LSU Libraries -- Database List: C

Databases
By Title:
ABC DEFGHIJKLMNOPRSTUVWZNumAll

C19: Nineteenth Century Index
C19 Index is the bibliographic spine of 19th century research, providing integrated access to the most important finding aids for books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers and archives. Users of C19 Index can query its 12 collections simultaneously, or can conduct more detailed research using collection specific search screens. C19 Index is a dynamic and growing resource, currently containing over 20 million bibliographic records for a full range of 19th century source material. The links below provide more detail on the 12 collections available in C19 Index.

C19 Index draws on 12 collections:
  • American Periodicals Series
  • Archive Finder
  • British Periodicals
  • Dictionary of Nineteenth Century Journalism
  • House of Commons Parlimentary Papers
  • The Nineteenth Century
  • Nineteenth-Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC)
  • Palmer's Index to the Times
  • Periodicals Index Online / Periodicals Archive Online (formerly Periodicals Contents Index (PCI) and PCI Full Text)
  • Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
  • The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900
  • the U.S. Congressional Serial Set

CAB Reviews Archive
A brand new reviews publication, using CABI's 90 years of expertise in this area. CAB Reviews will complement the subject coverage of CAB Abstracts, by focusing on animal science, veterinary medicine; applied plant sciences; agriculture; nutrition and food science; natural resources and environmental sciences.

CAB Reviews will provide the scientists, academics and students working in these fields with analysis and information on the current research to complement their own assessment. It will be an authoritative resource to help them keep abreast of the latest developments and place their research efforts into context.
CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Cabell's Directories
The Directory helps you to determine which journals typically publish manuscripts similar to yours or could be the best fit for your manuscript. The index in each Directory helps you match the characteristics of your manuscript to the topic areas the journal emphasizes and acceptance rate.
The Directory also includes information on the style and format of most journals to further assist you in organizing and preparing your manuscripts. If a journal has its own set of manuscript guidelines, a link to these guidelines is provided in the Directory. Additionally, each entry indicates the use of a standard set of publication guidelines by a journal. For example, some journals use the Chicago Manual of Style or the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. The Directories now include a direct link to the journal's manuscript guidelines page. Furthermore, the Directory describes the type of review process used by the editor(s) of a journal, type of review, number of reviewers, acceptance rate, time required for review, availability of reviewers' comments, number of copies required and manuscript topics. Information on the journals printed and electronic launch dates and ISSNs are also provided.
CAJ: China Academic Journals
CAJ is the most comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese journals in the world. It comprises ten Series databases; of these, LSU Libraries provides access to Series F: Literature/History/Philosophy.
Cambridge Histories Online
Online access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series, with access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content. Coverage includes American and British history, general history, music, religious studies, theater and performing arts, and more.
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
Large collection of indexes, each of which focuses on a specific scientific field.
Cambridge University Press
Welcome to Cambridge Journals Online (CJO), providing full text for over one hundred journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Caribbean Literature
Starting with the literature produced in Spanish and French colonies in the 1800s, the collection offers an extensive selection of 19th- and 20th-century works from every Caribbean country. As the database grows, we will supplement the novels, short stories, and poems of these artists with author interviews and reference works, including dictionaries of various Creole languages.

CARIS (Current Agriculture Research Information System)
CARIS is the Current Agricultural Research Information System, which was created by FAO in 1975 to identify and to facilitate the exchange of information about current agricultural research projects being carried out by - or on behalf of - developing countries. An international system, working on a cooperative basis, CARIS identifies projects dealing with all aspects of agriculture: plant and animal production and protection; post harvest processing of primary agricultural products; forestry; fisheries; agricultural engineering; natural resources and the environment as related to agriculture; food and human nutrition; agricultural economics; rural development, and agricultural administration; legislation, information, education and extension.
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
The Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance is a government-wide compendium of Federal programs, projects, services, and activities which provide assistance or benefits to the American public. It contains financial and nonfinancial assistance programs administered by departments and establishments of the Federal government.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Note: Unrestricted Access
The Catalog is a search and retrieval service that provides bibliographic records of U.S. Government information products. Use it to link to Federal agency online resources or identify materials distributed to Federal Depository Libraries. Coverage begins with January 1994 and new records are added daily. New Electronic Titles contains online titles that are the latest entries in the Catalog or are in the queue to be added to it.
CCH Tax Research
This service provides information on federal tax, state tax, business entity planning, financial and estate planning, securities, federal banking law, capital changes, documents in the federal tax library, and government contracts from 1971 to the present.

