LSU Libraries

Chemistry Resources



 
Subject Guide for
BIOCHEMISTRY

Guide to Reference Resources

General Sources
General Sources | Handbooks | Natural Products | Enzymology | Pharmacology | Medicinal | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

Concise Encyclopedia of Biochemistry. 1988
Thomas Scott and Mary Eagleson. (Berlin ; New York : De Gruyter), 1988.

QD 415 A25 B713 1988 Chemistry Reference

Illustrated dictionary with sizable entries. Translation of: Brockhaus ABC Biochemie. 2nd ed. 1981. Rev. ed. of: Concise encyclopedia of biochemistry. 1983

Data for Biochemical Research. 3rd ed., 1986
Rex M.C. Dawson. (Oxford : Clarendon Press), 1986.

QP 520 D37 1986 Chemistry Reference

Tables of biochemical compounds, arranged in sections by type. Entries include name, synonyms, structural formula, molecular weight (mw), physical properties and solubility, remarks and references. Start with the index.

Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. 2nd ed., 1989
J. Stenesh. (New York : Wiley), 1989.

QP 512 S73 1989 Chemistry Reference

Some 16,000 entries to terminology of biochemistry and molecular biology, as well as related allied sciences such as chemistry, immunology, genetics, virology, biophysics, and microbiology. Also includes abbreviations, synonymous expressions, and cross references. Concise to expanded definitions.

Handbook of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. 3rd ed., 1975-77
Gerald D. Fasman, editor. (Cleveland : CRC Press), 1977.

QP 514.2 H34 1975 9 vols. Chemistry Reference

Volumes are grouped into four sections:
Contents are mainly nomenclature information and data tables, with many references. The final volume is a cumulative index.

Principles and Techniques of Practical Biochemistry. 1994
Keith Wilson and John M. Walker, editors. (Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press), 1994.

QU 4 P74 1994 Veterinary Medicine Library
QP 519.7 B56 1986 Middleton Stacks
QP 519.7 B56 1981 Chemistry Stacks

Principles and techniques of practical biochemistry. Includes bibliographies and index. General principles of biochemical investigations. Biochemistry--Methodology. Biologist's guide to principles and techniques of practical biochemistry. Includes bibliographical references and index. Practical Handbook of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. 1989
Gerald D. Fasman, editor. (Boca Raton, Fla. : CRC Press), 1989.
QP 514.2 P73 1989 Chemistry Reference

Easier-to-use distillation of CRC's multivolume Handbook of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. Includes selections from Handbook of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. (Cleveland : CRC Press), c1975-1977. Includes bibliographies and index.

Biochemisches Taschenbuch. Mit einem Geleitwort von Richard Kuhn. 1956
Hermann Matthias Rauen. (Berlin: Springer), 1956.

QD 415 R26 Chemistry Reference

Biochemistry--Handbooks, manuals, etc. Includes bibliographies.

Aldrich Chemical Company Catalog.

Latest edition on Chemistry Reference Shelves

Catalog-reference of biochemicals, organic compounds, and diagnostic reagents available from the Aldrich Chemical Co. Arranged in alphabetic and product group sections, entries contain CAS registry number, formula, formula weight (fw), descriptive and synonym information, and other data.

Merck Index. 11th ed., 1989
Susan Budavari, editor . (Rahway, NJ : Merck & Co.), 1989.

RS 51 M472 1989 Chemistry Reference

Descriptions of over 10,000 chemicals, drugs, and biological substances. Entries include name, synonyms and trademarks, molecular formula, molecular weight, structure, physical data, and annotated literature references. Indexed by name, registry number, therapeutic category and biological activity, and formula.

Sigma Catalog.

Latest edition on Chemistry Reference Shelves

Catalog-reference of biochemicals, organic compounds, and diagnostic reagents available from the Sigma Chemical Co. Arranged in alphabetic and product group sections, entries contain CAS registry number, formula, formula weight (fw), descriptive and synonym information, and other data.

Lancaster Chemical Catalog.

Latest edition on Chemistry Reference Shelves

Catalog-reference of biochemicals, organic compounds, and diagnostic reagents available from the Lancaster Chemical Co. Arranged in alphabetic and product group sections, entries contain CAS registry number, formula, molecular weight, descriptive and synonym information, and other data.

