elements and on inorganic chemicals, and approximately 1,000 pertain to compounds of agricultural significance. Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds. In addition, there are more than 700 new and completely revised monographs, thousands of new references, trademarks and uses added to previous edition's monographs. Several hundred discuss endogenous substances and biological agents. There is an expanded focus on "Green Chemistry" and compounds of environmental significance. In addition to revisions and updating, enhancements include embedding the Chemical Abstracts Registry Numbers for title and derivative compounds within the monographs.

Mergent Online
Mergent Online delivers a comprehensive suite of authoritative financial information with the accuracy, timeliness and transparency required in today’s marketplace. The database contains:

U.S. Company Data
An Internet-accessible subscription service covering 10,000 public companies and their SEC filings.

International Company Data
More companies from more countries than any other international database, with global searching across databases.

U.S. Annual Reports
Easy-to-access current and historical annual reports on 10,000 U.S. public companies, all in PDF image format that provides faster download and allows viewing the document.

International Annual Reports
Hard-to-get, timely annual reports on all companies in our International Company Data database, available in PDF image formats.
Mergent WebReports

Mergent WebReports is an online database offering a vast archive of corporate annual, quarterly, and interim reports ranging back to the early 1900s.  Web Reports contains more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries while providing the ability to search documents by company name, industry sector, region, country, document type, or year of report. 


Met Opera on Demand
Met Opera on Demand includes dozens of productions from the Met’s award-winning Live in HD series. There are more than 300 radio broadcast performances dating back to 1936, representing nearly all of the most popular operas as well as many of the Met’s greatest singers.
Middle Ages Online
It is hosted by LSU and represented on the English Department website. It is a unique source for anyone (at any level) interested in the study of civilization from the ancient world through the Reformation.
Military & Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association)
MLA International Bibliography is an index of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1926. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. In addition, the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the Bibliography are also included. Examples of titles offered in MLA International Bibliography include: Journal of International Folklore, Journal of English and German Philology, Journal of Linguistics, Journal of Popular Film and Television, Language and Communication, Language Teaching Research, Modern Language Journal, etc.

Click here to access the Directory of Periodicals (MLA).

Modern Era 1800 - 1950 (Past Masters)
The full text of letters and correspondences of several eighteenth and nineteenth century literary figures, including:

The Letters of Thomas Love Peacock: volumes I and II
The Letters and Private Papers of William Makepeace Thackeray: volumes I - IV
Harriet Martineau Selected Letters
The Letters of Charlotte Bronte: volumes I and II
The Correspondence of Arthur Hugh Clough, volumes I and II
Letters of Dante Gabriel Rossetti: Volumes I - IV
The Letters of Anthony Trollope
Some Letters from Livingstone
The Boole-De Morgan Correspondence 1842-2864
The Letters of George Meredith: volumes I - III
The Letters of Matthew Arnold to Arthur Hugh Clough
Robert Browning and Elizabeth Barrett Browning The Courtship Corresondence
The Collected Papers of Henry Bradley
Letters of Walter Pater
Dear Miss Nightingale: A selection of Benjamin Jowett's Letters to Florence Nightingale: 1860 - 1893
R. L. S.: Stevenson's Letters to Charles Baxter
William Temple Archbishop of Canterbury
Edward Thomas: Selected Letters
Spencer's Scientific Correspondence with Sir J. G. Frazer and Others
Wilfred Owen: Collected Letters
Correspondence of Robert Bridges and Henry Bradley: 1900 - 1923
The Collected Letters Of Catherine Mansfield: volumes I - IV
Selected Letters of I. A. Richards, CH
Holmes-Laski Letters: volumes I and II

Modernist Journals Project
The MJP is a multi-faceted project, which is intended to become a major resource for the study of the rise of modernism in the English-speaking world, with periodical literature at the center of this study. As such, its historical scope has a chronological range of 1890 to 1922, and a geographical range that extends to English language periodicals, wherever they were published. With magazines at the center, the MJP also has a generic range that extends to the digital publication of books directly connected to modernist periodicals and other supporting materials for the study of these periodicals. At this stage of the MJP's development, however, the chronological range of periodicals extends only from 1904 to 1922. We end at 1922 for both intellectual and practical reasons: the practical reason is that copyright becomes an issue with publications from 1923 onward; the intellectual reason is that most scholars consider modernism to be fully fledged in 1922, a date marked by the publication of James Joyce's Ulysses and T. S. Eliot's The Waste Land. We are concentrating, then, on the rise of modernism, in which the magazines played a crucial role.
Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications, 1895-1976
The Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications, 1895-1976 is a faithful digital version of the US Government Printing Office’s authorized government bibliography from 1895 to June 1976. The Federal Depository Library Program, which has been administered by the Government Printing Office (GPO) since 1895, is filled with information on careers, business opportunities, consumer information, health and nutrition, legal and regulatory information, demographics, and almost any other subject. The U.S. Government is the largest publisher in the world. Due to the huge amount of information printed by the U.S. Government, very few documents have historically been catalogued. The Monthly Catalog is the only finding aid to this vast body of literature.

Morningstar Direct
Note: Available in the E. J. Ourso College of Business, Business Education Complex, Smart Lab Room 1900.
Morningstar Direct provides the most complete and timely link to Morningstar’s global investment database and analytics. Designed for institutions, it’s optimized for competitive analysis, performance evaluation, investment selection, and portfolio creation.

This is not an LSU Libraries subscription. Please refer questions regarding this databases to the SMART lab staff.
Morningstar EnCorr
Note: Available in the E. J. Ourso College of Business, Business Education Complex, Smart Lab Room 1900.
Morningstar® EnCorr® software features advanced asset allocation tools to create, analyze, and implement optimal portfolio strategies.

This is not an LSU Libraries subscription. Please refer questions regarding this databases to the SMART lab staff.
Morningstar Investment Research Center

Morningstar Investment Research Center is a one-stop tool for collecting financial information, getting reliable portfolio analysis, learning about investment options, and reading up on the most up-to-date financial news commentary. MIRC is continuously updated throughout the day, providing comprehensive data and analysis on over 41,000 investments including:

  • 23,000+ mutual funds
  • 600+ ETFs
  • 7,000+ stocks from NYSE, AMEX, NASDAQ, and OTC exchanges
  • 250 screenable fund datapoints
  • 450 screenable stock datapoints
  • 2,000 Fund Analyst Reports
  • 2,000+ Stock Analyst Reports

Help File (Adobe PDF)

Note: LSU's subscription is for two simultaneous users.


Music Index Online
The Music Index Online, produced by Harmonie Park Press, is the single most comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature. The Music Index Online has been available in print since 1949. In 2008, The Music Index Online coverage will span from 1973 to the present and contains surveyed data from over 850 music periodicals from over 40 countries. This database duly cites book reviews, obituaries, news periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.

Music Literature (RILM)
RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. Publications originate from 151 countries and are in 214 languages. There are currently over 550,000 records in RILM on traditional music, popular music, and classical music. Coverage of all document types begins in 1967. Coverage of Conference Proceedings goes back to 1835.

Databases by Title
This does not search within databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide Information
Some full text available Some Full Text
Free Trial
Open Access