LSU Libraries

On a mobile device?

View the LSU Libraries Mobile Website at
http://www.lib.lsu.edu/m/

BEILSTEIN'S' HANDBOOK OF ORGANIC CHEMISTRY

A Guide to the Printed Beilstein

Beilstein's Handbuch der Organischen Chemie is a handbook of carbon compounds. This work includes data published over set periods in the scientific literature on the preparation and properties of all carbon compounds. There are six series--the Basic Series and five Supplementary Series; each series is subdivided into 27 volumes. The Chemistry Resources subscription stopped in 1992.

Series of the Beilstein Handbook, Fourth Edition
(began publication in 1918)

Series Abbreviation Period of Literature Covered/Language
Basic Series
Supplementary Series I 
Supplementary Series II 
Supplementary Series III 
Supplementary Series III/IV * 
Supplementary Series IV 
Supplementary Series V 

E I 
E II 
E III 
E III/IV 
E IV 
E V
1830-1910 (German)
1910-1919 (German)
1920-1929 (German)
1930-1939 (German)
1930-1959 (German)
1950-1959 (German)
1960-1979 (English)
* Volumes 17 to 27 of Series E III and E IV are combined in a joint issue.

Contents
Beilstein's descriptions of the carbon compounds include:

1) constitution and configuration 
2) natural occurrence and isolation from natural products 
3) preparation, formation, and purification 
4) structural and energy parameters of the molecule
5) physical properties 
6) chemical properties 
7) characterization and analysis
8) salts and addition compounds

Description
The classification of subject matter in each of the Supplementary Series is the same as that chosen for the 27 volumes of the Basic Series. Any particular volume of each Supplementary Series always contains the same classes of compounds as the volume of the Basic Series with the same number.

The classification of compounds into compound classes and the arrangement of the individual compounds within these classes is determined by the Beilstein System. The compounds viewed as a whole are divided into 3 major groups in the handbook:

1) Acyclic Compounds, Volumes 1-4
2) Isocyclic Compounds, Volumes 5-16
3) Heterocyclic Compounds, Volumes 17-27


Coordinating references at the top of each odd-numbered page of the handbook supplements allow the user to locate related compounds described in earlier series. In turn, if there have been new developments regarding a specific compound in the period of the Supplementary Series, the coordinating page numbers can help to access the new information by moving forward through the supplements using the Basic Series (H) page number.

Articles

The heading of each article gives the most important names of the compound first. The remainder of the heading consists of the empirical formula, the constitutional formula, and possibly a back reference to a previous series. The text of the article is uniformly arranged in subject groups.

In general, an article in Beilstein contains the following information about a compound: molecular and structural formula, history, occurrence, formation, preparation, physical properties, chemical reactions, applications, chemical behavior, addition compounds and salts, and transformation products of unknown structure.

Indexes

A subject index (name index) and formula index of compounds is included at the end of each Beilstein volume. A formula index was introduced with Supplementary Series III. Various indexes have been published since 1957 for Supplementary Series III and IV, and individual volumes are now covered in their own index for the Basic Series and Supplements I-IV. In December of 1991, a name index (Volume 28) covering the volumes through Supplementary Series IV (1771-1959) was completed. A formula index covering 1771-1959 was issued in 1992.

Arrangement in the Chemistry Resources

In the Chemistry Resources, the Beilstein Handbook is arranged chronologically by series; and within each series, by volume and subvolume number.

References to Beilstein

The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics and Lange's Handbook of Chemistry both provide references to Beilstein.

  • In the CRC, Section 3, Physical Constants of Organic Compounds, an entry under the Beil. Ref column of 5-18-11-01234 would be interpreted as follows: the compound will be found in the 5th Series, Volume 18, Subvolume 11, page 1234.
  • In Lange's Handbook, Table 1.15, Physical Constants of Organic Compounds, Column "Beilstein Reference", reference will be given to the volume and page numbers of the fourth edition of Beilstein. For example, an entry of 9, 202 indicates the compound can be found in volume 9, page 202 of the 4th edition.
For Further Information

For more detailed instruction, there are several books available on how to use Beilstein:

The Beilstein Online Database. 1990

Stephen R. Heller, ed. (American Chemical Society: Washington, D.C.), 1990.
QD 257.7 B39 1990 Chemistry Reference


Covers the implementation of the database, its contents, and how it can be searched on two major online systems (STN and Dialog) for the perspective of industry and academia. Published as part of ACS Symposium Series: 436.

The Beilstein Guide: A Manual for the Use of Beilstein.

Oskar Weissbach.
QD 251 B43 W4413


Beilstein Dictionary: German-English 1979

(Springer-Verlag: New York), 1979.
QD 251 B43 B44 1979 Chemistry Reference


A Guide to Beilstein's Handbuch der Organischen Chemie. (audiovisual) 1979

Martha M. Vestling.
QD 251 B43 V47 1975


Beilstein Key Manual. (English/German)

(Springer-Verlag: New York)


A computer program for determining the volume number(s) containing a particular compound by means of a simple question and answer routine.