Handbooks
General Sources | Handbooks | Natural Products | Enzymology | Pharmacology | Medicinal | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

Specifications and Criteria for Biochemical Compounds. 3rd ed., 1972
National Research Council (U.S.). Committee on Specifications and Criteria for Biochemical Compounds.
(Washington, National Academy of Sciences), 1972.

TP 247 N32 1972 2 vol. Chemistry Stacks

521 compounds, with chemical and physical properties, formula and weight, structure diagram, and specifications on purity and its determination. Compiled by the NRC's Division of Chemistry and Chemical Technology. Prepared by the Committee on Specifications and Criteria for Biochemical Compounds, Division of Chemistry and Chemical Technology, National Research Council with support from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences.

Methods and References in Biochemistry and Biophysics. 1966
Henry C. Damm, editor. (Cleveland, World Publishing Co.), 1966.

QP 519 D3 Middleton Stacks

Biochemistry--Laboratory manuals. Companion to The Handbook of Biochemistry and Biophysics. Includes bibliographical references.

Comprehensive Biochemistry. 1962
Marcel Florkin and Elmer H. Stotz, editor. (New York : Elsevier Publisher Co.), 1962-

Titles of Volumes in Series:

Natural Products
General Sources | Handbooks | Natural Products | Enzymology | Pharmacology | Medicinal | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

13C NMR of Natural Products. 1992-
Atta-ur-Rahman and Viqar Uddin Ahmad. (New York : Plenum Press), 1992-

QD 415 R214 1992 2 vols. Chemistry Reference

Vol. 1 = mono- and sesquiterpenes; vol. 2 = diterpenes. Compounds arranged by structural class, then by increasing molecular weight. Each volume has name, formula, molecular weight (mw), source, and compound-type indexes.

Encyclopedia of Alkaloids. 1975
John Stephen Glasby. (New York : Plenum Press), 1975.

QD 421 G54 1975 2 vols. Chemistry Reference

Alphabetical list of plant alkaloids, with structure diagram, formula, melting point, brief description, and literature references.

Encyclopedia of Common Natural Ingredients. 1980
Albert Y. Leung. (New York : Wiley), 1980.

QD 415 L48 Chemistry Reference

310 natural products used in processed foods, OTC (over-the-counter) drugs, and cosmetics, listed alphabetically. Information on description, composition, pharmacology, uses and references, plus Latin names, are provided in the entries. General and chemical indexes.

CRC Handbook of Terpenoids--Monoterpenoids. 1982
Sukh Dev, Sukh Dev, Anubhav P.S. Narula, and Jhillu Singh Yadav, editors. (Boca Raton, FL : CRC Press), 1982-

QD 416.7 C73 1982 Chemistry Reference

Terpenes--Handbooks, manuals, etc. Handbook of terpenoids. Includes bibliographies and indexes.

Handbook of Naturally Occurring Compounds. 1975
T. K. Devon and A. I. Scott. (New York, Academic Press), 1975

QD 415.7 D48 2 vols. Chemistry Reference

Brief entries contain name, structure, molecular formula (mf), molecular weight (mw), optical rotation, melting point (mp), and a literature reference. Arranged by compound class, and indexed by name, mw, and formula.
Vol. I = Acetogenins, Shikimates, Carbohydrates;
Vol. II = Terpenes.

Natural Product Reports 1962 -
Royal Society of Chemistry (Great Britain) (London, England : Royal Society of Chemistry), c1984-

v.1: no.1 (1984:Feb.) -- 1992 Chemistry Journals Stacks
Shelved alphabetically in the Chemistry Journals Stacks

Journal. Reviews in natural product chemistry. A journal of current developments in bio-organic chemistry.

Natural Products
General Sources | Handbooks | Natural Products | Enzymology | Pharmacology | Medicinal | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

Clinical Chemistry, Laboratory Methods in Enzymology. 1980
Roman B. Rutkowski , Elizabeth R. Barnhart and Louis R. Alexander.
(Atlanta, Ga. : U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Center for Disease Control), <1980>

HE 20.7002:Em 9 Government Documents

Clinical Enzymology
Roman B. Rutkowski and Elizabeth R. Barnhart and Louis R. Alexander.

