Landolt-Börnstein: Numerical Data and Functional Relationships in Science and Technology, An Introduction

Note: This series is now online at SpringerMaterials and can be searched or browsed either by Subject Area Navigation or Bookshelf Navigation, which mirrors the print arrangement. LSU Libraries does not, however, subscribe to this database, so the searcher is limited to locating citations or references. The full-text is not accessible to our patrons electronically. We do have the print of the New Edition through 1999, with scattered volumes through 2003. The online database can perhaps be of use in locating material that we have in print.

[The following guide is derived from:
David Flaxbart. "Landolt-Börnstein: Numerical Data And Functional Relationships In Science And Technology, A Quick Guide." (Austin, TX: Chemistry Library, University of Texas at Austin), 1994.]

Landolt-Börnstein (LB) is a systematic and comprehensive collection of critically assessed data from all fields of physics, physical chemistry, biophysics, geophysics, astronomy, materials science, and technology. In some ways it is to physics what Beilstein is to organic chemistry. The 6th Edition began publication in 1950 and was completed in 1980, and contains 22,500 pages in 28 volumes. The volumes consists of a series of tables for physical properties extracted from technical literature and arranged by topic. The volumes of the 6th Edition contain fundamental, well-tested information that is less likely to require revision. In 1961 the New Series began publication, an open-ended series that complements the base set and reflects changes in the fields concerned.

LSU Chemistry Resources owns the 6th Edition of Landolt-Börnstein, and all volumes of the New Series up to 1999, with a few selected volumes through 2003. By 1990 there were over 150 volumes in the New Series. Landolt-Börnstein is shelved on the fourth floor, along the wall with Beilstein and Gmelin. Retrieval of data on a particular aspect is straightforward, since volumes and parts are organized in clearly defined sections, listed below. Each volume contains a detailed table of contents (in German), and occasionally an index of substances. The seventh edition is published in English, with volumes A-C including indexes on computer disk.

All volumes of the 6th Edition are in German (except for Vol. II pts 9 and 10, which are bilingual [German-English]). Landolt-Börnstein contains mostly numeric and graphical data, with very little text. (A knowledge of common German physical and chemical terms is handy when browsing the tables of contents and indexes.) No 7th edition to Landolt-Börnstein is planned; supplementary material will be published is a series of volumes of narrow subjects, published as the amount of information is available or a subject interest is requested. The introductory sections of all volumes and parts are comprehensive. A basic knowledge of physical principles is assumed for the reader to use the introductory sections as a physics textbook. The literature references are exhaustive and allow the reader to examine the original data upon which the tables are based and to repeat the work. The tables are accurate and up-to-date published data on physical constants.

There is a Comprehensive Index of the 6th Edition and New Series up to 1985, and a supplemental index was published in 1990. The keyword system in the indexes is arranged in four levels of hierarchy. The primary or first keyword generally denotes a physical quantity or constant, or material in question. A "(d)" sometimes added to page numbers in the index entry tells the user that only "dispersed" data will be found for a particular keyword--in other words, the data for that keyword is scattered and is not the main focus for the given range of pages. If an item of interest is not assigned a first keyword in the index, search under synonyms or broader terms. Locating information on a particular substance is best approached by identifying those volumes listing data on the class of substance and then searching in that volume's table of contents.

Landolt-Börnstein. 6th ed., 1950-80; New Series 1961 -
QC 61 L332 Base: 4 vols. in 28 parts; New Series ongoing Chemistry Reference

This venerable German source is the most comprehensive printed compilation of numerical data in the physical sciences. Consult the user guides and comprehensive indexes. Base set consists of:
    Vol. I: Atomic and Molecular Physics (5 parts)
    Vol. II: Properties of Matter in the Aggregate State (13 parts)
    Vol. III: Astronomy and Geophysics (1 part)
    Vol. IV: Technology (Basic Techniques) (8 parts)
The New Series is divided into eight subject groups.
    Group I: Nuclear Physics and Technology (now called Elementary Particles, Nuclei and Atoms)(4 parts)
    Group II: Atomic and Molecular Physics (now called Molecules and Radicals)(5 parts)
    Group III: Crystal Structure and Solid State Physics (now Condensed Matter)(6 parts)
    Group IV: Macroscopic and Technical Properties of Matter (now Physical Chemistry)
    Group V: Geophysics and Space Research (now Geophysics)
    Group VI: Astronomy, Astrophysics, and Space Research (now Astronomy and Astrophysics)(1 part)
    Group VII: Biophysics
    Group VIII: Advanced Materials and Technologies
Originally published in German as: Zahlenwerte und Funktionen aus Naturwissenschaften und Technik. Neue Serie ; Tbd. A-b.

Volumes of the 6th Edition

Volume I : Atomic and Molecular Physics.
    Part 1: Atoms and Ions (1950)
      The system of units (length, mass, time, mechanical, electrical, thermal, photometry); relationship between electrical and magnetic units. The basic constants of physics, velocity of light, Planck constant, gravitation constant; proton, à- particle. Wavelength of atomic spectra: Faraday effect and other effects due to the external shell of electrons.