Pamphlets

How to Use Beilstein. 1978

Pamphlet that describes the Handbook, its history, and arrangement.


Stereochemical Descriptors in the Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry. 1985

What is Beilstein?

A brief description of the Beilstein System, with a history of the Beilstein Institute.


Contents of Beilstein: Representative Examples.

A pamphlet version of the Beilstein wall chart.


In addition, there are several useful pamphlets from the Beilstein Institute available for use that are shelved with the Beilstein volumes in the Reference Room.

Useful Terms

Auflage = edition 
B. = how to make 
Band = volume 
D = density 
Dritter, Drittes = 3rd 
Ergänzungswerk = Supplementary Series 
Erster = 1st 
F = melting point 
Formelregister = formula index 
Fünfter = 5th
Gesamtregister = collective index 
H = Hauptwerk (Basic Series) 
Kp = boiling point 
s. = p. (page) 
Sachregister = subject index (compound name index) 
Seite = page 
Teil = part 
Vierter = 4th 
Zweiter = 2nd

Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry

The Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry covers the literature from 1779 through 1979. These volumes are located in the Reference Area beginning with call number QD251 .B488. In 1991-92, the Comprehensive Compound Name and Formula Indexes were published. These indexes cover all volumes of the Main Series (H) through Supplement IV (literature through 1959). These indexes are volumes 28-29 of the Beilstein Handbook. Starting with Supplement V, covering 1960-1979, Beilstein is in English.

SANDRA (Structure and Reference Analyser)

This is a software program that takes a structure drawn with a mouse and predicts the location in the printed Beilstein. SANDRA is loaded on a computer in the Chemistry Resources. Probably the easiest way to find out if and where the compound is located in Beilstein is to take the predicted volume number from SANDRA and use the formula indexes found at the end of the various volumes to zero in on the appropriate pages.

Wall Chart
A Chart on the west wall of the Reference Area lays out the classification of the Beilstein Handbook in visual format using representative molecular structures.

Guides

Various guides from the Beilstein Institute.

What is Beilstein?
How to Use Beilstein.
Beilstein Dictionary.
Short Cut to Locating a Compound.


Beilstein, Electronic Version
Beilstein is now available only in electronic form through MDL Information Systems, acquired by Elsevier in 1997. It was Elsevier's acquisition of Beilstein Information Systems in 1998 that allowed MDL to market the CrossFire Beilstein database, followed soon after by CrossFire Gmelin.


In the area of organic chemistry Beilstein Online is the world's largest factual database. With about 6.5 million heterocyclic, acyclic and isocyclic compounds, the Beilstein database covers the literature from 1779 onwards.

The contents and the data structure are based on the Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry. The online file contains Beilstein handbook data from the Basic Series to Supplement IV, covering the literature from 1779 to 1959, and structures and facts which have been abstracted from the primary literature. Regular updates give you access to the latest information published in the chemical literature. The file is available on the hosts STN and Dialog.

Beilstein Online offers a variety of search options which make this electronic information system an excellent reference tool for organic chemists and information specialists. You can either search for structures, facts, bibliographic information or perform combined searches.

Beilstein's Corporate Mission and Commitment is to

  • Continue to be the world authority and premier supplier of scientific chemical information.
  • Deliver systems in support of scientific chemical information which are fast, flexible, focused, and open to integration within our customer's environments.
  • Consult with our customers and understand their goals, so that Beilstein can develop new products to meet their ever changing challenges.
  • Strive, as dedicated employees of Beilstein, for excellence in everything we do in pursuit of this mission.


  • Some German Terms In Synthetic Or Reaction Chemistry As Found In 
    The Beilstein Handbook Of Organic Chemistry

    German English German English
    Abbau 
    Alkylierung 
    Ausbeute (an) 
    Ausgangsmaterial 
    Ausgangsverbindung 
    ausgehen(d) von 
    behandeln 
    beim Behandeln 
    nach Behandlung 
    bereiten 
    bestandig 
    bilden 
    bildet sich 
    Bildung 
    Darstellung 
    Derivat 
    einbringen 
    einleiten 
    Einschlussverbindung 
    eintragen 
    enthalten(d) 
    ergeben 
    Ersatz 
    Folge 
    formulieren 
    geben 
    gibt 
    Gemisch 
    Geschwindigkeitskonstante 
    Gewinnung 
    Hauptprodukt 
    herstellen 
    Herstellung 
    hervorgehen (aus) 
    hindern 
    degradation 
    alkylation 
    yield (of) 
    starting material 
    starting compound 
    to start(ing) from 
    to treat 
    on treating 
    after treatment 
    to prepare 
    stable 
    form 
    is formed 
    formation 
    preparation 
    derivative 
    to introduce 
    to feed, pass into 
    inclusion compound, clathrate 
    to introduce 
    to contain(ing) 
    to result 
    substitution, replacement 
    sequence 
    to formulate 
    to give 
    gives 
    mixture 
    rate constant 
    isolation, extraction 
    main product 
    to prepare, manufacture 
    preparation, manufacture 
    to originate (from), result (from) 
    to inhibit, prevent