Clinical Chemistry, Laboratory Methods in Enzymology. "August 1980." Includes bibliographical references.

Advances in Clinical Enzymology. 1979
Ellen Schmidt , editor. (Basel ; New York : S. Karger), 1979.

RB 48 A34 1979 Middleton Stacks

Clinical enzymology--Congresses. Enzyme Tests--congresses. Enzymes--congresses Includes bibliographical references.

Techniques in Protein and Enzyme Biochemistry. 1978
H. L. Kornberg, editor. (Amsterdam : Elsevier/North-Holland Biomedical Press), 1978-

QP 601 T42 2 vols.+supp. Chemistry Resources
v.1:pt.1-7 + "subject index" + supplement <12 pts.>
v.2:pt.1-6 + "subject index" + supplement <10 pts.>

Notes: Issued in parts in a case. Kept up to date by supplements and replacements. Published as part of series: Techniques in the life sciences, Biochemistry. B1/1-2 Includes bibliographies and indexes.

Contents: v.1,


Contents: v.2,

LIBRARY HAS:
v.1:pt.1-7 + "subject index" + supplement <12 pts.>
v.2:pt.1-6 + "subject index" + supplement <10 pts.>

Bioluminescence and Chemiluminescence. (Methods of Enzymnology) 1978
Marlene A. DeLuca, editor. (New York : Academic Press), 1978-

QP 601 C733 v.57, 133 Chemistry Resources and Middleton Stacks

Methods in enzymology ; v. 57 (published as: Part A), 133 (published as: Part B). Bioluminescence. Chemiluminescence. Includes bibliographical references and indexes.

EnzymologyGeneral Sources | Handbooks | Natural Products | Enzymology | Pharmacology | Medicinal | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

Introduction to Enzymology. 1957
Alan Haskell Mehler. (New York, Academic Press), 1957.

QP 601 M445 1957 Middleton Stacks

Enzymes. Includes bibliography.

Enzyme Handbook. 1969
Thomas E. Barman. (New York: Springer), 1969.

QP 601 B2435 2 vols., supplement Chemistry Reference

800 enzymes arranged according to the Enzyme Commission's classification list of six major groups. Equilibrium constant, molecular weight (mw), specific activity, specificity, kinetic properties, Michaelis constants, and inhibitors are given. Name index in vol. 2.

Enzyme Handbook. 1990-
Dietmar Schomburg, Margit Salzmann (eds.) (Berlin ; New York : Springer-Verlag), 1990-1991.

QP 601 E5158 1990 Chemistry Reference

Printed version of GBF's BRENDA database of enzyme data. Listed by Enzyme Classification (EC) number (index in front of each volume), and including information on nomenclature, reaction/specificity, structure, isolation, stability, and references.
Vol. 1 contains enzymes of class 4 (lyases)
Vol. 2 has classes 5 and 6 (isomerases and ligases).

Enzyme nomenclature 1984 : recommendations of the Nomenclature Committee of the International Union of Biochemistry on the nomenclature and classification of enzyme-catalyzed reactions. 1984
(Orlando, FL : Published for the International Union of Biochemistry by Academic Press), 1984.

QP 601 I54 1984 Chemistry Resources

Compiled by IUPAC/IUB. 1,770 enzymes are listed by their EC classification system number. Entries include systematic name, synonyms, comments, and references. With a name index.

The Enzymes. (Boyer) 3rd ed., 1970-
Paul D. Boyer. (New York, Academic Press), 1970

QP 601 E523 Chemistry Stacks, Middleton Stacks


Each volume in this series is an in-depth treatise on a specific area of enzymology, consisting of lengthy review articles by specialists. There is no series index; scan the volume titles to select one of interest, and consult its index.

Methods of Enzymatic Analysis. (Bergmeyer) 3rd ed., 1983-86
Hans Ulrich Bergmeyer and Karlfried Gawehn. (Weinheim : Verlag Chemie ; New York : Academic Press), 1974
QH 324.9 E5 B47213 1983 12 vols. and index Chemistry Reference


Descriptions of established procedures of enzymatic analysis. Consult the index volume for best access.

