Databases
By Title:
ABCDEFG HIJKLMNOPRSTUVWZNumAll

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of reference eBooks from Gale and their publishing partners. There are thousands of full-text eBooks available for full-text searching.
GaleNet
Includes Biography & Genealogy Master Index, Biography Resource Center, Exploring Poetry, Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writers Series, and Twayne's Authors Series.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.
 
Each volume contains an overview of the region, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes; and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instrument, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Other images include drawings, maps, and musical examples for further study. Since its first publication in 1997, The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music has been the pre-eminent reference work for research in ethnomusicology. It has won numerous awards, including the Dartmouth Medal, the New York Public Library Outstanding Reference Book award, and Library Journal's award as one of the 50 Reference Sources for the Millennium. Now for the first time, the entire set of 10 print volumes is available as a single, integrated online database, with additional features from Alexander Street Press.
 
The second release includes the entire set of 10 print volumes (over 9,200 pages) as well as complete indexing for genre, subject, instrument, place, person, ensemble, and cultural group, as well as links to the associated audio examples for each volume.

GENE-TOX
GENE-TOX - Peer-reviewed mutagenicity test data from the EPA.

GEOREF
This database is a comprehensive geoscience resource containing over 2.2 million bibliographic records covering subjects such as mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of non-silicates. Bibliographic records from more than 3,000 journals are included in the database as well as journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Over 60,000 references are added to the GeoRef database annually. Geology of North America is covered from 1785 to the present, and geology of the world is covered from 1933 to the present. This database is produced by the American Geological Institute.
GeoScience World
GeoScienceWorld (GSW) is a nonprofit collaborative and comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the earth sciences, which is built on a core database of peer-reviewed journals and is integrated with the GeoRef abstract and index service. The organization gives global researchers a single point of access to 45 full-text scholarly journals plus specialized searching capabilities and links to millions of relevant resources hosted elsewhere on the Web.
GeoScience World Ebooks
Note: Trial ends September 25, 2014.
GeoScienceWorld is pleased to introduce the eBook Collections. GeoScienceWorld eBook Collections is the first nonprofit, multi-publisher eBooks platform dedicated to the study of the earth sciences.
Global Insight
Global Insight/DRI Global Economics Provides access to comprehensive economic and financial indicators for over fifty countries. Locate historical statistics for indicators such as the consumer and producer price indexes, futures and options markets, exchange rates, population, and housing.

Global Insight/DRI Global Economics Provides access to comprehensive economic and financial indicators for over fifty countries. Locate historical statistics for indicators such as the consumer and producer price indexes, futures and options markets, exchange rates, population, and housing. http://www.ihsglobalinsight.com/About/ The data bases available in our Global Insight subscription are: Balance of Payments - IMF (IMFBOP); Basic Economics - Daily (BASIC/D); Basic Economics - Foreign Exchange (BASIC/FX); Basic Economics - Weekly (BASIC/W); Basic Economics (BASIC); Canada Primary Source (DBCAND); Commodities - Crops (CI/CROPS); Commodities - Financials (CI/FINANCIALS); Commodities - Foods (CI/FOODS); Commodities - Industrials (CI/InduSTRIALS); Commodities - Metals (CI/METALS); Direction of Trade - IMF (IMFDOT); Dow Jones World Stock Index (INDEX/DOW); Financial Markets Indexes (INDEX/DATA); Flow of Funds (FUNDS); France (FR); Germany (GY); International Automotive Database (AUTODB); International Economic (DRIINTL); International Financial Statistics - IMF (IMF); Italy Economic - Banca d'Italia (IT/BDIT); Italy Economic - Confindustria (IT/CONFIN); Money Markets and Fixed Income (FACS/DATA); Netherlands (NL); OECD Main Economic Indicators (OECDMEI); OECD National Income Accounts (OECDNIA); South Africa (SA); Spain (SP); U.S. and Canadian Equities (DRISEC); U.S. Central - National Assoc. of Realtors (USCEN/NAR); U.S. Central (USCEN); U.S. Industrial & Regional Economic (MARKETS); U.S. Prices (USPRICE); United Kingdom (UK)

Google Books
Book Search works just like web search. Try a search on Google Books or on Google.com. When they find a book with content that contains a match for your search terms, they'll link to it in your search results. If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given them permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text. If it's in the public domain, you're free to download a PDF copy. They've created reference pages for every book so you can quickly find all kinds of relevant information: book reviews, web references, maps and more. See an example. If you find a book you like, click on the "Buy this book" and "Borrow this book" links to see where you can buy or borrow it.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
Government Periodicals Index
Bibliographic information of articles published in government periodicals. Citations will include the journal and article title, issuing agency, publication date, volume number, and pages.
Grassland and Forage Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.

GreenFILE
GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.

Non-LSU Affiliates may click here to access GreenFILE Abstracts for free.

Grove Dictionary of Art
The most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. The Grove Dictionary of Art contains 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day. Compiled over a period of 15 years, it represents the work of more than 6,800 scholars from around the world, each writing on his or her own specialist field of study.
Grove Dictionary of Music is now part of Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, individual works, instruments and notation, forms and genres; The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Second Edition, Revised (2006) will similarly supplement Grove's more extensive coverage with content geared toward undergraduates and general users. Both of these sources are included in a subscription to Grove Music Online. Oxford Music Online is also pleased to feature Colin Larkin's landmark Encyclopedia of Popular Music — online for the first time by popular demand. The most comprehensive reference work devoted exclusively to popular music, EPM is the authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists, covering popular music from 1900 to the present. It is exhaustive, meticulous, authoritative — and incredibly fun to read.

Databases by Title
This does not search within databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide Information
Some full text available Some Full Text
Free Trial
Open Access


Untitled Document