    Katalysator 
    künstlich 
    liefern 
    Nebenprodukt 
    Präparat 
    Quelle 
    Raumtemperatur 
    Reagenz 
    Reinheit 
    Reaktionsfolge 
    Rohprodukt 
    Säure 
    Salz 
    Schluss 
    Seitenkette 
    Sprengstoff 
    Stoff 
    Summenformel 
    überführen (in) 
    Überführung 
    übergehen 
    Umsetzung 
    umwandeln 
    Umwandlung 
    ungesättigt 
    unrein 
    unvollständig 
    Verbindung 
    vereinigen 
    Verfahren 
    Verseifung 
    versetzen 
    Versuch 
    vollständig 
    zersetzen (sich) 
    Zwischenstufe

    catalyst 
    artificial 
    to give, deliver 
    by-product 
    preparation 
    source 
    room temperature 
    reagent 
    purity 
    reaction sequence 
    crude product 
    acid 
    salt 
    conclusion, end 
    side chain 
    explosive 
    matter, substance 
    stoichiometric formula 
    to transform into 
    transformation 
    to be converted into 
    reaction 
    to transform, convert 
    transformation 
    unsaturated 
    impure 
    incompletely 
    compound 
    to combine, join 
    procedure 
    saponification 
    to add 
    experiment 
    complete(ly) 
    to decompose 
    intermediate

    Some Physical Property Terms Used In The Beilstein Handbook Of Organic Chemistry

    Abbreviation/Term English Meaning



    Gew.-% 
    k(ks,kb) 
    K(Ks,Kb) 
    Kp 
    Mol. Gew. 

    Bildungskonstante 
    Bildungswärme 
    Bindungsenergie 
    Brechungsindex 
    Brenngeschwindigkeit 
    Dampfdruck 
    Dichte 
    Druck 
    Durchlässigkeit 
    Entzündungstemperatur 
    Erstarrungspunkt 
    Flammpunkt 
    Flüssigkeit-Dampf-Gleichgewicht 
    freie Enthalpie 
    Geschwindigkeit 
    Giftwirkung 
    Gitterkonstante 
    Gleichgewichtskonstante 
    Grundschwingungsfrequenz 
    Grundzustand 
    Halbwertszeit 
    Hydrierungswärme 
    Ionisierungspotential 
    Kernquadrupolkopplungskonstante 
    Kraftkonstante 
    Leitfähigkeit 
    Löslichkeit 
    Lösungswarme 
    Mikrowellen-Spektrum 
    Mischungsenthalpie 
    Normaldruck 
    Oberflächenspannung 
    Röntgen-Diagramm 
    Schemlzpunkt 
    Schmelzwarme 
    Schwingungsrelaxationszeit 
    Siedepunkt 
    Stabilitätskonstante 
    Trägheitsmoment 
    Überführungszahl 
    Übergangswahrscheinlichkeit 
    Valenzwinkel 
    Wärmeübergangskoeffizient 
    Wellenlänge 
    Wellenzahl 
    Zimmertemperature
    density, specific gravity 
    freezing point 
    melting point 
    percent by weight 
    ionization constant according to classical theory 
    ionization constant according to Zwitterion theory 
    boiling point 
    molecular weight 
    refractive index 
    equilibrium constant 
    heat of formation 
    bond energy 
    index of refraction 
    rate of combustion 
    vapor pressure 
    density br>pressure 
    permeability 
    ignition temperature 
    freezing point 
    flash point 
    liquid-vapor equilibrium 
    free enthalpy (Gibbs energy) 
    velocity, rate 
    toxic effect 
    lattice constant 
    equilibrium constant 
    fundamental vibrational frequency 
    ground state 
    half-life 
    heat of hydrogenation 
    ionization potential 
    nuclear quadrupole coupling constant 
    force constant 
    conductivity 
    solubility 
    heat of solution 
    microwave spectrum 
    enthalpy of mixing 
    standard pressure 
    surface tension 
    X-ray pattern 
    melting point 
    heat of fusion 
    vibrational relaxation time 
    boiling point 
    stability constant 
    moment of inertia 
    transport number 
    transition probability 
    bond angle 
    heat transfer coefficient 
    wave length 
    wave number 
    room temperature

    Source used in the preparation of this guide:
    Guide to Basic Information Sources in Chemistry. 1979

    Arthur Antony. (New York: John Wiley), 1979, p.142.
    Untitled Document