Methods in Enzymology. 1955 -
(New York : Academic Press), 1955-

QP 601 C733 Chemistry Resources and Middleton Stacks


Enzymes. Biochemistry--Technique. Frequency: Irregular Publication history: Each volume has also distinctive title, v. 8-
Subject index,

Handbuch der Histochemie. 1958 -
Beitragen von L. Arvy, Walther Graumann and Karlheinz Neumann. (Stuttgart, G. Fischer), 1958-
QH 611 H3 8 vols. Middleton Stacks


Histochemistry--Collected works. Includes bibliographies.
Contents:

Preparation and Assay of Enzymes. 1964
QP 601 C733 v.1-7 Chemistry Resources and Middleton Stacks


Part of series: Methods of Enzymology. vol.1-7. Enzymes. Biochemistry--Technique. Preparation and assay of substrates. Special techniques for the enzymologist.

Notes:

Vol. 3: Preparation and assay of substrates;
vol. 4: Special techniques for the enzymologist;
vol. 6: Preparation and assay of enzymes; Preparation and assay of substrates; Special techniques;
vol. 7: Cumulative subject index.

Notes: Includes bibliographical references and indexes.

Pharmacology
General Sources | Handbooks | Natural Products | Enzymology | Pharmacology | Medicinal | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary. 27th ed., 1988
William Alexander Newman Dorland. (Philadelphia : W.B. Saunders Co.), 1900-1951.

R 121 D73 1988 Chemistry Reference; Middleton Stacks


Standard reference source, aimed at physicians. Previous title: The American Illustrated Medical Dictionary.

Pharmacology 1992
Richard A. Harvey and Pamela C. Champe, editors. (Philadelphia : Lippincott), 1992.

QV 18 P53 1992 Veterinary Medicine Library


Published as part of series: Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews. Pharmacology--Outlines, syllabi, examination questions. Includes index.

Handbook of Antibiotic Compounds. 1980-87
Janos Berdy. (Boca Raton, Fla. : CRC Press), 1980-

RS 431 A6 B47 14 vols. in 20 Chemistry Reference


Tables of physical, chemical, and biological properties drawn from the literature. Compounds are arranged by family based on structure. Vol. 10 has ten indexes to vols. 1-9; vol. 14 pt. 2 has a cumulative name index to the whole set.

Contents:

Martindale's: the Extra Pharmacopoeia. 26th ed., 1977
Ainley Wade, editor. (London : Pharmaceutical Press), 1977.
RS 141.3 M4 1993 Chemistry Reference


Concise reports on 5,500 drugs and medicines, compiled by the Royal Pharmacological Society. Indexed by manufacturer, clinical use, Martindale ID number, and name. Entries include CAS registry number and physical data.

Pharmacological and Chemical Synonyms. 5th ed., 1973
E. E. J. Marler. (Amsterdam, Excerpta Medica), 1973.

RS 51 M3 1973 Middleton Reference


Alphabetical compilation of generic and proprietary names of drugs, pesticides and other biological substances.

Physicians' Desk Reference. (PDR) 1993
(Oradell, N.J., Medical Economics Co.)

RM 671 A1 P48 1993 Latest edition shelved in Chemistry Reference and Middleton Reference


Standard annual reference source of current information on over 2,800 major pharmaceutical and diagnostic products available by prescription in the U.S. Indexed by manufacturer, product name, category, and generic and chemical names.

Zimmerman's Complete Guide to Nonprescription Drugs. 1993
David R. Zimmerman. (Detroit : Gale Research, Inc.), 1993.

RM 671 A1 Z55 1993 Chemistry Reference


Nonprescription and non-Prescription drug descriptions. Revised and updated edition of: The Essential Guide to Nonprescription Drugs. 1983. Includes index.

Essentials of Pharmacology. 1995
Cedric M. Smith and Alan M. Reynard, editors. (Philadelphia : W.B. Saunders), 1995.

QV 4 E78 1995 Veterinary Medicine Library -- Reserves (Non-Circulating)


Pharmacology. Drug Therapy. Includes bibliographical references and index. Pharmacology

Here Are Some Things You Should Know About Prescription Drugs. 1994
United States. Food and Drug Administration. (Rockville, MD : Food and Drug Administration), 1994.

HE 20.4010/A:P 92/993 Middleton Government Documents


Published as a Department of Health and Human Services Publication ; no. (FDA) 84-3124. Pharmacology. Drugs--Prescribing. Originally appeared in the June 1982 FDA Consumer, Reprint from FDA Consumer Magazine, printed November 1993.

