On a mobile device?

View the LSU Libraries Mobile Website at
http://www.lib.lsu.edu/m/

Databases
By Title:
ABCDEFGHIJKL MNOPRSTUVWZNumAll

Landview 6
Note: CD-ROM available at the Middleton Library Reference Desk
LandView reflects the collaborative efforts of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), the U.S. Census Bureau, the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS), and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) to provide the public ready access to published Federal spatial and related data. The LandView product contains two software programs - the LandView database manager and the MARPLOT« map viewer. These two programs work in tandem to create a simple computer mapping system that can display individual layers of information that have spatial information associated with them.
Law Practice of Abraham Lincoln, The
Note: CD-ROM Available at the Middleton Library Reference Desk
This database fills the last large gap in documenting the life of Abraham Lincoln: his quarter-century career as a general practice attorney in Illinois. This DVD edition combines an enormous corpus of digitized documentary images with a custom-designed database, a comprehensive index, and an array of reference and background sections. For each case a narrative summary is provided, along with subject entries and information about the various court levels in which it was tried.

Learning Express Library
LearningExpress Library is a comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons—students and adult learners—succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results.

This resource requires that you register. Click on the "New User" button to create a user ID and a password.
Leisure Recreation and Tourism Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
LexisNexis Academic
Offers full-text online news, business, legal, legislative, and regulatory information, updated daily.
LexisNexis Academic - Business
Part of the LexisNexis Academic database, the Business section provides a range of sources for business information, including business and financial news, U.S. and international company financial information from government or private sources, market research, industry reports, and SEC filings. Search features permit comparison of companies based on criteria such as sales, income and number of employees. News sources include Accountancy Age, Buyouts, Consumer Electronics Newsletter, Design News, Electrical World, IPO Reporter, Mergers and Acquisitions Report, and more.

Financial information sources include Standard & Poor's Corporate Descriptions, Hoover's Company Reports, Disclosure Reports, international company and stock reports, and more.

SEC filings and reports include SEC 10-Q Reports, SEC 10-K Reports, SEC 8-K Reports, SEC 20-F Reports, SEC Annual Reports to Shareholders, Proxy Statements, Prospectuses, Registration, and Williams Act Filings.
LexisNexis Government Periodicals Index
Bibliographic information of articles published in government periodicals. Citations will include the journal and article title, issuing agency, publication date, volume number, and pages.

LexisNexis Statistical
Note: LexisNexis Statistical is now ProQuest Statistical Insight.
Brings together statistical information from the Federal Government. It includes the American Statistics Index (ASI) and Abstracts beginning in 1973 and full-text to over 800 U.S. Government statistical publications beginning in 1995.
Library Information Science and Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts,(LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

Non-LSU Affiliates may click here for access a limited version of LISTA for free.

Library Literature and Information Science Full Text
Reflecting the latest trends in a rapidly evolving field, this database indexes English and foreign-language periodicals, selected state journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and library school theses, plus over 300 books per year. This invaluable resource delivers full text articles cover to cover from over a hundred select publications. PDF page images of the full text articles bring researchers charts, graphs, photos, and other valuable graphical information. Providing enhanced access to your periodical collection, this database also steers users to valuable information on the Web with hotlinks to sites mentioned in articles.

Library Literature and Information Science Retrospective
Search the content of over 1,200 periodicals back as far as 1905. Nearly 80 years of citations document all the innovations, controversies, and people that shaped modern librarianship.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
CSA Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Literary Reference Center
Literary Reference Center is a full text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. This resource includes more than 10,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; 75,000 articles of literary criticism; 130,000 author biographies; full text of more than 300 literary journals; 500,000 book reviews; 25,000 classic & contemporary poems; over 11,000 classic & contemporary short stories; full text of more than 7,500 classic novels (anticipated by Fall 2006); over 3,000 author interviews; and over 1,000 images of key literary figures.

Of particular note, the database contains the Bloom Series of more than 500 books from Chelsea House Publishers edited by renowned literary critic Harold Bloom and all of MagillOnLiterature Plus™ from Salem Press, including the highly regarded Masterplots series.