Census DVD Research
Note: Available in Government Documents/Microforms, Middleton Basement, Room 53. Ask for assistance at Government Documents/Microforms Service Desk and see Library’s main informational pages for hours.
This database includes CDs and DVDs with census datasets for complete historical analysis: Neighborhood Change Database, 1990 Long Form in 2000 Boundaries, 1980 in 2000 Boundaries, CensusCD 1990 Blocks, Census Reference Package (1970, 1980, and 1990 Long Form products), Census 2000 Package (Long Form, Short Form, Redistricting, Blocks).
Census of Agriculture 1992/1997/2002
Provides data on number of farms, land in farms, land use, irrigation, crops, livestock, poultry, value of farm products sold, hired farm labor, injuries and deaths, direct sales for human consumption, production expenses, and operator characteristics. The CD-ROM version of the study of the United States' production agriculture taken every five years at the national, state and county level.

CERN Document Server
Over 650,000 bibliographic records, including 320,000 fulltext documents, of interest to people working in particle physics and related areas. Covers preprints, articles, books, journals, photographs, and much more.

Chemical Abstracts
Note: You must first register before you can connect to CAS. Click the "i" for instructions.
Scifinder is a database from Chemical Abstracts Service offering electronic access to Chemical Abstracts, which contains the largest substance database, CAS Registry, with more than 24 million substances--including 12 million organic substances. It is also the world's most comprehensive database of chemical literature and patents, containing the most current information, with daily updating by CAS scientists.

We are now using the web version of SciFinder. You must first register before you can connect to CAS. To register, click on the link we have provided in PAWS under Library Resources, Off-campus access. During registration, you will create your own username and password which you will subsequently use to logon to SciFinder from the above link. Go to PAWS Registration.
Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System (CCRIS)
Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System - carcinogenicity, mutagenicity, tumor promotion, and tumor inhibition data provided by the National Cancer Institute (NCI).

ChemIDplus
Numerous chemical synonyms, structures, regulatory list information, and links to other databases containing information about the chemicals.

Chicago Manual of Style Online
Note: Trial ends Dec. 31, 2014.
The Chicago Manual of Style Online provides recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices for the digital age.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD), offers more than 110,000 reviews of children's books-all full text.

Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with coverage dating as far back as 1937.

Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals are also included.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides full text for 337 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included.
CiteSeer Scientific Literature Digital Library
CiteSeer is a scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science. CiteSeer aims to improve the dissemination and feedback of the scientific literature and to provide improvements in functionality, usability, availability, cost, comprehensiveness, efficiency, and timeliness in the access of scientific and scholarly knowledge.

Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective
A collection of African-American newspapers containing information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, including first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, such as the Mexican War, Presidential and congressional addresses, congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel, and religion. The database also contain large numbers of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.

The database contains articles from the following journals: Freedom's Journal (New York, NY), The Colored American (Weekly Advocate) (New York, NY), The North Star (Rochester, NY), The National Era (Washington, D.C.), Provincial Freeman (Chatham, Canada West), Frederick Douglass Paper (Rochester, NY), The Christian Recorder (Philadelphia, PA). Offers full-text online news, business, legal, legislative, and regulatory information, updated daily.
Classical Scores Library
Classical Scores Library will contain 400,000 pages of classical scores from both in-copyright and public domain editions. The major composers output is represented, as well as many lesser known composers and works.

Content in the first release includes 800 scores (approx. 25,000 pages) of in-copyright material from Boosey and Hawkes and selected material from the University Music Editions microfilm series. 49 composers' works are included in this release, including notable 20th-century composers such as Aaron Copland, Benjamin Britten, Igor Stravinsky, and Ned Rorem. This first release contains 16 full operas, 7 oratorios, over 50 string quartets, 27 symphonies, 60 concerti, and more.