Shipping list no.: 93-0675-P.


Medications Development : Drug Discovery, Databases, and Computer-Aided Drug Design. 1993
Rao S. Rapaka and Richard L. Hawks, editors. (Rockville, MD : U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health, National Institute on Drug Abuse), 1993.

HE 20.8216:134 1992 Middleton Government Documents


National Institute on Drug Abuse research monograph (Rockville, Md. : 1992) ; 134. National Institutes of Health publication ; no. 93-3638. Developmental pharmacology--United States--Data processing--Congresses. Drug abuse--United States--Data processing--Congresses. Drug utilization--United States--Data processing--United States--Congresses. Drug discovery, databases, and computer-aided drug design. Based on the papers and discussions from a technical review on ... held on November 14-16, 1991. Includes bibliographical references.

Shipping list no.: 93-0586-P.


Drug Evaluations Annual : DE . 1991
Prepared by the Department of Drugs, Division of Drugs and Toxicology, American Medical Association. (Milwaukee, WI : American Medical Association), 1990

RM 300 A553 Middleton Library


Contents identical to second quarter version of the loose-leaf: Drug Evaluations. Subscription. Pharmacology. Drug evaluations

Physicians' Generix : The Official Drug References of FDA Prescribing Information and Therapeutic Equivalents. 1991
(New York: Data Pharmaceutica Inc.), 1991.

QV 772 P49 1991 Veterinary Medicine Reference -- Medical Reference Shelf (Non-Circulating


Drugs--dictionaries, directories. Pharmacology. Other titles: Physicians' Generix 1991.

The American Psychiatric Press Textbook of Psychopharmacology. 1st ed., 1995
Alan F. Schatzberg and Charles B. Nemeroff, editors. (Washington, DC : American Psychiatric Press), 1995.

RC 483 A515 1995 Middleton Stacks


Mental illness--Chemotherapy. Psychotropic drugs. Psychopharmacology. Biological psychiatry. Psychotropic Drugs--pharmacology, therapeutic use. Mental Disorders--drug therapy. Textbook of psychopharmacology. Includes bibliographical references and index.

Drug Design. 1980
Everhardus Jacobus Ariens. (New York, Academic Press), 1971-<1980 >

RM 300 D74 Chemistry Resources


Published as part of series: Medicinal Chemistry ; v. 11. Pharmacology. Pharmaceutical chemistry. Includes bibliographies and indexes.

Handbook of Clinical Drug Data. 6th ed., 1988
James E. Knoben and Philip O. Anderson , editors. (Hamilton, Ill. : Drug Intelligence Publications), 1988.

RM 301.12 H36 1988 Middleton Stacks


Pharmacology--Handbooks, manuals, etc. Drugs--Handbooks, manuals, etc. Clinical drug data. Spine title: Clinical drug data. Includes bibliographies and index.

Modell's Drugs in Current Use and New Drugs. 34th, 1988
Walter Modell. (New York : Springer Pub. Co.), 1988.

X (no call number) Shelved by title in the Veterinary Medicine Library


Modell's drugs. Drugs--Handbooks, manuals, etc. Pharmacology--Handbooks, manuals, etc. Drugs--periodicals. Previous title(s): Drugs in current use and new drugs

Handbook of Clinical Drug Data. 3rd., 1973
James E. Knoben, Philip O. Anderson and Arthur S. Watanabe. (Hamilton, Ill., Drug Intelligence Publication), 1973.

QV 55 H32 1973 Veterinary Medicine Library


Pharmacology--Handbooks, manuals, etc. Drugs--Handbooks, manuals, etc. Includes bibliographical references.

CRC Handbook of Autonomic Drugs and Autacoids.
Matthew Verderame. (Boca Raton, Fla. : CRC Press), 1986.

QV 120 C72 1986 Veterinary medicine Library


Published as part of series: CRC series in medicinal chemistry. Autonomic Agents. Slow-Reacting Substances. Includes bibliographies and index.

CRC Handbook of CNS Agents and Local Anesthetics. 1986
Matthew Verderame. (Boca Raton, Fla. : CRC Press), 1986.