    Part 2: Molecules I (Molecular Structure) (1951)
      Atomic distances and structure; energy of chemical binding; dissociation of di- and poly-atomic molecules; oscillation and rotation of molecules; the restraint of molecular rotation.

    Part 3: Molecules II (External Electron Ring) (1951)
      Band spectra of diatomic and polyatomic molecules; light absorption of solutions in visible and ultraviolet; energy of ionization; optical rotation; electrical moments of molecules; electrical and optical polarization of molecules; magnetic moment; diamagnetic polarization; quantum yield in photochemical reactions.

    Part 4: Crystals (1955)
      Symmetry, crystal class, space groupings; lattice type, structure and dimensions of crystals; ion and atomic radii; lattice energy; internal variations; electron emission of metals and metalloids; x-ray and electron and high frequency spectrum of crystals; lattice distortion and absorption in alkali halogen compounds.

    Part 5: Atomic Nucleus and Elementary Particles (1952)
      The energy of the atomic nucleus; hyperfine structure of spectrum lines; naturally radioactive atoms; rotation of the nucleus and light quanta; cosmic radiation.
Volume II : Properties of Matter in its Aggregated States. (Ten Parts)
    Part 1: Mechanical-Thermal Properties of States (1971)

    Part 2: Equilibria except Fusion Equilibria:
      Part 2a: Equilibria Vapor-Condensate and Osmotic Phenomena (1960)
        One component systems; vapor pressures of pure substances; densities of coexisting phases of pure substances; effect of pressure on melting and transition points; liquid crystals. Multicomponent systems; vapor pressures of mixtures; heterogeneous substances in water, etc.; solubilities in inorganic substances in water, etc.

      Part 2b: Solution Equilibria I (1962)
        Multicomponent systems (continued); solubilities in inorganic substances in water, etc.; solution equilibria of (a) gases in liquids, (b) gases in solid and liquid metals, (c) solids and liquids in liquids (solubilities of organic substances in water, etc.)

      Part 2c: Solution Equilibria II (1964)
        Solubilities of organic substances in organic liquids; equilibria is systems with several immiscible phases.

    Part 3: Fusion Equilibria and Interfacial Phenomena (Melting Point Equilibria and Inter-Face Phenomena) (1956)
      Melting point diagrams of metal alloys; binary and ternary systems of inorganic compounds; reciprocal salt pairs; silicates; melting point diagrams of organic systems and inorganic-organic systems.

    Part 4: Caloric Quantities of State (Calorimetry) (1961)
      Molar heat capacities; entropies, enthalpies and free energies and their temperature dependence; tables for calculating thermodynamic functions from known molecular vibrations; Joule-Thompson effect; magneto- thermal effect with paramagenetic salts at very low temperatures, thermodynamic functions of mixtures and solutions (Including heats for adsorption and neutralization).

    Part 5a: Transport Phenomena I (Viscosity and Diffusion) (1969)

    Part 5b: Transport Phenomena II (Kinetics. Homogenous Gas Equilibria.) (1968)
      Dynamic constants (continued); thermal conductivity; thermal diffusion in gases and liquids; reaction velocities in gases and solids; homogeneous gas equilibria.

    Part 6: Electrical Properties I (Electrical Characteristics I) (1959)
      Electrical conductivity of metals; ionic conductivity of solids (crystals); Hall effect and transistor effect; conductivity transition point; photoconductivity; piezoelectric, elastic, dielectric constants of some systems; dielectric properties of crystals, crystalline solids, glass, synthetic materials (Volume 4, Part 3, Page 658); crystalline liquids, pure liquids, aqueous solutions; non-aqueous solutions; gases. thermoelectric effects; Peltier effect; Thomson effect; photoemmission and secondary electron emission effects.

    Part 7: Electrical Properties II (Electrochemical Systems) (Conductivity of Electron Systems) (1960)
      Conductivity of molten salt s; pure liquids; conductivity; transport numbers, and ion conductivity of aqueous elect rolytic solutions; transport numbers; electrolytes in heavy water; conductivity in non-aqueous s olutions -- organic and inorganic; electrophoretic mobilities and electrokinetic potentials; e.m.f. Or reversible and inversible cells in aqueous and non-aqueous solutions; e.m.f. Of cells in molten salts; electrolytic dissociation of constants; acid-base indicators; buffer mixtures and compositions.

    Part 8: Optical Constants (1962)
      Metals and alloys; nonmetallic substances; glasses and plastics; optical and magneto-optical characteristics of liquid crystals; liquids; gases.