The collection includes works spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Coverage of score types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions.
Classical Singer
The online version of music journal "Classical Singer," which specializes in classical music and opera related news and information.

CollegeSource Online
Note: Only available in Middleton Library
Features over 11,400 College Catalogs in complete cover-to-cover original page format--including 2-year, 4-year, graduate, and professional schools.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides robust and quality research information in areas related to communication and mass media. This database originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media.

Company Reports
The Company Reports database includes brief bibliographic information on 10-K and Annual Reports held in print and microform at Middleton Library in Government Documents. The reports are from various companies throughout the United States from the early 20th century to the present. The Company Reports database is searchable by Company Name and Document Type (10-K or Annual Report).
Compendex
Compendex is a bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing references to over 5000 engineering journals and conferences. Ei covers literature that makes a definite contribution to knowledge in the subject areas of engineering and applied science. About half the citations (from 2600 journals and conferences) include abstracts and indexing in the records. CompendexWeb is the internet version of Engineering Index, the world's premier source of engineering abstracts. The database adds about 220,000 abstracts yearly. Abstracts come from 2600 engineering journals, conferences, and reports. All areas of engineering are covered. Approximately 22% of the database is conference literature, and 90% of the source documents are in English.
Compustat
Note: Access is available through WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services).
Compustat contains fundamental financial, statistical, and market data for corporations listed on the New York Stock Exchange, American StockExchange, National Association of Securities Dealers Automated Quotations, and Over-the-Counter markets. Locate annual income statement data, quarterly data, financial ratios, number of employees, business segments, geographic areas, industry composites, aggregates, and indexes.
Computer Science Index
The Computer Science Index (formerly called Computer Literature Index), a database created by EBSCO Publishing, provides abstracting and indexing of academic journals, professional publications and other reference sources at the highest scholarly and technical levels of computer science. The database contains more than 300,000 records from more than 500 periodicals and books, with coverage dating back to the mid 1950s.

Computer Science Index focuses on subjects such as artificial intelligence, expert systems, system design, data structures, computer theory, computer systems and architecture, software engineering, human-computer interaction, new technologies, social and professional context, and much more. Enhancements to the original database include hundreds of new titles and searchable references for key academic journals. The product also includes editor-selected articles from magazine and journal titles in related areas of study.

Computer Source
Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for more than 300 publications, covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software and provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.

Computer Source offers full text journals such as AI Communications, Applied Artificial Intelligence, Computer Science Education, Cybernetics & Systems, Electromagnetics, Expert Systems, Information Systems Research, International Journal of Computational Engineering Science, International Journal of Electronics, International Journal of Foundations of Computer Science, International Journal of Systems Science, Journal of Information Systems, Journal of Management Information Systems, MIS Quarterly, Monte Carlo Methods & Applications, Neural Computation, Theory of Computing Systems, Transactions of the Institute of Measurement & Control and many more.

Leading general magazines are also provided including: eWeek, Fast Company, MacWorld, PC Magazine, PC World, Red Herring, Software Magazine, and more. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1985.
Conference Papers Index
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at conferences in physics, engineering and materials science, and, since 1995, in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences. Information is derived from final programs, abstracts booklets and published proceedings, and questionnaire responses. Begins 1982.
Congressional Hearings (see ProQuest Congressional Hearings)
The ProQuest Congressional Hearings Digital Collection includes full transcripts of the proceedings, including all oral statements, committee questions, and discussion. Also included are the texts of related reports, statistical analyses, correspondence, exhibits, and articles presented by witnesses or inserted into the record by committee members and staff. NOTE: Use Advanced Search to select only the Hearings.
Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA)
The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) is a core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science,forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Scholars have selected the titles in this collection for their historical importance. Their evaluations and 4,500 core titles are detailed in the seven volume series The Literature of the Agricultural Sciences, Wallace C. Olsen, series editor.
Counseling and Therapy in Video
Features more than 175 therapists practicing more than 50 separate therapeutic approaches. From Arnold Lazarus on Behavioral Therapy to Irvin Yalom on Group Therapy, this collection features renowned experts explaining and applying their methods in a variety of real-to-life situations and environments.

Several types of videos and supplementary materials have been chosen to provide a well-rounded collection that will be of interest to students, academics, and professionals alike.