RM 315 C72 1986 Middleton Stacks


Published as part of series: CRC series in medicinal chemistry. Neuropharmacology. Central nervous system--Effect of drugs on. Handbook of CNS Agents and Local Anesthetics. Includes bibliographies and index.

Medicinal Chemistry
General Sources | Handbooks | Natural Products | Enzymology | Pharmacology | Medicinal | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

Burger's Medicinal Chemistry. 4th ed., 1979
Manfred E. Wolff, editor. (New York : Wiley), 1979.

RS 403 B8 1979 pt. 1-3 Chemistry Resources Reference


Pharmaceutical chemistry. Other titles: Medicinal chemistry. A Wiley-Interscience publication. Includes bibliographical references and index.

Medicinal Chemistry. 1977
Fred Ernest Hahn. (Berlin ; New York : Springer-Verlag), 1977.

QV 744 M44 1977 Veterinary Medicine Library


Published as part of series: Topics in Current Chemistry , no. 72. Pharmaceutical chemistry. Author index for volumes 26-72: p. 149-157. Includes bibliographical references.

Essentials of Medicinal Chemistry.
Andrejus Korolkovas and Joseph H. Burckhalter. (New York : Wiley), 1976.

RS 403 K67 Chemistry Resources Stacks


Pharmaceutical chemistry. A Wiley-Interscience publication. Includes bibliographical references and index.

Medicinal Chemistry Reviews; A Select Bibliography. 1973
Gwynn Pennant Ellis. (Hamden, Conn., Archon Books), <1973, c1972>

Z 6675 P5 E4 1973 Middleton Stacks


Pharmaceutical chemistry--Bibliography. Pharmacology--Bibliography. Shorter version first published in Progress in Medicinal Chemistry, v. 6.

Medicinal Chemistry; Chemistry, Biochemistry, Therapeutic and Pharmacological Action of Natural and Synthetic Drugs. 1951
Alfred Burger. (New York : Interscience Publishers), 1951-

RS 403 B8 v.1-2 Middleton Stacks


Pharmaceutical chemistry. Chemotherapy. Bibliographical footnotes.

Medicinal Chemistry. 1951-1963
American Chemical Society. Division of Medicinal Chemistry. (New York : John Wiley & Sons ; London : Chapman & Hall), 1951-1963.

RS 402 M43 vol. 1-6. Chemistry Resources


Prepared under the auspices of the Division of Medicinal Chemistry of the American Chemical Society. Published by: Vol. 1-4, (New York : John Wiley & Sons ; London : Chapman & Hall); v. 5- , New York and London : John Wiley & Sons. Pharmaceutical chemistry--Periodicals.

Journal of Medicinal Chemistry. Supplementary Material.
American Chemical Society. (Easton, Pa. : American Chemical Society).

Microfiche 606 Chemistry Resources (Microforms)


Contains supplementary material published in Journal of Medicine and Pharmaceutical Chemistry. Pharmaceutical chemistry. Clinical chemistry.

The New Illustrated Medical Encyclopedia for Home Use : A One- Volume Practical Guide to Good Health. 7th ed., 1982
Robert E. Rothenberg, editor. (New York : Abrams), 1982.

RC81.A2 N44 1982 Middleton Reference (Non-Circulating)


Medicine, Popular. Includes index.

Modern Woman's Medical Encyclopedia. 1st ed., 1966
Anna Mantel Fishbein. Illustrated by Lou Barlow. (Garden City, N.Y., Doubleday), 1966.

RG121 .F5 Middleton Stacks


Women--Health and hygiene. Women--Diseases. Women Health. Gynecology--popular works

The Modern Medical Encyclopedia; An Illustrated Family Guide Answering Questions of Illness And Health, Physical and Mental Fitness, First Aid and Hygiene; Including Advice on Personal And Family Problems and Their Relation To Good Health.
Editor-in-chief Benjamin F. Miller. (New York, Golden Press), 1965.

RC 81 A2 M6 Middleton Reference (Non-Circulating)


Medicine, Popular--Dictionaries.

Indexes
General Sources | Handbooks | Natural Products | Enzymology | Pharmacology | Medicinal | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

Biological Abstracts

For over 65 years, Biological Abstracts has provided references to worldwide life science literature for researchers, scientists and information specialists. Biological Abstracts contains references to journal items focusing on vital biological and medical research findings, clinical studies, and discoveries of new organisms.