Literature Criticism Online Archive
This database offers critical essays on a wide variety of works and should be used in conjunction with Gale/Cengage’s Literature Resource Center database. Per Gale/Cengage, “Literature Criticism Online contains 100% of the introductory, contextual and principal works/further reading content and, on average, almost 95% of the reprinted criticism over the life of the series.“ LSU coverage for each series begins with volume one and ends as of June 30, 2011.
  • Children’s Literary Criticism
  • Contemporary Literary Criticism
  • Drama Criticism
  • Literature Criticism from 1400-1800
  • Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism
  • Poetry Criticism
  • Shakespearean Literature Criticism
  • Short Story Criticism
  • Twentieth Century Literary Criticism

Literature Criticism Online Archive, with Something About the Author and Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete
These databases offer biographical and critical essays on authors and their works and should be used in conjunction with Gale/Cengage’s Literature Resource Center database. Per Gale/Cengage, “Literature Criticism Online contains 100% of the introductory, contextual and principal works/further reading content and, on average, almost 95% of the reprinted criticism over the life of the series.“ Coverage for each series begins with volume one and ends as of June 30, 2011:
  • Children’s Literary Criticism
  • Contemporary Literary Criticism
  • Dictionary of Literary Biography*
  • Drama Criticism
  • Literature Criticism from 1400-1800
  • Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism
  • Poetry Criticism
  • Shakespearean Literature Criticism
  • Short Story Criticism
  • Something About the Author**
  • Twentieth Century Literary Criticism
*Includes the complete Yearbook series (23 volumes) and Documentary Series (19 volumes).
**Includes the Autobiography series.
Literature Resource Center
Designed to meet the research needs of undergraduate and high school students, the Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale's most used literary databases in a single Internet-searchable service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors. Search by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search path.
London Times, 1785 - 1870
Palmer's Full Text Online, 1785 - 1870 gives students, researchers, and the public online access to approximately one million articles from The Times covering almost a century of British and world history.

Palmer's Full Text Online contains the Index to The Times from October 1790 to December 1905. The Full Text component spans the years from 1800 to 1870.

Louisiana Biography and Obituary Index
A compilation of approximately 600,000 citations dating back to 1804 and containing thousands of entries, each comprising the name of a deceased individual along with publication information-title, date, page number, and column number-for death notices published in New Orleans newspapers, which are available on microfilm at both The Collection and NOPL. The electronic database also includes biographical sketches and narrative obituaries in many cases.
LOUISiana Digital Library
LOUISiana Digital Library is Louisiana's doorway to the unique cultural and historical resources of Louisiana's libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions. Collections include:

America at War
The America at War Collection chronicles the military history of the United States from the 1760s through the Vietnam War.

America Between the Wars, 1920 - 1940
America Between the War 1920-1940 collection documents social, political and economic life during the 1920s and 1930s, including valuable information about depression-era Louisiana.

The American Missionary Association and the Promise of a Multicultural America: 1839-1954
The collaboration of the Amistad Research Center and the LOUISiana Digital Library, through funding provided by the Institute of Museum and Library Services, has produced a digital collection of national significance entitled "The American Missionary Association and the Promise of a Multicultural America:1839-1954."

Antebellum Period
The Antebellum Era, 1812-1860 digital collection includes a significant number of artifacts contributed by members of the Teaching American History in Louisiana (TAHIL) partnership. Louisiana's antebellum history is revealed through a variety of artifacts that document a variety of critical topics in American History.

Beachrock Research Slides of Richard J. Russell Collection
Dr. Russell became internationally known for his research not only in Louisiana, but also throughout the world. This collection contains numerous slides of photographs that Dr. Russell took while doing his beachrock research around the world.

Camp Ruston Collection
During World War II, Camp Ruston was one of the largest prisoner of war camps in the United States. The first 300 men, from Field Marshal Erwin Rommel's elite Afrika Korps, arrived in August 1943. In 1944, the captured officers and crew of a German U-Boat were sent to the camp.

The Colville River Delta Alaska
Dr. H. Jesse Walker, a geographer at Louisiana State University, devoted more than four decades to the study of the Colville River Delta region of Alaska.
Louisiana National Register of Historic Places
Established by Congress in 1966, the National Register of Historic Places is the nation's official list of significant historic properties. Each state has a historic preservation office which is responsible for nominating buildings, sites, districts, etc. to the Register. In Louisiana this program is administered by the Division of Historic Preservation, which is part of the Office of Cultural Development, Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism.

Louisiana Newspaper Project
The Louisiana Newspaper Project is proud to make available parish and chronological indexes to over 1,700 extant and currently published Louisiana newspapers dating from 1794, the Moniteur de la Louisiane, (the first newspaper printed in French and published in New Orleans), as well as Times- Picayune, the longest-lived Louisiana newspaper, established in 1837.

Also available are indexes to Louisiana newspapers published during the Civil War, Louisiana French newspapers, and Louisiana black newspapers.
Databases by Title
This does not search within databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide Information
Some full text available Some Full Text
Free Trial
Open Access


Untitled Document