Counseling Sessions and Demonstrations include filmed footage of actual therapy sessions, re-enacted therapy sessions, and scripted sessions designed by counseling professionals to illustrate common issues and scenarios that arise during courses of therapy.

Consultations feature experts in particular courses of therapy offering advice on the application of their methods. These videos often include scenes of counseling sessions interspersed with analysis and discussion between the consultant, the practicing therapists, and the clients.

Lectures, presentations, and interviews feature well-known therapists discussing their own work and issues affecting the larger fields of mental health and wellness.

Teaching and Discussion Guides are downloadable PDF documents designed to facilitate the use of the videos in an educational setting.

Country Reports via Business Source Complete
Business Source® Complete is a scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content.

Business Source Complete exceeds all other databases available in terms of its premium content of peer-reviewed, business related journals. Included as part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database are indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886.

In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 40,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
County Business Patterns
Compiles data on numbers of employees, payroll, and numbers of establishments for major industries in the United States, on federal, state, and county levels.

CQ Press
Created and hosted by CQ Press, the CQ Press Electronic Library (CQEL) is the definitive reference resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. A wealth of CQ Press resources and years of journalistic and editorial expertise are combined in this indispensable reference collection. These reference products offer researchers—whether students, scholars, professionals, or interested citizens—a range of tools for discovering and understanding CQ Press's authoritative content.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports, each around 12,000 words, produced each year. The reports include a pro-con feature, a chronology, bibliographies and a list of contacts.
CQ Weekly
Each issue of CQ Weekly - in your stacks or fully archived to 1983 on the Web - looks forward and back. Your readers get in-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon, plus a complete wrap up the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes. Just as important, CQ Weekly is written in plain-English prose that makes it easy for people "outside the beltway" to understand complex legislation, and its ramifications, just as well as any Washington insider. Simply put, no matter what legislative issue your readers follow or research, CQ Weekly is the one source that can be relied on to cover it, to make it simple to understand, and to do so in a manner that is even-handed and accurate. CQ Weekly Online includes an archive dating back to 1983 and access by IP authentication. Search by topic, page number, committee, "exact phrases or words," bill number, byline or reporter and by Boolean full-text and date searches. Detailed floor votes dating back to August 1983 are easily retrieved.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Now in its 93rd edition, the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics continues to be the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the world. An authoritative resource consisting tables of data, its usefulness spans every discipline. This edition includes 17 new tables in the Analytical Chemistry section, a major update of the CODATA Recommended Values of the Fundamental Physical Constants and updates to many other tables. The book puts physical formulas and mathematical tables used in labs every day within easy reach.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference is a general reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering 551 hundred highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers; Credo General Reference covers every major subject.

Credo Reference is an online reference service made up of full-text books from the world's best publishers. Whether you're working on a research paper, trying to win trivia or just curious, Credo Reference has something for you.
Crop Physiology Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
CSA Illustrata: Natural Sciences
CSA Illustrata: Natural Sciences is the first in a series of CSA Illustrata databases of searchable tables, figures, graphs, charts and other illustrations from the scholarly research and technical literature.

CSA Illustrata: Natural Sciences is interdisciplinary, covering a wide variety of journals from all major areas such as:

Biology, Earth Sciences, Environmental Studies, Medical Sciences, Agriculture, Fish and Fisheries, Education, Geography, Veterinary Science, Food and Food Industries, Pharmacy and Pharmacology, Meteorology, Public Health and Safety, Water Resources, Conservation, and Forests and Forestry.
Current Index to Statistics
The Current Index to Statistics is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields. References are drawn from 162 core journals (as of 2005) that are fully indexed, non-core journals from which articles are selected that have statistical content, proceedings and edited books, and other sources. The CIS Extended Database (CIS-ED), available on-line (Web edition) indexes the entire contents of "core journals", in most cases from 1975 (or first issue if later) to the current end year, and pre-1975 coverage for several of them, selected articles since 1975 from about 1200 additional journals (cumulatively), and about 11,000 books in statistics published since 1975.
Databases by Title
This does not search within databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide Information
Some full text available Some Full Text
Free Trial
Open Access