Coverage

Format and Indexing

Each record is assigned to one of 84 alphabetically arranged subject headings. Within each subject heading, citations and abstracts are placed in numeric sequence. The indexes in each issue provide four modes of access to the literature:

Author name(s) (personal or corporate): Listed in alphabetical order, the Author Index includes up to 100 authors of a given document. When no personal author exists, a corporate name is used.

Taxonomic categories: The Biosystematic Index features broad taxonomic categories above the genus level (phylum, class, order, family).

Organisms: In the Generic Index, organism names are listed alphabetically at the genus-species level.

Subject words: Arranged alphabetically, the Subject Index lists all significant words from the title as well as descriptive words added by BIOSIS (with the exception of genus-species names). Entries are displayed in context by showing preceding and succeeding words.

Medline

Description: MEDLINE contains references to articles in the health science and biomedical journals published world-wide. Topics include clinical and experimental medicine, basic sciences as related to medicine, dentistry, nursing, pharmacology, psychiatry, public health and veterinary medicine. Biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as related to medicine and health care are also included.

Coverage: All languages; over 3,700 journals, from 1966 to the present; updated monthly.

Information Source: National Library of Medicine; MEDLINE is MEDlars onLINE, and is NLM's premier bibliographic database. It is a composite of three major print sources: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. Index Medicus is located in Middleton Library, Reference Area, Index Table 3.

Access: Full MEDLINE is available from STN, with searching performed at the Chemistry Resources by the librarian. MEDLINE is also available online through Lexis/Nexis in the Chemistry Resources and Middleton Reference area. The Veterinary Medicine Library has MEDLINE on CD-ROM on a stand-alone workstation.

Chemical Abstracts

Chemical Abstracts. 1907 -

Shelved in Reference Stacks; newest issues on Index Table.


The premier indexing source for chemical, biochemical, and chemical engineering literature, covering over 12,000 journals and conferences, as well as technical reports, dissertations, books, and patents. There are two basic parts: the weekly abstracts issues, arranged by topics (each issue contains its own indexes), and cumulative semiannual indexes, offering access by chemical substances name, formula, general subject, and author. There are also Collective Indexes covering 10 - or 5 - year periods. Use the printed flyers available in the Library to learn the basics of searching the printed indexes.

  • General Subject Indexes.

  • Check for the person s name as a subject; prior to 1971, use the Subject Indexes. Obituaries and biographical sketches are often listed there. Located on the Index Table.

  • Subject Indexes (prior to 1971)

  • Check for the person s name as a subject; after 1971, use the General Subject Index. Obituaries and biographical sketches are often listed there. Located on the Index Table.

  • Author Names

  • Search for original publications by authors last name. The Author Indexes link names of authors, coauthors, inventors, and assignees to the abstract numbers of documents that they have produced. Since corporations are frequently listed as assignees of patent rights, these indexes include corporate as well as personal names. Abstract numbers and document titles are linked only to the first listed author of coauthored papers. Other author names are cross-referenced to the name of the first author.

    Chemical Abstracts is available online after 1967.
    Available through Dialog/STN or by full-service searches.

    ONLINE CATALOG
    General Sources | Handbooks | Natural Products | Enzymology | Pharmacology | Medicinal | Indexes | ONLINE CATALOG

    Use ONLINE CATALOG to locate books and journals held by the LSU Libraries on this topic. To search by subject, use established Library of Congress Subject Headings from the red volumes near the terminals. Search in ONLINE CATALOG using the person's name as a subject or a keyword . Use the subject search command. Relevant general headings include:

    Biochemistry
    Enzymology
    Medicine
    Pharmacology
    Pharmacy


    The keyword search is also useful as an alternative search method.

    enzymology
    biochemistry


    Similar searches in the periodical index database of the ONLINE CATALOG will help locate journal articles on these topics.


    For questions or comments about this page, please contact
    William Armstrong


    Chemistry Resources
    LSU Libraries | Louisiana State University
    Baton Rouge, LA 70803-3100
    Tel (225) 578-8875 | Fax (225) 578-9432
    Copyright © 1999 - 2009 LSU Libraries
    Last Updated: 2007