    Part 9: Magnetic Properties I (Magnetic Characteristics I) (1962)

    Part 10: Magnetic Properties II (Magnetic Characteristics II) (1967)
Volume III : Astronomy and Geophysics. (1952) (one part)
    Types and location of instruments; location and time constants; frequency and occurrence of elements; solar system; magnitude of radiation, movement of stars; star systems and special star types; galactic mists. The shape of the earth; force of gravity; minerals and rocks; earth's magnetic field; oceanography; hydrography; meteorology; external atmosphere.
Volume IV : Technology. (Basic Techniques) (four parts)
    Part 1: Material Values and Mechanical Behavior on Non-Metals (1955)
      Basic technical and physical units: mass. Length, time, area, volume, frequency, velocity; units of force, pressure, energy, work; electrical units; atomic weights; hydrometry and pyknometry (device to measure density of liquids or solids). Natural and artificial biopaper materials: cement, mortar, stone, wood, paper, cellulose. Fibrous materials: fiberglass, natural and synthetic rubber; friction and viscosity; static and dynamic friction and viscosity flotation; acoustics.

    Part 2: Material Values and Behavior of Metallic Industrial Materials:
      Part 2a: Principles; Testing Methods; Iron Industrial Materials (1963)
        (Fundamental Characteristics and Methods, Ferrous Materials) Characteristics of metals, test methods (investigation of mechanical properties) nondestructive testing, steel production and standards and physical characteristics, physical ferroproperties, special chemical and physical properties of ferrous and oxygen free alloys.

      Part 2b: Sinter Materials; Heavy Metals (except special industrial materials) (1964)
        Powder metallurgy and sintering materials: W, Rh, Ta, Mo, Nb, V, Cr, Co, Ni, Mn, nobel metals, Cu, Sb, Zn, Pb, Bi, Sn.

      Part 2c: Light Metals; Special Industrial Materials; Semiconductors; Corrosion. (1965)
        Ti, Be, Al, Mg, Li, Rb, Cs; liquid metals, reactor materials (U, Pu, Zr, Hf, Th) rare earths, semiconductors, solders, enamel, hard solder; welding, cutting and extrusion of metals, metal adhesion; corrosion behavior of materials (arranged by corrosive agent).

    Part 3: Electrical Engineering; Light Technology; Optical; X-ray technology (1957)
      Technical conductivity of solid and liquid materials; thermo-elements; discharge through gases insulating materials (synthetic and natural); magnetic properties; illumination, light sources, luminous substances, light filters, photosensitive materials. X-ray techniques, circuits, and dispositions. General and medical x-ray techniques; x-ray spectra; à-radiation, and fine line structure of x-ray spectra.

    Part 4: Heat Technology:
      Part 4a: Methods of Measurement; Thermodynamic Properties of Homogenous Materials (1967)
        Thermometry, hygrometry, thermodynamic properties of gases, vapors, liquids, and gases.

      Part 4b: Thermodynamic Properties of Mixtures; Combustion; Heat Transfer (1972)
      Part 4c: Absorption Equilibria of Gases in Liquids:
        Part 4c 1: Absorption of Liquids of Low Vapor Pressure (1976)
        Part 4c 2: Absorption in Liquids of High Vapor Pressure (1980)

Division of The New Series - Eight Main Subject Groups:

Group I: Nuclear Physics and Technology (now called Elementary Particles, Nuclei and Atoms)
    Vol. 1 Energy Levels of Nuclei, A = 5 to A = 257 (1961)
    Vol. 2 Nuclear Radii (1967)
    Vol. 3 Numerical Tables for Angular Correlation Computations in à-, á- and -spectroscopy (1968)
    Vol. 4 Numerical Tables for Beta Decay and Electron Capture.
Group II: Atomic and Molecular Physics (now called Molecules and Radicals)
    Vol.1 Magnetic Properties of Free Radicals (1965)
    Vol.2 Magnetic Properties of Coordination and Organo-Metallic Transition Metal Compounds (1966)
    Vol.3 Luminescence of Organic Substances (1967)
    Vol.4 Molecular Constants for Microwave Spectroscopy (1967)
    Vol.5 Molecular Acoustics (1967)
Group III: Crystal Structure and Solid State Physics (now Condensed Matter)
    Vol.1 Elastic, Piezoelectric, Piezoptic and Electrooptic Properties of Crystals (1966)
    Vol.2 Magnetic and other Properties of Oxide Systems
    Vol.3 Ferro and Antiferroelectric Substances
    Vol.4 Structural Data of Crystals: Part (a) Organic; Part (b) Inorganic
    Vol.5 X-Ray Spectrum and Bonding site
    Vol.6 Energy Levels of Ions in Crystals
Group IV: Macroscopic and Technical Properties of Matter (now Physical Chemistry)
    Vol.1 Phosphorescence of Inorganic Substances

Group V: Geophysics and Space Research (now Geophysics)

Group VI: Astronomy, Astrophysics, and Space Research (now Astronomy and Astrophysics)
    Vol.1 Astronomy and Astrophysics (1965)

Group VII: Biophysics

Group VIII: Advanced Materials and Technologies

Each of these groups is further subdivided into volumes and subvolumes on particular topics.

Sources:

R.T. Bottle. The Use of Chemical Literature. Second Edition.
(London: Butterworths, Archon Books), 1969, p.115-119.

SpringerMaterials: The Landolt-Börnstein Database. Landolt-Börnstein Bookshelf.

ONLINE CATALOG

Untitled Document