LSU Libraries

Chemistry Resources



 
CAMBRIDGE SCIENTIFIC ABSTRACTS
Index Descriptions

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts: Descriptions of Databases

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts: Guide to Reference Sources via the Internet

 

Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts.

TK 7800 S6 Index Table 1

 

For world coverage on all aspects of theory, production, and application of solid state materials and devices -- as well as the important new high temperature superconductivity technology -- scientists will find this journal indispensable. Topics covered include: phase, crystal, and mechanical properties of solids; impurity effects, ceramics, and twinning phenomena. Bimonthly, plus annual index. 8,000 abstracts per year. Author/Subject indexes plus cumulative indexes.

Entomology Abstracts.
Review of Applied Entomology:

Series A: Agricultural SB 599 R38 Index Table 6
Series B: Medical and Veterinary SF 601 R4 Index Table 6

 

Entomology Abstracts monitors approximately 5,0000 primary journals and other source references for papers falling within the scope of Entomology Abstracts. Each issue contains approximately 800 abstracts, followed by author index and a combined taxonomic and subject index. Topics involving taxonomy and zoology include: systematics, techniques, morphology, physiology, anatomy, histology and biochemistry, reproduction and development, behavior, biology and ecology, genetics, evolution, geography and present-day faunas, fossil forms and faunas.

Table 6: Life Science; Medicine; Proceedings and Reviews

Index Medicus

Z 660 I42 Index Table 6

 

Published monthly as a bibliographic listing of references to current articles from 3,030 of the world's biomedical journals. Included are subject and author sections and a separate Bibliography of Medical Review. Medical Subject Headings and List of Journals Indexed are also near the bound volumes of Index Medicus.

Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature.

Z 6675 N7 C8 Index Table 6

 

Indexing to nursing and allied health literature. Also available online as CINAHL database.

Genetics Abstracts.

QH 431 A1 G397 Index Table 6

 

Genetics Abstracts started publication in 1968 and is published monthly. Each issue contains approximately 1,400 abstracts. In compiling each issue, approximately 5,000 primary journals and other source references are monitored for papers falling within the aspects of molecular, viral, bacterial, fungal, algal, plant, animal, and human genetics.

Bibliography of Bioethics.

Z 6675 E8 W34 Index Table 6

 

The Bibliography of Bioethics attempts to cite all substantive English-language materials that discuss ethical aspects of the topics and subtopics involving:

bioethics in general            codes of professional ethics    professional patient relationships      
health care                     contraception                   abortion and reproductive technologies
genetic intervention            mental health therapies         human experimentation   
death and dying                 animal experimentation          biology, medicine, and violence
artificial and transplanted organs or tissues
The citations incorporate a variety of media and literary forms including journal and newspaper articles, monographs, essays in books, court decisions, bills, audiovisual materials, and unpublished documents. The fourteenth volume indexes documents which were published since 1973, with a concentration primarily on those published in 1986 and 1987.

Bibliography of Reproduction.

Z 6663 R4 B5 Index Table 6

 

Bibliography of Reproduction contains citations to assist the study of reproductive biology and clinical studies of vertebrates, including man. The current annual production of papers on reproduction may be 20,000 annually. The Bibliography scans the worldÍs literature in biology, medicine, veterinary science and agriculture for items on all aspects of vertebrate reproduction. About 250 journals are scanned directly and 8000 are scanned indirectly, using secondary sources such as Current Contents, Index Medicus, and other citation services. Books are scanned by monitoring the collections of major libraries, publishers flyers, and review articles. Theses are scanned using Dissertation Abstracts and AslibÍs Index to Theses .... Patent literature is not covered.

Table 8: Aquatic Sciences; Environmental Science; Earth Science

Ecology Abstracts.

QH 540 A66 Index Table 8

 

Ecology Abstracts (formerly called Applied Ecology Abstracts) monitors approximately 5,000 primary journals and other soruce refernces for relevant materials. The scope of the abstracts deals with interactions between microbes, plants and animals, and their enviroments. these interactions are primarily affected by climate, water resoruces, soil and humans. Key papers on pure ecological topics include economics, operations research, systems analysis when related to ecosystems or the environment, pollution and soil erosion.

EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements.

TD 194.5 E15 Index Table 8

 

EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements abstracts and indexes the hundreds of environmental impact statements issued by the U.S. federal government each year. Impact statements cover areas of air transportation, defense programs, energy, land use; parks, refuges, and forests; roads and railroads; wastes and water.

Environmental Abstracts. (MER; Man -- Environment -- Reference)

HM 206 M17 Index Table 8

 

Environment Abstracts addresses the impact of humankind and technology on the environment, with attetntion to air, water, and noise pollution; solid and toxic wastes; radiological contamination; toxicological effects; control techologies; resources management; population; endangered species; and geophysical and climatic change.

Environmental Periodicals Bibliography.

Z 5863 E57 E58 Index Table 8

 

Environmental Periodicals Bibliography covers periodical literature on environmental issues dealing with human ecology; industrial, scientific, and tehcnical journals; air pollution; energy topics; land resources, agriculture, landresources, conservation, preservation, wildlife and nature; marine and freshwaer resources, water pollution, water management, effluents, sewge and pollution; nutrition and health.

Oceanographic Literature Review.

GC 1 D255 Index Table 8

 

Oceanographic Literature Review is a monthly collection of refernces from recent literature in oceanography and related disciplines. The material is selected from some 2,000 journals, plus books, conference proceedings and reports, and new sources of materials. Topics covered include physical oceanography, marine meteorology, chemical oceanography, and marine geology and geophysics, biological oceanography, environmenta and pollution, applied oceanography and engineering.

Oceanic Abstracts.

Index Table 8

 

Oceanic Abstracts organizes, summaries, and indexes worldwide technical literature on the marine and brackishwater environments. Oceanic Abstracts covers marine biology and biological oceanography, physical and chemical oceanography, meterology, geology, geophysics, geochemistry, marine pollution, conservation, environmental protection, fisheries, aquaculture, nonliving resoruces and technology, ships and shipping, navigation and communications.

Marine Science Contents Tables (MSCT).

Index Table 8

 

Marine science contents tables is prepared by the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System. Tables of contents of journals in marine science are published, including:

Pollution Abstracts.
TD 180 P638 Index Table 8

 

Pollution Abstracts organizes, summarizes, and indexes worldwide technical literature on environmental pollution. The editorial staff screens over 2,500 primary sources, including technical journals, conference proceedings and papers, books, government reports, documents with limited circulation, and trade circulation. Polllution Abstracts is designed to help environmentalists, academic researchers, librarians, industrial engineers, lawyers, waste managers, and federal, state and local government, officials locate published materials on pollution-related subjects. Pollution Abstracts covers air pollution, marine andd freshwater pollution, sewage and wastewater treatment, waste management, toxicology and health, noise pollution, radiation, land pollution, and environmental policies, programs, legislation, and education.

Sea Grant Abstracts.

GC 58 S43 Index Table 8

 

Sea Grants Abstracts covers topics dealing with documents dealing with piublications generated by the National Sea Grant College Program. The indexed materials include annual reports, serials, newsletters, charts, and maps. Topics included in the Sea Grant Abstracts aquaculture and hatcheries; biology, physiology, and species ecology; biotechnology, biological compounds, and natural products; chemistry, geology, geochemistry, coastal zone, water resoruces, environmental management, diving techcnology, physiology, safety, economics, policy, law and society, ecosystems, community ecology, environmental studies, education and training, emergency preparedness, disaster prevention, energy resources (technolgy and industry), engineering and applied oceanography, fisheries development (trade, technology, industry), fisheries management, fouling and corrosion, medicine (public health and toxiciology), mineral resoruces, natural reseouces, natuical sciences and serices, safety at sea, naval architecture and marine engineering, physical oceanography, meterology and climatology, pllutants and effects, ports, waterways, marine transportation, reasearch instrumentation and methods, seafood science (technology and industry), veterinary medicine and pathology, waste disposal and management, waterfront use and development.


For questions or comments about this page, please contact
William Armstrong


Chemistry Resources
LSU Libraries | Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, LA 70803-3100
Tel (225) 578-8875 | Fax (225) 578-9432
Copyright © 1999 - 2009 LSU Libraries
Last Updated: 2007